We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I lové Marhaba palace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Have just returned from a weeks holiday. I must say, we all completely loved the place! However, we are a simple family who rarely complain! Yes, the decor is a little dated, but the place was cleaned to a superior standard.
All the staff work extremely hard but I will agree with a previous comment that tips tend to be expected........
Ali Baba has a stall en route to the beach. amazing guy!!! surprised there is no mention of him here! we took 2 trips with him.- pirate ship and zoo. Ladies, get yourself on the pirate ship ;-)
Zoo was great too. Excellent value for money.
we have a 5 yr old and 2 yr old and didnt struggle to keep them entertained.
Check out the mini tortoises.
Steer clear of people selling on the beach! unless you can haggle!
all in all, great hotel, great staff, great holiday xxx

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anika F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,043)
There are newer reviews for Marhaba Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

470 - 476 of 2,043 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

Lovely hotel all round. Reception staff very good. Room was excellent, had sea view, which was great, cleaned everyday and linen changed everyday if you wanted. Food was great especially the beach restaurant, although some people started queuing before time and made it a bit hectic, when there was no need, as food filled up continuously, through the sitting. Bars were, good no problem getting served, and drinks choice good. No pressure to tip although all the staff deserved tips as they all were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Only down side people getting up in the early hours to put towels on sunbeds, but if you asked the pool men they would save you sunbeds all week, for only a couple of dinar, but we gave him a good tip at the end of the holiday as well as he remembered you and were you wanted your sunbeds. They worked so hard from 5.30 in the morning until 6pm at night. breakfast room open early so you could get a drink and breakfast before getting picked up to go to the airport.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scunnygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed at the Marhaba for the last week of July, we had a very good holiday the rooms are clean as is the hotel, the staff are very helpful the waiters do look for tips and if you tip well you get an even better service. There are always sunbeds available unlike some of the previous reviews mention, even if you dont tip the life guards. Did not think the drinks were up to much, the wine not very good the beer not very good and the spirits not bad as for the soft drinks ask for diet coke as it comes out of original bottles as does the tonic water. The hotel inside and out is lovely as is the beach (look out for jelly fish in the sea). Al in all we had a lovely time would I go back maybe.......

Room Tip: Quiet rooms at the front of the hotel
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank houghtondd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel is advertised as a four star hotel but you must bear in mind that means 4 star Tunisian, and is therefore very basic. The rooms look like they haven't been upgraded or painted since the late 80`s, restaurant, Pool area, beach and just the hotel in general are all tatty and rather tierd looking.
Service isn't bad, and some of the staff are very friendly and helpful, don't bother with the all inclusive bear, its absolute sewage, its worth putting your hand in your pocket and drinking something decent.
The food in the restaurant was edible but very basic and you get placed on the same table every night during your stay, there is nothing like having a choice.
All in all very basic cheap and cheerful if your on a tight budget.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mjbrand14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Marhaba palace for 2 weeks in July and had an amazing holiday with my Auntie, Gran and Cousin. The hotel is great!

We had 2 rooms which had just been refurbished. The rooms were joined together with a door in the middle. The rooms were big with lots of storage. One of the rooms had a huge bed which was at least super kingsize. The maid was lovely and cleaned the room everyday. We tipped her a few times throughout our stay. The only problem with the room was there wasn't many plugs, but we managed.

The waiters were all lovely especially Adel at the beach bar. We ate at the beach bar for lunch and the main restaurant for dinner. The food was great, lots of choice and always something to eat.
The piano bar had a good choice of drinks. The pool bar had no spirits which some guests had a problem with but we were okay as we brought our own vodka with us from the duty free.

Don't be shy in tipping. All the staff work very hard for very little and deserve a little extra. They always appreciate it and are very grateful no matter how big or small the tip is.

The location is great! The hotel is right on the beach. It's a five minute walk from the port where there are lots of shops and restaurants.
The Irish bar over the road is good for drinks and is good if you like a sing-a-long on the karaoke. Just past the port is a night club if you like partying into the early hours of the morning. We had many a good night out in our two weeks at the Irish bar followed by the night club.

The entertainment at the hotel is really good. The animation team are amazing. They work so hard all day doing lots of activities in the heat, I don't know how they do it! They work hard every night putting on a good show. Big shout out for the entertainment boys, Smiley, Mario, Billy, Willy, Paulo and the rest of the team. Your all great!

Lots of activities to do around the hotel. We done some water sports which were fun and very reasonably priced. We also booked a boat trip at the port which was very good value for money and a great day out.

If you don't like the sun, Tunisian food, tipping people or getting hassled when walking about the town then don't go to Tunisia. Stay in the uk and go to Blackpool you're holidays!

We love Tunisia, we have been many times. We had a great holiday at the Marhaba Palace! We are very sad to be home and can't wait to return to Tunisia. Thanks for an amazing holiday!

Stayed: July 2014
4  Thank nicole-ht-94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We found the Hotel to be very elegant, our room was huge with a great view of pool and sea. The staff were extremely helpful and despite some of the other posts didn't seem bothered if you tipped or not, we did tip our waiter as he deserved it and also a tip to the sun bed guy at the beach ensured our same beds were ready for us every morning. The food is the best all inc. we have ever experienced, a great choice every day, we used the beach bar once and too was very good. We really enjoyed pre dinner drinks in the bar,a lovely relaxing setting. If you just need a relaxing hotel with pool and beach this place is ideal. Port El Kantoui was a nice clean place to visit with good shops and restaurants. We visited Sousse medina not great - 3 coach loads of tourists with only 2 guides all a bit manic but gave a flavour of what the medina is like, a number of the group had disappeared before the end we gave up ourselves and took a taxi back..
All in all a great place to stay and would recommend it to anyone thinking of a holiday to Tunisia.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank grayroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We have just returned from our holiday, and I have to say we had a great time. We had never been to Tunisia before, and I had a few reservations about cleanliness, but I couldn't fault that.
Our room was overlooking the front, which was great for sitting on the balcony in the evening sun.

Food - I have coeliac disease and whilst I couldn't get gluten free bread/pasta etc there was always plenty of choice for me. The salads were lovely and very fresh. I would recommend that you try the omelettes for breakfast as they were really nice. Sometimes the meat was a bit suspect but overall for all inclusive it was ok. The chips were gorgeous and the pizza's that my partner had cooked in front of him were lovely. Our waiter, Tarfiq looked after us really well and he had our drinks order ready for us each evening (not sure if this is because we gave him a tip most nights or not....)
You can eat one night a week in the a la carte restaurant and we both really enjoyed this...it wasn't too busy, the wine was much nicer and the ambience and the waiters were lovely.

Room - this was spacious and clean, and our maid left lovely arrangements of swans in the towels. The bed was comfy, and the aircon was spot on, so we slept with a duvet. There were big mirrors everywhere so it was good when you were getting ready. We had read a recommendation to take an extension lead, which we did and this was handy when using hair dryers/straighteners and mobile chargers at the same time. The water pressure in the shower was hopeless (I have long thick hair) so washing my hair took a while, and I thought the shower curtain could have done with being changed. I was not impressed that if you were on the 4th floor and above, that you had to put your toilet paper in a bin at the side of the toilet...yuck!!

Drinks - I don't drink beer but my partner did and he said it was fine - typical of beer you get abroad. The wine left a bit to be desired....however I mixed this with lemonade and it seemed ok. The cocktails in the American Bar were lovely and I also tried vermouth and lemonade which was nice.

Entertainment - the animation team were great during the day. They work so hard to keep activities going, and if you chose you could do something every half hour or so....but they weren't pushy either. I took part in the morning fitness and aqua zumba (what a laugh - I really recommend you have a go) and my partner took part in water polo....this was quite rough at times, but that's competitive men for you! We didn't really watch the evening entertainment as we preferred to either have a drink in the piano bar, American bar or we went out a couple of times.

Out and about - we went to the irish bar opposite the hotel, the floating Neptune in the port, and Golf Brau bar near the aqua park - would recommend all of these.
We also went to the medina by taxi (not the trip organised by Thomas cook at £13 per person) we got a taxi from outside the hotel and he came back for us, which cost 20 dinar - appx £7.50. A few people said the medina was awful, dirty and you got loads of hassle but we didn't find this at all, this may have been because we went on a Saturday and there was lots of locals about.

Overall - we met some lovely people, the hotel was ok (probably not 4 star in the Uk but it similar to 4 star hotels I have been to abroad in various countries...), the staff were very friendly and helpful and the weather was amazing. All in all, we had an amazing time...I've given this 4 out of 5 just because the drinks range could have been better and gluten free could have been better catered for...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank helenj1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
3.9 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
2,237 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,531 reviews
2.9 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#6 of 35 in Sousse
1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
0.7 mi away
El Mouradi Palace
El Mouradi Palace
#16 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,023 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Marhaba
Hotel Marhaba
#7 of 35 in Sousse
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marhaba Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marhaba Palace Hotel

Address: Jinane El Kantaoui | Sousse, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#8 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#8 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#9 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range: £27 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marhaba Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up across from the golf club, have a walk on the seafront, explore the paved alleys of Port El Kantaoui or simply unwind at the pool: Marhaba Palace is a dream place for an unforgettable stay. In the restaurant, a collection of great wines and local cuisine with the flavours of thyme and basil pamper the palate. This charming hotel, in the heart of the resort of port El Kantaoui, will seduce you with its personalised hospitality and efficient, discrete service.Welcome to MARHABA PALACE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marhaba Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marhaba Palace
Marhaba Palace Tunisia
Tunisia Marhaba Palace
Marhaba Palace Port El Kantaoui
Marhaba Palace Hotel Tunisia/Port El Kantaoui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing