We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service Faultless”
Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riviera
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We visited in June 2014 and during our stay one of the party fell while out and broke ribs while out on an excursion. On return to the hotel the staff were amazing and we had medical assistance within 15 minutes and they could not do enough to help and assist.

The hotel is clean and well maintained although the bathrooms could do with updating somewhat. The cleaning staff keep the rooms really spotless with the traditional fancy towel decorations etc.

The choice of food in the buffet restaurant was excellent with something for most tastes and my sweet toothed husband was very happy with the desert spread.

Pool / beach service were all brilliant and even for us Late risers and the staff did try to prevent reserve with the towel on beds brigade although not too successfully!!

Bar servc was swift and efficient and always with a smile.

All in all a Great 10 days despite injury!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Sue-Paul-1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kantaoui72, Directeur général at Hotel Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear customer,

Thank you very much for your nice review posted on Tripadvisor after your stay spent at DESSOLE RIVIERA PORT EL KANTAOUI.

We are looking forwards to welcoming you at our hotel during your next visit to Port El Kantaoui / Sousse.

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,709)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

334 - 340 of 1,710 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

I will start with the good points:
3 pools, restaurant waiters, Tunisian people & bus home.

Bad points:
Russians, 98% occupancy in hotel, the most ignorant and rudest people ever to breath.
Food absolutely terrible, hotel only caters for Russians, quality abysmal, selection for Europeans terrible, Food not named in pots, people who say the food is good, I would like to see their kitchen's or hygiene at home. Room towels collected at 8.30am, so until mid afternoon no clean or towels to use. Level 300 room maid ignorant. Would only give one pool towel every three days, staff at reception, could not give a damn. Poor lighting in corridors, on limited timers 12 seconds, not safe for kids or woman in dark alone. lifts always broken down. Needs a full update from 70's décor, Kids club, a noisy rabble through the dining room every night. Beds, solid & poor quality.

Room Tip: Higher level for a breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank james S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

me and my friend went to this hotel for two weeks..staff was very kind and nice, animation team was amaizing all day some games making ppl laught(mainly Mr Zizo and Max, i am fanssy for food so i didnt enjoy it but my friend loved it, on private beach u got bar and there r serving food aswell so u dont need to go to the restaurant..what can i say is that was the best choice for holiday...

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zuzana s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kantaoui72, Directeur général at Hotel Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear customer,

We would like to thank you for trusting DESSOLE RIVIERA PORT EL KANTAOUI for your holiday in Tunisia and had the time to post a very nice review on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay to such extent such like the room, the food, the service and with the staff who contributed to your well being and satisfaction which is our aim.

We are looking forwards to welcoming you back again during your next visit to our hotel ………..

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

I went to Tunisia with huge doubts as to wether it would be my kind of holiday. I've travelled far and wide and would never have chosen this holiday... It was my husbands choice.
We arrived back yesterday (09/07/14) after staying for one week. I've already been looking to re book!
The staff at the hotel made our holiday for us. From checking in at reception, the restaurant staff, bar staff, the animation team and the staff at the beach. Everyone we spoke to was so friendly and polite.
We spent our days on the beach and the 2 barmen at the beach bar were excellent. Always smiling, always friendly whilst working in crazy heat.
Max from the animation really got the atmosphere going when playing the beach games.

We arrived at the hotel at about 11am. We were told check in was at 2pm, which didn't bother us. We left our cases in reception, had a walk around and a couple of drinks whist we waited. However the girl on reception called us over from the bar and told us our room was ready. It was within the hour of us arriving.
The room itself wasn't without problems, but liveable for a week.
The shower water always leaked out of the bath, but we just placed a towel down to avoid a wet floor.
Air con wasn't up to much. We did ask for it to be looked at, but it didn't improve, so our room was often quiet hot on a night time.

Food for us was excellent. We enjoyed every meal time. Breakfast isn't sausage and bacon, but it is omelettes, pancakes, Danish pastries, fruit etc etc.
Lunch time was always good. Spit roast chicken in the restaurant everyday. It was lovely.
Evening meal was also good. There was always plenty of choice and the deserts are fantastic
The restaurant had it's busy times when tables weren't cleared as quick as you would hope, but the staff are so busy trying to clear tables, lay tables, serve drinks. Some people were complaining but the staff were trying so hard. Sometimes we felt there was a lack of respect from holidaymakers towards the staff as 'I want it now' attitudes often kicked in!

We did not think the drinks were watered down at all. Beer, wine and piña colada were all good.

We didn't spend time around the pool so can't comment.

The beach was great. We did tip 2 dinar per day (60p) to get sun loungers without any problems.
Beach bar staff need another mention. They really were the best! So friendly and had so many laughs with them.
I also have to mention how clean the hotel and resort were. Exceeded my expectations.

I always say I will never visit the same place twice as it's a big world out there, but I now have to say I will. I can't wait to return!

Thank you to everyone who made our holiday one of the best we have ever had x

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank HelenC229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kantaoui72, Directeur général at Hotel Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear customer,

Thank you very much for your nice review posted on Tripadvisor after your stay spent at DESSOLE RIVIERA PORT EL KANTAOUI.

We are looking forwards to welcoming you at our hotel during your next visit to Port El Kantaoui / Sousse.

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed from 25/06/14 - 02/07/14. I'll start on a positive note, the beach was lovely and the gardens were nice and well kept. The staff (apart from reception) were friendly and helpful. The hotel was very clean although decor was a little dated in places. We booked two day trips via our rep (El Jem ampitheatre and The Medina Ramble) which were really good (reviewed separately).

If you are a vegetarian I cannot recommend this hotel. I don't usually expect too much of food for veggies at all inclusive resorts as we're in the minority to be catered for however, there were very limited choices in the buffet restaurant. In some areas where they prepare omelettes, pasta and pannini the staff used the same utensils for meat and cheese and they were cooked on the same area. This would be very simple for the hotel to rectify. A lot of the food was poorly labelled e.g. "pasta or potato surprise" so it was difficult to know what it contained. We were also disappointed not to be able to eat in the Tunisian restaurant and the Italian restaurant. We were told that the chefs could leave meat out of the dishes but the veg would be cooked with the meat. Hardly a productive solution.

On a final negative note, we were inially given a noisy room next the the kitchens. After a lot of hassle at reception we were given a so called quiet room which was above a disco! We finally got moved to a quieter room after having to be quite assertive with reception and speaking to our rep. Reception were very abrupt and kept insisting that no other rooms were available which clearly wasn't the case. We didn't let this ruin our holiday but it wasn't the best first impression of the hotel.

Despite the lovely beach and day trips I wouldn't return as I can't live on salad and chips. A few simple changes from the hotel could rectify this for future guests.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms near the kitchens and disco as they are very noisy. You may have to be assertive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank anjajetset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Arrived on Sunday around 10.45 only to be told our rooms would not be available until 12 - not overjoyed to hear this - on a package deal would have thought it a given that rooms ready on arrival. We had been up since midnight the previous night and all we really wanted to do was crash for a few hours. Plumbing also leaves something to be desired - no water for showers at 6pm and had to keep trying over course of about 40 minutes to get a very cold trickle.
Food good so far and a pretty wide choice between the main buffet restaurant and snack bar. Staff mostly friendly and efficient apart from one guy in restaurant who seated us (party of 3) at a large table for dinner then asked us to move when we had got food and sat down to eat it. Admittedly it was busy but it did annoy me not to be able to eat our meal in peace!

What I really don't understand is how a hotel can possibly not have enough towels! They say they provide towels for bathroom and beach - cleaner took all of mine and my family's at 9 this morning and said we would have fresh ones in 20 minutes - it took rather longer than that and was well past 11.30 to get 3 beach towels, 2 of which we're full of holes - heaven knows where they dragged them up from. Tip - do NOT hand over towels without getting fresh ones in return!! Let's see how the remainder of our holiday goes.....

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank scb187062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just arrived home after 2 fantastic weeks at Riveria for the second year. All staff so helpful, and lovely making us feel welcomed. Fabulous Animation team working hard to keep us all entertained day and night, kids loved them. My Son loved the kids club, n my daughter has a soft spot for a few of the lads. Pool and beach life guards are all lovely. Room was huge, and cleaned everyday with fresh towels. Bar staff always smiling and welcoming. Beach and pool area fab. Will definitely return and hopefully see familiar faces. Only negative is more staff are needed within the restaurant at night as the staff were run off there feet and sometimes struggled to get a table.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2014Sam254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kantaoui72, Directeur général at Hotel Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear customer,

We read your great review posted on Tripadvisor after your stay at DESSOLE RIVIERA PORT EL KANTAOUI.

We are very happy to know that you enjoy your holiday to such extent.

We would like to thank you indead for your faith and we are grateful to read that you liked our hotel and the services offered to you during your stay.

All the team is ready to serve you as you were used to and they are very motivated to present all their best.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again to our hotel during your next visit to Port El Kantaoui / Sousse.

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
0.1 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,551 reviews
4.2 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
0.6 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
#13 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,985 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Mouradi Palace
El Mouradi Palace
#16 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,027 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Mouradi Palm Marina
El Mouradi Palm Marina
#5 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Address: Bp 55, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia (Formerly Dessole Riviera Resort)
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#9 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#9 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range: £36 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Hotel Riviera is located in a splendid environment, just 250 meters from the beach and features beautiful and elegant 4-star accommodation. All of the hotel's rooms and suites are well furnished, stylishly decorated and equipped with modern en suite facilities. You are sure to enjoy a view from your room of the swimming pool, the verdant garden or the sea. For meals and drinks Hotel Dessole Riviera Resort features 4 restaurants and a selection of bars. Enjoy international and local cuisine and a variety of drinks, cocktails and wines. The hotel is located in Port El Kantaoui just a short walk from marina and near a 36-hole golf course and the famous Sousse Medina. Hotel Rooms: 295 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caribbean Village Riviera
Hotel Riviera Tunisia/Port El Kantaoui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing