We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Chill Out Holiday”
Review of Hotel Abou Sofiane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Abou Sofiane
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Lancashire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Chill Out Holiday”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We returned a week ago from this hotel, and we had a great time. My mum has walking difficulties and she found getting round the hotel easy enough and everything is within a short walking distance, even getting down to the beach.The beach is clean and easy accessible although you have to be up early to get sunbeds and you can't reserve beds, there is a beach bar which serves food at lunch time which is spacious and airy. There was always space around the pool and plenty of parasols to go round. You are provided with pool towels although changing them is a bit of a hassle as you have to leave them in your room and they are changed between 12-3pm every 2 days, so I would say take a pool towel with you just in case. The animation team are fantastic, Nino, Bobo, Dali, Arbi etc. try so hard everyday and try to include everyone even if it's just for a chat and don't push you to do the activities if you don't want to do them. The bar and restaurant staff are good, and they are even better if you tip them. On a whole the food was ok and there was always something to eat, pizza, pasta, rice and salad etc. although it can get a bit monotonous if you're there for 2 weeks. On an evening there was a disco after the shows had finished which had a good atmosphere and everyone regardless of nationality was up and dancing. Overall we couldn't fault the hotel, it was just some of it's guests who were rude and obnoxious, but we didn't let them get in the way of enjoying our holiday. We would definitely return in the future. If you have any questions feel free to ask.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tasha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    684
    494
    230
    160
    166
See reviews for
551
615
53
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Hi there everyone,
As the title suggests this was my first visit to Tunisia and my partners third, we booked a seven night holiday which in my humble opinion was just about enough, the hotel itself is very clean and tidy with a good beach close to hand the bar staff and waiters work hard to see that your needs are catered for (even better if you tip) the food was perhaps some of the best I have had in my travels at this sort of accommodation but after seven days even I had had enough to eat lol.

The spirit drinks from the reception bar are obviously 'watered down' but I guess that's not a bad thing in the long run the beer seemed ok though.

Our room was more than adequate and although the air con was turned off it didn't matter that much because the evenings were a tad nippy early may,

My only gripe about the hotel is the annoying so called animation team who seem to treat everyone like a child and their constant calls of 'Showtime Showtime' every evening became a laughing stock with some of the adults, but I guess their were only doing their job and probably me being an old grump :) one of them even jumped on my back with his false boobs and high heels as I tried to make my way to dinner one evening ! I'm sure he learnt so Anglo Saxon quickly that night and quickly got off.

I suppose the bottom line is would I stay here again? well yes I suppose I would if the price was right.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steve_and_trace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have recently got back from a group holiday! We had a brilliant time and would definitely return. The hotel is right on the beach with plenty of great water sports including banana boats, jet skis etc. The resort is great, the animation team are super .. "dali, bobo, etc!!" The food is repetitive and not the best but manageable for the week. One tip is they never seem to have enough cups for drinks, so take your own plastic cups to avoid queuing! The rooms are great, staff are all friendly! Meet barman "Safe" and your holiday will be fantastic! There are plenty of activities to do and evening entertainment till late. Overall we had a fantastic holiday and we couldn't fault the place. If you want any answers then please ask as will be happy to help. Free cocktails, sun, beach, pool and great atmosphere you can't go wrong. Big thanks to the animation team, "safe - best barman", water sports team, lifeguards on the beach and the nightclub security :) A perfect holiday!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have only just returned from our amazing holiday, right on the beach and not too far from the airport which is exactly what we love. Not the biggest variety of food however i could not fault it, and you will not go hungry! STAFF are great especially the animation team. I do see a lot of reviews based on the Russian Customers but this did not bother me when I was there at all. Will 100% be returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed here 25th June for a week got to say very dissapointed staff were not sociable need customer service training the rooms were clean pool was good the beach was the best the food was catered for the Russians about the Russians very rude no manners did not like queuing stared at you looking for trouble 95 per cent in this hotel are Russian always nasty to the staff here who work hard the animation team first two nights waited for their show they danced and talked to lots of people not us totally blanked us they all loved themselves so went to riveira hotel to watch show very good and talked to us. the rep we booked frigui park a safari park with him on Tue at 8 waited till 9.30 bus didn't turn up seen rep at 11 he booked the wrong hotel had our money back to much hassle in harbour and in sousse try to con you at every opportunity will not be coming back back to spain much better there don't come here again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mistylucy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Just got bk of a weeks stay in this hotel this hotel is 99% russians that are rude and arrogant which they think they own the hotel it is like a cattle market when going for dinner the food in hotel was disgusting it was ok if u liked pasta there was no waiter service for drinks entertainment staff only bothered with u if u were young thompson rep did not have a clue booked a day trip which bus did not turn up when we asked rep he said he put wrong hotel down we went to see fountains sat down had drink then fella said not on tonite but we later found out they have been off for 2yrs The staff need customer service training the russians annoyed them so much they got angry with us the hassle we had in the harbour was crazy kept grabbing my arm went on hols to ave a relaxing week need another holiday now to get over this one never again tunisia

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Well what can i say about this holiday, we got back yesturday (29th) after 2wks at this hotel and it was the best 2wks ever and i cant wait to go back next year. When we first got there staff took your cases to your room and check in wad abit slow but that wasnt a problem. Rooms are very basic but they have everything you need, we were on the ground floor in 1044 and we have a good veiw of the garden and terreace. Food is nice abit repeatative but there is something for everyone and i would recommend the tunisian chorba soup its really nice and the salad choices you get are fantastic. Staff - Are very friendly and will always say hello and most of them will try and make conversation with you but there is some that could do with abit of customer service training. THE ANIMATION TEAM - these guys are the best, they are fantastic at their job and are at it from 9am till around 10.30pm. Ive never laughed so much like i have these 2wks, they entertain the guest all day and night, they do activities through the day that guests can get involved in and at night time they put on shows which everyone can go and watch. One good thing about the team is they remember every guests name that is there, there was 11 in our group and we all got on great with the animation team and had a laugh with them for the whole 2wks. Biggie Nino Dali Speedy Bobo Mido and Arbi who only started 2 days before we left and all the other guys, you lot are a credit to the hotel and do a fantastic job and i hope you guys are still there next year when we come again. One negative to the holiday is the amount of russian guests there are, they are rude, arrogant, greedy and basically think they own the place, they treat staff like crap and when it comes to meal times my god ive never seen anything like it its like feeding time at the zoo, they take all the food and have plates piled with food on their tables and then dont even eat it just so no one else can get it, they dont like cueing up so will just push in. My advice is dont let them do it and stand up to them because they will back down. I feel for the staff with what they have to put with from the russians and they dont get paid enough for it either. All the staff love the english and will do anything for you. I will miss this place and next year cant come quick enough.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank Bexiboo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
0.3 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#3 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,461 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#7 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,018 reviews
0.4 mi away
Houria Palace Hotel
Houria Palace Hotel
#26 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
2,100 reviews
1.2 mi away
El Kantaoui Center
El Kantaoui Center
#15 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
618 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Diar El Andalous
Iberostar Diar El Andalous
#2 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abou Sofiane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abou Sofiane

Property: Hotel Abou Sofiane
Address: BP 55, Hammam Sousse, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia (Formerly Dessole Abou Sofiane Resort)
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#10 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#13 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Abou Sofiane 4*
Number of rooms: 381
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Abou Sofiane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort All Inclusive Abou Sofiane
Occidental Abou Sofiane
Allegro Abou Sofiane
Abou Sofiane Hotel
Hotel Abou Sofiane Tunisia/Port El Kantaoui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing