We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel staff I have ever encountered!”
Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riviera
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best hotel staff I have ever encountered!”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I approached this holiday somewhat cautiously as I haven’t stayed in a 3~ hotel for many years. What I was looking for a reasonably priced hotel with good reviews that could accommodate my 19 year old daughter, my 80 year old mother and 70 year old mother- in- law!
From the moment we stepped in to the hotel we were made to feel welcomed and special. Absolutely nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff. The cleaners were efficient and friendly, the reception staff polite and efficient and the waiters had a remarkable ability to remember people’s names and drink preferences.
The animation team were constantly finding ways to keep both children and adults alike extremely well entertained whilst at the same time respecting that some people just wanted to chill out with a book. A really well balanced team who did their utmost to ensure that everyone had a good holiday.
The rooms were basic and a little tired looking but they were clean and functional which is all you really need when the rest of the hotel is so impressive.
The buffet restaurant provided enough choice so that we always found something to eat. The only thing that was disappointing for us were the 2 al a cartes. The restaurants themselves were beautifully designed and served 4 or 5 courses. Unfortunately, apart from the main meal when you did have a very limited choice of 2 dishes, everything else was a set menu. This is not an issue for anyone who eats anything put in front of them but we unfortunately found that the majority of the menu was not to our personal liking and I did notice several other tables were equally disappointed.
This is definitely a very good value for money 3* hotel and could easily be upgraded to a 4* hotel if there were just a few changes made. The room key is a programmed card which is not a problem but they will only give you one key. Despite several requests and even offering to pay a supplement for as second card they refused to issue more than 1 per room. The pool / beach towels are provided on your first day and you are told that they will be replaced every other day. In the 12 days that we stayed at the hotel we never once received clean towels and had to resort to taking the bath towels out that we had dried ourselves on the night before! This was a common problem experienced by all of the hotel guests I spoke to. There is absolutely nothing in the room that tells you about the main features of the hotel. The Thomas Cook rep did hold a welcome meeting. However, if you didn’t go there was nothing put through the door introducing himself to us or providing basic details that we needed to know about to make the most of our holiday. All relatively minor points which could easily be addressed by the hotel.
The Dessole Riviera is definitely a hotel that I will return to. Many of the people that we spoke to were returning guests and kept coming back because the hotel has such a warm friendly atmosphere. I do believe that, even if you were travelling alone, you would feel at ease and safe in the surroundings. Looking forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ChrisHT39GQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kantaoui72, Directeur général at Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 7 November 2014
Dear customer,

We read your great review posted on Tripadvisor after your stay at DESSOLE RIVIERA PORT EL KANTAOUI.

We are very happy to know that you enjoy your holiday to such extent.

We would like to thank you indead for your faith and we are grateful to read that you liked our hotel and the services offered to you during your stay.

All the team is ready to serve you as you were used to and they are very motivated to present all their best.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again to our hotel during your next visit to Port El Kantaoui / Sousse.

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    690
    522
    245
    105
    69
See reviews for
602
540
42
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Just returned from here after spending the best week on holiday! I travelled with friends and it was our first time in Tunisia but I doubt it will be our last. As soon as we arrived we felt welcome. We couldn't have our room straight away but that didn't bother us as we grabbed a drink from the bar while we waited. Our room was ok, basically what you would expect for the price you pay. Only thing was the key card had to be kept in for electricity so if some of us wanted to stay out a bit later at night than others you would have to wake them up when you came back. I understand it is to save energy so can't complain too much really!
I don't get all the negative reviews about the food. There was a large selection of food on offer every day and snacks available from the pool bar during the day if you didn't fancy going to the buffet restaurant. There was no problem for us!
The pool was great. The main pool is quite deep but there is a small pool area where the slides are that is shallower. The beach is not too far away either which is great!
The staff played a huge part in making this holiday great. They are all very friendly and make you feel welcome. The animation team were great and would try to get you involved in the activities but if you weren't interested then they wouldn't pressure you. The bar staff were great guys too (especially Billy! :) ), always up for a chat and making sure we were ok. Some other guests could be quite rude to them which I didn't think was needed! They are lovely people and it feels as though we made friends.
We also went on the Sahara excursion which was great! I would definitely recommend it. It's good value for money if you are into sightseeing and things. It is a really tiring trip though.
The only negative thing I can say about it is that I now have the worst post-holiday blues ever! If I could go back tomorrow then I would. I will definitely be returning at some point in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kantaoui72, Directeur général at Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 6 November 2014
Dear customer,

We would like to thank you for trusting DESSOLE RIVIERA PORT EL KANTAOUI for your holiday in Tunisia and had the time to post a very nice review on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay to such extent such like the room, the food, the service and with the staff who contributed to your well being and satisfaction which is our aim.

We are looking forwards to welcoming you back again during your next visit to our hotel ………..
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nr Staffs UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Despite a few negative reviews, we booked 2 weeks here in June due to the prices being good value.
Upon arriving we were pleasantly surprised.
Staff were pleasant and helpful, rooms were OK for cheap all inclusive, bit basic, but fine when you spend most your time by the pool, beach, or bar.
Food was plentiful and tasty with plenty of choice, something that we was not expecting after some of the negative reviews on here. Also we were expecting the worst of a weekend after reading what other people wrote about Tunisians staying here, but again, no trouble at all.
The whole area is nice and flat and beach access is very easy.
This is something we always worry about as one of our party is in a wheelchair.
Taxis to Port El Kintail are plentiful and cheap(always haggle and agree on a price 1st).
Tipping is standard here as it is in most Arabic, African, Turkish countries as most staff do not make a big wage.
Don't be put off by the negative reviews about this place, give it a go.
We are again next March.
Btw
Kids are well catered for with a separate pool and waterslides, watched over by staff on duty.
Also the music by the pool can get a bit noisy and repetitive, but that's pretty normal for these family hotels.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank Marshall117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kantaoui72, Directeur général at Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 7 November 2014
Dear customer,

We would like to thank you for trusting DESSOLE RIVIERA PORT EL KANTAOUI for your holiday in Tunisia and had the time to post a very nice review on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay to such extent such like the room, the food, the service and with the staff who contributed to your well being and satisfaction which is our aim.

We are looking forwards to welcoming you back again during your next visit to our hotel ………..
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Just returned from our holiday and have to say it was hard to leave as a family we had the best holiday and most of it was down to the animation team; Mano, Jemmy, Midou, Migo, Max, Zizou, Amen, Ziggy, Soso, Zofia, ToTo, and not forgetting DJ Tiesto also the lovely lifeguards who really look after you. Everyone one of them made us all feel so welcome, we will definitely be returning next year and would highly recommend this holiday for young families and people that are up for having a laugh.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kantaoui72, Directeur général at Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 7 November 2014
Dear customer,

Thank you very much for your nice review posted on Tripadvisor after your stay spent at DESSOLE RIVIERA PORT EL KANTAOUI.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your holidays to such extent; all the team is tremendously motivated.
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcestershire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Just got home from 3rd visit to Riviera. There are a few changes, some good, some not so good. The hotel looks smarter, however the rooms are still the same. They could do with a bit of tlc. they are kept very clean by the maids, but still have leaky showers and air conditioner. Puddles all over the floor! For myself it was like going home. All the staff remembered us, spoilt us and made our Holiday very special. A smile is all it takes. Unfortunately, not all guests treat the staff with the respect they deserve. Personally I struggled this year with food. I didnt think there was such a good choice as there has been previously. The food i did have was tasty, well presented and enjoyable. My lovely Chef at the pool bar made me my favourite Pizza whenever i asked, so Thankyou to him. The Animation was by far the best. The Guys all work really hard. It was nice to see them playing with the Kids and they always have time to speak with all of the guests. The best thing for me is how welcome we are made to feel. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. I can't wait to return next year.

Room Tip: We were in 419 with a very leaky shower. lovely view of the pool and outdoor seating area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank julieclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kantaoui72, Directeur général at Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 12 November 2014
Dear customer,

Thank you very much for your nice review posted on Tripadvisor after your stay spent at DESSOLE RIVIERA PORT EL KANTAOUI.

We are looking forwards to welcoming you at our hotel during your next visit to Port El Kantaoui / Sousse.
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

The animation team were AMAZING they treated me and my younger sister (6) like there own family especially max. Midou, Zizou, Migo, Ziggy, Max were brilliant entertainers all day long (try stretching with max it relaxes you a lot) BRILLIANT.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Corky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kantaoui72, Directeur général at Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 7 November 2014
Dear customer,

We read your great review posted on Tripadvisor after your stay at DESSOLE RIVIERA PORT EL KANTAOUI.

We are very happy to know that you enjoy your holiday to such extent.

We would like to thank you indead for your faith and we are grateful to read that you liked our hotel and the services offered to you during your stay.

All the team is ready to serve you as you were used to and they are very motivated to present all their best.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again to our hotel during your next visit to Port El Kantaoui / Sousse.

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I was very close to giving this hotel/resort 5*. A couple of minor problems:

Arrived early hours and room not ready. We were put into a ground floor suite for the first night which was huge but we were not able to get to our 'own' room until 2pm next day so the first day was all about waiting for a room in the morning and unpacking in the afternoon. When we went to open the room door the electronic key did not work. At reception the room had been assigned to someone else. They reassigned a room to the other clients.

Pool towels are provided in the room. There were 3 of us. Only 2 towels provided. We reminded the room maid but she kept forgetting so we had to keep asking.

Staff. The staff in this hotel are fantastic. Helpful, smiling, chatty and - yes - a dinar tip goes a long way. We tipped our table waitress daily and she made sure our table was always ready laid up including our drinks. Bar staff are really efficient and memorise your drinks so if there's a queue they are multitasking and your drink is always ready before you get to the front. Never waited more than a minute. The hotel is constantly being cleaned to make sure the surroundings are perfect.

Rooms. Perfectly OK. Linen changed daily with a room clean. Beds were fine. Hotel quiet after midnight. There is a late night club but it is out of the way of the rooms and we heard no noise from this. Free safe. Word of advice. Our room was on the first floor NOTE that the main lobby lifts do not go to this floor. To get a lift with your cases to the first floor you must use the lift next to the indoor swimming pool area.

Bars. There are 4. All very efficient. My personal favourite was the beach bar sitting with a cold beer watching the water sports and enjoying the afternoon barbecue on offer. You can also use the bars in the sister hotel About Sofiane.

Food. I couldn't fault the food. There is so much variety. Even in the pool and beach bar there was a wide range of hot snacks, baguettes and salads to choose from including freshly made crepes. Breakfast included freshly made fried eggs or omelettes. Do try the 2 a la carte restaurants which you book with the services manageress. Good food (5 course) and waiter service (no charge for these restaurants but a nice tip is deserved).

Pools. Big enough but guests at the adjoining sister hotel (Abou Sofiane) tended to take up a lot of the sun beds. There were enough sun beds but you needed to be up by break of day to get the ones near the pool. We used to roll up about 8.30 and again with a dinar tip the lifeguards would get us beds and mattresses. Slide pool was excellent. They were on for 2 hours in the morning and 2 hours in the afternoon. Warning: the main pool gets deep very quickly from the shallow end so watch out if you have less able swimmers. Indoor swimming pool is a great facility and has sauna rooms as well

Animation team. Great, fun team. Always providing entertainment but not intrusive. If you don't want to join in then they leave you alone. Very cheesy and unexciting evening shows.

Other entertainment. French boules, crazy golf course, darts, tennis court, table tennis, football pitch (in Abou Sofiane hotel which was a shared facility). Fitness room with weights gear and treadmills. Loads of water sport activities on the beach (extra charge e.g. 40 dinar for a 5 min parasail).

TV. Sports TV in the Lobby bar showing as much football and sport as you can digest. All Premier League games shown.

Wi Fi. Available in the lobby and surrounding bar area. We had no problems but heard others complaining.

Money. Cashier/exchange in hotel lobby run by the most miserable scrooge like character you will ever meet. Never smiles unless he's counting money. NOTE: you can't use debit cards in the hotel to get cash. There is a cash machine in the El Hambra hotel across the road. Remember you can't take Dinar out of the country. Mr Scrooge will give you a receipt for Dinar you need to change into sterling but you do the exchange at the airport going home not at the hotel.

Would I return to this hotel. Yes I would but as my wife pointed out you really are a captive audience staying there as there is nothing much going on outside the hotel. Recommended for a great family holiday.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raiderbankk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kantaoui72, Directeur général at Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 20 March 2015
Dear customer,

Thank you very much for your nice review posted on Tripadvisor after your stay spent at DESSOLE RIVIERA PORT EL KANTAOUI.

We are looking forwards to welcoming you at our hotel during your next visit to Port El Kantaoui / Sousse.
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
0.1 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,464 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#7 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,018 reviews
4.4 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
2,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#5 of 35 in Sousse
1,608 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
#13 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,902 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Diar El Andalous
Iberostar Diar El Andalous
#2 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Property: Hotel Riviera
Address: BP 55, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia (Formerly Dessole Riviera Resort)
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#9 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#9 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Hotel Riviera is located in a splendid environment, just 250 meters from the beach and features beautiful and elegant 4-star accommodation. All of the hotel's rooms and suites are well furnished, stylishly decorated and equipped with modern en suite facilities. You are sure to enjoy a view from your room of the swimming pool, the verdant garden or the sea. For meals and drinks Hotel Dessole Riviera Resort features 4 restaurants and a selection of bars. Enjoy international and local cuisine and a variety of drinks, cocktails and wines. The hotel is located in Port El Kantaoui just a short walk from marina and near a 36-hole golf course and the famous Sousse Medina. Hotel Rooms: 295 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caribbean Village Riviera
Hotel Riviera Tunisia/Port El Kantaoui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing