We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
bringonthesummer_11
Witney, United Kingdom

Truly Exceptional!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Apr 2024via mobile
From reading reviews, we had very high expectations of our first visit to Tunisia, our first Iberostar property, and our first all-inclusive holiday - it’s safe to say the Ibersostar Diar el Andalous exceeded every expectation! We booked direct with the hotel on their Star Prestige level and got off to a great start when the Assistant Director, Mohamed, was extremely helpful arranging car transfers from Tunis-Carthage Airport (1hr 45 mins, 110 Euro each way for 4 passengers with luggage). The friendly driver (another Mohamed) was punctual and safe and from our arrival in the early hours, we knew were in for a great experience. The sea-view suite was very large with two good sized balconies, and the staff had proactively left several plates of covered, fresh food for us given the hour. This thoughtful gesture was the first of many during our weeklong stay, from welcome gifts to celebrate my friend’s birthday, special attention at the a la carte restaurant, discount on spa treatments, and goodbye gifts etc, we could not have felt more welcome. Having stayed in some exceptional ‘5 star’ properties worldwide I admit I was dubious about the rating before arrival, but the personalised service we received here was truly beyond that than many places who charge ten times as much. The mark of good service is in the attention to the small details, and Mohamed leads a team who are excellent in this regard. Every single staff member we met was friendly and welcoming, the resort is well maintained and the room was large, comfortable, and cleaned beautifully every day. We really appreciated having the extra spaces for Star Prestige guests, including the small but comfortable roof terrace and the separate area close to the pool, both of which had great service from lovely staff. We found having the shops on site useful for picking up extra snacks and some well-priced souvenirs, and the front desk were really helpful arranging a day trip to the Coliseum in El Jem for only £20 each for a half day visit with private driver – highly recommended! We enjoyed several excellent massages and facials which are very well priced, at most £30 for a 60 minute treatment, though star prestige guests receive 25% off this. We also used the laundry service in the room which was very cheap (£12 for half my suitcase!) and returned fresh and folded within 48 hours. In terms of dining, the buffet was high quality with a large choice of fresh items that rotated enough to keep things interesting, lovely local cuisine options each day, and friendly staff. We sampled both the Tunisian and Italian menus in the a la carte restaurant (book early to ensure a table), and were delighted with both. The house wine served throughout the hotel on the all-inclusive package is very quaffable, and there is a wider choice at the restaurant and on the room service menu, with excellent local wines ranging from £10 to £15 a bottle – well worth it, try the Kurubis Syrah! We really enjoyed the rotating cocktail menu and it was lovely to enjoy several before dinner in the lobby each night. We didn’t particularly engage with the animation team but they were present and welcoming and if you don’t want to join in there is no pressure to. We liked that the entertainment varied each night and enjoyed the live music in the lobby. In terms of tipping, we knew before arriving that the cost of living in Tunisia has risen significantly in the past few years and like at home, salaries have not kept pace, so we factored this into our budget and tipped well throughout. 10 to 20 dinar (£2.50 - £5) at each interaction for a clean room, good service, your favourite cocktail and a nice spa treatment adds up over a week and makes a difference, and the staff were clearly grateful and worked hard for it. Speaking of staff, we would like to acknowledge Mohamed G for his presence, his organisation, his friendliness and his care of the hotel staff – he is an excellent director with a bright future. We would also like to thank the waiter Rochdi in the buffet restaurant for always having our favourite table and drinks ready; Hamza and Safoune in the a la carte restaurant for their care with our table and their kind attention; Mohamed and Kamel in the star prestige areas for their present and friendly service, Said by the relaxing pool for always being on hand with a friendly hello and prompt drinks; Souad and the cleaning team for keeping our room gorgeous, and finally Houda, Fatine and Fathiye for their brilliant service at the spa – they were so welcoming and struck the perfect balance between professional and personable, and we loved our treatments. In terms of improvements that could be made, there are very few but the water quality in the star prestige hot tubs was a little dubious so perhaps this could be replaced more often, and we did notice an unpleasant smell outside on occasion though this was not limited to the hotel by any means, and not something easy to rectify I suspect. Also there is no milk in the room so if you like a cuppa, take UHT or powdered milk - it is available to purchase from the shop, but the supply is inconsistent. Overall this is a truly fantastic hotel, exceptional value for money, with lovely people, a gorgeous setting, and you’ll be welcomed like family – if you’re hesitating to book, please don’t. Thank you all for making our experience so special – we will be back!
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip: Book direct for extra service as Star Prestige guests, book the a la carte restaurant early, and...
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
online experience Iberostar, Owner at Iberostar Selection Diar El Andalous, responded to this review
Responded 9 Apr 2024
Dear guest,

It has been truly an honour to read your review, and we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday.

We have treated your description as a success story, and your thoughtful comments confirm that we are on the right track with our numerous efforts and attention to detail. In addition, we appreciate your wonderful suggestions and will share them internally as we attach great importance to every detail available to us in order to ensure that our guests always have a very pleasant stay in our hotels. On behalf of the entire team, we would like to thank you for allowing us to serve you, and we will be delighted to welcome you back in the future to repeat or even surpass this experience. Until then, we hope you had a safe journey home, and we send you our warmest regards.

Regards,
Quality Manager,
Iberostar Selection Diar El Andalous
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£102
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.2 miles from Iberostar Selection Diar El Andalous
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £209
  • Algotels
0.8 miles from Iberostar Selection Diar El Andalous
Pool
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    £145
  • Algotels
0.5 miles from Iberostar Selection Diar El Andalous
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £159
  • travelup.com
0.9 miles from Iberostar Selection Diar El Andalous
Pool
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £84
  • travelup.com
0.2 miles from Iberostar Selection Diar El Andalous
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £366
  • travelup.com
0.7 miles from Iberostar Selection Diar El Andalous
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • eDreams
0.8 miles from Iberostar Selection Diar El Andalous
Beachfront
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £90
  • Booking.com
0.5 miles from Iberostar Selection Diar El Andalous
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £56
  • Algotels
0.9 miles from Iberostar Selection Diar El Andalous
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £70
  • Booking.com
1.0 miles from Iberostar Selection Diar El Andalous
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Reviews (4,142)
Filter reviews
4,142 results
Traveller rating
2,678
917
315
114
118
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,678
917
315
114
118
Show reviews that mention
All reviews star prestige animation team prestige room pizza main restaurant bar staff sun loungers great holiday every member of staff plenty of choice our waiter sea view a la carte fussy eater evening entertainment something for everyone snack bar
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 4,142 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2024

First impressions were great. Reception staff very friendly and professional and the place was spotless. For an all inclusive the food was fine and the drinks were decent too, I've drank far worse beer, put it that way. The room was lovely with only a few gripes, such as some sockets not working. But we could get over that. Lovely pool area with a nice beach section at the end of the hotel. Be a bit wary of the excursion sellers, they're very persuasive and before you know it you've agreed to a 06:00 donkey ride.

An example of how friendly some of the staff were was one night we asked the night porter if there were any takeaways as we were peckish. Well next thing you know he's taken us through into the closed restaurant and has brought us out a full on spread! I'm not sure if he was authorised to do this, but it was a year ago now so doubt anyone is going to get in trouble for it!

A lot of negative comments about this hotel are centred around the reps. Well, that's reps for you, nothing new there. A word of caution, don't get them any drinks. I made that mistake one night when I was a bit merry and the next day they were around me like flies at a dunghill. Asking me to get drinks then take them to places so they could have them. I firmly told them that I didn't come on holiday to supply them with drinks the whole time. They left us alone after that, which suited us as we made some great friends, so didn't need the reps as hired friends to entertain us.

If you do fancy a night out of the hotel to party. I'd recommend you don't. The reps have to take you otherwise you won't get in anywhere, so the reps expect you to pay for them to get in. Okay, fair enough, without them you can't go out. But you'll soon realise they're expecting you to totally fund their whole night. If you then have any objections to that they become a lot less friendly and have a serious sense of humour malfunction. But as previously stated, that reps for you!

All in all a great pre summer holiday. Avoid the reps and you can't go wrong. People saying it's a scam calling it 5 stars need to realise they're not in the Maldives.

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Road33471538658
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
online experience Iberostar, Owner at Iberostar Selection Diar El Andalous, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2024

Dear guest,

We are pleased to read that you had such a pleasant time in our hospitality, and we want to thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

Our attentive staff and the entire team behind the scenes ensure that we improve and meet the wishes and preferences of our valued guests. We always welcome their ideas because they can only help us in our goal of providing perfect holidays for them. The fact that you have left our hotel with beautiful memories is a good sign for us, and we will, of course, take note of your valuable feedback and will forward it to the appropriate department for consideration.

Again we thank you for this wonderfully positive review and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Selection Diar El Andalous

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2024 via mobile

Still here as I write this review. The staff are what makes this place lovely. Nothing was too much trouble. Always making sure we were ok. Food didn't have much variety and was repititive although good. The rooms and hallways definitely need a major upgrade as it wasn't reflective of the 5* rating. Been to 5* hotels and this sure misses the mark in some areas. Overall, a relaxing holiday.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank DEBAKINS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
online experience Iberostar, Owner at Iberostar Selection Diar El Andalous, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2024

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday. Your constructive and complimentary review is greatly appreciated, and we will be sure to look into the areas of concern you have raised. Please come back again soon so we can surpass this experience.

Best Regards,
Quality Manager,
Iberostar Selection Diar El Andalous

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2024

We had an amazing 10 days here and are looking forward to coming back in the future! The thing that makes this hotel standout is the fantastic staff who are all so friendly, welcoming and attentive. Chakib went above and beyond for us with his service on the beach and we will greatly miss him! Abdelaziz also deserves a special mention as his presence, warmth and smile was something we looked forward to at mealtimes. The food here was also great, with plenty of choice at each meal time and had a wide range of desserts! We honestly cannot fault this hotel and would definitely recommend for others to come! Thank you to Brika as well who cleaned our room, everyone that we met here left a fantastic lasting impression on us ❤️

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bradley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
online experience Iberostar, Owner at Iberostar Selection Diar El Andalous, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2024

Dear guest,

We are delighted to know that your holiday experience with us was positive, and we thank you for kindly sharing your review. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Regards,
Quality Manager,
Iberostar Selection Diar El Andalous

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2024 via mobile

Better than expected and staff were approachable, secure, friendly.The room was clean, do the cleaning everyday .The foods were delicious variety of options. One of the most important thing is it was close to the seaside.I would recommend.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Vacation26074
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
online experience Iberostar, Owner at Iberostar Selection Diar El Andalous, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2024

Dear guest,

It is an honour to receive positive feedback like yours from our valued guests. We hope you will reward us with another visit in the not too distant future, and until then, we wish you the best.

Kind Regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Selection Diar El Andalous

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2024 via mobile

Let me start by saying if you have or haven’t already visited this hotel you will soon learn that the staff BEG you to do a 5 star review and it doesn’t even come close.
Entertainment - there is some entertainment but very repetitive and gets quite boring after a while, also watch out if you are a female as the male staff will be on to you asking for your social media etc don’t think they care what age you are either
Food - plenty to choose from but again very repetitive
Staff - some really nice staff, some not so welcoming. Fie Fie, Eva, Omar probably the best on the entertainment team. Some days the entertainment team didn’t even acknowledge us, the longer you are there the less they interact with you which is a shame really.
The hotel is ok, not the worst but I’d seriously consider going elsewhere if you’re after a 5 star experience as I’d say this is rated at least a 3/4 star.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Stay26141667836
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
online experience Iberostar, Owner at Iberostar Selection Diar El Andalous, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2024

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review regarding your holiday at our 5* Iberostar Selection Diar El Andalous hotel.

We sincerely regret we were unable to meet your expectations on this occasion, as service excellence and exquisite gastronomy are some of the main hallmarks that identify us. Furthermore, our staff are known for their professional and attentive service and follow stringent protocols. Additionally, our chefs work with dedication to prepare varied authentic Tunisian and international dishes. However, we apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay and for any possible misunderstanding. Please rest assured that we will forward your areas of concern to the relevant departments for their serious consideration, as the satisfaction and well-being of our guests is our priority.

We would like to thank you once more for your feedback and wish you all the best.

Kind Regards,
Quality Manager,
Iberostar Selection Diar El Andalous

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews