We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time can't wait to return!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Portreath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“2nd time can't wait to return!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Never had such an amazing holiday! It was my secind time at the hotel, we stayed during the second half of May, weather was very hot during our stayso a great time to visit. I cannot understand the negative reviews about the hotel, i cannot fault the staff, food or the whole stay.

The airport experience was quick and very efficient, more so than Bristol! We travelled with Thomson and on arrival the rep at the aiport greated us and remembered us from last year, a lovely and personal touch on our second stay in this beautiful country. Our hotel rep greated us and our drive to the resort was a pleasant one, even with 5 very tired children in our party of 8! On arrival at the hotel we had been given rooms quite far apart and on booking i had requested them together due to medical reasons. The staff were fantastic and managed to sort our rooms on the same level opposite each other, great service and late at night too!

In the morning we went to the restaurant and we were given a lovely big table together, our waiter too remembered my family from last year, all of our waiters throughout our stay were efficient and polite, they made sure we had drinks at all times and even collected food for the children, the pancake man and a pastry chef in particular were very kind and helped us feel welcome. Our waiters grew very fond of the children and would do anything for them in the restaurant. Food!!! I have never in my life seenso much variety, fresh fish, meat, veg, pasta, traditional Tunisian cuisine every night, i have 3 very fussy children and they tried everything, if you are not looking to try something different then i suggest Butlins for burger and chips! Having said that there was one evening that the chefs made burgers, so really nobody should go hungry here! I heard people complaining about where they were sitting, about the quality of the food, i cannot understand why, i managed to eat very well especially the cakes and the chocolate fountain! We were lucky enough to be invited to the managers cocktail evening with 5 course meal, this was a lovely change from the main restaurant and we had a great time here. The pizzeria was nicely stocked with different foods daily, including rice and salads, so it is even suitable for those wishing to watch their wasitline! The pancake cart at 4pm was always a welcome sight for the kids too! Please try the food, it really is wonderful and i could not have asked for more!

Our Thomson rep was great! Christine was so helpful and even managed to sort out a despute from the shopping centre in Sousse for me when i was over charged, she was very informative and you could rely on her to sort anything out, we booked som excursions with her, i would certainly recommend the Tale of 3 Cities, an early start but a truly magnificent day, with an amazing tour guide. The water park is a must too, such a great day out and the food is very cheap, 7 of us ate and had drinks for £25, the dinar was pretty strong while we were away at nearly 3 to the £. Myself and my partner went on the quad bikes this was such a great experience and i highly recommend it!

There is a shop out of the hotel to the left and one directly opposite, both really great for getting souvenirs. The Port is beautiful, yes you do get hassled by the shop owners but you just have to be firm with them if you do not want to go into the shop, i actually like to haggle, it is great for a bargain and you can always beat them down. There are a few shops i would go back to every year without fail, one on the marina called Hollywood, they do not hassle you and also remembered us from last year, the second was a shop near the beach, there is a spice cart outside and the gentlemen who own this shop are so friendly and they too remembered us, we had our henna tatoos done here. We walked back to the hotel across the beach which was lovely. The taxis that wait outside the hotel will take you there for about 4 dinar, only 4 people in a taxi so we had to have 2 everytime but this did not work out very expensive.

The animation team were outstanding, one lady who was there last year remembered my daughter, this is the kind of lovely people they are, the guys who were encouraging the tourists to take part were funny and worked very hard to make the holiday a memorable one, could not fault them either. The photo guy was fun too, he takes pictures and you can buy them there and then to take home for 5 dinar, just under £2 when we stayed. Our rooms were cleaned daily, towels relpaced and our maid was lovely.

TIPPING!! Everytime we ate, morning noon and evening, we tipped our waiters, the service they provided was second to none and considering they can work 10 hours a day 7 days a week, wages in Tunisia are poor and they rely on tourism to make the money, so tipping is important, 2 dinar was the minimum but we often tipped more.

We had to use the doctor while we were away, his clinic is by one of the outdoor pools, he was very helpful and concerned with our difficulties, making sure we were ok before we went back to the room.


All in all, i cannot say a single bad word about the hotel, fun, friendly, helpful staff, they bent over backwords to make our stay an enjoyable one and the bad reviews i have not a single complaint, the only bad thing i have to say is that it is too long until i go back!!!

Room Tip: ask for garden room, they are situated on the ground floor and access is great to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,901 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    554
    332
    256
    274
See reviews for
659
547
68
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I have just came back from el mouradi with my two year old, partner and inlaws. We had two rooms 404 and 406 overlooking the play area. The rooms are clean but bath is 'tired'. Housekeeping clean and bring fresh towels everyday, food is ok, not much variety and a bit repetitive but it didnt bother me, always found something to eat and I dont try new foods! However other members of my party weren't happy. But you cant please them all! Pools are nice, beach is nice, they have a range of watersports and daily activities, the entertainment staff are fantastic, waiting staff are also very good especially with my son. Made us feel very welcome and made a fuss of my little boy. Overall a good experience for me, my son loved it. You get what you pay for and overall I found it to be enjoyable. All that let's this hotel down for the majority is food and tired looking rooms. However a holiday is what you make it!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynesy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Another great holiday at Club Kantaoui. This is our 3rd visit and this year we took friends. Felt a little under pressure as both have holidayed in 5star resorts. No need to worry because both had an amazing time. Rooms a little dated but very clean, staff are wonderful including the hard working animation team, special thanks to Bilel, Thomas, Ali and Nora our lovely waiting staff, food is fair but you can always find something to eat. Far from a 5star but wonderful value for money and a friendly, safe environment for all visitors. Booking this week for our 4th visit next year :)

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Lemslfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Ron from Glasgow, 4th-15th June
Staple diet lunch and dinner,beef and chicken you could sole your shoes with, breakfast; cauliflower cheese, stewed peppers mixed veg, saute potatoes, spam (spiced pork and meat) no bacon,, once in our 11days we got pork chops in the evening? Lots of people agreed with us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port El Kantaoui hotels

Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Only go there if your looking for a Tunisian man, or you are taking a man with you.
I strongly advise don't go there if your blonde young and female !!!
Crap food, hotel dirty, staff unhelpful, even worse if you flew with Thomas cook!!!!
And above all they don't cater or like English!!
Will never go back, and would not recommend to anyone !! Go at your own peril!

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for superior as in this hotel it just means ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahjh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Myself and friend had a wonderful time the hotel was beautiful.The staff were so friendly helpful special thanks to our waiter in the restaurant and the waiter at the beach bar the man who made pizza for us on the beach and the young man who made pancakes.Couldn't find any faults with the place what we paid it was excellent value for money.we will definitely be back thankyou again with regards Vanessa and Ann room 405

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vangaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Once again we returned to this hotel after a lovely holiday last year. I just do not understand the people who leave bad reviews. The hotel is lovely and clean, they are always cleaning all the public areas and toilets. The rooms are a little "tired" but after all you only use them for sleeping and showering, if you want five star treatment pay five star prices! Clean towels were left everyday and bed linen changed.
There is plenty of choice food wise and I am a very fussy eater but always found something to my liking, don't forget you are in Africa so will not get the food you get at home, if you want English food stay in England!!
The bar staff and waiters were excellent and did not expect tips, we tipped when we wanted to.
All the staff work really hard and deserve tipping for waiting on you. The waiters only needed to see us and knew exactly what we wanted to drink.
Port El Kantoui is a lovely resort and we never got hassled once, There are a lot of fixed price shops and they are cheap.
The taxi drivers are just outside the main gates and are very pleasant, ok they do ask if you want a taxi but again they are only trying to earn a living, if you say no politely they just leave you alone.
All in all we had another lovely hassle free holiday in this hotel and met some lovely people.
A holiday is what you make it and if you reply in a polite manner they will leave you alone.
If we were asked by the animation team to join in we just said no thank you and they replied have a nice day.
Ok you have to pay a dinar for a large bottle of water or you just fill your water bottle up in the restaurant (if you leave the empty bottle on your table the waiter will fill it up for you at no cost).
We have stayed all over the world and believe me this hotel is lovely for the money you pay, we have stayed in far worse hotels.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank luvrhols2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
0.2 mi away
El Mouradi Palace
El Mouradi Palace
#16 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
980 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,464 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Mouradi Palm Marina
El Mouradi Palm Marina
#11 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#7 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,018 reviews
1.6 mi away
El Kantaoui Center
El Kantaoui Center
#15 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
618 reviews
4.8 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
2,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mouradi Club Kantaoui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mouradi Club Kantaoui

Property: El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
Address: | Zone touristique El Kantaoui, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — El Mouradi Club Kantaoui 4*
Number of rooms: 796
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located right alongside the beach, in the heart of the Port el Kantaoui tourism resort and next to a 36-hole golf course. Sousse is 10 km away, the airport of Monastir 25 km and Kairouan with its famous Mosque 60 km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your El Mouradi Club Kantaoui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui Hotel Port El Kantaoui
El Mouradi Hotel Kantaoui
El Mouradi Port Kantaoui
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui Tunisia/Port El Kantaoui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing