We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Dessole riviera Tunisia stay 20th august 10nights”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Riviera
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hotel Dessole riviera Tunisia stay 20th august 10nights”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

Myself and my family have just returned from a 10 night stay at the hotel Dessole riviera and I have to say the only real good thing about the holiday was the beach and the weather. We were a group of 9 ages ranging from 6-56
The pool was overcrowded everyday and the music and activities put on by the entertainment team was very poor. The staff were mainly male and spent most of the time drooling over girls asking inappropriate things.

The food was awful. There was no variety what so ever. And because you aren't near anywhere you can't go get anything decent to eat so you're stuck.
Be careful on what you are eating as the chefs don't use different utensils for raw and cooked meats which made a few of our group really poorly.
The main downside to this hotel is the hygiene. Even though you see the staff clean it always seems dirty especially in the restaurant and toilets.

There is only wifi in the lobby which didn't bother us so much until you needed to go upstairs to your room and there were people sitting all over the stairs so you couldn't get passed. Absolutely ridiculous.
When we asked for clean beach towels on our last day so we didn't have to use our own they moaned and went to our room to check it to make sure we weren't hiding any other towels. They also did this with another room in our group and the maid even called the manager to check their room. Disgraceful.

It is the only place I've been where the staff expect a tip from you before they do anything for you which I did not give in to. If they did their job and we tipped them that's one thing but to not even bother unless you tipped was shocking. And if you didn't tip, they just ignored you and spent all their time with the guests who were willing to tip them.

The hotel bar was not very good either. Bottled pop which they poured you. All warm unless you nagged them for Ice. I know in Tunisia they don't drink alcohol but the alcohol they did serve in the hotel was watered down and not pleasant to drink.

Overall the hotel was very dated and unclean. However if you ventured into their sister hotel across the way. Completely different. Beautiful hotel. And owned by the same people so couldn't understand why the standards were so different.


If you're looking for a family holiday then this is not the place.
We would not recommend this hotel at all and will not be returning.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JDM100590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    689
    522
    244
    105
    69
See reviews for
600
540
42
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

I have just recently come back from Tunisia and it was just amazing! The Riviera hotel was beautiful and the hotel staff were so polite and lovely especially the maids and waitors at breakfast, lunch and dinner! My best part of the holiday was the animation team though! Midou, Migo, Ziggy, Zizou, Max, ToTo, Tiesto, SoSo, Zofia, Amen, Mano and especially Jemmy made the holiday 100x better! Activities and the "bomba" dance entertained my family and I so much! Stretching with Max in the morning, water aerobics with Midou and Darts with Migo and Jemmy was always a great time for me and always had great banter with them! The lifeguards were also very sweet too! Cannot wait to go back next year and hope all the animation team are still there!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank maddiexlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kantaoui72, Directeur général at Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 7 November 2014
Dear customer,

Thank you very much for your nice review posted on Tripadvisor after your stay spent at DESSOLE RIVIERA PORT EL KANTAOUI.

We are looking forwards to welcoming you at our hotel during your next visit to Port El Kantaoui / Sousse.
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

Stayed at the Dessole Riveria for 11 nights at the beginning of August. This was our second visit to the hotel - first time was in 2010. We were a little apprehensive to go back at first given that the hotel had been taken over by a chain and following some of the reviews on Trip Advisor. Yes things have changed, but in most respects, changes are for the better.

Check-in
A form to complete upon arrival, but this can be done sat in the coffee lounge area either with a coffee or something stronger (if reception provide you with your all-inclusive wrist bands. Please be aware that if you arrive before midday, your rooms are not always available immediately and you may have an hour or two wait. We were aware of this and opted to stick a swimming costume and towel in our hand luggage so we could start enjoying the pool facilities immediately on our arrival. Bags are stored opposite reception under the closetful eye of the management team until the room is ready. Remember to save a 50p to tip the guy who carries the luggage up to your room (but be discreet about when tipping as management don't appear to encourage it)

Rooms - Rooms were serviced every day. Bath towels and beach towels are provided. Most rooms now have flat screen TV's, Safety Deposit Boxes are now free (but careful you don't lose or break the key as there is a replacement charge). Air-conditioning performance seems to depend on which room you are allocated. There's a mini-fridge which is stocked with a couple of bottles of drinking water daily by the maid. In the family rooms strangely the fridge can be turned off by a light switch next to the bed?? Plug sockets are few, so if you are a family and need to charge phones, ipads, use hair dryers and if your luggage allowance will permit, take a four-gang extension lead. Bathrooms are outdated and ready for a refurb, but who cares, I only spend four minutes in the shower!

The Pool
Very large pool which is very deep even at the shallow end. Separate children's pool, and slide pool. Found it to be clean and safe. Slides were only open a couple of hours in the am and pm , but were quite fun and suitable for kids and adults alike. Sunbeds - never failed to get one, even at the height of peak season. Yes people were down at 5pm putting towels on beds, but tip the Lifeguard a couple of Dinars (70p) every couple of days and he'll magic some from his secret store . All beds are provided with mattresses (even down at the beach). Music by the pool can be very load and sometimes intrusive - but I guess it depends on what you like. Animation team are brilliant, if you want to join in, you'll have fun with pool games and daily activities. The pool bar opens from around 10am and serves a variety of soft drinks - coke, sprite, Fanta from 2Litre bottles, beer, wine, vodka, gin etc. Hot food is also served here (as an alternative to the main dining room), and a never ending supply of ice cream and fresh fruit is also available. Tip - Ask the Chef down at the pool bar to make you a hand made pizza...lush!

Beach
Wow!, what a beach. Access is either through a gate via the sister hotel or down a path which starts near to the pool bar. Less than four minutes and you are there. Again, plenty of sunbeds, just ask the Lifeguard in the cowboy hat and he'll magic some. If you are not particularly fond of sand, there a brilliant strip of wooden decked area adjacent to the pool bar where you can enjoy the view and the sound of the sea. Water sports are in abundance at very reasonable costs. There is a shower just by the pool bar if you want to cool off in fresh water rather than the sea.
Pool bar also serves food and all inclusive drinks and plays more easy listening music to that of the main pool.

Dining
Evening meal is served in the main dining area. This can get very busy and waiters sometimes struggle to clear table promptly after guests have left. My tip, eat late. 7:45 gets your usual table of choice and a much more pleasurable experience. Food is of the buffet style. There's always a wide variety to choose from and a daily grilled special. We've read complaints before about cold food, but i'm very picky and never used the provided microwave once. Again a small tip every couple of days helps get the little extra bit of customer service form you waiter, but by no means is mandatory.

Money Exchange
There's a money exchange adjacent to the reception desk. The bank man is there every day for several hours. There appears to be pretty much a fixed exchange rate all over Tunisia. Change little and often as you can only change back to sterling at the airport and they charge you 25% commission. Get a receipt from the banker if you envisage having to change money back. Don't forget to ask for some small change (1 Dinar coins) for tipping.

The staff make this place. You will always get a warm smile and a bit of friendly banter if you choose. Hedi the main bar manager is amazing. Ask for a drink once and he'll remember your drink for the rest of the holiday. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff.

There appears to be a lot of small niggles here, but really we had the most wonderful time. Thank you to the management and staff of the Dessole Riviera - we'll be back!

Room Tip: Don't worry if you are allocated a room above the nightclub, it's closed. If there is somet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kantaoui72, Directeur général at Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 6 November 2014
Dear customer,

We read your great review posted on Tripadvisor after your stay at DESSOLE RIVIERA PORT EL KANTAOUI.

We are very happy to know that you enjoy your holiday to such extent.

We would like to thank you indead for your faith and we are grateful to read that you liked our hotel and the services offered to you during your stay.

All the team is ready to serve you as you were used to and they are very motivated to present all their best.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again to our hotel during your next visit to Port El Kantaoui / Sousse.

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

We have recently arrived back home from a fortnights holiday in Tunisia. We stayed at this hotel and we have to say it's one of the best holidays our family has had, this was due to the really friendly staff, excellent food and without doubt the animation team who organised games for adults and children. We would definitely recommend this hotel. The cleanliness of everything was second to none. We were most upset on our departure day and can't wait to go again. Absolutely brilliant holiday. Our children's ages ranged from 10 to 16 years, there was something for everyone in our family to do.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kantaoui72, Directeur général at Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 6 November 2014
Dear customer,

We read your great review posted on Tripadvisor after your stay at DESSOLE RIVIERA PORT EL KANTAOUI.

We are very happy to know that you enjoy your holiday to such extent.

We would like to thank you indead for your faith and we are grateful to read that you liked our hotel and the services offered to you during your stay.

All the team is ready to serve you as you were used to and they are very motivated to present all their best.

We are looking forward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

I approached this holiday somewhat cautiously as I haven’t stayed in a 3~ hotel for many years. What I was looking for a reasonably priced hotel with good reviews that could accommodate my 19 year old daughter, my 80 year old mother and 70 year old mother- in- law!
From the moment we stepped in to the hotel we were made to feel welcomed and special. Absolutely nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff. The cleaners were efficient and friendly, the reception staff polite and efficient and the waiters had a remarkable ability to remember people’s names and drink preferences.
The animation team were constantly finding ways to keep both children and adults alike extremely well entertained whilst at the same time respecting that some people just wanted to chill out with a book. A really well balanced team who did their utmost to ensure that everyone had a good holiday.
The rooms were basic and a little tired looking but they were clean and functional which is all you really need when the rest of the hotel is so impressive.
The buffet restaurant provided enough choice so that we always found something to eat. The only thing that was disappointing for us were the 2 al a cartes. The restaurants themselves were beautifully designed and served 4 or 5 courses. Unfortunately, apart from the main meal when you did have a very limited choice of 2 dishes, everything else was a set menu. This is not an issue for anyone who eats anything put in front of them but we unfortunately found that the majority of the menu was not to our personal liking and I did notice several other tables were equally disappointed.
This is definitely a very good value for money 3* hotel and could easily be upgraded to a 4* hotel if there were just a few changes made. The room key is a programmed card which is not a problem but they will only give you one key. Despite several requests and even offering to pay a supplement for as second card they refused to issue more than 1 per room. The pool / beach towels are provided on your first day and you are told that they will be replaced every other day. In the 12 days that we stayed at the hotel we never once received clean towels and had to resort to taking the bath towels out that we had dried ourselves on the night before! This was a common problem experienced by all of the hotel guests I spoke to. There is absolutely nothing in the room that tells you about the main features of the hotel. The Thomas Cook rep did hold a welcome meeting. However, if you didn’t go there was nothing put through the door introducing himself to us or providing basic details that we needed to know about to make the most of our holiday. All relatively minor points which could easily be addressed by the hotel.
The Dessole Riviera is definitely a hotel that I will return to. Many of the people that we spoke to were returning guests and kept coming back because the hotel has such a warm friendly atmosphere. I do believe that, even if you were travelling alone, you would feel at ease and safe in the surroundings. Looking forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ChrisHT39GQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kantaoui72, Directeur général at Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 7 November 2014
Dear customer,

We read your great review posted on Tripadvisor after your stay at DESSOLE RIVIERA PORT EL KANTAOUI.

We are very happy to know that you enjoy your holiday to such extent.

We would like to thank you indead for your faith and we are grateful to read that you liked our hotel and the services offered to you during your stay.

All the team is ready to serve you as you were used to and they are very motivated to present all their best.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again to our hotel during your next visit to Port El Kantaoui / Sousse.

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Just returned from here after spending the best week on holiday! I travelled with friends and it was our first time in Tunisia but I doubt it will be our last. As soon as we arrived we felt welcome. We couldn't have our room straight away but that didn't bother us as we grabbed a drink from the bar while we waited. Our room was ok, basically what you would expect for the price you pay. Only thing was the key card had to be kept in for electricity so if some of us wanted to stay out a bit later at night than others you would have to wake them up when you came back. I understand it is to save energy so can't complain too much really!
I don't get all the negative reviews about the food. There was a large selection of food on offer every day and snacks available from the pool bar during the day if you didn't fancy going to the buffet restaurant. There was no problem for us!
The pool was great. The main pool is quite deep but there is a small pool area where the slides are that is shallower. The beach is not too far away either which is great!
The staff played a huge part in making this holiday great. They are all very friendly and make you feel welcome. The animation team were great and would try to get you involved in the activities but if you weren't interested then they wouldn't pressure you. The bar staff were great guys too (especially Billy! :) ), always up for a chat and making sure we were ok. Some other guests could be quite rude to them which I didn't think was needed! They are lovely people and it feels as though we made friends.
We also went on the Sahara excursion which was great! I would definitely recommend it. It's good value for money if you are into sightseeing and things. It is a really tiring trip though.
The only negative thing I can say about it is that I now have the worst post-holiday blues ever! If I could go back tomorrow then I would. I will definitely be returning at some point in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kantaoui72, Directeur général at Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 6 November 2014
Dear customer,

We would like to thank you for trusting DESSOLE RIVIERA PORT EL KANTAOUI for your holiday in Tunisia and had the time to post a very nice review on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay to such extent such like the room, the food, the service and with the staff who contributed to your well being and satisfaction which is our aim.

We are looking forwards to welcoming you back again during your next visit to our hotel ………..
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nr Staffs UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Despite a few negative reviews, we booked 2 weeks here in June due to the prices being good value.
Upon arriving we were pleasantly surprised.
Staff were pleasant and helpful, rooms were OK for cheap all inclusive, bit basic, but fine when you spend most your time by the pool, beach, or bar.
Food was plentiful and tasty with plenty of choice, something that we was not expecting after some of the negative reviews on here. Also we were expecting the worst of a weekend after reading what other people wrote about Tunisians staying here, but again, no trouble at all.
The whole area is nice and flat and beach access is very easy.
This is something we always worry about as one of our party is in a wheelchair.
Taxis to Port El Kintail are plentiful and cheap(always haggle and agree on a price 1st).
Tipping is standard here as it is in most Arabic, African, Turkish countries as most staff do not make a big wage.
Don't be put off by the negative reviews about this place, give it a go.
We are again next March.
Btw
Kids are well catered for with a separate pool and waterslides, watched over by staff on duty.
Also the music by the pool can get a bit noisy and repetitive, but that's pretty normal for these family hotels.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank Marshall117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kantaoui72, Directeur général at Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 7 November 2014
Dear customer,

We would like to thank you for trusting DESSOLE RIVIERA PORT EL KANTAOUI for your holiday in Tunisia and had the time to post a very nice review on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay to such extent such like the room, the food, the service and with the staff who contributed to your well being and satisfaction which is our aim.

We are looking forwards to welcoming you back again during your next visit to our hotel ………..
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
0.1 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#3 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#7 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#6 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
#12 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,878 reviews
4.4 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Property: Hotel Riviera
Address: BP 55, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia (Formerly Dessole Riviera Resort)
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#6 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#9 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Hotel Riviera is located in a splendid environment, just 250 meters from the beach and features beautiful and elegant 4-star accommodation. All of the hotel's rooms and suites are well furnished, stylishly decorated and equipped with modern en suite facilities. You are sure to enjoy a view from your room of the swimming pool, the verdant garden or the sea. For meals and drinks Hotel Dessole Riviera Resort features 4 restaurants and a selection of bars. Enjoy international and local cuisine and a variety of drinks, cocktails and wines. The hotel is located in Port El Kantaoui just a short walk from marina and near a 36-hole golf course and the famous Sousse Medina. Hotel Rooms: 295 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caribbean Village Riviera
Hotel Riviera Tunisia/Port El Kantaoui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing