We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 weeks end of June to July ”
Review of Hotel Kanta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Kanta
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“2 weeks end of June to July ”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

I and a friend (19 years old) stayed at the kanta for 2 weeks at end of June to mid July.
We thoroughly enjoyed it although 2 weeks were too long.

The hotel as a whole is very clean but does have a disgusting smell lingering in places.

Food is ok, what you would expect from a cheap all inclusive holiday. Although the pool bar is very nice, you chose from a menu. (Burgers, chicken, spaghetti, chips, sandwich, pizza, salad.) from 2-4 and the same at the beach but 12-2.
The newspaper restaurant opposite the restaurant can be used as many times with all inclusive as long as you book.
You have to sign for every meal and drink you have but that is only so they can take note.

Tuck tucks come every 5 mins to and from the beach, 2 very friendly older men.

Free wifi in the library by the restaurant although very temperamental.

Towels are 10 dinar and 1 to get changed (10 dinar is about £4)

The entertainment is very naff and unorganised but they try!

There is a little kids pool, a main pool with music and activities, inside pool and a sunbathers pool. All very nice and the lifeguards lay out a bed for you where you like.

In the piano bar you get crisps, popcorn or nuts with your drink.

There is water sports activities on the beach with a photographer you can buy photos from as well as horse and camel rides.

As 2 young girls we did get a lot of unwanted attention in and out of the hotel, and one waiter wouldn't speak to us for the second week of our holiday as we didn't want to go out to coffee with him of a night time.

The animation staff took us and a few other people out clubbing one night which was quite a laugh.

This hotel is very good value!



Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    412
    154
    65
    33
See reviews for
291
490
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Myself, wife and 16 year old daughter stayed for a week all inclusive form July 5th. Felt I had to write a review as I have seen a couple of negative ones over the last week or so.

We have experienced 5 star hotels across the world, so have an understanding of what we feel represents good service and value for money.

We booked with 2 months notice and got a fantastic price for the three of us staying in the residence apartments. We felt the price was too good to be true, but have to stay we had a fab stay for the week and have to disagree with several comments made in recent days.

Porters do attach themselves to you very early in the airport, but a firm no thanks is all that's needed as you are only taking cases yards to the pick up point in car park. The same goes in the hotel, just a no and that's all that's needed.

The food is good, plenty of choice, and something new every day, cleanliness is excellent and the animation team and pool staff were fantastic. A little advice though as per previous reviews, if you tip select staff early, lifeguards, bar staff etc, you get very prompt service throughout your holidays. It doesn't need much, just 10 dinars [£3 ish goes a long way].

We were never hassled for tips inside the hotel and the standard of facilities throughout were great value for price, not 5 star, but certainly a high 3/4.

If you go outside the resort, taxi drivers will honk and ask if you want a lift, but just say no if it's walking distance. We walked down to the marina on several days and were asked if we wanted a lift, but a polite no and you certainly aren't hassled.

When you walk round the marina, particularly in the day when it is quieter, be prepared for shop owners to tout their wares and you have to accept this is a way of life in Tunisia. It only takes a firm no thanks again and walk on, we never had shop owners chasing us up the road!!

Don't be put off and we can put too much stock in reviews, but this was a great holiday, fantastic value for money, great staff and facilities and I would recommend any day of the week.

Ps, a tip for families with teenagers, wi-fi was available in the internet room off reception, daughter loved it to catch up with friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank RichardB19672014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed here for 1 week from 5th July 2014. From the minute you come out of the airport there are porters ready to grab your bags. We said no but he continued to drag them away from us. At the hotel, again straight away there are people waiting to grab your bags. The hotel reception is lovely, big and airy. The reception staff are very friendly and great English. The bank at reception is also great as is open most of the time. We were given a room at the front of the hotel, we asked to move to the back for a pool view and were changed no problem - only issue was that as there is around a zillion palm trees on site we had no view at all except for leaves.
The AI food in the snack bar and restaurant is very "same-y" - around day 3 we were sick of it. We never felt like we ate a meal the whole time we were there, we just picked at a few different things from the buffet. The snack bar at the beach is great in the respect of it still being included with the AI wristband but it is identical food to the snack bar at the pool.
The tuk tuk to the beach was faultless, we never had to wait on it coming for more than 2 minutes.
The night time entertainment was pretty rubbish to be honest! The animation team were very friendly and were lovely to chat to as they came around speaking to everyone around the pool through the day but at night time after they had done the mini disco they disappeared and we were subjected to god awful things!
Outside the hotel, as others have said, it is not very pleasant wandering around as the locals, shopkeepers and taxi drivers constantly hassle you. The taxi drivers peep their horns and shout out their windows, the locals try to befriend you and the shopkeepers literally will not let you out of their shops until you buy something. Some of them have a great sense of humour and we were able to banter with a couple of them. I had one shopkeeper actually follow me 300 yards down the street shouting prices lower and lower each time until I bought the item at the original price I offered him (he started at 75 dinar, I offered 20 dinar and eventually got it at the bottom of the street haha!) They weren't so bad once we learned how to deal with them a bit better but it is definitely not a pleasant place to wonder around shops.
The hotel rooms are lovely and spacious, the air con works well and there are fridges in the rooms which they replenish the stock of bottled water. The towels and bedding were changed each day but unfortunately, as others have said, they let themselves into your room without checking if you are in. Once they came in when we were lying in bed! After that I kept the chain on at all times and the "No Entry" sign on the outside door handle. On day 5 of our holiday we realised we had £40 sterling stolen from our LOCKED safe, the money was in my purse which was in a bag which was rolled up and in the locked safe. We had a tight reign on our money and knew we had £200 left so when it suddenly reduced to £160 we had no doubt as to what had happened. The reps tell you to change money little by little so probably a lot of people just assume they have changed more than they thought and don't realise its been stolen. Whoever is stealing it isn't stupid, they know if they take it all its far more obvious! Earlier that day a man who was speaking to the housemaid when we left our room asked us a few questions about where we were going, hindsight now tells me he was checking how long we were going out for. The complaint was logged with the rep and the hotel manager spoke to us the following day. No resolution yet!
If eating out at a restaurant be sure to get a menu that confirms prices as they will, again, literally make prices up when you go to pay (ie 18 dinar for 2 cokes when all of our food only cost 21 dinar!)
Overall we had a nice relaxing holiday, the pool is great to chill out by with the pool guys bringing drinks to you, we went quad biking and jet ski-ing which are both the equivalent of about £12 each which is brilliant. Habib's Quad Biking, down by the Hawaii Center is excellent, we went away on a trek for about 1 hour 45 minuted (12 quid!!)
Not sure if we will ever return to Tunisia, although we had a fine holiday the negatives outweighed the positives I think.

Room Tip: Higher floor 3,4 or 5 with pool view
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Lynsey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Currently having a wonderful holiday at hotel KANTA
Food amazing not had one night when we have not enjoyed way too many courses!
Never a problem to get a sun bed and it's high season now!
Shuttle to the private hotel beach where you can still use the AI Option. Many water sports on the beach.
Staff go out of the way to make your holiday enjoyable

Booked with thomas Cook our rep Ryan is amazing so knowledgeable about the local area and so helpful and polite I would go as fat as to say he is the best rep we have ever had on holiday.

Take a visit to the hotel spa excellent prices

I almost didn't want to write this as I would like to keep this hotel a secret but that would not be fare this is an amazing hotel you won't be disappointed already looking at returning in September.

Room Tip: All rooms are fab we were in the main hotel but the garden rooms are bigger for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ashley07Suffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Myself and my partner just spent a week at this hotel. We had a fantastic holiday and if we were returning to Tunisia we would definitely stay again.

Staff- All very helpful and couldn't do enough for you (except the rep)

Food- My partner is a VERY fussy eater but he was catered to very well. There is something for everything. I really enjoyed the salads and fresh bread. The range of desserts was lovely and we loved the ice cream. We didn't eat in the news paper restaurant as the menu wasn't very appealing. Only down fall for me was the breakfasts but if your happy to not have hot food you can stick to tea and toast. The orange juice was a little disappointing as it didn't taste very nice, we walked to the local shop and brought our own.

pool- plenty of loungers to go around which was great, we preferred the adult pool at the back of the resort. drinks brought to you felt great.

Irish pub- VERY DISSAPOINTING... This was not all inclusive even though it was part of the hotel.

rooms and grounds- room very nice, staff cleaned the room and replaced the towels every day which was nice. Downstairs there was a room with sheeshas in, they could definitely make more of this as it was always empty.

Thomas cook let our holiday down. Delayed flight, rep Jodie hard to catch and also sold us an outing to African dream for £80 which was shocking. I will be writing to them to complain. But the hotel its self was fantastic!

if they amended the following it would be perfect

Inclusive Irish bar, bacon and orange juice and It would be a 10 out of 10!

Big thanks to the staff xx

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VictoriaRoseBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

This is a good holiday resort for all the family. The food was ok we tipped the waiter on the first night and he always looked out for us and had our drink on the table with a big smile. The pools were ok warm enough. The sea was cold and no good for snorkeling. And on the beach was a bar that done lunch time snacks .you got a tut tut to the beach or it was a 10 minute walk .The evening entertainment was ok just ok.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank jem69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

What a fantastic holiday with my 17 year old daughter, Jasmine. Everything was perfect from the moment we arrived and the staff were excellent with a special mention to the animation team includind Willy, Slim, Pichachou, Mi Mi, Moo Moo, Sam, and Mi Mo. They all made us feel so at home and included us in all their activities which in turn enabled us to meet some lovely people like Jaqui and Zoe, Mother and daughter on holiday just like us.
The hotel itself has everything to make a wonderful holiday experience including food, ( must try AL a cart restaurant), pools surrounded by beautiful palm trees, bars, beach with free tut tut transfers, people, location (5min from Harbour and town centre.
We cant fault it and will definitely be returning next year for 14 nights as 11 nights are just not enough. One couple we met have visited the same Hotel for 8 consecutive years, and we can personally highly recommend it to people of all ages.

Room Tip: I would recommend 3rd or 4th floor facing the pools for excellent views and morning sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
0.6 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#3 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,502 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#9 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,031 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Kantaoui Center
El Kantaoui Center
#14 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
#13 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,951 reviews
0.8 mi away
El Mouradi Palace
El Mouradi Palace
#16 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,011 reviews
3.5 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kanta

Property: Hotel Kanta
Address: Route Touristique, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#6 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#7 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#10 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kanta 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KANTA Resort 4 star hotel is ideally located in the heart of the most popular tourist resort of Port El Kantaoui. The hotel is set in beautiful gardens with hundreds of palm and olive trees, displaying the double advantage of being both close to a sandy beach and the golf course. The hotel is divided into three buildings : • Main building : is the reception, the «Palme d’Or» bar, the main Buffet restaurant «La Fontaine», the «Newspaper» gourmet restaurant, and reading room «Les Fougères», a bridge room, the Moorish cafe «Oasis», suites and rooms. • The building opposite the pools is composed of rooms and family apartments. • The third building consists of an indoor pool, a fitness center, a wellness center «Kamari» and an Irish pub «Pùca». ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kanta Hotel Port El Kantaoui
Kanta Hotel Tunisia
Hotel Kanta Tunisia/Port El Kantaoui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing