We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
10 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$121
View deal
Booking.com
US$139
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$107
View deal
Hotels.comUS$118
PricelineUS$137
TravelocityUS$121
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,781)
Filter reviews
2,781 results
Traveller rating
1,658
693
258
90
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,658
693
258
90
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviews star prestige animation team thomas cook pizza something for everyone evening entertainment indoor pool lots of choice cleaned every day waiters tunisia holiday tips medina nationalities
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,200 - 1,205 of 2,781 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Ok just got back from this hotel today!, now you really need to look at the negative comments for this hotel. I have been in the industry for 20 years and I know what I'm taking about!! I'll start with the positives, the hotel is clean, tidy. The staff for the most are very friendly and helpful. If you get a newly refurbished room then your sorted. Flat screen TV, new Bathroom, tile flooring. Lovely.
Now the negative!!!!
I'll start with the Entertainment staff (or lack off)!!!!! I am a trained singer, dancer and the annamaition staff are the worse I've seen. 1st week, the entertainment was worse than terrible. The 2nd week got a little better just because the company directors where down.
The food was basic and mostly cold, unless you went to the pasta chef which he cooked it fresh. Not enough food for the English. Now I'm not saying British food but nice fresh hot food would be good!!
The pool area, nice, but needs some DIY as it needs work. The sun beds and so short!! there is over 400 rooms in the hotel, but only about 150-200 sun beds, which will never work!! If you like getting up early then you might be lucky to get one. (6am as the Germans are very quick off the mark)!!!!
The bar!! The pool bar was very good. The main bar was terrible. It isn't big enough for the size of the hotel, you need to wait longer than a a night club to get a drink!!! Smoking ban hasn't reach there yet and it was terribly smoky with no air con turned on to help!!! A small none smoking room helped a little, but it was very small.
Over all, the hotel has just been bought but obreostar and they need to put there stamp on it. Maybe in over a year it might be better, but not now at all. From my option stay away for over a year at least.

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Faze3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 September 2010

dont listen to the negative reviews this place is lovely, its in a good location, right on the beach and in walking distance to the port, the room we had, number 209, was modern and clean and comfortable and the food was lovely, the desserts especially, i cant understand why people complain about the food, there was plenty of choice, they cooked some of it in front of you, it appeared fresh enough to me and what i would expect in a foreign country, if you want burgers and chips and an english fry up stay in england!! both my husand and i enjoyed the food, ate far too much and sampled everything and neither of us were taken ill, but then i always make sure i wash MY hands when I go to the toliet.
we also found all the staff friendly and attentive, and yes they do like their tips, but we didnt mind when they were serving us from 6am till midnight everyday..well earned i say.i think basically if you treat them with the respect they deserve they will be more than willing to help and be friendly. our room was always cleaned extremely well and some days they left flowers on our pillows.
if i had to give one negative point it would be the fight for sunbeds, you have to get up early, and i mean early...6am, to reserve the poolside beds, unfortunately that old cliche about germans hoggin them all is true here.
tunisia itself, well port el kantaoui, was more than i expected, we didnt get harrassed and it was pretty cosmopolitan, but to be honest we pretty much stayed in the hotel so didnt see much but the rep gave us the info for all the excursions and i was surprised at just how much there is to do there..maybe next time.
all round we loved this hotel, couldnt fault it really,go to tunisia and dont expect british food or even fine dining, its an all inclusive decent 4 star hotel. but a word of warning..the airport..monastir....is a nightmare.....queue after queue after queue, and not orderly queues either,a free for all basically without air conditioning!!!

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sully0108
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 September 2010

This hotel is really nice but with a hidden agenda,the food being the agenda,its is absolutely disgusting,ferral cats are allowed to roam around your feet while you dine,the flies enjoy a good old snuggle up on the sausages at breakfast time,honestly folks this hotel is in bad need of a close enviromental health inspection,after paying for all inclusive we had to dine down at the marina at extra cost to us to to stop us joining our severely ill friend we met on the first day, we text his wife yesterday 20/9/10 to be told he is now recieving injections for an infection almost definately picked up at this hotel,we complained along with a whole line of people to the Thomas Cook rep regarding the food,needless to say it fell on deaf ears,she was more interested in selling excursions than dealing with potential food poisoning or the quality of food,she actually had the audicity to ask us to give her a good review on the questionaire form on our return flight because she wanted to stay in Tunisia to enable her to marry her Tunisian boyfriend,( Jennifer) being the name and in my view should soon to be an ex employee.Please folks by all means visit this hotel at your peril.

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aggie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks at the beginning of September 2010. Rooms were good except no drawers and cockroaches on 2 occasions. Could not get a sunbed if you did not put towels out by 7.00am unless you gave the lifeguard money.
Food was unacceptable with 3 of our 4 sick with dihorea and sickness. Most meat was undercooked and caused sickness.
Staff worked hard and were friendly especially when tipped. Beach lovely.
Would not use this hotel again if it was a free holiday!

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iberostar5092010
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Just come back from a two week stay at this hotel and we found this hotel lovely. The staff were very friendly, the entertainment staff worked very hard all day and full of fun. The beach and sea was lovely as was the pool. The only problem was there wasn't enough beds and they were all claimed by 7am! The rooms are being refurbished and are very nice with flat screen tv. Maid will change towels every day if you want them changed. Plenty of Tunisian and continental food, so if you are a fussy eater like me you probably won't like it. I did always manage to find something to eat and at the end of the day you are in another country. Fantastic weather and brilliant holiday,

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrissy030
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews