We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Andrewderbyshire
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom

The truth of this hotel & the REP Jennifer-You must Read!

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Oct 2010
Just got back from the lovely Tunisia!! Firstly I must say I have never had to complain or had the need to go on a site like this but I don't want other people to go to this hotel & suffer as much as my fiance did whilst we were there!
When arrving on Sunday 10th October everything looked good, nice welcome drink & shown to one of the new rooms with flatscreen TV which looked immaculate - couldn't have been happier. Went to lunch, wasn't much there but just put it down to the lateness we went in, i.e. 13.30ish. Had dinner that evening spag bol & thought this is good start but did notice a lot of flies about. Next morning the fun started, we played a game of chase the cereal bowl, tea bags ran out, fruit juice ran out & a general lack of organisation by the staff, i.e. replenishment of items & clearing tables quickly. Hence our friends the flies were having a wonderful time! Finally got teabags but gave up on cereal bowl! We futher had lunch & dinner with it being similiar chaos when trying to get meal and flies all over the food! Next morning was the same but by this time my other half had diarrhoea & was just keeping to bread etc. This didn't go away but she hung in there with stomach cramps kicking in as well. Anyway went for dinner (with the flies in tow all over dishes etc) to then witness something appalling - the bread table collapsed, bread went everywhere on the floor, to then see numerous waiters find it amusing & put the bread back on the table (when fixed) after man-handling it & it being on the dirty floor!! So god knows what else was going on & when your partner isn't well & you witness that - would you want to eat there?! That was the final straw & I wanted out for my partner's health & to salvage something as we were on a two week holiday celebrating her 30th birthday!! Next morning we went to see the rep, unfortunately my partner couldn't make this due to more chronic diarrhoea & stomach pains to which she was crying - not funny! The rep turned up at 9.05am not even a 'sorry I'm late' (should be there at 9am). So I told her the issues I had & that I wanted moving/upgrading to another hotel, she said she would speak to her office which she did whilst I was there & was told come back 30 mins later. No offer to come to see other half & no empathy at all! Went back later to be offered 3 options, 1 hotel on FB basis (we paid for all inclusive) & two other options which meant we would have to pay extra! I said this was unacceptable but she would not budge & went on to say basically I couldn't prove it was hotel & she had eaten there 3 times recently & she was fine - how condescending was that, how else did my partner get ill then! By this time I was getting really annoyed with her but kept cool & asked to speak to her manager & was told I couldn't! So went back to room, told the other half which didn't help situation so I rang resort office & spoke to Debbie & she spoke to Jennifer (our rep) & her supervisor & got us moved to Riviera down the road! No offer of taxi or rep to assist move. So we trawled our suitcases out & when passing the guardhouse, security man was shouting at me to come to his phone, of which i did - Thomas Cook hadn't told hotel we were leaving & they wondered why we were walking out with our cases!! Went to Riviera & the receptionist was waiting for us & sorted us out - i.e. extra loo roll immediately! At no point for the rest of holiday did anybody from Thomas Cook ask how we were - what sort of customer service is that?! Holiday was £650 each not cheap before anyone says you get what you pay for!
Date of stay: October 2010
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    £128
  • Vio.com
    £86
  • Booking.com
    £93
0.2 miles from Iberostar Selection Diar El Andalous
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £166
  • Hotels.com
    £126
  • Priceline
    £166
0.9 miles from Iberostar Selection Diar El Andalous
Pool
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £119
  • Hotels.com
    £143
  • Algotels
    £140
0.5 miles from Iberostar Selection Diar El Andalous
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £83
  • Agoda.com
    £75
  • Vio.com
    £84
0.7 miles from Iberostar Selection Diar El Andalous
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £131
  • Priceline
    £172
  • StayForLong
0.8 miles from Iberostar Selection Diar El Andalous
Beachfront
Pool
Go to your Happy Price
  • StayForLong
    £48
  • Vio.com
    £48
  • Expedia.com
0.9 miles from Iberostar Selection Diar El Andalous
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £54
  • Agoda.com
    £53
  • Priceline
    £63
0.4 miles from Iberostar Selection Diar El Andalous
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £58
  • ZenHotels.com
    £46
  • Priceline
    £63
0.5 miles from Iberostar Selection Diar El Andalous
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £76
  • ZenHotels.com
    £67
  • Hotels.com
    £90
1.0 miles from Iberostar Selection Diar El Andalous
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Reviews (4,131)
Filter reviews
4,131 results
Traveller rating
2,672
913
315
113
118
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,672
913
315
113
118
Show reviews that mention
All reviews star prestige animation team prestige room pizza main restaurant bar staff sun loungers great holiday every member of staff plenty of choice our waiter sea view a la carte fussy eater evening entertainment something for everyone snack bar
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,837 - 1,842 of 4,131 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2010

After reading some of thes reviews we wondered if we should have booked somewhere else.We had a great time and will go back next year.We had beautiful room,really good food.If you cant find a good meal here you shouldnt leave england.From breakfast to midnight you can get something to eat and drink.All staff are very helpful.The hotel was fully booked when we were there and there were still had plenty of sunloungers and the only queue we came across was for fried eggs and the really good omlettes at breakfast..You can do as much or little as you want during the day with animation team,they have quite a large programme but dont hassle you when you dont want to do anything.Night entertainment is a bit rubbish though, but they do try.The waiters work so hard in the restaurants and bars and look after you wheather you tip or not, but my tip to anybody would be if you give them a small tip of about 2 dinars a day(£1) you will never want for anything and the pool barman will ask you if you want drinks everytime he passes you on his rounds and bring them to you.Although we didnt have any problems our rep Jen was at the hotel a lot and was able to answer any questions, she wasnt just there trying to push trips on you. Anybody that did want something she was ready sort it for them quickly.

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holidaymad66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 October 2010

My partner and I recently returned from the Iberostar Diar El Andalous this morning. I have never had a trip advisor account, or ever written a review, but after seeing all the untrue comments posted about this hotel, I felt inclined to write a more apt one.

We arrived at the hotel quite late on the night, about half past 9. We where met by very friendly staff who explained that we could straight through for our dinner before we checked in etc due to being hungry. The meal on the first night lacked slightly in choice, but I believe this was just due to eating later on in the day.

We where shown to our room, which was VERY clean (the only thing I was concerned about) and had ample wardrobe space/cupboards/drawers etc. We had heard some of the rooms had been upgraded and after seeing our room, we assumed we had one of these. (we found out later that we actually had one of the 'older' rooms, but this shows the quality)

On our first morning, we attending the welcome meeting, where the rep Jennifer did seem most helpful. Luckily, we didn't require her services through out the holidays. When we then headed to the pool, unfortunately due to it being lunch time there wasn't any sunbeds free, no. But a short walk along to the beach and there was more than enough free sunbeds (so I am unsure where some of the people below where looking for their sunbeds)

From that day onwards we had no complaints at all, the food sometimes wasn't what you would order in a restaurant but there was always something for everyone (any who disagree must be incredibly fussy) and we also had a prime sun bed spot near the pool, no matter what time we came down! (Due to a friendly conversation and regular tip with the various staff members through out the pool)

The only negative thing I could say about this hotel is sometimes you had to wait a while for the towels, as they didn't seem to have enough for the amount of guests in the pool.

Overall, I think this hotel is brilliant value for money (I think people are forgetting what good value it is, and you get what you pay for, and you are in Tunisia not America or somewhere similar) The staff work really hard, especially the animation team who are a really good laugh, and are brilliant with the kids, and the various waiters around the hotel.

If i could give anyone one tip about this hotel is don't be tight with the tips, same as anywhere, if you look after them they look after you! And I think this may be some of the problems below.

Ignore any bad reviews about this hotel, for a week away in the sun in cold October, it is perfect, and I would go back tomorrow if I could!

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sarajones157
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 October 2010

This is in no way a 4 star hotel. The name and reputation of iberostar is the main reason we booked this hotel. What a laugh. Where on earth do we start.From the first day we had problems.Room 1 was smelly and a very long walk when we'd specified one of has mobility problems, room 2 wasnt a great deal better.These older rooms are very tired looking. Reception said we couldnt change rooms till 4 days later when we said not good enough they said half past 4 do you then. What could you say to that? Room 3 was much better room 306. on the top floor but with a near by lift, it is also one of the newly modernised rooms,it should have been great ,what a shame it was poorly finished off, bedside lights falling off, dirty hand prints where bulbs had been changed, dirty marks on the ceiling which we were later to discover were water stains,badly fitted electical sockets basically falling off the wall, air conditioning failed to work for 2 days, the safe had been shut and despite numerous requests to open it we gave in, and worst off all one of the 2 single beds which they join together to make a double was broken.The bathroom was lovely though. Worst of all the room leaked when it rained, and it rained 4 days,hence the water stained ceiling. now this was bad enough but they dried it up using the rooms allocated towels and always failed to replace them.there is no tea or coffeee facilities in room and no iron either.There however is a small fridge which barely keeps things cool and according to the rep (jennifer) its only meant to stop things getting warm.Moving out of the room the hallway carpet is filthy.They also repeatadly turned the aircon off in the entire hotel and when we asked about this were told no one else was complaining although everyone sitting in the reception area said that they were also far too hot. The bar is far to small and thus extremely busy. There is a tiny non smokers lounge with no doors to shut the smoke out from the bar and the lights failed so we were left sitting in the dark and told they would come back on some time ! The bar also shuts at 12 pm sharp when the disco opens..the disco bar in this all inclusive hotel is not included and you have to pay. Now back to the rep who said that only one area was not all inclusive and failed to mention that the disco bar wasnt "free".Totally embarassing to order drinks when you have no cash on you. Now to the restaurant... what can we say .. it was awful food luke warm or cold or not cooked through ... raw chicken ... need we say more. when it was cooked there were long queues, toast ,fried eggs coffee all a nightmare. The tables were rarely clean. One evening we were told we werent allowed in as it was full, we said we were going out at 7:30 so we had to eat then and after a fuss were shown in and low and behold there were many empty tables! There are 2 other resturants which you are permitted to eat in once a week. the tunisian one ,we honestly wouldnt have fed this food to a dog let alone a human ,and the fish one ,now i have to say the food here was good but we were offered marihuana ,on saying no the waiter laughed and said he was joking... we later found out we werent the only guests he shared this "joke" with! Now out to the beach pool area, quite simply its not big enough and unless you are german and prepared to get up at 6 am to reserve a sunbed you have little chance. You also have to "Tip" the guy every day he gets you a bed so to be honest this isnt inclusive either. Now to something that is. The animation team, they are total amateurs. never have we experinced such poor entertainment and it also doesnt start till 9pm.Outside the hotel is the marina a 4 diner taxi ride or 30 min walk away. its lovely but extremely pushy, unless you want to haggle stay away. We went on several trips. one was pirates and gladiatiors. now the trip to the ampitheatre was great but rushed ,then on to a mosiac museum the same again then out on a boat for 3 hours . This would have been great except the team played childrens tunes for all of the 3 hrs.... ie follow the leader etc. We went for a camel ride and at every turn were asked for money, head dresses, pics, juice, tips for the guys, etc. shame it was a great experience. We also went to the rep night , please do not waste your cash on this. dreadful doesnt describe it the best part was the guide on the bus lol. Despite all this we would give the staff 5 stars,They are so freindly and seem genuinely caring. The resort area is lovely and although it did rain, when the sun shone it was very hot even in sept/oct. Apart from all this we had a great holiday!

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lornanorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
yassinezguem, Responsable commercial at Iberostar Selection Diar El Andalous, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2010

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to inform you that we really disgust to know that your stay in Iberostar Diar El Andalous was not satisfactory.

We believe that comments such as yours are the greatest assistance to us in identifying problems that may exist throughout our hotel company and, subsequently, taking whatever corrective measures may be necessary.

Regarding your comments concerning the rooms, we would like to inform you that the hotel has two categories of rooms (standard and superior room). We allocate rooms according the original booking as there is a different price between the two categories. By your request, we have allocated a superior room without any extra charge with the aim to satisfy you during your stay.

Concerning the safe, we inform you that the opening requires the intervention of a member of our staff if the previous customer leaves his own code.

About your comments concerning the tea and coffee, just to inform you that they don’t appear in the catalogue. We really apologize if this aspect affected you during your stay.

Regarding your comments about the food, we would like to inform you that we are following a cycle of 14 days buffet, which give a lot of variety in order to satisfy the maximum of our guests.


We would like to repeat our most sincere apologies, should you have perceived at any time during you last stay a lack of due attention.


Yours faithfully,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Enjoyed our holiday. All of the staff were very friendly and worked hard. We had an upgraded room which may have helped our total experiance. The food was on the whole ok and always found something to eat. But we always eat early at breakfast and were allocated the early sitting for Dinner. Had a few tummy upsets nothing too serious.

We were looking for a relaxing holiday, which we had.

We were there in mid September just before all of these horrid reviews. Would now think again before returning.

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ailsjont
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Arrived lunchtime, first impressions was good. reception area was clean and staff very friendly. Went for lunch, found this ok. Went to room and what a let down, stained carpets cracked toilet, looked out onto neglected gardens. Was informed that we had to go to second sitting for evening meal, we arrived early and doors were closed till 8.15pm. This is where it all started to go downhill. There was no plates to be had, food was just luke warm, and didnt look very appertizing. As it was a Sunday there was no entertainment on, so it was to bed early as there was nothing to do. Piona bar had beautiful piona but no one to play it in the 2 weeks we were there. Breakfast, where do we start, the toaster sometimes took 3 attempts to toast, no plates or cups, you had to wait in a queue for at least 10 minutes for eggs, same meats and cheese every day, When food ran out it was never replenished. After a few days of not eating we went to see management. The manager listened to all complaints that we put forward. We were then upgraded to another room and was prommised that the food situation would be improved. All aspects of the restuarant did improve but still not to 4star quality. All the staff were friendly and worked hard, but the quality of the hotel let them down. Would go back when things improved as we still had a great time and met some fantastic people there.

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arorraenglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews