We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a brilliant holiday”
Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riviera
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Reviewed 14 September 2012

I would like to start be saying "Thank you" to all the staff here at the Hotel Riviera; you are all amazing and work so hard!
The hotel bedrooms are yes a little tired, but i must say the housekeeping of this hotel is fabulous and well how much time does one spend in their rooms, when the sun is out?
The entertainments team - all work very hard, and put on variety of evening show's that is something for everyone. If you do not feel like taking party you can always just relax in the bar area.
The food and service of all the dining areas are also brilliant, and there was always lots and lots to try!
For those people who moan about the food - they need to remember that they have booked a holiday to Tunisia and are not in England - try the food it is amazing!
The slides that have been put in are also wonderful, and the extra pool this has greated is only a plus+, as when we was there the pool area does get a little busy; but don't worry about getting up at 6.00am to put out your towels, this is in NO way needed here, the pool man see's you coming and is there with your bed's ready and waiting! Thank you!

With regards to tip's - lillte and often, and they are very thankful for this - but they don't expect it at all, always smiling and happy to help!

We meet a few guests that have been here for more times that i would like to mention, and i can really see why! As soon as i came back i was looking to rebook for 2013 -

There was a party of 7 - mixed age group from 10 year to 45, and we all have come back with special memories of this holiday, and we are still taking about it and laughing about it!

Spa:
Try the spa in this hotel - it's not very expensive compaired to uk prices and believe me it's well worth it, we all ended up haveing something by the end of the holiday, in fact we only wish we had tried it in the first week and i would have booked more.............

so it leaves me with just - Thank you very much for a wonderful holiday and i look forward to seeing you all again next year!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view - room so you can see what's happening from your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank charlilizx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,709)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

829 - 835 of 1,709 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2012

Just returned from this hotel. Very enjoyable time, however the hotel is very basic. The room was clean and spacious. As previously mentioned the air conditioning was not very effective. We did report this a couple of times and a man with a screwdriver would appear and then say he would be back, but we were aware that the only solution would be to move rooms and we decided that it was not a real issue so stayed put. Be aware that the power to the tv and fridge is controlled by a switch on the side of the bed. We had numerous visits from workmen before we realised what the problem was. We had no bottles of water in the room when we arrived and only one bath towel on a couple of occassions but just asked at reception and they were sent up to the room immediately.
There was free Internet in the reception area but it was very smokey everywhere. There was one non smoking area which was not always adhered to

The food in the main restuarant was varied and plentiful although lacking fruit choices and not real fruit juice served anywhere, just strong squash. Service was fine. If you went when it was busy then the table was cleared and made up for you and we did not have to wait long for drinks. Reading previous comments there seemed to be an issue with spoons. These were in a basket near the soup bowls and we never had a problem. The speciality restuarants were a nice change. The pool and beach bar served burgers and chips etc. and pancakes, coffee and tea in the afternoons.

The pool and pool area were clean, no problem finding sun beds at any time of day both at the pool and beach, also fresh towels available. The main pool was a good size and the slides were enjoyable and smaller pool was clean.

The beach was lovely and the sea was crystal clear. No rocks to worry about so easy to get in and out. The sea was cordoned off into swimming areas due to all the speed boats whizzing around. There were a few fish around so worth taking a snorkle. Beware the jelly fish. There was only one working Pedloe which did not have any pedals so was not very comfortable. There were Kayaks available.

There was no table service for drinks although there were waiters clearing the glasses from the tables. Queues at the bars were never too long although they ran out of tonic after two days and my son and husband found the beer at different bars varied in their pallatability. The bottled beer was better but they ran out.

The entertainment was run by the Animation team both day and night. The day time activities did not run as to the timetable and was very random. The evening entertainment was awful, the Animation team tried hard, the dancing was good but comedy sketches were painful although there were some people who seemed to enjoy it. The rest was miming to music and very painful Couples competitions and Miss Hotel. They did bring in one Professional act in the 10 days we were there.

Tennis courts and tables were available but there were no table tennis racquets and the tennis racquets were broken. There was crazy golf, Petang and French Boules in the Garden area.
It was a good location 20 minute walk from the Port which was a short walk away

So to sum up, the good points were clean pleasant room and hotel in general. Pool large and clean. Separate slides and Pool. Plentiful sun loungers. Beach and sea clean. Food good. Helpful friendly staff. Good location.
Bad points are that the hotel is very run down, poor air conditioning ran out of drinks. Awful entertainment in the evenings. Lots of chain smokers.
At the end of the day you get what you pay for and we did enjoy our time at the Riviera, but would not go back as there is a big world out there to explore and a lot better hotels

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holiday4usCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

we have just returned from a two week stay at this brilliant hotel, the staff always make you feel very welcome, and treat you as part of the family.
Our first impression of the hotel when we arrived was WOW it certanly met our expectations after arriving at the hotel at 0030 hours, after the 3 hours flight we thought that there would be no food for us however how wrong was we!!!!!!! pool snack bar bar open till 0100 hours.
Our room was cleaned every day, clean sheets clean towels etc.
There was plenty of choice of food so these people who are saying that the hotel food is poor do not beleive them, they are talking rubbish.
The animation team were also fantasic they consisted of Titi,Robbie,Joe,Samuel,Smiley,Slim and Emiley. Titi is 4 foot nothing but a real character and his had clapping is amazing.
Please be aware of the ring man on site who sells silver, it is genuine but PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE if you do go to the hotel and get your name done in arabic on a ring/necklass then get it checked by any of the animation team or hotel staff to make sure that is says what you want it to say as ours never untill the 3 time but it was no hassell for him to change it and get a new one made.
overall what a fantasic holiday thanks again to all the staff you made it very enjoyable.......

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank matt3813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

The hotel was very clean and all the staff very friendly. The hotel pool area was always clean and tidy the pool was great for a light snack. The food was always of a high standard. The bar man in the cocktail got to know your order andorra or less had them ready when we walked. Would I go again in a heart beat in fact already looking to book next year

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Blob1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Just arrived back from a week in tunisia.We stayed at the hotel riviera and had a fantastic holiday,The staff and animation team were brilliant, friendly and couldnt do enough for you.Our room was spacious and clean possibly needed a little updating but the view was to die for.
I can honestly say that this was the best holiday i have had in years and will be booking to go back as soon as..

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank b1uegems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Have just returned from a week at the Riviera. Arrived at 3 am on Sunday morning after a flight delay and were put in Room 1007. Unfortunately this was directly above the Disco and the whole room vibrated so we were moved to another room which was much better although very tired (which we have found is pretty normal in Tunisian hotels - we have stayed at many but first time to PEK). Food OK although snack bar by the pool serves snacks between 11.30 pm and 1 am and it was quite normal to see plates of empty food laying around outside on the way to breakfast in the morning

Spoke to a couple who checked into a ground floor room and on moving the bed found a pile of rat droppings complete with live rat - since heard on bus going to airport on the way home of another hotel nearby with rat problems too.

Reception area very clean and pleasant although very smokey as smoking is allowed inside. Hedi in the bar in the evening is fantastic. Ordered drinks on the first night and as soon as he sees you in the queue he has them ready for you for the entire holiday. There is a nice seating area outside which is quite nice in the evening with a lovely breeze.

Met some lovely people but unfortunately will not be returning.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room that is in the 1,000's as this is above the Disco unless of course you plan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KerryCambridge81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

I love this hotel!!! This is my 7th time back to this hotel and everyone there is like family now. I cannot express how nice it is to return somewhere and people actually remember you and greet you with such happy smiley faces and go out of their way to make sure that your holiday will be one of the bests you have been on.
Since my last visit to the hotel they have recently put in some water slides which are fantastic fun for children and adults! If you are concerned about swimming of the depth of the water when you come down the slides, you need not worry as it is quite shallow. You must try them, they are a laugh!
I must say that I was a little dissapointed with the gardens of the hotel as usually the grass is a lush green and there is always a gardener tending to the gardens but this time the grounds were patchy, some of the bushes were overgrown and it just looked a little tired. But I am not going to say it ruined my holiday as it didn't, just more of an observation.
The food is still of a good standard from previous times that I have been there and there is always something to eat, even for the most fussier of eaters. Even at busy times there was enough food to go around and the chefs made sure that the dishes were regularly replaced. There is also an Italian and Tunisian restaurant and although I didn't go on this visit on previous visits the food was fantastic and is well worth a visit. Just speak to the reception about how to book into the restaurants.
The rooms are still the same, a little tired and dated but then who goes on holiday to spend their holiday in the room?!! It was comfortable and the maids always did a great job with cleaning the rooms. The air conditioning worked great in the room I had, but I know a few people that problems with theirs but if you just speak to reception they will be more than happy to fix the problem.
So now to the animation team....well what can I say!!! They just make the holiday!!! They work so hard to make sure that everyone is having a good time and to entertain the people. Slim, Smiley, Samuel, Robbie (Ruby), Joe (Christian Grey of Tunisia), Emily and of course Titi, I want to thank you all for making my holiday such fun. Every night there is a show and they work so hard and each time I have seen the show they get better each time and work on how they could make it better. The only thing wrong with the animation team is the manager...Ramsey. For those who have been here before will understand what I am on about. But this man is what spoils the animation team, he is rude, does nothing apart from tell the boys off for having fun and his way of communicating with the guests (unless of course your blonde/brown with a tiny figure and not with a man) is nodding, he never speaks to anyone and almost appears to go out of his way to not speak to people! I did speak to him on this holiday and he told me that all English are the same and hate him...well Ramsey if you are reading this perhaps the reason why you think people hate you is because you make absolutely no effort whatsoever to speak to anyone and just walk around looking like you own the place!!!! When Ramsey first started he was quite nice and did sit and speak to people like the rest of the animation team but not now... however the good thing is if you are planning to go to this hotel he is leaving (and have been told this by Ramsey himself) and hopefully a previous manager will be returning called Sam who was absolutely fantastic, so hopefully the entertainment will be even better and with a few new shows as well.
There is a nightclub in the hotel too which is open until 1am and has quite good music being played by the DJ Bouma. There is a bar there which is also included in the all-inclusive. Now I got quite angry at a few guests whilst in the club, when you have been to the hotel quite a few times you get a red band (otherwise you get a blue band) and quite a few times after closing time people were coming in demanding drinks and when told no they were saying because they have a red band they should be allowed one. I am sorry but this is not on! Rules are rules and if the bar staff are caught serving after closing time they will get sacked...just because you have a red band does not mean your VIP. In future get to the bar before closing time and order a few drinks!
On Friday nights the animation team did a little mini van to the local night club for all those who want to go and it is well worth it. It only cost 1 dinar to go and entry to the club is free. It is quite a good night out and you have are in safe hands with the animation team and will make sure nothing happens to you.
All the people working at the hotel from the receptionists (especially Malek), the bar staff, the chefs, the waitors, the henna guys (Ali and Aymen), the pool guys, the animation team, the maids, the gardeners, the DJ....absolutely everyone in the hotel are fantastic and work so so hard and make the hotel what it is. Thank you everyone for making another fantastic holiday for me and see you all soon! :)

Room Tip: High floor and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pfc_lilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
0.1 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,547 reviews
4.2 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
0.6 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
#13 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,983 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Mouradi Palace
El Mouradi Palace
#16 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,026 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Mouradi Palm Marina
El Mouradi Palm Marina
#5 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Address: Bp 55, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia (Formerly Dessole Riviera Resort)
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#9 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#9 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range: £39 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Hotel Riviera is located in a splendid environment, just 250 meters from the beach and features beautiful and elegant 4-star accommodation. All of the hotel's rooms and suites are well furnished, stylishly decorated and equipped with modern en suite facilities. You are sure to enjoy a view from your room of the swimming pool, the verdant garden or the sea. For meals and drinks Hotel Dessole Riviera Resort features 4 restaurants and a selection of bars. Enjoy international and local cuisine and a variety of drinks, cocktails and wines. The hotel is located in Port El Kantaoui just a short walk from marina and near a 36-hole golf course and the famous Sousse Medina. Hotel Rooms: 295 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caribbean Village Riviera
Hotel Riviera Tunisia/Port El Kantaoui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing