We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
£225
Fully refundable before Wed, 5 Jun
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Priceline
£201
Fully refundable before Tue, 4 Jun
Go to your Happy Price
Expedia.com
£225
Fully refundable before Wed, 5 Jun
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
arorraenglish
English

Hotel Faulty Towers

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Oct 2010
Arrived lunchtime, first impressions was good. reception area was clean and staff very friendly. Went for lunch, found this ok. Went to room and what a let down, stained carpets cracked toilet, looked out onto neglected gardens. Was informed that we had to go to second sitting for evening meal, we arrived early and doors were closed till 8.15pm. This is where it all started to go downhill. There was no plates to be had, food was just luke warm, and didnt look very appertizing. As it was a Sunday there was no entertainment on, so it was to bed early as there was nothing to do. Piona bar had beautiful piona but no one to play it in the 2 weeks we were there. Breakfast, where do we start, the toaster sometimes took 3 attempts to toast, no plates or cups, you had to wait in a queue for at least 10 minutes for eggs, same meats and cheese every day, When food ran out it was never replenished. After a few days of not eating we went to see management. The manager listened to all complaints that we put forward. We were then upgraded to another room and was prommised that the food situation would be improved. All aspects of the restuarant did improve but still not to 4star quality. All the staff were friendly and worked hard, but the quality of the hotel let them down. Would go back when things improved as we still had a great time and met some fantastic people there.
Date of stay: September 2010
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Vio.com
£196
  • StayForLong
  • Agoda.com
    £186
  • Expedia.com
0.2 miles from Iberostar Selection Diar El Andalous
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
£60
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
0.5 miles from Iberostar Selection Diar El Andalous
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
    £105
  • Priceline
0.2 miles from Iberostar Selection Diar El Andalous
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    £167
  • Agoda.com
    £108
  • Hotels.com
    £127
1.0 miles from Iberostar Selection Diar El Andalous
Pool
Beachfront
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    £1,554
  • StayForLong
  • Agoda.com
    £1,703
0.9 miles from Iberostar Selection Diar El Andalous
Pool
Beachfront
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    £88
  • ZenHotels.com
    £75
  • Priceline
0.8 miles from Iberostar Selection Diar El Andalous
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • Lol.travel
    £134
  • travelup.com
0.4 miles from Iberostar Selection Diar El Andalous
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £164
  • Algotels
0.8 miles from Iberostar Selection Diar El Andalous
Pool
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £68
  • Booking.com
1.0 miles from Iberostar Selection Diar El Andalous
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Reviews (4,102)
Filter reviews
4,102 results
Traveller rating
2,652
908
313
112
117
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,652
908
313
112
117
Show reviews that mention
All reviews star prestige animation team prestige room pizza main restaurant bar staff sun loungers great holiday every member of staff plenty of choice our waiter sea view a la carte fussy eater evening entertainment something for everyone snack bar
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,820 - 1,825 of 4,102 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2010

breakfast was a shambles,chiped & broken crockery, allways running out of cups & bowls, long queues for omelettes & fried eggs, flies & midgies everywhare, chicken & turkey, rabbit & fish with lots of salad & vegatbles which I enjoyed, also the pasta show cooking, lamb & beef full of bone & gristle, my opinion poor quality. I only saw 4 cats which had been spayed by a charity and were earning their keep by killing rodents in the hotel grounds. Excursion to "Life is a cabaret", wish I had not wasted my evening, and my money, the wine was disgusting, no wonder the first 2 drinks were free, you will not want a third. I heard of people with stomick bugs, all I can say is "wash your hand's", I noticed the taxi drivers outside the hotel useing the gutter as a toilet,then get back into the car, no way they were washing their hands, then you hand them monney. I enjoyed my holiday, dispite the run down state of the hotel, I met lots of great people from all over Britain and Germany, only one rude woman, and a young girl who got verry drunk one night. This hotel is no way 4* may be pushing it at 3*. The Iberostar group should hang their heads in shame

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NortheastRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 October 2010

Booked last Feb for September with Thomas Cook, on arrival we were allocated to a room that was well below standard for a 4 Star Iberostar hotel, was way down on ground floor - tatty, musty - curtains hanging off! Was unable to do anything before the next day, asked if we could change rooms and was given one on 3rd floor, we accepted because we were told the hotel was full but was still very basic and in great need of updating. Food for the first week not good, meat undercooked etc, however after complaints to management it did improve slightly. The rating of this hotel should be reviewed by Thomas Cook immediately. However I would add that all the staff were amazing very friendly and polite.

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
1  Thank DinersCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 October 2010

First two days fine,then the trouble started,my partner-we shall call him edmundo, was in his bed for 8 days- with fever, diahorrea and sickness.
Doctor had to give him injections daily, we never thought he was going to get home he was that ill.
Food was terrible, undercooked, tasteless, cold etc.
Flies never went hungry, they seemed to love the food, cats everyplace, dirty drink glasses, our bed linen was fine as we were in a refurbished room.Even our maid showed concern for edmundo.
Not enough sunbeds for travellers, pool attendant takes dinars in exchange for securing sunbeds for punters.
All in all, avoid in all costs, and eat elsewhere.

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edmundo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 October 2010

We chose this hotel as it was being refurbished, with the bathrooms etc being to uk standards - which it was. Unfortunately that was the only thing to standard in our experience there.

We had a long delay on our flight and on arriving at the hotel around 1 am discovered we had only a bottom sheet and a pillow on our bed. The reception staff couldn't be bothered and clearly indicated this, huffing and puffing and eye rolling at my toing and froing in an attempt to get bed covers. we finally crashed into bed around 3am, after being offered one set of ancient blankets and two lots of dirty sheets, with a comment from the reception service that the second set of sheets were "not so dirty!!!!!".

There was two meal sittings, which was not mentioned at booking and you had no choice of which one you went to. The dining room was chaos, had dirty table linen at every mealtime we ate there, luke warm food and we found ourselves having to keep asking for drinks. It was hardly surprising that from 8am til 2pm, we had given 5 fellow holiday makers immodium for their "upset stomaches"!!!!!! so my tip would be pack the immodium!!!!!
at our first evening meal - complete with dirty table linen, we went up to get dessert, to find our table cleared of everything and someone else seated there!!!!!!
we could not get a sunbed anywhere - beach, pool grass!!!!!! May be best to pack your own!!!!!! over all of the first day, only saw/heard someone from the animation team at 8pm at night!!!! Gave up - disgusted and went to bed at 8.15pm!!!!!

fortunately our thomas cook rep - liz phelan was AMAZING!!!!!!! nothing was a bother and she ensured we were moved to a nerby hotal by lunchtime the next day! - Many thanks to her ! We were than able to go on and have a fab time at the Riviera Hotel.

Hotel management did finally come to ask if there was a problem at around 12 noon on our second day, when we were packing our cases to move - great timing huh!!!!!

my main tip would be book another hotel so you can enjoy your holiday!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crcartw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Whatever you do, do`nt eat the food at this hotel. This was my fourth holliday to Tunisia having allso hollidayed and eaten food in hotels in Cairo, luxor and Port Siad in Egypt, I have allso cruised down the Nile. So I know what standards of hygiene and food to expect when you are holidaying in North Africa, I have never had any problems with anything I have eaten. If this hotel had been a cruise ship it would have been quarantined and the Health Inspectors sent aboard making newspaper headlines. I have never, ever, known so many people, including my wife and myself, complaining of upset stomaches and diarrhoe`a. Most of the food served up is unrecognisable. Fresh Meat is under cooked and heaters under the food left unlit. You get the same soups served at lunch and dinner, but the ones at dinner were thinner ( watered down?) Mashed potato was as runny as the potato soup being served (could have been the same.) Sausages burnt to a cinder. Scrambled egg had half an inch of liquid swilling on the top. The salad bar consisted of mainly cubed potato and carrot, with peas and a little bit of chicken or fish mixed in. No slices of cold meat whatso ever. If food ran out it was not replaced.

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ThomasCookAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews