We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Hotel Kanta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Kanta
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Certificate of Excellence
Longhope, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Returned yesterday from a week's holiday at the Kanta hotel. It was our 4th time staying here and as usual was fantastic, sad it was only a week this time, but will be back. The staff are all brilliant and go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible. The food is fantastic with plenty of choice with breakfast, lunch, dinner and at the snack bar. The desserts are really lovely not tasted any this scrummy on holiday before. We met some really lovely people and will definitely be returning as soon as we can.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Beccy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    412
    152
    63
    32
See reviews for
287
490
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

great hotel recommend it to anyone, ignore the bad reviews .So relaxing ! hotel rooms are cleaned everyday so are spotless, the staff are helpful and kind , there's a wide range of food and also another restaurant. i could go on and on ! great quality for the money paid , definitely going back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank cs01031809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Just returned from another great week at the Kanta and from the moment we entered reception we were welcomed as old friends. We have always gone half board but on this occasion we paid the extra and opted for the all inclusive which worked out at £37.50 per day for the two of us, great value. The food has greatly improved 100% and anyone who complains must be very fussy indeed, desserts are to die for had a selection every night. Everyone we met who were there for the first time thought it was just fabulous. The only complaint we had was that on the weekend the hotel was invaded by local Tunsians mostly men, meal times very busy during their stay, this did not spoil our return to the Kanta and are now planning our next visit.

Room Tip: Pool view room gets the sun early morning, shaded in the afternoon, 3rd and 4th floors good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Maggiebailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed here 23 to 30 April, first visit to Tunisia and it won't be the last. The hotel was spotlessly clean, rooms cleaned every day. We had room 445 which had the sun in the morning with a sea view. As it was early in the season and the occupancy was I would guess 30% it seemed as though everyone was put in the best rooms with the sea view. The 4th floor overlooked the gardens and pool and fortunately we were above the level of the palm trees as I suspect anything further down could be rather dark. We were half board with an excellent breakfast (no bacon though), I am happy with a continental breakfast but my husband does like his full English when on holiday. However, there was more than sufficient to make up for the lack of "pig". We had the option of lunch or dinner but chose to eat poolside most days at lunchtime and had dinner in the hotel which was excellent and the crepes for desert were delicious. As a non-red meat eater there was plenty of fish and chicken even to suit my awkward requirements! I think our only gripe would be that the coffee machine was only available for breakfast and it would have been nice to have that facility after dinner. You are allocated a table on the first day and assigned your own waiter which was a nice personal touch.
Overall we had an excellent holiday and couldn't fault a single member of staff. Can't wait to go back again.............now.

Room Tip: 4th floor and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Have stopped here previously but this was better than before (as I remember it). Staff so helpful and courteous. Food - oh my word, what a selection - how anyone could complain about the food from this hotel means they would never be satisfied with anything - so ignore them! Such a wide range and all good quality. In fact probably the best bit of the holiday that I definitely looked forward to. Went early in season, so plenty of room around the 2 pools (my favourite was for the 'upper' pool though - one for serious sunbathers and swimmers. No amateurs please.

Very quite on a night time, though again this suited me - youngsters would probably be bored brainless though, so be aware.

And also quite a few single travellers (more than I have seen before), with no pressure put on anyone (ie not forced to share a table for the evening meal with a random stranger that other hotels make you do).

Definitely one for the mature traveller.

Oh - the room was a bit on the hot side though.

Room Tip: if you want evening sun, opt for a room above the front of the hotel, rather then a sea view / pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank liz b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed here for the second time 20 - 29 April. Weather a bit mixed but overall ok. Hotel as friendly as last time and waiter/reception staff recognised us. We have met people who come for years back to this hotel. It has a good mix of people and a nice atmosphere. It is very Tunisian in style and not just a big modern shell like the Marhaba Palace just across the road. The facilities of the Wellness Centre attached to the indoor pool are really good value for getting a massage for around £15 is good value and well worth the money. Plenty sun beds and very attentive staff over every department. Ryan our Rep with Thomas Cook could not be more helpful and was great.
Will go back to this Hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool get the sun in the morning and are very quiet at night. We had room 323 and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank elaine186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catterick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here from 9th until 16th April. This is a lovely hotel with pleasant and not over friendly staff. We stayed in room 421 which got the sun in the morning which was lovely to wake up to and thankfully no sun on the afternoon as the air con in the room was no very good. The rooms are spacious and clean and today thanks to the maid who always had a smile for you. The hotel has several pools but the outdoor ones were too cold for me so swam in the heated indoor pool. Drinks were not too expensive. We had a large bottle of water each night with our meal that cost 2,600 dinar approximately £1. Restaurant staff were lovely especially our waiter Houili and Hazem who made the best pancakes ever on an evening.

The only issue we had was no reflection on the hotel but the area was just so quiet. Shops close around five and only restaurants open later. There was hardly anyone around on an evening so we tended to stay in the hotel which normally had a pianist most nights. Would recommend this hotel if you are simply wanting to relax but although the area was lovely would not hurry back.

Any questions please free to message and I will try my best to answer.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
12 Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port El Kantaoui hotels
0.6 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,464 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#7 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,018 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Kantaoui Center
El Kantaoui Center
#14 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa Port El Kantaoui
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa P...
#12 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
330 reviews
0.6 mi away
Iberostar Diar El Andalous
Iberostar Diar El Andalous
#2 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,652 reviews
0.3 mi away
Concorde Green Park Palace
Concorde Green Park Palace
#8 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kanta

Property: Hotel Kanta
Address: Route Touristique, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#6 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#7 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#8 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kanta 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KANTA Resort 4 star hotel is ideally located in the heart of the most popular tourist resort of Port El Kantaoui. The hotel is set in beautiful gardens with hundreds of palm and olive trees, displaying the double advantage of being both close to a sandy beach and the golf course. The hotel is divided into three buildings : • Main building : is the reception, the «Palme d’Or» bar, the main Buffet restaurant «La Fontaine», the «Newspaper» gourmet restaurant, and reading room «Les Fougères», a bridge room, the Moorish cafe «Oasis», suites and rooms. • The building opposite the pools is composed of rooms and family apartments. • The third building consists of an indoor pool, a fitness center, a wellness center «Kamari» and an Irish pub «Pùca». ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Kanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kanta Hotel Port El Kantaoui
Kanta Hotel Tunisia
Hotel Kanta Tunisia/Port El Kantaoui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing