We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Minor niggles overall good”
Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Riviera
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We arrived after a long morning travelling to be greeted with a nice cold drink and our cases taken from us we had a short wait of 30 minutes or so for our rooms but we took this time to have a beer and walk around. The staff were friendly all over the hotel (aside from reception) and would go out of their way to help you... find/reserve sunbeds and bring drinks etc for small tips which is part of the culture... without it you won't get anything special service wise - unlike the houda (yasmine hammamet) last year they actually like british guests and this came across well... they don't love the russians and their arrogance but ill get to that in the negative points.
The rooms are clean twin beds (too hard for my liking) in all rooms with separate wc and bath/shower which was kept clean daily though the pool towels could do with replacing a bit more often and we did have to wait a day for our pool towels even though I asked three times at reception for them!
Our friends moved rooms from the ground floor room 17 area that we had to 411 on the 4th floor with a pool view at a cost of 10 dinar per person per night it totalled just over £50 for their stay and for a few days the shower wasn't working - my advice is not to pay for it as its a rip off having spoke to other guests some who paid and others who hadn't paid. Though we didnt have a pool view we were close to reception the bar etc and it was quiet at night.
The food was great - I am always dubious of all inclusive buffet food but each morning lunch and evening dinner was varied and the food had a bit of spice and taste, it was served warm/hot and there was usually plenty to go around. They also served local specialties, catered for majority and drinks were served at the table during dinner. I would recommend making the most of the two free visits per trip per person to the a la carte restaurants especially the tunisian which was lovely inside and the food was really great. The Italian wasn't very authentic but the food was nice nevertheless. A snack bar was open by the pool which also included crepes and ice cream that was there to serve yourself all afternoon and the beach bar also started serving food from 1st may and we took the baguettes which were perfect for the beach. There is also a varied choice of drinks available and the spirits get stronger if you tip ;) also worth having a cocktail in the broadway bar and asking for a tunisian tea in the coffee area!
We preferred the beach area as it was quieter and kept very clean plus we had front row beds reserved for us when the russians turn up late demanding somewhere its tough they get sent to their own area for a different hotel :) The pool area was kept clean and you can also get sunbeds easily if you see the pool attendant and tip - the waterslides were open around 11 for an hour just watch out for the kids at the bottom that dont get out of the way!
Our stay was made at the beginning by the lovely bar man (trainee) Haythem who was so friendly and polite, he regularly topped up my glass by the pool and was always cheerful and attentive to our group unfortunately after he went back to college this didnt continue but the staff as a whole were a great team.
The animation team were ok and didn't annoy you if you didn't want to join in but it was the same routine day in day out so it got very boring and they also got the hump because we didn't want to accept a t-shirt we paid 30 dinar for and they put a female name instead of a male name on it and tried to blame us for writing it down wrong! (don't waste your money on one to get attitude back if they got it wrong!)
I would return here hopefully with a few niggles sorted out which are as follows:
Fix the lifts, Provide an area to shower and change with some privacy as we couldnt keep our room on with a night flight back, modernise the rooms and offer double beds, no extortionate charges for pool view rooms and allow you to pre-book them and seriously improve the evening entertainment as there was nothing to do for younger generations and finally improve the reception staff service because they dont seem to have rooms ready on time and are quite rude and abrupt at times.

Just also beware that the russians invaded a few days in and are loud obnoxious and arrogant they will push past you in the restaurants and will let their kids scream and shout whilst they barge past you on your sunbed whether its the beach or not.... I decided to move my sunbed to stop them... if looks could kill... anyone know swear words in russian.... they weren't all unfriendly just 99% and they mainly stay in the sister hotel as for the other nations everyone got on and spoke to each other in passing or over a drink.

I think the hotel is being slowly upgraded so no doubt they will get to a higher standard but worth a visit for a week anything longer would get monotonous.

Room Tip: Ground floor near the indoor pool was quiet but a pool view on 3rd or 4th floor is great though you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DanBoozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,704)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

396 - 402 of 1,704 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

Fabulous Hotel . But does anyone have the e.mail address for this hotel as we go back on the 28th May, thanks. Hotel staff and food is aborlutly lovely. The boys loved the slides. The animation team are Fabulous. The coffee down stairs we used to take up to the room . Small fridge comes in handy as well. . They have a small shop in the lobby area as well.

Room Tip: that's what we need the e.mail address for kind regards
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leonard w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kantaoui72, Directeur général at Hotel Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear customer,

Thank you very much for your nice review posted on Tripadvisor after your stay spent at DESSOLE RIVIERA PORT EL KANTAOUI.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your holidays to such extent; all the team is tremendously motivated.

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

lifts fail and if not fit or have child with buggy try for ground floor e.mail request to
www.clessolehotels.com
just back end of april 2014 weather great hot
location great and use of sister hotel very good lovel hotel
if going soon hot hot

Room Tip: ground flloor as lifts so so
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mortonfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Just returned from a week's stay at the Riviera with my boyfriend and both of us have had an amazing time.
The hotel is clean and the rooms are spacious with everything you need for an all inclusive hotel.
The food choice was brilliant, there was ample choice meaning you never went hungry and it was regularly topped up so it was hot.
The drinks are also good, tipping the bar staff goes a long way and they will get your drinks ready for you before you have even reached the bar. You can also use the facilities of the sister hotel where drinks are served until 2am which we found useful travelling as a young couple!
The animation team are fantastic and work so hard all day to keep everyone of all ages entertained!
Port el Kantaoui itself is lovely and there are some nice bars and restaurants by the marina - prepare to be hassled by people who want you to go into there shops but if you are firm and say no they leave you alone. Also don't pay full price for anything, bartering with them will mean you pay about a third of what they originally want to charge you!
Overall we had a fantastic week at the Riviera and would book for at least 10 days next time!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HannahF93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kantaoui72, Directeur général at Hotel Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear customer,

Thank you very much for your nice review posted on Tripadvisor after your stay spent at DESSOLE RIVIERA PORT EL KANTAOUI.

We are looking forwards to welcoming you at our hotel during your next visit to Port El Kantaoui / Sousse.

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This was our third visit to this Hotel over about 10 years. The Hotel has been taken over by a new company - but many of the old staff have been kept on and the relaxed atmosphere that has meant we have been happy to return again and again is still evident.

If anything there has been some money spent at the hotel - which was a pleasant surprise - with all the dodgy stories you hear about holidays and hotels in Tunisia over the past year or so.

This is a three star hotel which is working hard to become a four star in our opinion.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Southern side are very noisy with Buses at all hours of the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Malcolm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kantaoui72, Directeur général at Hotel Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear customer,

Thank you very much for your nice review posted on Tripadvisor after your stay spent at DESSOLE RIVIERA PORT EL KANTAOUI.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your holidays to such extent; all the team is tremendously motivated.
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Just got back from a weeks Holiday at the Riviera.
There was a group of 5 of us, and wat can i say!!!
Amazing Hotel, staff, food. Nothing was too much trouble.
The food was beautiful and always plenty to choose from, even if sometimes you didn't like some of it, you could always fine a meal.
Some reviews said the beer was watered down but i can honestly say we were drunk most nights
and although the spirits weren't as strong as they are at home, it was still easy enough to drink.
The Animation team were very good and kept the Kids and the Adults entertained from Morning till Midnight. I would definitely recommend this Hotel to everyone .
And cannot wait to book up to go again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kantaoui72, Directeur général at Hotel Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear customer,

We would like to thank you for trusting DESSOLE RIVIERA PORT EL KANTAOUI for your holiday in Tunisia and had the time to post a very nice review on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay to such extent such like the room, the food, the service and with the staff who contributed to your well being and satisfaction which is our aim.

We are looking forwards to welcoming you back again during your next visit to our hotel ………..

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

just arrived back from 2 weeks at the riviera hotel tunisia, absolutely fabulous staff bent over backwards to help you, some work going on but nothing that disrupted our holiday animation team work really hard and are brilliant with the kids nothing was too much trouble will definately be returning trip to the sahara booked through our rep was amazing worth the visit well done to all keep up the good work.food was as good as it gets so much choice.

Room Tip: most rooms are adaptable clean and tidy, sheets changed every day nearly all have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Treveata M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
0.1 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,570 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,069 reviews
4.2 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
#13 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,993 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Mouradi Palace
El Mouradi Palace
#17 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,029 reviews
1.2 mi away
El Kantaoui Center
El Kantaoui Center
#14 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Address: Bp 55, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia (Formerly Dessole Riviera Resort)
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#11 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#11 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range: £28 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Hotel Riviera is located in a splendid environment, just 250 meters from the beach and features beautiful and elegant 4-star accommodation. All of the hotel's rooms and suites are well furnished, stylishly decorated and equipped with modern en suite facilities. You are sure to enjoy a view from your room of the swimming pool, the verdant garden or the sea. For meals and drinks Hotel Dessole Riviera Resort features 4 restaurants and a selection of bars. Enjoy international and local cuisine and a variety of drinks, cocktails and wines. The hotel is located in Port El Kantaoui just a short walk from marina and near a 36-hole golf course and the famous Sousse Medina. Hotel Rooms: 295 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caribbean Village Riviera
Hotel Riviera Tunisia/Port El Kantaoui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing