We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay”
Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Riviera
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

After moving too this hotel from another we were pleasantly surprised.
. very friendly welcome
. impressive reception area
. immediate allocation of room
. cases brought to room
. room was clean (although a little tired)
. comfortable beds
. restaurant very good with a wide selection of food
. tasty but not as hot as expected
. two ladies working in restaurant extremely lovely and helpful (apologies names escape me)
. soup each day was always very good and bread also (very hot)
. meat pie was very tasty/potatoes/lamb chouder
. house red was acceptable
. excellent service always a friendly smile and ushered to table.
. bar was very tastefully decorated/furnished and bar staff especially the evening shift Eddy from 4pm was very attentive all you needed was a thumb up and drinks were waiting as you arrive at the bar very impressed with this and showed our appreciation (tipped well)
. pool bar - not very impressed food poor and staff extremely rude and unhelpful had a heated discussion when asked for bottle of water was refused ?? not happy !
. entertainment staff although a bit of a joker pushing his luck a little , but he was good and meant well, very helpful when you needed assistance.
. conveniences - in general area/reception and pool areas not clean at all very poor indeed not hygienic despite cleaners being there a lot of the time (usually chatting)
. A La Carte restaurant - mmmm what can we say apart from this was NOT A La Carte at all.
Chef Ramsey would not be a happy man!
. Rhiad - representive Thomas Cook extremely helpful and always a friendly smile and always available (we didn't need his help thankfully.
. all in all we had a very pleasant stay for a 3*** plus hotel you get what you pay for.
hotel is a little dated in rooms but that really is all you can say. very nice hotel.
.

Room Tip: A pool view room is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Goldilocks38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    700
    523
    245
    105
    69
See reviews for
610
540
42
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Just back from a week at the Riviera and 1st time to Tunisia, booked last minute with Thomas Cook AI for £250 each, good flights followed by a little queuing at Enfhida Airports passport control, transfer took about 40 mins so that was a bonus.
Arrived quick check-in and bags brought to the rooms, seems that small tips are the thing to do not every time but regular between different staff, repays back tenfold!

Staff are excellent and polite with nothing being to much bother, hotel had just been taken over on 1st January, and the new operators were in full referb mode and a lot of work both material and cosmetic were being carried out with only minor disruption, people moan but it has to be done some time and for the price we paid was semi-expected, be worse if you paid full price and the place was a tip.

Meals were pretty good with a good choice and always hot, again can't understand people who criticise the food abroad, if you dont want cheese and meat for breakfast then stay at home!! but there was a great choice at breakfast, cereals, omelettes etc

Drinks were fine local brew and spirits but all tasted fine, free cocktails were also included so that was a nice surprise, with hot mulled wine laid on every night at 6pm probably due to the time of year and being a bit nippy at night.

Rooms again OK, nice bathroom separate WC, mini fridge (empty), and room was kept warm by decent heating controlled by thermostat.

Entertainment was rubbish at night my only real gripe, as there was nothing nearby to do in the way of bars etc, but people who had been before said it may be due to the time of year, not sure I'd agree with that as it didn't match the write up by TC on their website?

Would I go again, yes but in the summer when a lot more would be open and available to do, oh and we found it very cheap for buying clothes, food and drinks taxis etc

Room Tip: Ask for pool view as the other sides are not very good we overlooked the tennis courts and the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank ManchesterRed64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

hotel ok room clean but needs refurb, staff very friendly food ok breakfast not very good but if you want fried eggs, ask the lady who cooks the omletes she will cook them for you. the animation team worked hard to keep the children entertained, also take note the the water slides do no Open till may, if you read in the Thomas Cook book and Airtours book it does state open May to Oct but if you book on the website, not sure if its on there, when we were there a family told us they only booked this hotel at coop travel and was told all slides were open and kids club, so double check everything also you get pool towles in you room i did not see this in the broucher and packed my own. if you do go ino sousse be careful when you get out of the taxi a chap will come up to you and say he from your hotel and shake hands, and say he works in the hotel don't be taken in its a set up from the taxi driver, he will try and get you to shop in shops he knows, just walk away, one big con. be warned. it is safe to go out of the hotel, there is a very nice place to have a drink and food about 5 mins walk its called New Air very diffrent and very interesting place.

Room Tip: a lot of the rooms are being done up when i stayed, try the 3rd floor as all guest were being moved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Angela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Am writing this review to help others ,who like to travel ..on arrival it was very hot ,and nice but be warned thought as your trying to leave the airport a man will try take your bags don't let them as the want paying for helping with your bags trust me it's only a short walk to the bus , and they asked for £10 English when I replayed only had a card they weren't happy as you can imagine.any way on arrival staff where nice very help full also received a drink bell boy helped us with our bags to the room -we where pleased with the room clean tidy we rushed down to the pool as was the hottest day of all the holiday only to find the slides closed till May : ( not happy as it does say in the brochure and when I booked last minute at co op travel I was told loads for the kids !!!!! Not really as the weather wasn't good the pool was like an ice - bucket it's the only time I've been abroad and the pool s been empty all day .........! In side pool was warm and nice but I could of stayed at home for this ...... May be a little my fault ...... Should read May be !!!!!! But on Wednesday we had to change rooms as thy where doing up ready for summer .... We where only there a week and there was 5 of us ...... Wasn't happy. ..... Up pack / pack / un pack / pack god one week right pain ..... Also one morning my daughter .... Was cleaning her teeth to find a very sharp piece of glass good job she has very good eye sight ...... Could of sol lowed this I did complain nothing was done not really good enough !!!!!!!!!so over all not bad bad for the price we paid for 5 of us ...... Just disappointed when things are mention / nothing was done x

Room Tip: Make sure you ask what type of room when booking in at reception and may check there not going to mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 72dianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haverfordwest
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Our whole stay was just wonderful. The decor of the hotel is stunning the staff are amazing and the value was hard to fault. Everything was perfect and I know I will return. If you make an effort it is easy to get around the taxis are always outside get a fixed price and it is really cheap the porter will help you. The beach is a short walk away and the beach staff were lovely too and the loungers were included. If you are with a tour company then do take an organised trip as the guides are very knowledgeable

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank archaeo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kantaoui72, Directeur général at Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 4 May 2015
Dear customer,

We read your great review posted on Tripadvisor after your stay at DESSOLE RIVIERA PORT EL KANTAOUI.

We are very happy to know that you enjoy your holiday to such extent.

We would like to thank you indead for your faith and we are grateful to read that you liked our hotel and the services offered to you during your stay.

All the team is ready to serve you as you were used to and they are very motivated to present all their best.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again to our hotel during your next visit to Port El Kantaoui / Sousse.

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed here last year with my girlfriend for 11 nights. The hotel was huge and very impressive but the staff where not helpful and we waited hours in the early morning to be checked in because the room wasn't ready. Unacceptable at 2am.
There was barely anywhere to go and venture out to so most of the time we was sat by the pool or on the beach. They have fun games in the hotel every couple of hours which kept me entertained now and then.
They offer to arrange day trips for you at a price, think we paid about £80-£90 on a 2 day trip around Tunisia which was hell, but after we done it was very glad we did. You get to see a coliseum, Sahara desert and the set of Star Wars. You are on a coach for about 11 hours a day though which done my head in.
All inclusive drinks couldn't get me drunk though, the whole hotel said the same when we was there. Food was decent though.
Overall it was a nice break but I wouldn't go back but I wouldn't say it was a bad holiday either. If you want to just sit in the sun doing nothing for 11 nights and have no night life or not get drunk then I recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kenno1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Ignore all the negatives about this hotel. My wife and I have just returned from this hotel and I have to say we wanted for nothing. The staff were so curtious, polite and nothing was too much trouble for them. The room was clean and had we had a good view of the pool and sea.
The maids were fantastic, room cleaned every day, clean towels, sheets, again, nothing was too much trouble.
The food was good and a varied choice every day, waiting staff in the restaurant were fantastic, I can not fault anything, maybe some of the food could have been a little hotter. On the whole our experience was fantastic.
Admittedly as per some of the reviews the hotel is undergoing re-decoration, but in no way did this ruin my holiday, this type of work has to be done and disruption was kept to a minimum.

We enjoyed our stay so much we are now planning to rturn in September.
Well Done Hotel Riviera & thanks for a great week.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
0.1 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#3 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,485 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#7 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,022 reviews
4.2 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
2,123 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
#13 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,909 reviews
0.8 mi away
Soviva Resort
Soviva Resort
#24 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Property: Hotel Riviera
Address: Bp 55, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia (Formerly Dessole Riviera Resort)
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#10 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Hotel Riviera is located in a splendid environment, just 250 meters from the beach and features beautiful and elegant 4-star accommodation. All of the hotel's rooms and suites are well furnished, stylishly decorated and equipped with modern en suite facilities. You are sure to enjoy a view from your room of the swimming pool, the verdant garden or the sea. For meals and drinks Hotel Dessole Riviera Resort features 4 restaurants and a selection of bars. Enjoy international and local cuisine and a variety of drinks, cocktails and wines. The hotel is located in Port El Kantaoui just a short walk from marina and near a 36-hole golf course and the famous Sousse Medina. Hotel Rooms: 295 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caribbean Village Riviera
Hotel Riviera Tunisia/Port El Kantaoui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing