We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, good food and great value”
Review of Hotel Kanta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Kanta
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed at the Kanta a while back but wasn't on tripadvisor at the time. The facilities, rooms and service were all excellent. Better than most 4 star hotels in Spain and the like, beach not far away and a short walk in to town. Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnnieMc_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 1,119 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

Hubby and I went for a cheap week of relaxing with Thomas Cook tip they charge you 30.00 a piece transfer by coach we booked a taxi for 53 via travel republic, and can get cheaper if you get one when arrive at airport. I hate the whole Herding on to coach so avoid where possible, had very little to do with Rep at resort young lad who seemed ok but little bit out of his depth if I am honest, as when we pointed out no information on our flight day before I return he suddenly realised wrong paperwork out!! No Thomas Cook welcome letter in room always have this with Thomson and feel that Thomson defiantly better travel company.
Hotel Kanta however, great hotel staff very friendly with no expectation of tips ( except the Guy selling the spa packages who actually asked when I paid for treatment how about money for him what a cheek he just wrote a receipt out, he didn't get one !!!)
Beach bar staff very friendly better than pool staff and waiters fabulous in restaurant. Room was clean and was kept really well by our maid, we were on floor three overlooking pool very quiet even at night with entertainment, sun in morning personally would be happy with this room on next stay.This hotel is great if you want a week of relaxation and I would definitely go back again. We loved the cocktail bar and service a real 80's feel !! But great atmosphere and drinks waiters so lovely as well.
The area is lovely very near to port and shops etc, my only hope is that tourists stop using the horse and carriages as the horses are so thin clearly not looked after no water etc visible and we actually saw one fall over pulling a carriage it was horrendous. Please please think of these poor poor horses and do not encourage by using them.
Tunisia is a lovely place with friendly people and such goof value for money, go to the Hotel Kanta for a great week of rest and relaxation .

Room Tip: Rooms facing pool have a lot of sun in the morning. Go for floor 3 upwards so much better view etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michele197002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Just back from a week at this hotel. We were very pleased with the complete package, the rooms, staff, food and facilities were very good. The entertainment was good but short in duration but that may be extended in the busy season. We definitely received four star treatment and enjoyed the whole experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CullenLaoisIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Hotel Kanta is a lovely hotel the food is excellent with something for everyone.The pools are good and the pool boys are always there to help with lounger cushions and parasols.The staff in the restaurant are brilliant ,in the piano bar they were mostly good, the outside eating area and waiters around the pool were very good although there was one extremely rude waiter called Troudi who chucked cutlery on the table and never bothered to come and see what we wanted . The grounds are lovely lots of palm trees and flowers very well kept. The man on the door usually 7 til 2 was most helpful. We Went to El Djem in a taxi and it cost 100 (£37.50) Dinar for the 4 of us and we could spend as long as we wanted there unlike Thomas Cook who were charging £25 each and would mean being stuck on a coach and having a limited time there.The big let down was the entertainment it was a joke the Zulu show was good but as for the rest rubbish the fire show was exceptionally poor.The Hotels beach is dirty there was seaweed everywhere which was being pushed back into the sea also beach staff were misersable The marina is 5 minutes walk away and is lovely if only there wasn't so much hassle to book this trip,eat here etc in fact they were very rude. I would recommend this hotel if you don't want to leave the grounds too much as Tunisia is dirty with chickens & rabbits crammed into cages waiting for someone to buy them for their dinner ,Camels being hit with sticks and in very poor condition as are the horses.Also Sousse which is 10 minutes in a taxi is 10 Dinar is crowded and dirty with people hassling you all the time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank effesdrinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We've just got back from this years visit. They have improved the private beach area. There are more wooden walkways to get you to the sunbeds more easily. There are also more tables and chairs to sit on in the sun, rather than in the main beach restaurant, which can be a bit chilly at times. There is also a new head chef, so the food choice available is even better. He also spends time 'out front' checking everything is running smoothly. Great hotel choice for couples and families.

Room Tip: Ask for one on a higher floor (3 or 4) overlooking the pool for better views and morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank stevo009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I have just returned from two weeks at this hotel, and found that the reviews I read before I booked were all correct. It is a lovely hotel in a good location with excellent food. Some of the housekeeping could be improved on, as I only received water 6 days out of 14, but I was able to get it from the bar. The only downside was the fact the air conditioning was not switched on until the beginning of June, which made the dining area very hot and the rooms too warm at night. All in all a very good holiday.

Room Tip: Odd numbers face the pool, evens the front of the hotel which gets the evening sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teribus2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Returned yesterday from a week's holiday at the Kanta hotel. It was our 4th time staying here and as usual was fantastic, sad it was only a week this time, but will be back. The staff are all brilliant and go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible. The food is fantastic with plenty of choice with breakfast, lunch, dinner and at the snack bar. The desserts are really lovely not tasted any this scrummy on holiday before. We met some really lovely people and will definitely be returning as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Beccy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
0.2 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,082 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Kantaoui Center
El Kantaoui Center
#14 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
635 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel
El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel
#24 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,607 reviews
1.1 mi away
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
#13 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,998 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Marhaba Beach
Hotel Marhaba Beach
#5 of 36 in Sousse
2,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kanta

Address: Route Touristique, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#7 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#10 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range: £37 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kanta 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KANTA Resort 4 star hotel is ideally located in the heart of the most popular tourist resort of Port El Kantaoui. The hotel is set in beautiful gardens with hundreds of palm and olive trees, displaying the double advantage of being both close to a sandy beach and the golf course. The hotel is divided into three buildings : • Main building : is the reception, the «Palme d’Or» bar, the main Buffet restaurant «La Fontaine», the «Newspaper» gourmet restaurant, and reading room «Les Fougères», a bridge room, the Moorish cafe «Oasis», suites and rooms. • The building opposite the pools is composed of rooms and family apartments. • The third building consists of an indoor pool, a fitness center, a wellness center «Kamari» and an Irish pub «Pùca». ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, LoveHolidays and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Kanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kanta Hotel Port El Kantaoui
Kanta Hotel Tunisia
Hotel Kanta Tunisia/Port El Kantaoui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing