We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marhaba Palace - in one word, fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Certificate of Excellence
Perthshire, Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Marhaba Palace - in one word, fantastic!”
Reviewed 20 November 2006

After reading some of the reviews we were a bit dubious about our holiday to Tunisia. I would advise that you don't let these reviews put you off.

The hotel was fantastic, in a beautiful location right on the beach and only a few minutes walk from the marina and village centre. The rooms and public areas were spotless and the buffet breakfast and dinner was excellent. All the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful and we could not fault the service. The only downside was that the hotel was fairly quiet in the evening, but that wasn't a problem for us.

All in all, a fantastic holiday. We just returned late last night and we have already booked to go back for 2 weeks next year - highly recommended.

  • Liked — Location and Service
  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure you take English bank notes to spend in the Airport - don't like Scottish notes!
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Tunisia-Daft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,031 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    806
    688
    340
    118
    79
See reviews for
504
897
45
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle under lyme
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2006

Returned from a week stay at Marhaba Palace 12th November 2006 had a fantasic time. We found all the staff very helpful and not looking for tips all the time like previous posters have stated.Excellent choice at meal times right upto 9.00pm when then finish serving. Beach is fantasic and clean, but found the sea cold when you first go in, a bit like going in the sea in Cornwall. I will be returning next year to Marhaba Palace without any doubt as it is the best hotel in the area not only for food and service but the position of it in relation to the resort is excellent. One word of advice do not pay the extra for a sea view during late season, the rooms with a sea view do not get any sun at any time of day. Whereas the rooms at the front get all the sun and you can sit on the balcony and watch the beautiful sunsets.

  • Liked — Quality of hotel
  • Disliked — Lack of english channels on TV
  • Tips/Secrets — Just enjoy your holiday and remember you are not in Spain
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank knappem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2006

We have stayed at the Marhaba Palace ( When translated Marhaba means Welcome) during the half term break for the past 3 years. We must like it !!. It is very close to the marina, shops and resturants. the rooms are very spacious and kept very clean. Fresh towels are put out every day. The hotel has two resturants, one for breakfast and one for the evening meal. The hotel is the closest to resturants and bars and is in a ideal location right on the beach. A waiter whom we got to know quite well remembered us from previous years looked after us and made our stay extra special. Tip well and they will make you feel like kings and queens. The food was help yourself buffet style and had a very good hot and cold selection. I found something different every night of our stay. In the evening we would have a walk into the marina and where the fountain is and enjoyed a relaxing drink whilst watching the dancing fountains to music which are also illuminated. If you like a beer try visiting the Golf brewhouse which is not far past the main square and fountain area. The locals use this a lot so it can become very busy later in the evening. They can serve German beers and lagers in three and half litre tubes which are stood on the table. Once in situ you just help yourself until it is empty. It is worth a visit. We made a point this year in going on a two day safari into the desert and visited the real Tunisia which is highly reccomended. There is a lot of traveling involved but the sights and sounds are worth it. We rode camels out into the desert on one of the nights which was outstanding, we watched the sun set over the sand dunes. We also saw the sun rise in the morning over the salt flats. Visit the markets you will be pestered by traders wanting your custom but a firm response lets them know if you are interested. I would definately stay at the Marhaba Palace again

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank urbanangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2006

We stayed at the Marhaba Palace from 15th October - 29th October 2006. Hotel is very impressive when you first arrive, we were on holiday with our 17 year old daughter who shared our room and we were not disappointed when we saw it, it was huge!! The fridge is handy for keeping bottles cold.

The weather was fantastic, although be warned the outdoor pool is freezing. The sea is warmer! We didn't have any problems with sunbeds, you could always manage to find one whatever time of the day you tried.

The beach restaurant is well worth a visit the food is delicious.

One tip, we booked half board but if you ask on arrival for a card from reception you can charge all drinks and snacks and lunch to your room, therefore not needing to change much money and only having one bill to pay at the end of the holiday. We found it very reasonable.

There is no rep on board the transfer coach to your hotel, a rep came on board quickly before we set off and rhymed off which hotels the bus was stopping at but then left! We have quite noticeable suitcases and I noticed they had been offloaded 2 hotels before ours and we had to shout at the busdriver to turn the bus round to go back for them. He spoke very little english and not only ours but another couples cases were there, so be vigilant and keep your eyes open.

The food in the restaurant was excellent, plenty of choices. There were always at least 5 pasta dishes and of course chips if you didn't like the look of anything else and the salads were to die for.

The only thing we found to complain about were the towels, don't get me wrong they are good quality but the smell is a cross between something foisty and stale urine!! We mentioned this to the rep who blamed the washing powder they use, but I think it is more they aren't dried properly and so they smell damp, not pleasant.

We had a wonderful relaxing hot 2 weeks and would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a quiet break.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Smell of towels
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank riderlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2006

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Marhaba Palace, lovely resort, weather good, just one cloud on the horizon, THE STAFF, the majority are arrogant and rude, and are only friendly when they are asking for a tip, which happens a lot. Our maid came into our room on our last day and asked for a tip, needless to say she left empty handed. The bell boy took our cases to reception, then hunted us down for a tip, virtually following us to our safe to ensure we paid up. On leaving the country don;t be surprised if customs officials to ask you for money, as they tell you you can't take it out of the country, it's only notes that you can't take out, coins are ok, like most of the staff at the hotel they appear to be tryiing to make a quick buck.
The food itself is plentiful and quite a good selection, although it does get boring after a few days, however, it is very bland and doesn't appear to be seasoned at all with anything.
It was our first visit to Tunisia, the Hotel was good to start off in, but if we return to the country we'll try somewhere else. You'll have a good time if you just ignore the staff.

  • Liked — The Pool
  • Disliked — The Food and Staff
  • Tips/Secrets — Ignore the Staff
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cheeky10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2006

it its your 1st trip to Tunisia this hotel is well worth a go.Location great in that its on the beach and you have short stroll to PEK -even if you are on all inc -its so cheap to eat out of an evening and there are lots of bars n restaurants to choose from.
best in the port are LA MEDITERRANE( spelling) & l'ESCALA-latter not easy to find tucked away behind a couple of cafes.
Hotel - v friendly staff- on clean safe beach-lots of space- beach cafe good food-severals bars even a disco!We booked a dble room and their dbles are all twins- so we asked for a dble ( as stated on our booking) and were upgraded to a suite- for a small fee- told them we were on honeymoon- witha big smile!!
Golf 5 minutes walk away- great course -quite a few golfers at hotel-beauty salon v cheap and quite an experience!
after reading info on Trip Advisor we went on the Sahara experience- absolutelt brill and well worth every penny- if you are a Star Wars fan you have lunch at the set!!! i would highly recommend it ! Didnt get to the shops -but choice in the port ok.
stroll down the beach either way -it safe n clean.The hotel was full whilst we were there -bit of a problem with towesl onchairs at the crack of dawn- but we could always get a bed-its up toyou whether you want to pay the beach guy up front for a special pitch! You will need your own beach towles
we gave everyone a dinar tips and they seemed v happy.
ok the hotel isnt the uk standard 4/5 star but we are well travelled and for the price -it was great value and next time we will take our golf clubs and tennis raquets and not be soooooo lazy.
have a good trip -oops nearly forgot the Tunisian wine is excellent- go for it! and duty free v good too

  • Liked — Lots of Space Around Hotel
  • Disliked — Bathrooms A Bit Jaded -But Great Shower
  • Tips/Secrets — take lots of sunscreen
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank gofto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampthonshire, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2006

The Marhaba Palace, is in essence, a nice four star tourist hotel. However, the staff do let it down A LOT. I had a number of issues which I had to raise with reception staff and they are all so miserable! We did not get a smile when we arrived at the start of our week long stay and whenever I approached reception - again not one single smile.
When I exchanged money at the hotel reception I was also short changed and when I challenged the cashier he did give me the money I was missing but somewhat grudgingly.
Also - the staff ASK for tips. They don't leave you to decide if they deserve one or not - they ASK!
This hotel has some good facilities. Rooms are also OK really but be warned - all rooms have TWIN BEDS! And be prepared to get up at the crack of dawn to secure a sunbed! As by the time we ventured outside at about 9.30am there were very few unclaimed beds left.
One more thing. If you go at this time of the year the place is full of pensioners and invalids - so be warned. You may be in Tunisia but you will feel like you are in Eastbourne. Happy Holidays!!

  • Liked — Nothing really stands out about it - sorry!
  • Disliked — The staff!
  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure you are ready to tip!
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daventrydevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
3.9 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
2,177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#3 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,502 reviews
2.9 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#5 of 35 in Sousse
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
0.7 mi away
El Mouradi Palace
El Mouradi Palace
#16 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,011 reviews
0.9 mi away
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
#13 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marhaba Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marhaba Palace Hotel

Property: Marhaba Palace Hotel
Address: Jinane El Kantaoui | Sousse, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#8 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#9 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#9 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Marhaba Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up across from the golf club, have a walk on the seafront, explore the paved alleys of Port El Kantaoui or simply unwind at the pool: Marhaba Palace is a dream place for an unforgettable stay. In the restaurant, a collection of great wines and local cuisine with the flavours of thyme and basil pamper the palate. This charming hotel, in the heart of the resort of port El Kantaoui, will seduce you with its personalised hospitality and efficient, discrete service.Welcome to MARHABA PALACE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marhaba Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marhaba Palace
Marhaba Palace Tunisia
Tunisia Marhaba Palace
Marhaba Palace Port El Kantaoui
Marhaba Palace Hotel Tunisia/Port El Kantaoui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing