We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!!”
Review of Hotel Abou Sofiane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Abou Sofiane
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Just back from our 10 night holiday (11/6/14) missing the animation team already!! The hotel it's self was faultless, the cleaners work all hours to keep this hotel spotless. Rooms were basic but had everything you needed after all your only sleeping & showering there!! The food at the restaurant was hot & had a lot of choice, something for everyone. The waiters were lovely they always remember where you have sat and what you drink and for a small tip (1 dinar) they will have the drinks waiting at the table for you as soon as they see you in the restaurant. The beach was lovely and clean got hassled a bit by locals trying to sell you trips but once you tell them no they didn't come back. There is some local shops about a 10 min walk from the hotel and you can also walk to el kantaoui town/harbour which is about a 20 min walk, taxis don't cost much but always get a set price before you get in!
And last but most defiantly not least the animation team..Biggie, Niño, Dali, Bobo, & Speedy you guys were amazing kept us entertained throughout the whole day, they would remember your names, always come to speak to you see how your day has been, these guys work so hard and are brilliant at their job....well done guys.
Russians.......it's true what they all say, they are so rude & ignorant they push in front of you in the line up to the buffet/bar they fill there plates up as if the foods going out of fashion yet waste most of it, they go mad for the melon not just a couple of slices I'm talking 10/12 slices!!! The most horrible people I've ever met, the animation team try to engage in a conversation with them and they just blank them.
Overall a fantastic holiday

Room Tip: We had room 3026 over looks the gardens/pool/sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clarelouisesmith8t3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    684
    494
    230
    160
    166
See reviews for
551
615
53
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The hotel, situated 30 seconds away from the beach front was truly beautiful. From first gaze on the outside to the many rooms and grand entrance, we were greeted with fantastic scenery and smiling faces. The food was fantastic and a wide variety was available, and the same goes to the drinks selection. All waiters were friendly, even sneaking me an early morning beer, when it was supposed to be unavailable! The rooms were spacious, clean, cleaned thorougly and most had a good view. Mine unfortunately had the view of a small quadrant of grass and a brick wall.

The main town was beautiful and the port was also stunning. There is a huge selection of activities such as fishing trips and glass bottom boats, but like alot of similar places, the people try and drag you off the street and convince you to buy. Taxis are cheap and most places are within walking distance. Although I would not recommend going too far away from the complex.

My only issue with the holiday is a personal one. The entertainment team was fantastic - but persistant. They wanted everyone involved even if you were uncomfortable and didn't wish to. It took a few refusals before they stopped pestering you that day. That is just a personal gripe I have, but would in no way prevent it from me visiting and enjoying one of my best holidays.

Room Tip: Room choice was taken out of our hands, but if you can get a room overlooking the beach or pool - i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielGTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My husband son and I had an excellent holiday at this hotel (May 2014). Animation team is excellent keeping everyone entertained throughout the day and night. Hotel facilities are great football courts tennis, volleyball, mini golf etc. food selection was good with plenty of choice either in the restaurant or at the beach bar. Very friendly atmosphere and fantastic for kids, (kiiiiddds clluuuuuub)!!! Big shout out to Joel who Oliver our 3 year old son loved playing with. Harbour is a 20 min walk with a selection of bars and restaurants. Overall an excellent hotel and holiday and we'd defo return x animation team makes this hotel!!!! X Stephen, Allison and Oliver x

Room Tip: 1034 great for kids first floor view of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The best holiday we've had in a long time. The animation team made our holiday, they are fantastic and we miss them already. They are our new friends and hope to see them again in August. Hope you are all still there!!
Biggy and Niño are a double act. Bobo and Dali are Hilarious and Speedy... Well what can we say!! Love u all
The hotel is clean, the cleaners work tirelessly the food is great. Never had a bad meal. The rooms are small but adequate.
The negative points.... Pool bar always closed early. Supposed to close at 5 but always closed by 4 o'clock. Another annoying fact was they were always too quick to take your glasses and plates... Even if you hadn't finished eating or drinking!! That's my only negative point... I can't fault the place and can't wait to go back. If you have kids.. This is the place to go!!!!! Gabby, Ellie and Dylan

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1028.. A ground floor room in the main building close to pool and reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gabbymad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Me and my friend went the week before last in May. We had an amazing time and made some great friends on the trip. This was my first time and I can't wait to go back in September. The hotel was great, it has everything you could need and the entertainment team were amazing. They are brill with the kids, speedy, biggie, neon and bobo you guys were ace. If I had kids I'd take them there.thumbs up from me:-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Spent two weeks at the sister hotel riveria which was lovely but spent most if our time at the abou sofiane.all animation team were great and friendly , one of the main reasons why we would booked to go back again . our son loved niño and speedy , they both were great with entertaining him . On departing our hotel at 7 am to go home , Speedy even came to wish us a safe journey and to say goodbye to Ben which we thought was great!! Miss them all and hope to be back to see them all again x

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

thoroughly enjoyed our two weeks here. we got off to the worst possible start being diverted to monastir airport because of a strike at enfidah, three hours to get through customs and reclaim our baggage.when we did finally get to the hotel we were told to go to lunch and our room would be ready for us, hotel was really spotless, food was always hot and beer always cold. would definately return. special mention to biggie and co. the animation team, they were brilliant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pensioners2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
0.3 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
4.4 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#4 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,077 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#7 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
El Kantaoui Center
El Kantaoui Center
#14 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
3.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa
#3 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Diar El Andalous
Iberostar Diar El Andalous
#2 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abou Sofiane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abou Sofiane

Property: Hotel Abou Sofiane
Address: BP 55, Hammam Sousse, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia (Formerly Dessole Abou Sofiane Resort)
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#10 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#12 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Abou Sofiane 4*
Number of rooms: 381
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Abou Sofiane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort All Inclusive Abou Sofiane
Occidental Abou Sofiane
Allegro Abou Sofiane
Abou Sofiane Hotel
Hotel Abou Sofiane Tunisia/Port El Kantaoui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing