We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hotel 3 *s, the Animation Team get 5 *s”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Riviera
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“hotel 3 *s, the Animation Team get 5 *s”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Overall our holiday was excellent this was down to the fantastic Animation/Entertainment team. The hotel was clean and the majority of staff were helpful and friendly. I was unfortunately disappointed in the lack of help when issues were raised. The food was good, and there was plenty of choice however replenishing sometimes could of been better and variety from night to night could of been better but always found something to eat. There were some minor issues with the conditions of toilets by pool and some general teething issues with a new owner but i would go again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMR86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kantaoui72, Directeur général at Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 13 November 2014
Dear customer,

Thank you very much for your nice review posted on Tripadvisor after your stay spent at DESSOLE RIVIERA PORT EL KANTAOUI.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your holidays to such extent; all the team is tremendously motivated.
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    689
    522
    244
    105
    69
See reviews for
600
540
42
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay at the hotel and yet again we had an amazing family holiday! The first time we stayed we really enjoyed but the second time we visited it was even better than the first. The room in which  we stayed in had excellent views of the sea and the pool, I would recommend room 205 if you want a fab view of the pool and sea. The rooms were very spacious, very clean and all amenities were in good order. All staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful always smiling and willing to say hello, especially the reception staff and poolside waiters. The animation team were incredible, they made our holiday, whether it was salsa dancing or water aerobics they were always keen to get everyone involved and to enjoy. Max and Zizzou especially made our holiday! Entertainment programmes went on throughout the day and night, in this hotel you will never get bored there is always something going in to get involved with. The pool area was always very tidy with plenty of sun loungers and shaded areas, there are two pools one which has slides in which are fab for both adults and children. The spa at the hotel is a must, they offer great treatments which are very relaxing and were a highlight of our holiday. The food at the hotel was brilliant always a good choice and very tasty, something for everyone!  We went on an excursion with thomas cook which i would highly recommend, we went camel riding on the camel caravan excursion, it was an excellent day out and gave an inside to the real Tunisia! The beach is located just steps away from the hotel, it is a beautiful beach with plenty of loungers and again lots of activities for example paragliding which again was an exhilarating experience! We made so many friends out here and have already booked to come back next year and can't wait to spend more time at the Rivera. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Tunisia! 

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beccalouisec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kantaoui72, Directeur général at Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear customer,

We read your great review posted on Tripadvisor after your stay at DESSOLE RIVIERA PORT EL KANTAOUI.

We are very happy to know that you enjoy your holiday to such extent.

We would like to thank you indead for your faith and we are grateful to read that you liked our hotel and the services offered to you during your stay.

All the team is ready to serve you as you were used to and they are very motivated to present all their best.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again to our hotel during your next visit to Port El Kantaoui / Sousse.

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We visited in June 2014 and during our stay one of the party fell while out and broke ribs while out on an excursion. On return to the hotel the staff were amazing and we had medical assistance within 15 minutes and they could not do enough to help and assist.

The hotel is clean and well maintained although the bathrooms could do with updating somewhat. The cleaning staff keep the rooms really spotless with the traditional fancy towel decorations etc.

The choice of food in the buffet restaurant was excellent with something for most tastes and my sweet toothed husband was very happy with the desert spread.

Pool / beach service were all brilliant and even for us Late risers and the staff did try to prevent reserve with the towel on beds brigade although not too successfully!!

Bar servc was swift and efficient and always with a smile.

All in all a Great 10 days despite injury!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue-Paul-1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kantaoui72, Directeur général at Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear customer,

Thank you very much for your nice review posted on Tripadvisor after your stay spent at DESSOLE RIVIERA PORT EL KANTAOUI.

We are looking forwards to welcoming you at our hotel during your next visit to Port El Kantaoui / Sousse.

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I will start with the good points:
3 pools, restaurant waiters, Tunisian people & bus home.

Bad points:
Russians, 98% occupancy in hotel, the most ignorant and rudest people ever to breath.
Food absolutely terrible, hotel only caters for Russians, quality abysmal, selection for Europeans terrible, Food not named in pots, people who say the food is good, I would like to see their kitchen's or hygiene at home. Room towels collected at 8.30am, so until mid afternoon no clean or towels to use. Level 300 room maid ignorant. Would only give one pool towel every three days, staff at reception, could not give a damn. Poor lighting in corridors, on limited timers 12 seconds, not safe for kids or woman in dark alone. lifts always broken down. Needs a full update from 70's décor, Kids club, a noisy rabble through the dining room every night. Beds, solid & poor quality.

Room Tip: Higher level for a breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank james S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

me and my friend went to this hotel for two weeks..staff was very kind and nice, animation team was amaizing all day some games making ppl laught(mainly Mr Zizo and Max, i am fanssy for food so i didnt enjoy it but my friend loved it, on private beach u got bar and there r serving food aswell so u dont need to go to the restaurant..what can i say is that was the best choice for holiday...

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zuzana s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kantaoui72, Directeur général at Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear customer,

We would like to thank you for trusting DESSOLE RIVIERA PORT EL KANTAOUI for your holiday in Tunisia and had the time to post a very nice review on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay to such extent such like the room, the food, the service and with the staff who contributed to your well being and satisfaction which is our aim.

We are looking forwards to welcoming you back again during your next visit to our hotel ………..

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

I went to Tunisia with huge doubts as to wether it would be my kind of holiday. I've travelled far and wide and would never have chosen this holiday... It was my husbands choice.
We arrived back yesterday (09/07/14) after staying for one week. I've already been looking to re book!
The staff at the hotel made our holiday for us. From checking in at reception, the restaurant staff, bar staff, the animation team and the staff at the beach. Everyone we spoke to was so friendly and polite.
We spent our days on the beach and the 2 barmen at the beach bar were excellent. Always smiling, always friendly whilst working in crazy heat.
Max from the animation really got the atmosphere going when playing the beach games.

We arrived at the hotel at about 11am. We were told check in was at 2pm, which didn't bother us. We left our cases in reception, had a walk around and a couple of drinks whist we waited. However the girl on reception called us over from the bar and told us our room was ready. It was within the hour of us arriving.
The room itself wasn't without problems, but liveable for a week.
The shower water always leaked out of the bath, but we just placed a towel down to avoid a wet floor.
Air con wasn't up to much. We did ask for it to be looked at, but it didn't improve, so our room was often quiet hot on a night time.

Food for us was excellent. We enjoyed every meal time. Breakfast isn't sausage and bacon, but it is omelettes, pancakes, Danish pastries, fruit etc etc.
Lunch time was always good. Spit roast chicken in the restaurant everyday. It was lovely.
Evening meal was also good. There was always plenty of choice and the deserts are fantastic
The restaurant had it's busy times when tables weren't cleared as quick as you would hope, but the staff are so busy trying to clear tables, lay tables, serve drinks. Some people were complaining but the staff were trying so hard. Sometimes we felt there was a lack of respect from holidaymakers towards the staff as 'I want it now' attitudes often kicked in!

We did not think the drinks were watered down at all. Beer, wine and piña colada were all good.

We didn't spend time around the pool so can't comment.

The beach was great. We did tip 2 dinar per day (60p) to get sun loungers without any problems.
Beach bar staff need another mention. They really were the best! So friendly and had so many laughs with them.
I also have to mention how clean the hotel and resort were. Exceeded my expectations.

I always say I will never visit the same place twice as it's a big world out there, but I now have to say I will. I can't wait to return!

Thank you to everyone who made our holiday one of the best we have ever had x

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank HelenC229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kantaoui72, Directeur général at Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear customer,

Thank you very much for your nice review posted on Tripadvisor after your stay spent at DESSOLE RIVIERA PORT EL KANTAOUI.

We are looking forwards to welcoming you at our hotel during your next visit to Port El Kantaoui / Sousse.

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed from 25/06/14 - 02/07/14. I'll start on a positive note, the beach was lovely and the gardens were nice and well kept. The staff (apart from reception) were friendly and helpful. The hotel was very clean although decor was a little dated in places. We booked two day trips via our rep (El Jem ampitheatre and The Medina Ramble) which were really good (reviewed separately).

If you are a vegetarian I cannot recommend this hotel. I don't usually expect too much of food for veggies at all inclusive resorts as we're in the minority to be catered for however, there were very limited choices in the buffet restaurant. In some areas where they prepare omelettes, pasta and pannini the staff used the same utensils for meat and cheese and they were cooked on the same area. This would be very simple for the hotel to rectify. A lot of the food was poorly labelled e.g. "pasta or potato surprise" so it was difficult to know what it contained. We were also disappointed not to be able to eat in the Tunisian restaurant and the Italian restaurant. We were told that the chefs could leave meat out of the dishes but the veg would be cooked with the meat. Hardly a productive solution.

On a final negative note, we were inially given a noisy room next the the kitchens. After a lot of hassle at reception we were given a so called quiet room which was above a disco! We finally got moved to a quieter room after having to be quite assertive with reception and speaking to our rep. Reception were very abrupt and kept insisting that no other rooms were available which clearly wasn't the case. We didn't let this ruin our holiday but it wasn't the best first impression of the hotel.

Despite the lovely beach and day trips I wouldn't return as I can't live on salad and chips. A few simple changes from the hotel could rectify this for future guests.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms near the kitchens and disco as they are very noisy. You may have to be assertive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anjajetset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
0.1 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#3 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#7 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#6 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
#12 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,878 reviews
4.4 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#4 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Property: Hotel Riviera
Address: BP 55, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia (Formerly Dessole Riviera Resort)
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#6 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#9 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Hotel Riviera is located in a splendid environment, just 250 meters from the beach and features beautiful and elegant 4-star accommodation. All of the hotel's rooms and suites are well furnished, stylishly decorated and equipped with modern en suite facilities. You are sure to enjoy a view from your room of the swimming pool, the verdant garden or the sea. For meals and drinks Hotel Dessole Riviera Resort features 4 restaurants and a selection of bars. Enjoy international and local cuisine and a variety of drinks, cocktails and wines. The hotel is located in Port El Kantaoui just a short walk from marina and near a 36-hole golf course and the famous Sousse Medina. Hotel Rooms: 295 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caribbean Village Riviera
Hotel Riviera Tunisia/Port El Kantaoui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing