We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not the best by far”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Iberostar Diar El Andalous
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“not the best by far”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

just returned on the 28th,rude staff, no air conditioning in the piano bar or reception as it was too exspensive to run, no bottled water in the mini fridge, food repetitive, waiters didnt have a clue and wernt interested unless you tipped them, apart from ALI who was perfect, the rest were a joke! animation staff couldnt care unless you was a young free teenage girl, had to complain as got fed up with the germans getting served before you even though i was blatently next, the guy on the beach who sells the jet ski's etc who goes by the name of fufu or something should not be allowed near any women, be them single or in a relationship, he is a vile creature who is out to lay anything that moves, he even had the front to ask what i would do if he tried to go with my wife! i replied brake you in half, tie you in a knot and stick you in that bin! he thought i was joking! the hotel does NOT own the beach his family do, he was arrogant about this as he knew the hotel could not stop him from working on there, if you go and arn't happy complain! they hate it but its the only way you will get any thing resolved here! would i go back, nope, its been sold and the staff couldnt care as they might not have jobs come november when it looses its iberostar tag! oh unless its customer survey time when theres more waiters, waiters bosses than guests running around for you asking you to give them top marks!! even seen one waiter take the survey off a table and put it in his pocket! iberostar standard this is not, it would be nice for the hotel to reply to the negatives instead of just the positives

Room Tip: dont waste £150 on a sea view, you may have to lean over the balcony as others did to see it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Diar El Andalous, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear John,

We appreciate you reaching out to us on Tripadvisor to notify us of your concerns related to your recent stay at our IBEROSTAR Diar El Andalous hotel and apologize if you experienced any inconsistency in our service. Your input is extremely important to us and we will be forwarding your remarks directly to the management team so they can make the appropriate adjustments in the areas you mentioned.

Moreover we sincerely regret reading the experience you had with an excursion’s rep on the beach; our private area on the beach fronting the hotel is secured by our lifeguard and security guards on duty all day to ensure that our guests are not bothered by local sellers when sunbathing; this person is not part of the IBEROSTAR staff but employed by an external company; we nevertheless passed on your comments to our head of security and will be attentive so as to avoid him from approaching our guests in the future .

As explained in previous reviews, the hotel has never been property of IBEROSTAR but is managed by our company, the previous owner sold the complex but we will still manage the hotel under our brand for the years to come; as from November the hotel will undergo many improvements and refurbishments so as to offer an even better experience to all our future visitors, we lament the misunderstanding.

Our staff, as highlighted in many reviews on different opinion portals from different nationalities, is undoubtedly our main asset thanks to their professionalism and full commitment to ensure that all guests are enjoying their stay among us; we are sorry to hear that you didn’t feel well cared after during your stay and passed on your comments to our different heads of department for information.

Finally, we always encourage our guests to inform us about any kind of complaint as our main goal is their complete satisfaction, for future occasions please do not hesitate to speak with our Hotel Manager present all day at the hotel and at the entrance of the restaurant at dinner to greet our guests, he will be pleased to receive you and will do his utmost to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

Thank you again for your visit and constructive critics, we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that IBEROSTAR will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Diar El Andalous
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    904
    480
    174
    60
    56
See reviews for
439
750
68
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

My family and i visited this hotel and i have to say it was a fantastic experience staff and the animation team were first class for a 4 star hotel we had the best time, reception team were excellent and Ammar the restaurant manager and his team were the best i have ever come across the general manager to the porters and chamber-maids were a credit to this hotel its certainly a place i could visit at least twice a year my family loved it that much including the life guards on the beach could'nt do more for us cant wait to visit there again very soon.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Just returned (28th June)after a week staying at this Hotel! It was certainly not as described in the brochure and I would inclined to rate it more as a three star as oppose to four. Our room had been updated but sadly the woodwork had not been finished with just the undercoat. The bathroom door handle came off in my hand on the first day and was never replaced during our stay. The mini bar was empty but the Thomas Cook brochure clearly stated it would be stocked on arrival with water! The air conditioning was not working to full capacity and after two days of overheating they did arrange for an engineer to fix it which to be honest he did but it could have been done a lot quicker. The entertainment was awful... In the Hotel's favour the food was very good and extremely well stocked and of good quality too. The staff we found to be extremely polite and helpful and made the Hotel. The pool whilst small was kept clean and tidy. It just wasn't the Hotel for us and definitely not what we expected from a four star.. We shall not be returning!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Diar El Andalous, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Steven,

Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our IBEROSTAR Diar El Andalous hotel for your holidays in Tunisia and for the time you spent to share your feelings on your stay; at IBEROSTAR we realize that there is always room for improvement and feedback is crucial in this process so we thank you for your review.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the imperfections you describe in the room we accommodate you in; clearly our standards were not respected during your stay as our maids are due to report any imperfection after the daily cleaning of the room for our maintenance team to intervene with needed repairs; for future occasions please do not hesitate to contact our reception desk to point out any imperfection, we will be able to intervene in no time.

As per standard, all our All Inclusive guests are provided with a bottle of water per person staying in the room at time of arrival, we will revise why we seemed to fail during your stay so as to prevent this from happening in the future.

At IBEROSTAR we believe that nice leisure activities and entertaining evening shows are part of the real holiday feeling this is why our animation team strives to offer a wide range of activities for our guests to join in, we are sorry to hear that these weren’t to your taste.

On the other hand, the passion for gastronomy being one of the prime pillars of our company, we greatly appreciate your praising comments on our restaurant where our professional Chefs strive to surprise our guests with a high standard gastronomy and the possibility to savor the best of the local cuisine as well as the finest international delights.

Last but not least, we would like to thank you for your kind words towards our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being one of our hotel's main strengths we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

We are truly sorry to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations on this occasion; hopefully we will be able to fulfill them in the near future, and remain at your entire disposal for any request you might have regarding coming vacations. Our main commitment is to offer the best vacation to our guests, based on the service provided by professionals and the delivery of high quality products; therefore we are always willing to guide you in our call center or through our webpage to make sure that you book an IBEROSTAR hotel among a wide array of beautiful destinations, that can make all your holiday wishes come true.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Diar El Andalous
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

After visiting this hotel in March , I returned this time with my family and two lots of friends.
As ever it was amazing and the people were wonderful , its the most amazing and friendliest hotel I have ever been to and thats quite something as I am well travelled in the world.
It may be only 4 star and needing some modernisation in some areas , BUT the attention to hospitality and cleanliness is second to none.
Infact we love it so much we have changed our 5 star holiday that we booked in September to the Iberostar , as we feel its so homely and the welcome is so amazing.
There are so many people I would like to mention but I do not remember all their names , but I extend our thanks to them all.
To Yassine and Kamil I would like to say a very big thank you , your two of the most humble and kindest people we know, your help and caring professional nature was very much appreciated and we thank you so much.
Ammar for making us smile and for his attention to detail and to his wonderful team in the restaurant and cafe who deliver a scrumptious feast daily and who deliver it with good service and a smile. Plus a mention to Miriam the lovely waitress in the restaurant.
Abdal and tthe other lifeguards who worked tirelessly attending to us and others needs on the beach and pool always with a smile and boundless energy.
Sadok and the other gentleman at the beach bar for the drinks when we needed to cool down.
The security who made us feel safe and yet at ease with smiles day and night.
The animation team who are amazing the children and adults all loved them , they were a great bunch.
The lovely maids who never stop smiling and cleaning and do amazing things turning towels into swans etc.
The charming porters who attend to your needs .
The list goes on if I had everyone's names I would mention them all.
This hotel is outstanding its clean , friendly , homely and above all professionally run.
It should be a training school for all hotels , as if they followed the iberostar and its standards we could guarantee a good stay anywhere.
Cant wait to go back.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank mariebella2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The staff are awful no manners and literally push you out of the way to get in front !! Animation team are poor to say the least, dare say no to joining in and feel like a leper for the rest of your holiday. Food was atrocious .... same thing day in and day out. I am not a fussy eater but I REALLY struggled with the lack of variety !! I had a wonderful holiday in Tunisia 2013 but after this shambles I don't think I will ever visit this country again :( Poor effort for both Thomas cook and Iberostar.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Diar El Andalous, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Karen,

We lament your dissatisfaction on your recent holiday experience at our IBEROSTAR Diar El Andalous hotel; however with this little information we are not able to verify which services did not match, in your point of view, with our brochure’s description.

At IBEROSTAR we strive to deliver an excellent and personalized service to all our guests and we lay high value on our personnel being guest orientated and welcoming at all times, this is why we were surprised to read your comments on their attitude, no other guest has ever reported anything near the behavior you describe, nevertheless we passed on your review to our Management team for information.

Our animation staff is trained to invite our guests to join in the daily activities always respecting the ones who prefer lying by the pool; we sincerely lament you felt uncomfortable for the rest of your holiday.

The variety of our buffets is ensured by the two weeks menus rotation imposed by the company on a global level, ensuring during the week a wide array of starters, mixed salads, crudités, soups, grilled and cooked to order meat, fish and seafood, couscous and tagines, paellas, pastas, pizzas, cheeses, desserts and a great selection of fresh fruit both whole and cut.

Once again, we lament your disappointment and not being informed about it onsite as we would have done our utmost for you to fully enjoy your holidays at our hotel.

Kind Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Diar El Andalous
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Just returned on sat 28th june from me and my wifes first visit to Tunisia. After picking the andalous out from TripAdvisor reviews we were not disappointed. Just looked at someone's reviewcalling it holiday fromhell all I can say is she must have been one of those people that goes on holidayjust to nit pik rather than enjoy the holiday. We arrived early hours to be met at the entrance by a pleasent porter who took our cases, the reception wasted no time in checking us in.the price for the safe was 28 dinar for the week and not 60 like the moaning nit piker said. room very spacious cleaned every day.pool area very clean cleanbeach towels everyday if you want nice clean beech.food pleanty of choice, my wife is avery fussy eater , but even she found something to eat every meal time. The staff really make this hotel what it is, nothing is too much trouble for any of them, they always have a smile for you and say hello.a special memention goes to kim who looked after us with the sunbeds every day, also the animation team who work so hard , Samuel what a cool guy, also the team ask you to join in games, but if you say no they dont pester you.all in all this hotel is well worth the money we paid for a week all inclusive , if we go back to tunisia in the future we would not hesitate in booking the andalous FAB......

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank chris r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Somebody called it a Hell Hole, Don't know were they stayed but it certainly was not the Andalous.
My wife, sister-in-law and myself had a smashing two week holiday at this hotel and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. No trouble with reception when we checked in, given our forms to fill in as normal and a drink in coffee lounge and told to take them back to reception desk from were we were given our room number and key card and the porter took our cases to our room.
Nobody held there hand out for a tip but we always tipped anyway. Waiting staff were always friendly and we could always find a table.
Last but not least was the animation team, They were out of this world, how they kept going working from ten in the morning untill eleven in the evening i will never know. Katey was exceptional, such a lovely warm person. Thanks. Oops, How could i forget YES PLEASE in the bar, how does he keep all those drinks oreders in his mind

Room Tip: Our room was good. We did not spend a lot of time in it but had every thing that we required, safe,f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank thomasdave26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
0.2 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#3 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,485 reviews
4.1 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
0.5 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
2,123 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Mouradi Palace
El Mouradi Palace
#16 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
999 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Mouradi Palm Marina
El Mouradi Palm Marina
#7 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Diar El Andalous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Diar El Andalous

Property: Iberostar Diar El Andalous
Address: B.P. 40, Port El Kantaoui | Sousse, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#2 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#5 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Diar El Andalous 5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tunisians are masters of the art of flavour. That’s why, at the IBEROSTAR Diar El Andalous hotel you’ll find that secret ingredient to make your stay one to truly savour. Recently refurbished, this 5-star hotel in Sousse offers beautiful gardens to stroll around and direct beach access so you can enjoy a view of the Mediterranean throughout your holiday in Tunisia. A unique recipe with six secret ingredients. Starting with a privileged location. In Port El Kantaoui, 25 km from Monastir International Airport and 40 km from Enfidha-Hammamet, right next to a beach you can access directly from the hotel and see from the balcony of your room. Add to this the most exclusive service. You can choose from 372 luxury rooms, 82 of which are Star Prestige and give exclusive access to private areas such as the chill out terrace with Balinese beds, and personalised services such as late check-out. Unwind in the steam of the hammam. Enjoy complete oriental therapy at the SPA Sensations, and with the help of the waters and our experts, reach a new level of relaxation. Massages, relaxation pool and 5-star beauty treatments designed to stop time in its tracks. Sweet delights for the kids. The little ones will find a genuine treat here in Sousse: the Miniclub. A specially-designed area where they’ll have a whale of a time splashing in the children’s pool, dancing or being creative with some painting. Garnished with Tunisian spices. Relish the best North African cuisine, such as couscous or stuffed phyllo pastry; be amazed by the skills of our chefs at the show cooking; and visit remote areas of Asia and Italy without leaving your table in the themed restaurants. Give your taste buds a treat. And, repeat. Because between days spent by the pool, the live music at the bars, water sports, afternoons on the golf course in pleasant sunshine, or fitness sessions, there’s bound to be one thing you haven’t done - the perfect excuse to make this hotel in Sousse a destination you keep returning too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Iberostar, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberostar Diar El Andalous reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Diar El Andalous Hotel Port El Kantaoui
Mercure Hotel Sousse
Accor Diar El Andalous
Diar Andalous
Iberostar Diar El Andalous Tunisia/Port El Kantaoui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing