We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Time 14 days of Great Fun”
Review of Hotel Abou Sofiane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Abou Sofiane
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Just returned from a fantastic trip to this great hotel, All I can say is that the staff and the entertainment staff make this place special, it is a three star hotel in our world but a 4 star hotel, and having been to tunisa last year to the Rosa rivage in skanes we knew what to expect. This hotel was better in both location , food, and entertainment .
The place was spotless, our room 170 over looked the beach and the pool,. The food was great and had variety but at busy times was a bit chaotic . So pick a later time.
The Russain guests appeared to be rude and also appeared greedy. this I think is a cultural thing and they seemed to eat banquet style and left a lot of food , they also seemed to be rude to each other as well as all the other guests, I don't think it was personal.
They also treated the staff quite badly and therefore the staff complained about them a lot. The staff love the English though and will do anything to help the English , they like a tip a dinar is about 30 p and one a day to the maid the waiter and the barmam went a great deal of the way to make sure that your service was top notch .

The rooms are a bit old fashioned but if you want a posh room book a 5 star, this is a family resort and hence the hardworking ents team. What a fantastic bunch, a big big big Thankyou to Biggie, Neno, Tatiana, Speedy (smiler) Dali, Bobo, and the rest of the team.

The most genuine people we have ever met a fantastic team, loved it all, would defiantly come back , the only issue however was the really really loud music around the pool, it could be slightly quieter.. Go Paragliding , it was great and I conquered my fear of heights . Oh and bye the way, more English music would be better , Chrissie and Nick ( Rocky and Madonna !!)

if you want a full English , go to Spain as guess what they don't do them in tunisia , why would they ?

Room Tip: 170 great room over looking the sea and the pool, , a bit noisy with the door open but , no problems...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,742)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Abou Sofiane
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 1,742 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

6th time in Tunisia 4th time in El Kantaoui and probably my 2nd favourite hotel. 25 minutes from Enfidha airport. Average of 32 degrees all week from June 11th - 18th. Food very good. Animation team work very hard and Biggie is the perfect gentleman. Speedy, well that's another story....seeing is believing but made my stay very worth while. Met an excellent group of ladies from Barry and Deb if you're reading I think you're awesome. Was back in the UK for less than 24 hours ad booked to go back. Loved it! Yes you will get hassled in Tunisia but a firm NO is sufficient. Their salary is about 1 sixth of ours so give them a break, they are just trying to make a living. Tip a little and it goes a long way!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gillian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Just came back from this Hotel and unless you are Russian give it a miss.
Lots of good points about this place .Animation team here is by far the best I have ever come across Location is spot on 15 min walk along the beach to the port with some nice bars and shops.
Bar staff and waiters were spot on and nothing was too much trouble them. Reception staff and customer service staff were useless.
Food was geared mainly for the Russians.
Second day there I was approached by our room maid and she informed me that she had a daily charge of £3 for cleaning my room when I refused she simply did not clean our room but just made the beds and changed our towels, by the end of the two weeks our room was very dirty. Complained to the so called Customer service people but nothing was done .
Russians !!!!!! Why any European tour operators put Btitts in mainly Russian populated hotels like this is beyond me ,never came across so ignorant and obnoxious people in all my life. Special thanks to the head barman ,pool barman and Malek at the pool and to Biggi and his team for fastly improving what would have been a rather bad holiday experience.
Will not be returning to this hotel but would return to Tunisia which we found very nice and enjoyable . This hotel is in need of a bit of TLC and maybe training for hotel management.

Room Tip: Clean it yourself or pay the maid the maid
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bill1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

In short, improvement is needed : i was Surprised by thé réception and bar decoration , so old and ugly.(80s style ) food is average , thé room is basic. Thé best thing is thé staff who are friendly and cheerful

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alya k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The hotel - booked through Thomson - was all inclusive. However, food was poor - same choice every day. Hotel service was excellent - all staff very friendly. However, when we were there majority of guests were from Russia some of whom were drunk and rude and very annoying

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stephenhider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just returned from a 7 night stay. Had an absolutely amazing time. The animation team work non stop and I agree with others that they can hassle you a lot. We just told them that we wanted to just watch! That didn't stop them coming to make sure we were ok and just having a chat which was absolutely fine. The waiters also worked tirelessly and for a few dinars tips treated you like kings and queens, remembering where you liked to sit and what you liked to drink, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were a little tired but spotlessly clean, always plenty of hot water and the most amazing water pressure in the shower! The maids kept the rooms spotless with different shapes/patterns made with sheets and towels every day. All in all a fantastic holiday, good food and lovely people.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bristolclems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I completely agree with much of what's been written. We had ten days here in May, and cannot fault staff, food and facilities, so I will not repeat that which you've already seen !

The animation team are all that people have said; I've never seen such constantly hard-working entertainers - and that's what they are. A total comedy act, interspersed with many different activities, for which they are continually drumming up support.

Therein lies the problem.

There is only one pool area, and the beach is windy (the paragliding is fabulous and well-organised - do it !), so if it's uncomfortable due to the wind, there is nowhere else to go. The animation team are SOOO enthusiastic that there is simply NO peace ! Which is exactly what some of us want, even if only for a couple of sun hours each day !!

They are constantly harassing everyone for participants, and the music is so loud that I couldn't listen to my own on my excellent-quality headphones because they didn't make it go away (which usually, they do !).

It is a shame, as they clearly are out for just one thing, and that's to give guests a good time. I think if they stopped to realise just how many people actually take part in something, as a percentage of total guests on site, they would understand that it isn't always what's required.

We walked into Port El Kantaoui twice, once along the beach both ways, and once on the pavement and back in a taxi. It is entirely feasible, no problem to do - just very hot !! Taxi recommended for 5 dinars (£2).

We took two days out to do the Sahara safari (reviewed separately), which I've done before and knew what was coming, and HAD to do it again ! We also did the African Dream trip, again reviewed separately. Also highly recommended.

The staff at this hotel cannot do enough for you, and as someone else so rightly said 'The Europeans could learn a thing or two from these guys'. That applies to service, food, AND plumbing (these toilets flush for as long as you hold the button/handle down, and are excellent. The shower will knock you off your feet. Fabulous !).

This hotel delivers superb value for money, and is much better-located than many in Hammamet and Sousse, as we saw on the pick-ups for the trips. As long as you can cope with loud music during the day, you'll have a great time here !

Incidentally, take a travel kettle etc for your room (mine goes everywhere with us), and in my experience there was no shortage of anything at all in the dining room.

There is a problem with Russians who are greedy, ill-mannered, and unbelievably wasteful with food. Unfortunately I've seen this now in several different countries. They let their country down all the time.

All in all, excellent value for money, service, soft sand and glorious sunshine, all less than three hours flying time from UK.

Room Tip: How long do you intend to spend in it in your waking hours ?
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LesleyCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
0.3 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,526 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,041 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Mouradi Palace
El Mouradi Palace
#16 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
#13 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,977 reviews
1.2 mi away
El Kantaoui Center
El Kantaoui Center
#14 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
632 reviews
4.2 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abou Sofiane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abou Sofiane

Address: BP 55, Hammam Sousse, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia (Formerly Dessole Abou Sofiane Resort)
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#10 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#14 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range: £30 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Abou Sofiane 4*
Number of rooms: 381
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Abou Sofiane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort All Inclusive Abou Sofiane
Occidental Abou Sofiane
Allegro Abou Sofiane
Abou Sofiane Hotel
Hotel Abou Sofiane Tunisia/Port El Kantaoui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing