We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent holiday. Would recommend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Mouradi Palm Marina
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday. Would recommend!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Just back from a brilliant 2 weeks in this hotel. The location is perfect right next to the beach which gives you the option to spend time there or at the pool. Staff are very friendly and spend a lot of time talking to the guests and having a laugh, especially the animation team - Saber, Mohamed Yassine and the rest of the group. They work very hard and get the guest involved in activities during the day ( morning exercise, pool games, french boules, volley ball ect). It is great to be involved in the activities as the animation team make you feel welcome and you can make new friends. They also put on a show each night, working very hard and get the guests involved in the club dances at the end of the night. Loved my stay in this hotel and would go back again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Rachael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    387
    201
    89
    82
See reviews for
359
572
37
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We went to Tunisia for the first time on 7th June and we had an amazing time. On arrival the checking in process is a little chaotic and busy but it didn't take too long and then you can go grab something to eat before heading to the Piano Bar which is open until 1am.

We found the room, the pool, the beach, the staff, cleaners, reception, waiters all excellent as is Mehdi - the Just Sunshine rep (who can teach you some very useful words!!!). Unlike here, where we tip at the end, tip at the start of your day - the pool waiter, the restaurant waiters etc. - tip at the start and you'll get good service. Top tip - BE FRIENDLY AND POLITE and you'll get good service. These people are earning a living and no-one has the right to be rude to them. I'm tired of the arrogance and blatant stuck up attitude of many people that seem to think employed staff are their own personal servants - get over yourselves. We found a hello and a smile with a quick chat and a couple of Dinah (less than £1) got us great service all round.

We found all the staff really friendly and helpful. Many of them shame us by speaking not only English but also French, German, Russian !!! Make the effort to learn a few words in Arabic - even if it's just 'thank you'. It goes a long way.

Our room was large, airy and well cleaned and maintained. Yes the mini bar consists of only a bottle of water (which are replaced on request) but you can fill it yourselves. The air con was a god send. TV - only on whilst showering before dinner etc and usually something English. The bathroom and (separate) toilet tiles - bit overpowering and not to our taste but fitted with the location, clean and most importantly bug free.

To all those that have issue with the hallway carpets ... yes, the hallway carpets are stained and worn in some places. If you intend to spend your entire holiday in the hallway - you will definitely be disappointed. If, however, you intend to use the hallway to walk from your room to the various bars, restaurants, pools, beach, entertainment etc. then I doubt you'll have a problem!!!

Watch out for the hotel jewellery man. He has some nice pieces but beware ... is not 9c gold.

Take a trip to Sousse in the taxi - definitely worth it for the shopping and the experience.

We did the Zulu trip. Have to be honest, loved the wildlife park bit (especially holding the lion cub) and the included meal was very nice but the 'show' was just a lot of noise! Just personal opinion - a lot of people loved it.

Some things in the hotel are a bit 'worn' especially some of the equipment i.e table tennis bats but ultimately we had a great laugh whacking the ball around, doing archery etc. because we met some great people and were out to have fun - not criticise - nor were we under any delusions that we were Olympic table tennis players thereby requiring the best equipment money could buy.

We found all the restaurants good with plenty of choice. Personally we thought the a la carte wasn't as good as the buffet and when we go back in September - which we've booked already by the way - we will probably pass on the a la carte.

Paragliding - recommended. Is about £11 per person - feeling and view are amazing.

All in all for a great, relaxing, all inclusive fun-filled week - you can't beat it.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and could see the sea ... just. Next time we are going to 'ask'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Nicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed here the second week off July,yes i could find a few things to say negative but you could also say things about where i live and vis versa,
the location on the beach was good and clean.
the food was also good there was nothing no one could fine not to eat both breakfast,lunch or dinner
the service was good even though it was Ramadan and the staff where not eating from sunrise to sunset they still had smiles and happy to serve.
A big must id the 2 day desert safari visiting the salt lakes the start wars sets and various other locations,we where only there for a week but the 2 day trip was well Werther the money and more.
money goes a log way here.
a must for couples and families alike.this our opinion which other might not agree with.
FANTASTIC.

Room Tip: High rooms over looking the pool and beach fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank notsosouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Nice hotel, whilst lobby is original and 50 years old, the bulk of the 398 rooms were new 15 years ago. Rooms spacious and clean, although I'm convinced the air conditioning gave me a cold/sore throat. The hotel is right on the beach, the pool was clean and ear infection free (often a problem!). Pool has some perfect contoured levels you can lie on in shallow water and soak up the rays without overheating. I think they actually chilled the pool whilst we were there, a measure of how hot it is in Tunisia.

There are regular activities throughout the day, if you want to chillax by the pool quietly forget it - but if you embrace water polo etc you'll make some new friends. Pétanque too, great way to get a killer tan without even noticing! Most of the activities staff were great, but one of them (name begins with S) was too much of a pervy letch towards my 13 year old daughter, which she found very annoying. This was actually a bit of a theme, it seems the tired stereotypes are true as other staff (waiters) asked both my daughters for their Facebook account details. Not good.

The food was excellent, varied every day and fresh. As long as you do the "Ultra" all inclusive you also get two a la carte meals, Mediterranean grill and then Lebanese/Tunisian. That broke the week up really nicely. The waiter we had most of the time was excellent, and was tipped accordingly...but alas some of the waiters are shockingly bad. Never smile, grunt under their breath at you as they wander off (almost certainly insulting you), rarely doing what you've asked (politely) for...and then have the cheek to expect a tip. The maître D will always sort this out for you (ie move you...) - we had great banter with him all week.

We did quad biking for 50dinar each (about £18!) and would thoroughly recommend it. No the quads weren't that new, and only my back brake worked, the tyres were near slick....but it was great fun. Apart from the dead dog lying at the side of the road...

We also did plenty of beach activities booked through the funny Super Mario who sits at the waters edge. Again these were excellent value: Paragliding £11 each, Flying Cat £9 each, Floating sofa £5 and finally the Banana boat for just £4. Top and very cheap fun!

Top holiday, thoroughly recommended and if I was the sort of person that returned to package holiday resorts again I wouldn't hesitate coming here again. But for me varieties the spice of life...

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side don't get the sun until late afternoon; rooms on the north side have it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank OrgasmicCry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This hotel is rated as a 5 star. What a joke!. It may be a 3 star plus on a good day but even that is pushing it. We decided a week in the sun would be just what we needed and that is what we got. The weather was great - pity about the hotel. Tired - unloved- and suited mostly for the masses with children. Sun beds around the pool were almost on top of each other and- yes- the Germans were down every morning at the crack of dawn to claim their beds, despite notices saying that if they had personal belongings on them before 8 30 am they would be removed. Paint peeling on the outside of the hotel did not give a very good impression at all and the hallways outside the bedrooms were where the cleaners swept the dust from the bedrooms!. Mini bar was a joke. one bottle of water left outside your room - no soft drinks at all. The bar around the pool area served only beer and soft drinks and we saw people washing their t shirts etc. in the pool!!! The barbecue restaurant was adequate - limited selection of food and drink. Staff were helpful but failed to notice a father placing his child on a potty while were eating our lunch and it was not for a wee!!! Entertainment staff worked very hard and the waiters in the smokers bar were very helpful. Coffee bar was not open during the day which was disappointing. The room we were allocated did not have a lock on the patio door and despite repeated requests for it to be fixed, remained broken during our stay Bathroom door handle came off and long black hairs in our bathroom were there for three days before they finally appeared in the hallway outside our room. There was one a la carte restaurant which seated 70 people for a hotel catering for 800 guests. We tried to book our two evenings allowed but failed on each occasion as people on two weeks vacation took up all the bookings. - Appalling!
It is not a trip we shall be making again .
All in all a very disappointing trip and one which we shall not be repeating.

Room Tip: I don't have a tip except to say if you book a superior sea view room don't expect too much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Just returned back from this hotel, and can honestly say it is never a 3star hotel not even in Tunisia, we have been many times to Tunisia so we know what most of the hotels are like.
The reception is quite impressive, and the reception staff are helpful and friendly, with the exception of asking for an early morning call on the day of the departure which we never received!

The rooms are nice and very clean the cleaner we had was superb and i would say the best of the holiday of which i would rate was the beds and the pillows!

The food for all inclusive is good for one week after that we found it always the same so we booked into the al a cartes, and we enjoyed the food and the staff there.

The waiters in the main restaurants were very helpful.

When we first arrived we enjoyed the pool restaurant saved going into main hall but after a bit we found that it was the same as the night before with the exception of chips and pizas, but we stopped going in there because we found the chips were raw on a few occasions. we expected snack food for an alternative to the main buffet.

The beach was lovely but not always clean, seen better in Tunisia, the staff raked the rubbish up the sea brought in, but they raked it up and put it back into the sea.

The worst thing we encountered was the beach lad bringing us drinks from the pool, on our first day he asked us if we wanted something we asked for 2 soft drinks, he came with them and we gave him a dinar, expecting him to serve us a drink again, but he never came again that day, so the second day we didnt give him a dinar again just got a soft drink each and never came back to us, the third day he came to us we gave him a dinar again he never came back to us.. after that he never came back to us again! for the rest of the 2 week holiday! but there were 2 girls lay topless near us. he served them continuous all day 2 beers each and 2 waters each and we never saw a tip going over at all, along with 2 more girls who were not topless they got the same service inc when they were in the sea. we gave up in the end and got our own as we knew he wouldnt serve us.

Watch out for the jelly fish i got stung along with plenty of other's.

The blue room (as we called it) was good the lads in there served us as best they could the problem was that they were very short staffed for the amount of people in there. we tipped these lads well as they really tried their best.

when we had to go to the pool bar for a drink i found the main lad serving in their arrogant and rude.

The entertainment was poor left to be run by the animation team which seemed mainly for teenagers and kids, not very good, something you would expect at Pontins or Butlins. not what is usually at a 5star hotel. we went to a 3star 4 years back (the same chain) and that was far better with the exception you got mattresses and bottled water.

So we will not be returning to this hotel again we was very dissapointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skyla20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel and it's service is wonderful! There are a few restaurants with delicious food! My only complaint- freezing water in both pools! It's sometimes even hard to do water gym in it!:( But all in all there are many activities and the staff is really friendly.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank SanniKliukaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
0.6 mi away
El Mouradi Palace
El Mouradi Palace
#16 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
999 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
#13 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,909 reviews
0.8 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#3 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
1.2 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#7 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,022 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Mouradi Club Selima
El Mouradi Club Selima
#18 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mouradi Palm Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mouradi Palm Marina

Property: El Mouradi Palm Marina
Address: Zone Touristique El Kantaoui, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#8 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#8 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#9 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — El Mouradi Palm Marina 5*
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in Hispano-Moorish style close to the marina at Port el Kantaoui, dotted with gardens leading to a beach of fine sand, the El Mouradi Palm Marina is the ideal hotel for a relaxing holiday. For golfers, the 36-hole El Kantaoui golf course is two kilometres away. The hotel is 10 kilometres from the town of Sousse, 35 kilometres from Monastir's Habib Bourguiba airport, 40 kms from Enfidha airport, 70 kilometres from Yasmine Hammamet and 135 kilometres from the capital Tunis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your El Mouradi Palm Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Mouradi Palm Marina Hotel Port El Kantaoui
Palm Marina
El Mouradi Palm Marina Tunisia/Port El Kantaoui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing