We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what it says in the brochure!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Iberostar Diar El Andalous
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not what it says in the brochure!!!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Just returned (28th June)after a week staying at this Hotel! It was certainly not as described in the brochure and I would inclined to rate it more as a three star as oppose to four. Our room had been updated but sadly the woodwork had not been finished with just the undercoat. The bathroom door handle came off in my hand on the first day and was never replaced during our stay. The mini bar was empty but the Thomas Cook brochure clearly stated it would be stocked on arrival with water! The air conditioning was not working to full capacity and after two days of overheating they did arrange for an engineer to fix it which to be honest he did but it could have been done a lot quicker. The entertainment was awful... In the Hotel's favour the food was very good and extremely well stocked and of good quality too. The staff we found to be extremely polite and helpful and made the Hotel. The pool whilst small was kept clean and tidy. It just wasn't the Hotel for us and definitely not what we expected from a four star.. We shall not be returning!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Diar El Andalous, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Steven,

Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our IBEROSTAR Diar El Andalous hotel for your holidays in Tunisia and for the time you spent to share your feelings on your stay; at IBEROSTAR we realize that there is always room for improvement and feedback is crucial in this process so we thank you for your review.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the imperfections you describe in the room we accommodate you in; clearly our standards were not respected during your stay as our maids are due to report any imperfection after the daily cleaning of the room for our maintenance team to intervene with needed repairs; for future occasions please do not hesitate to contact our reception desk to point out any imperfection, we will be able to intervene in no time.

As per standard, all our All Inclusive guests are provided with a bottle of water per person staying in the room at time of arrival, we will revise why we seemed to fail during your stay so as to prevent this from happening in the future.

At IBEROSTAR we believe that nice leisure activities and entertaining evening shows are part of the real holiday feeling this is why our animation team strives to offer a wide range of activities for our guests to join in, we are sorry to hear that these weren’t to your taste.

On the other hand, the passion for gastronomy being one of the prime pillars of our company, we greatly appreciate your praising comments on our restaurant where our professional Chefs strive to surprise our guests with a high standard gastronomy and the possibility to savor the best of the local cuisine as well as the finest international delights.

Last but not least, we would like to thank you for your kind words towards our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being one of our hotel's main strengths we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

We are truly sorry to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations on this occasion; hopefully we will be able to fulfill them in the near future, and remain at your entire disposal for any request you might have regarding coming vacations. Our main commitment is to offer the best vacation to our guests, based on the service provided by professionals and the delivery of high quality products; therefore we are always willing to guide you in our call center or through our webpage to make sure that you book an IBEROSTAR hotel among a wide array of beautiful destinations, that can make all your holiday wishes come true.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Diar El Andalous
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    866
    464
    164
    57
    54
See reviews for
417
725
61
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

After visiting this hotel in March , I returned this time with my family and two lots of friends.
As ever it was amazing and the people were wonderful , its the most amazing and friendliest hotel I have ever been to and thats quite something as I am well travelled in the world.
It may be only 4 star and needing some modernisation in some areas , BUT the attention to hospitality and cleanliness is second to none.
Infact we love it so much we have changed our 5 star holiday that we booked in September to the Iberostar , as we feel its so homely and the welcome is so amazing.
There are so many people I would like to mention but I do not remember all their names , but I extend our thanks to them all.
To Yassine and Kamil I would like to say a very big thank you , your two of the most humble and kindest people we know, your help and caring professional nature was very much appreciated and we thank you so much.
Ammar for making us smile and for his attention to detail and to his wonderful team in the restaurant and cafe who deliver a scrumptious feast daily and who deliver it with good service and a smile. Plus a mention to Miriam the lovely waitress in the restaurant.
Abdal and tthe other lifeguards who worked tirelessly attending to us and others needs on the beach and pool always with a smile and boundless energy.
Sadok and the other gentleman at the beach bar for the drinks when we needed to cool down.
The security who made us feel safe and yet at ease with smiles day and night.
The animation team who are amazing the children and adults all loved them , they were a great bunch.
The lovely maids who never stop smiling and cleaning and do amazing things turning towels into swans etc.
The charming porters who attend to your needs .
The list goes on if I had everyone's names I would mention them all.
This hotel is outstanding its clean , friendly , homely and above all professionally run.
It should be a training school for all hotels , as if they followed the iberostar and its standards we could guarantee a good stay anywhere.
Cant wait to go back.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank mariebella2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The staff are awful no manners and literally push you out of the way to get in front !! Animation team are poor to say the least, dare say no to joining in and feel like a leper for the rest of your holiday. Food was atrocious .... same thing day in and day out. I am not a fussy eater but I REALLY struggled with the lack of variety !! I had a wonderful holiday in Tunisia 2013 but after this shambles I don't think I will ever visit this country again :( Poor effort for both Thomas cook and Iberostar.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Diar El Andalous, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Karen,

We lament your dissatisfaction on your recent holiday experience at our IBEROSTAR Diar El Andalous hotel; however with this little information we are not able to verify which services did not match, in your point of view, with our brochure’s description.

At IBEROSTAR we strive to deliver an excellent and personalized service to all our guests and we lay high value on our personnel being guest orientated and welcoming at all times, this is why we were surprised to read your comments on their attitude, no other guest has ever reported anything near the behavior you describe, nevertheless we passed on your review to our Management team for information.

Our animation staff is trained to invite our guests to join in the daily activities always respecting the ones who prefer lying by the pool; we sincerely lament you felt uncomfortable for the rest of your holiday.

The variety of our buffets is ensured by the two weeks menus rotation imposed by the company on a global level, ensuring during the week a wide array of starters, mixed salads, crudités, soups, grilled and cooked to order meat, fish and seafood, couscous and tagines, paellas, pastas, pizzas, cheeses, desserts and a great selection of fresh fruit both whole and cut.

Once again, we lament your disappointment and not being informed about it onsite as we would have done our utmost for you to fully enjoy your holidays at our hotel.

Kind Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Diar El Andalous
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Just returned on sat 28th june from me and my wifes first visit to Tunisia. After picking the andalous out from TripAdvisor reviews we were not disappointed. Just looked at someone's reviewcalling it holiday fromhell all I can say is she must have been one of those people that goes on holidayjust to nit pik rather than enjoy the holiday. We arrived early hours to be met at the entrance by a pleasent porter who took our cases, the reception wasted no time in checking us in.the price for the safe was 28 dinar for the week and not 60 like the moaning nit piker said. room very spacious cleaned every day.pool area very clean cleanbeach towels everyday if you want nice clean beech.food pleanty of choice, my wife is avery fussy eater , but even she found something to eat every meal time. The staff really make this hotel what it is, nothing is too much trouble for any of them, they always have a smile for you and say hello.a special memention goes to kim who looked after us with the sunbeds every day, also the animation team who work so hard , Samuel what a cool guy, also the team ask you to join in games, but if you say no they dont pester you.all in all this hotel is well worth the money we paid for a week all inclusive , if we go back to tunisia in the future we would not hesitate in booking the andalous FAB......

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank chris r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Somebody called it a Hell Hole, Don't know were they stayed but it certainly was not the Andalous.
My wife, sister-in-law and myself had a smashing two week holiday at this hotel and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. No trouble with reception when we checked in, given our forms to fill in as normal and a drink in coffee lounge and told to take them back to reception desk from were we were given our room number and key card and the porter took our cases to our room.
Nobody held there hand out for a tip but we always tipped anyway. Waiting staff were always friendly and we could always find a table.
Last but not least was the animation team, They were out of this world, how they kept going working from ten in the morning untill eleven in the evening i will never know. Katey was exceptional, such a lovely warm person. Thanks. Oops, How could i forget YES PLEASE in the bar, how does he keep all those drinks oreders in his mind

Room Tip: Our room was good. We did not spend a lot of time in it but had every thing that we required, safe,f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank thomasdave26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Think Nicola S must have been staying at a different hotel!
We returned yesterday after a week at this hotel on All Inclusive basis. Can't agree with anything she said.
Every member of staff was courteous, friendly, hard working and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
We were never asked for a tip by any member of staff. None of them even lingered as a hint!

Variety and choice of food was amazing, from every conceivable salad and hot dishes to pastries and fruit. Breakfast was a myriad of choice, with cereals, fruit, beautiful bread of any type, pancakes, cooked food.etc So much choice at every meal. Choice of drinks was wide ranging.

Yes, the hotel needs a bit of tender loving care, the carpets in the corridors need renewing or removing, some of the outside walls are crumbling, but that is me nit picking.

Pool and paddling pool were always clean. Area around these kept spotless.
Beach beautiful and beachside bar fabulous.

Hotel next door is obviously, as the description suggests, next door. A hedge and pathway separates the two hotel gardens.

We had a lovely cooling drink upon arrival and the forms were collected within minutes.

We were very impressed and will recommend and return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Derekwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chafford hundred
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This hotel has something for everyone - all ages - from rest and relaxation to full on selection of activities. There seemed to be a lot of guests whilst I was there but somehow it was never crowded - there was always an empty table in the restaurant or bar. The animation team were excellent and seemed to work at least 12 hours a day offering a different activity or competition roughly each 30 minutes. In the evening their various shows were amazing and often hilarious.
The rooms are spacious and oh so clean with basic toiletries and towels supplied. The safe is in the wardrobe (a few TD's to get it operative via reception) and there is a hairdryer in the bathroom. The only thing that would perhaps improve things is a tea/coffee making facility in the room. Each room is accessed by an electronic swipe card. Beach/pool towels and sunbed mattresses are free from the kiosk near the pool.
AI buffet style meals offer so much choice there cannot be anyone who remains hungry at any time.
There is a gorgeous jewellers near to reception - resist if you can!!! A tobacco, gift and toiletries shop just down the steps. Outside near the pool are 3 more shops selling gifts, coats and galabayas.
Money can be changed in reception - just a few dinar each day is all you need as you have to give it all back on your return to the airport anyway.
My tip would be - book the VIP lounge for your return departure. No queuing whatsoever and you are treated like royalty.
Any questions, ask away. I will only be busy packing for my next trip next September.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank belazieth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Diar El Andalous, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our IBEROSTAR Diar El Andalous hotel. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving it.

We are glad to read you felt comfortable in the room we accommodated you in; our goal is to provide comfortable and spotless accommodations in unbeatable locations and we thank you for letting us know you were satisfied with yours.

Moreover we are very grateful for your nice comments towards our animation staff, their enthusiasm is contagious and they strive to offer a wide variety of leisure and sport activities throughout the day as well as entertaining evening shows to make our guests' stay a memorable one.

At IBEROSTAR we have a true passion for gastronomy and are fully aware that meals are an aspect of primary importance for our guests to enjoy their holidays abroad, this is why our expert team of chefs strives to surprise our guests with high quality culinary delights both local and international, so as be able to savor many different flavors at every single meal and make it one of the best added values to their holiday among us

Thank you again for your visit and the courtesy of your time; we are thrilled we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back next September and please do not hesitate to contact us beforehand to organize every detail of your stay.

Friendly Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Diar El Andalous
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
0.2 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#3 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,432 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,418 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa Port El Kantaoui
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa P...
#11 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#4 of 35 in Sousse
2,041 reviews
3.4 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#6 of 35 in Sousse
1,594 reviews
0.4 mi away
Concorde Green Park Palace
Concorde Green Park Palace
#10 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Diar El Andalous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Diar El Andalous

Property: Iberostar Diar El Andalous
Address: B.P. 40, Port El Kantaoui | Sousse, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#2 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#2 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#5 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Diar El Andalous 5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The top IBEROSTAR Diar El Andalous hotel, located in the town of Sousse, is an all-inclusive Port El Kantaoui hotel, surrounded by gardens and right on the beach. This lovely hotel by the Mediterranean in Tunisia is reopening after thorough renovation of its main facilities for an upgrade to five stars. New VIP area, Star Prestige zone with exclusive services and personalised assistance, new spa with heated pool, fitness studio and three specialty restaurants. Enjoy your stay in this five-star resort offering an entertainment programme for families and the best possible service. Your perfect choice for a nice family holiday in Tunisia. Star Prestige: Learn about all the exclusive services available in this area. Make your booking in the new Star Prestige area and get a wealth of benefits: newly developed rooms on the top floor of the hotel, personalised check-in and welcome cocktail, amazing views of the hotel’s gardens or the sea, personalised service, premium amenities in the room, chill-out terrace with hammocks and Balinese beds, outdoor whirlpool tub, open bar serving drinks and (sweet and savoury) snacks during the day, free Wi-Fi, Prestige VIP lounge with flat-screen TV and late check-out at no extra charge (on request, subject to availability). Hotel with the best Tunisian gastronomy. Some of the nicest things when visiting countries such as Tunisia is tasting its cuisine, learning about its culture and investigating its customs.. At the IBEROSTAR Diar El Andalous you can try the most delicious traditional dishes from Tunisian cuisine. There are Asian and Italian restaurants too. In addition, one of the bars, with a very Tunisian setting, invites its guests to taste the famous teas while enjoying a water pipe, a custom prevalent in Tunisian society. Children have lots of fun. There’s not a moment of boredom for the youngest in the family, since there’s a huge variety of games organized for them by age, which are part of the entertainment program of the hotel’s different children's clubs. Business events in Port El Kantaoui. The IBEROSTAR Diar El Andalous has facilities in which to hold meetings, conferences or incentive trips. It has the latest audiovisual equipment and a team of professionals who ensure the events come off perfectly. Free Wi-Fi. Connect to the Internet with Iberostar for as long as you want. The hotel offers exclusive free Wi-Fi in all its facilities. Full relaxation at the spa. The IBEROSTAR Diar El Andalous is a wonderful, fully renovated hotel where you can get a fine bespoke experience in relaxation. Indoor pool, sauna, Turkish bath, beauty treatment booths and a new, well-appointed fitness studio so that you do not miss a thing during your holiday in Sousse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Iberostar, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberostar Diar El Andalous reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Diar El Andalous Hotel Port El Kantaoui
Mercure Hotel Sousse
Accor Diar El Andalous
Diar Andalous
Iberostar Diar El Andalous Tunisia/Port El Kantaoui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing