We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ups and Downs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Mouradi Palm Marina
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Certificate of Excellence
Uxbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ups and Downs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

I must have read about 100 reviews of this place when I booked through Secret Escapes because I didn't want to book a naff hotel for myself, partner and 4 friends... I must say we had a great holiday but there were several draw backs to this place...
Location - BEAUTIFUL in terms of the hotel right on the beach with loads of water sports to do...
Honestly - we didn't venture from the hotel... we just went to lie by the pool for a week
Hotel - The apartments were great... great size, balcony for us over looking the pool and they were REALLY clean and well looked after.
The pool and out door bar was great. Beautifully kept pool and surroundings... very clean and great for adults and kids alike.. .
The rest of the hotel was like something out of The Shining... Tired and needs some TLC..
Food I have to say was pretty rubbish, although they did do fresh pizza and chips which was a fall back for everyone... Very touch and go for food, but our holiday was so cheap you cant expect 5* food for £600... The bar is very odd and outdated, cocktails are rubbish... Beer was ok and you could buy better if you wanted - if you stuck to all Inc then you didn't get the premium stuff...
The nightclub underneath the hotel was great fun, but quiet when we went... but after a few vodkas we had a great time... The bar was not well stocked... but this just made for the comedy of the place

But the People were AWESOME - We went in the middle of Ramadan and even then they were attentive and delightful.

I'm glad we experienced it... it was a great relaxing week with friends but I wouldn't go again as it just not up to scratch... I would say 5* apartment & location, in a 3* hotel with 2* food....

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    379
    199
    88
    79
See reviews for
331
544
32
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Stayed I week in the palm marina .. I had stayed here 14 years ago when it was most definately 5 star. To be fair the hotel is a little dated although currently being renovated . We stayed in a junior suite . Very nice room huge double bed and jacuzzi bath . The views from the balcony are stunning ( both sea and pool views )
The pool area was fine plenty sunbeds and the beach is lovely. The hotel is large and this has a negative impact . However it is value for money . My only complaint is about smoking and infortunately there are no bans in place which does lower the tone somewhat. All my family came home with sore throats and breathing problems . That would be my only request to the manager to stop people smoking . Overall a positive experience and enjoyable holiday .

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ksibet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Every thing was good. The hotel services was really great. And also the people who are working in the hotel are realy nice people. I liked the animation team. Every day they had a special entertainment for us. There is a nice girl she work in the animation team her name is zsofi she was doning it good. She always talk with the gast. And i liked how she perform the entertainment for us. So we had a very good vacation. I like the hotel very much.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arwien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Nice hotel overall lovely entrance. 3.5 star overall at best. Tired rooms and bars. Needs investment.

Staff overall really nice and helpful.

Food ok but very limited choice and repetitive compared to many other resorts. Hardly any fruit! You have allocate dearly or late sitting for sinner so not much flexibility as you hace same table!!

Nice views and nice pool. Great weather.

Entertainment terrible mostly trashy audience participation get on the stage do something daft!!

We and at least 8 other families all had bad (very bad) stomachs for several days food/drink/pool, don't know which.

ON FIVE separate occasions the pool was evacuated with young children taking a number two in the water. Asked hotel management to have signs reminders for people to ensure kids had water nappies. nothing in place to stop it at present. not nice!!! POOL shut for two hours each time.

some indoor bars are smoking, not good for kids.

overall we had a great time by the sea relaxing with the weather plenty of sun beds nice pool be carefull in the sloped shallow end most people fall over at least once!!!!!


**We tipped all the staff we had serving us they have very little, it is worth tipping the staff who dont usually get tips ie toilet cleaner and cooks and pancake lads means so much to them as it is normally just bar staff and waiters who get tipped!!!!!!) Very grateful they will be!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mick637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

As others have mentioned The Palm Marina does not meet the standards of an English 5 star hotel. It should also be noted that you'd never get an English 5 star all-inclusive hotel at this price so there is a balance to be struck.

It's a big place which can lead to a slightly impersonal service, there’s no doubt that language and cultural barriers don’t help with this. Some of the service could’ve been better; some staff were more interested and friendly than others. Tipping didn’t seem to make any great difference to this quality. The overworked guys in the Piano Bar had a tendency to get my drink wrong on frequent occasions not that this was a significant issue to me particularly.

I would’ve appreciated a greater variety of food but the supply was always plentiful, constantly re-stocked. They have to cater for a wide range of nationalities so it isn’t all going to be to your individual tastes. They don’t clear the tables very quickly at breakfast but a table was usually supplied for us when needed. Dinner is in sittings (early/late) and we had access to two different a la carte evenings in a different restaurant which made a pleasant change. The service was very good at the pool-side BBQ bar (late-lunch) and our evening waiter was extremely attentive, certainly earning his tips.

The entertainment had a ‘holiday camp’ vibe but always seemed to be loud and well attended. I thought that the water polo in the pool and the beach volleyball were very welcome as options for older children and adults. The aforementioned Piano Bar could’ve had a pianist a bit more often, rather than twice per week but it is a better venue with finer ambience than the larger downstairs bar which is over-lit, under-decorated and reminded me of a social club. My preference was for the outdoor tea/coffee and shisha-pipe experience, perhaps closer to being unique and relevant than any of the others.

The room we had was a good size and the air-con worked well. The balcony was pretty small but offered a good view of the pool and sea in the distance. Wi-Fi was intermittent and generally supposed to be limited to the public areas but we could get it in our room. Given the prevalence of hand-held and other electronics you may need to take extra batteries as the room only had two plug sockets - one of which was needed for the fridge.

As with everything you get what you pay for and this is a decent way to experience Tunisia.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea are probably better but you will have some noise from the 'entertainment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paolo_Fiori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

During peak season, this hotel is especially a hotel for families. Our family has two children (10 and 8)

Swimming Pool - the best we can remember. really well laid out. lots of safe areas for kids and a great area to wallow in the sun to top up the tan.

Sun Loungers - we read reviews that you had to be down early to reserve. in the second week there were sun loungers still free at 10am. Clearly there are always people, who get up early to bagsy the best ones.

Food - we found the food to be fine. the variety is such that there is something for every nationality, its not a fully British menu. There is fresh fish cooked each day (sometimes fresh tuna steaks on the grill). there is a choice of meat and lots of different salads. expect for some people to push in and watch with utter horror how some gluttons load their plates and end up throwing lots away.

Medical - there is nurse on site daily and if any condition requires the visit of a doctor, they arrive quickly and its cheap. a great service.

Cleanliness - the hotel is pretty clean, our room was fine and was well kept each day. the pool area could do with a more regular clean and the floor has quite a few bits on that go into the pool if you inspect closely.

Service - for the most part really friendly. a couple of times the service a bit lacking, nothing serious.

Entertainment - the kids liked it

Quality of free booze - have had worse wine, the beer was fine as were the cocktails.

Noise - there was a barking dog on one side of the hotel. it woke some people up in the morning

Excursions - don't bother with the Pirate Boat, do Southern Treasures (lots of travelling), the market trip is fine but cut short due to having to go to watch some local pottery nonsense,

Beach - very close. lots of stuff to do such a paragliding that was safe and really good value

we may well come back again.

its not a 5 star hotel, but you get what you pay for. yes, its a bit tired, but its fine. the sun shines, the staff are friendly (especially if tipped a dinar regularly), the food is good, its well located, the pool is brilliant, the mix of nationalities is good.

go for it

Room Tip: rooms on the left wing could be best (as looked at from the front) tip little bits frequently
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mattyd001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

We arrived at the hotel at 4am and our first impression was disappointing! The staff on reception were unfriendly, uninformative and had a carefree attitude!! After completing paperwork he gave us the room key and pointed to the lift. The lift wasn't working so after waiting we were told to walk to our room and the porter will bring our luggage!! Our room was average with an amazing sea and pool view! After a couple of hours rest we went down for breakfast at 9am and were told there was no bread left! I have been on many holidays and have never been told there is no bread for breakfast! The food at lunch and dinner was very repetitive however we did manage to find something to fill our tummies. If you are a tea lover like me make sure you take your own tea bags as the tea bags in the hotel don't look or taste anything like tea! We ended up buying our own as were staying for two weeks.My daughter lived off pizza and pasta! The hotel staff are not willing to help you in any way unless you tip them! The animation team were rubbish and did the same rubbish everyday! My daughter sometimes went to the mini club and always read the timetable before she went however always ended up playing board games or drawing! Amal who is the mini club ENTERTAINER did no ENTERTAINING what so ever and clearly didn't care or have any skills to work with children! The pool was excellent with plenty of loungers, the layout of the steps to sunbathe was excellent. After visiting some amazing beaches we weren't wowed by this beach as the water was dirty, it had jelly fish in it and the sand was a bit mucky! Overall this hotel is average. We had a displeasing start but got use to it and enjoyed the rest of our holiday. This hotel is definitely not five stars. They have either bought the stars or the hotel has not been inspected for ten years.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room with a pool and sea view and remember to take lots of money for tips if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
0.6 mi away
El Mouradi Palace
El Mouradi Palace
#16 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
3.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
#12 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,878 reviews
0.8 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#3 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#7 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
5.1 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mouradi Palm Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mouradi Palm Marina

Property: El Mouradi Palm Marina
Address: Zone Touristique El Kantaoui, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#9 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#12 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#14 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — El Mouradi Palm Marina 5*
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in Hispano-Moorish style close to the marina at Port el Kantaoui, dotted with gardens leading to a beach of fine sand, the El Mouradi Palm Marina is the ideal hotel for a relaxing holiday. For golfers, the 36-hole El Kantaoui golf course is two kilometres away. The hotel is 10 kilometres from the town of Sousse, 35 kilometres from Monastir's Habib Bourguiba airport, 40 kms from Enfidha airport, 70 kilometres from Yasmine Hammamet and 135 kilometres from the capital Tunis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Mouradi Palm Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Mouradi Palm Marina Hotel Port El Kantaoui
Palm Marina
El Mouradi Palm Marina Tunisia/Port El Kantaoui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing