We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel I've been too”
Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Riviera
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Reviewed 22 August 2014

It was one of the best hotels I've been to in Tunisia as I've been to Tunisia 11 times now but I would honestly come back to this hotel again, the animation team was amazing! Would love to work on the team with them. Would recommend this hotel to everyone

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paigethurston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kantaoui72, Directeur général at Hotel Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2014

Dear customer,

Thank you very much for your nice review posted on Tripadvisor after your stay spent at DESSOLE RIVIERA PORT EL KANTAOUI.

We are looking forwards to welcoming you at our hotel during your next visit to Port El Kantaoui / Sousse.
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,704)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

294 - 300 of 1,704 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

we stayed from the 1st to the 15th of August, arriving at 3.30am and was greeted by a very friendly and efficient receptionist. this was our first visit to Tunisia, but I don't think it will be the last! tipping, we wasn`t sure about this, so we opted for little and often, which seemed to work well. we spent the first few days at the pool, then used the beach, which we found to be more relaxing.
if you want a bed by the pool, you will have to get up early, we got up early for an excursion and saw people putting towels out at 5.15am!!!!!
Having read some reports on here about the food, we were very surprised by the variety and standard, to be honest, if you cant find something you like here, your far too picky, and should opt for a 5*+ type hotel. my advice would be to try everything and not just queue for chips. The waiting staff were amazing, the ones we had were Sonia in the daytime and the very funny Balti in the evening, also Marouan (call me Mario, its easier) in the cocktail bar was brilliant.
The hotel is spotlessly clean, and the Tunisians have a cracking sense of humor, the animation team work really hard all day, and it does get noisy, but hey, your on holiday so relax and join in.

Room Tip: we were in room 475, which was perfect for our needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank kevnotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kantaoui72, Directeur général at Hotel Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2014

Dear customer,

We would like to thank you for trusting DESSOLE RIVIERA PORT EL KANTAOUI for your holiday in Tunisia and had the time to post a very nice review on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay to such extent such like the room, the food, the service and with the staff who contributed to your well being and satisfaction which is our aim.

We are looking forwards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Me and husband came for a two week holiday with my 16 year old daughter and my 7 year old son. Transfers to the hotel were quick and the check in was easy. The rooms were simple and plain but overall good as we didn't spend much time in our room. Everything about the hotel is amazing I couldn't fault it. The food was ok but didn't vary service was good and the waiters and bar staff were very friendly. One thing that was hard to find sun beds unless you were up at silly o'clock. The beach was a short walk away and held lots of water sports, there was lots of trips you could do from your holiday rep such as camel rides, quad biking, a boat trip etc.
The biggest asset to the hotel was the animation team. Ziggy, Mano, aymen, zizo and max- they were so friendly and always up for a laugh ! Testo is an amazing dj and entertainer my 7 year old loved him! They was all so friendly and talkative it made our holiday.
The only down side to the hotel was Sam, in the animation team. He is all sweet and nice but keep him away if you have young girls. After arriving home my daughter tells me we need to go to the wish clinic because she was convinced to go to his room and have un protected sex with him !!!! Not only that she's 16 and he took her out to the clubs in Tunisia which I feel is very dangerous; he did this repeatedly through our holiday. We was told through other members of the animation team that was new and got fired from abou sofiane for having sex with a girl in the animation team block of rooms.
Defiantly would revisit this hotel if I knew my daughter would be safe. Apart from this the holiday was brilliant!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mia_emily9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kantaoui72, Directeur général at Hotel Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2015

Dear customer,

Thank you very much for your nice review posted on Tripadvisor after your stay spent at DESSOLE RIVIERA PORT EL KANTAOUI.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your holidays to such extent; all the team is tremendously motivated.
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This was a good stay, nothing fancy and the quality of the food was reasonable.
The first days the personal has to know you better and after that you can have a splendid vacaion with your familie (after usual tipping offcourse).
When arriving we did not get the family room as requested and paided, af ter a long talk with the manager he explained they were overbooked with this rooms.
We told him that this was not our problem (offcourse) so the next day we were upgraded to the new building and familiesuite wich had 2 bedrooms (our family: 2 adults, one child and one baby).
I always find it difficult to understand that such an important thing for a family so easy is overthrown.
I you dont complain they let you stay in a 2 person room with 4 people !?
Also the airconditioning in the main building was poor (not only our room but also our friends room). the new building had better working airconditioning.

Room Tip: There is a new building with better beds and airconditioning, try to get one of those rooms. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I have just come back from a weeks holiday with my husband, 17 year old daughter and 14 year old son, having been delayed five hours at Gatwick we finally got to the hotel at 6.30 am and what a relief, had a fantastic holiday at this Hotel, can not fault anything rooms, food, staff, facilities etc were excellent, but the best thing about this holiday were the Animation Team, they were very entertaining and so friendly, I would recommend this hotel to anybody, all I can say is Bomba

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kantaoui72, Directeur général at Hotel Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2014

Dear customer,

We read your great review posted on Tripadvisor after your stay at DESSOLE RIVIERA PORT EL KANTAOUI.

We are very happy to know that you enjoy your holiday to such extent.

We would like to thank you indead for your faith and we are grateful to read that you liked our hotel and the services offered to you during your stay.

All the team is ready to serve you as you were used to and they are very motivated to present all their best.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again to our hotel during your next visit to Port El Kantaoui / Sousse.

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This was our second time at the riviera and this year we stayed for two weeks where as last year we only stayed for one. All the staff are so lovely and are more than happy to help with any inquiries you may have. This includes the reception staff (especially Adam and he is fabulous at his job and puts a smile on everyone's faces and Jelel who is so kind and easy to talk to), the staff who work on the pool bar and the main bar, the cleaners, lifeguards (Yassine was especially amazing), the restaurant staff and everyone else! they are all so easy to talk to and are full of banter. All of the pool bar and main bar staff stood out to me especially this year! They're all such pleasant genuine guys!

I cannot understand why people massively complain about the food at the hotel, because there is something for everyone and there are different dishes every night and there is a wider variety this year.

also the hotel is very clean, are rooms were made fresh everyday to an excellent standard which could not be faulted! the rest of the hotel is also keep really clean.

the animation team was also incredible this year and i seriously cannot fault them one little bit, they really get to know you and they are all truly incredible people. i got to know some more than others but ziggy is a fantastic choreographer, mano and amen are two of the sweetest men I've ever met and are so kind and lovely, zizo is like a big kid and a bundle of fun, jimmy although often a pain in the backside is such a great man and you can have a laugh with him, midou is a genuinely fab guy, tiesto is the hotels dj and he does a fantastic job of it and not to forget sam, sofi, max and soso although we didn't get to know them as much we very pleasant and easy to talk to. migo gets a special mention as on one night my mum was ill one night and i was quite upset as it wasn't nice to see but migo made sure i was ok, sat and talked with me and if i needed anything i could go to him, he's such a genuine and lovely man and you can tell he truly loves his job. this team is lead by toto who a very kind man and is very talented, as he impressed me with how many languages he can fluently speak! the entertainment the team provides is incredible. there are activities going on throughout the day including darts, french boules, group dances, zumba, water polo and party games. an on an evening there is always so sort of show on including cabaret shows, karaoke, bingo, and external shows. although it was sometimes repetitive and there it could be considered that there is a little room for improvement they put there everything into it and tried to show the best they could which is all that matters. but in general the evening entertainment was really good!

i would recommend this hotel for anyone bc there is something suitable for everyone. I alread have holiday blues and really wish i was still there! i really love this place and have already looked at prices for next year! hope to see them all soon.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NatalieHanson289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kantaoui72, Directeur général at Hotel Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2015

Dear customer,

We read your great review posted on Tripadvisor after your stay at DESSOLE RIVIERA PORT EL KANTAOUI.

We are very happy to know that you enjoy your holiday to such extent.

We would like to thank you indead for your faith and we are grateful to read that you liked our hotel and the services offered to you during your stay.

All the team is ready to serve you as you were used to and they are very motivated to present all their best.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again to our hotel during your next visit to Port El Kantaoui / Sousse.

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

It was our 1st time to Tunisia and it's been a holiday to remember :)

The animation team were fantastic I would like to thank Toto Max Migo Jemmey Zizo Amen Sophia Soso Ziggy Sam Midou Mano Tiestio these guys made our holiday fabulous

All the staff at the hotel were friendly and made you feel very welcome. The waiters and waitresses in the dinning hall are fantastic and very helpful.

I would recommend this hotel to all my friends and am looking at going back very soon :)



  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Smitherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kantaoui72, Directeur général at Hotel Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2015

Dear customer,

Thank you very much for your nice review posted on Tripadvisor after your stay spent at DESSOLE RIVIERA PORT EL KANTAOUI.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your holidays to such extent; all the team is tremendously motivated.
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
0.1 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,571 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,069 reviews
4.2 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
#13 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,993 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Mouradi Palace
El Mouradi Palace
#17 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,029 reviews
1.2 mi away
El Kantaoui Center
El Kantaoui Center
#14 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Address: Bp 55, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia (Formerly Dessole Riviera Resort)
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#6 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#11 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#11 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range: £28 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Hotel Riviera is located in a splendid environment, just 250 meters from the beach and features beautiful and elegant 4-star accommodation. All of the hotel's rooms and suites are well furnished, stylishly decorated and equipped with modern en suite facilities. You are sure to enjoy a view from your room of the swimming pool, the verdant garden or the sea. For meals and drinks Hotel Dessole Riviera Resort features 4 restaurants and a selection of bars. Enjoy international and local cuisine and a variety of drinks, cocktails and wines. The hotel is located in Port El Kantaoui just a short walk from marina and near a 36-hole golf course and the famous Sousse Medina. Hotel Rooms: 295 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caribbean Village Riviera
Hotel Riviera Tunisia/Port El Kantaoui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing