We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable holiday at a Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyable holiday at a Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We booked a 10 day holiday at the end of May into early June 2014 staying at the Caruso El Hana Palace Hotel and would highly recommend it for couples wanting a chilled-out holiday. The hotel was very clean and well presented in all public areas including reception, bar, restaurant, pools and gardens.

The staff were very friendly, polite and helpful from the waiters in the restaurant to the ladies cleaning your room every day. The hotel changed money at reception based on the official government rates and a safety deposit box in your room allowed you to take cash rather than travellers cheques.

The food was excellent throughout the stay and each evening of the week there was a different theme to the menu so you had plenty of choice and didn't get bored. My wife is vegetarian and said it was the best holiday food she has experienced with lots of veggie options available at breakfast and dinner.

The hotel is in a good location only a few minutes walk from the marina and on the road heading towards Souse so easy for jumping in taxis. We found a great bar just a couple of minutes walk away called the GolfBrau which brewed its own beers and had live music on every night from about 10pm with a good mix of holiday makers and hip young Tunisians!

Room Tip: We stayed on 4th floor with view of garden courtyard and seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndyMoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    134
    53
    28
    21
See reviews for
31
204
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed here for a relaxing break, chose this hotel for the good price and couples only. While during our stay the weather was not at it's best, we found the stay very comfortable and just what we was looking for. Very close to and within easy walking distance to the port/marina and bars/cafes. Reception was clean and staffed with excellent personnel, poolside very good and right on the beach. All the staff could not be more helpful and friendly with bar's service second to none. Rooms are adequate for the time you spend in them although a little bit dated, but, having said that, are spotlessly cleaned and every day as well. Food is O.K. although a bit repetitive, again, waiters are excellent and friendly.
Would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for rooms on the top ( 4th.) Floor numbers 410 on, as gives you a slight sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This is a nice hotel,reception lovely,rooms good need a little tlc and update!!
There is a man on reception his name is Hichem,what a great guy help with anything always smiling,The downs of this hotel is,paying for your towls and sunbeds 2diner a day,paying for your safe 28 diners for 2weeks,all the staff expect you to tip them!! The room maids are good and work hard,so deserve to be tipped,the pool side man,thinks he is a holiday maker he walks round with just shorts and bandana on,with look at me swagger!!!!
If you buy bottle water from the supermarket you get told you cant have it by the pool,you have to buy there drinks,the food is same each evening,nice fried eggs for breakfast,
All in all if you just want a quiet break this is the place to go,no entertainment!!
Would I go again no.

Room Tip: We were in room 104 ground floor in the middle,good position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed here the beginning of May for 10 nights and are looking foorward to returning hopefully in October. We took advice from others who had reviewed and requested a 4th floor room which we got. We had room 409 and loved the fact that we could sit on the balcony and see both the gardens and the sea. This was especially important as we are both disabled and cant always go out so we were also able to enjoy our in times. Very relaxing and the staff were wonderful nothing was too much trouble and they were dedicated to ensuring all our needs were met from the reception, bar stewards, porters, waiters etc. We would recommend this hotel for anyone wishing a relaxing holiday. Well done to all at the El Hana Palace Caruso and thank you.

Room Tip: Ask for the 3rd or 4th floor as some of the trees in the garden are really tall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mandyroberts1236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The hotel setting is beautiful, lots of marble columns and gorgeous pool. When we stayed the hotel was half empty and although we got a low floor as requested was a little bit dark so we asked to swap and top floors are much better with views of the sea. Staff are very helpful and very friendly although as we checked in at 1am (delayed flight!) no one told us where the meals were resulting in a lot of wandering around the next morning! The food is amazing, I put on so much weight trying to sample the variety of foods they provided. The roundhouse bar is quiet but had a local piano player in the evenings. Although was nice, after two or three nights of the same song got a little bit bored! In the ten nights we stayed there was also one night of local Tunisian dancers and belly dancers. I enjoyed this but was held in the big hall which made it feel empty and not much atmosphere. I expected quiet but the whole area was pretty quiet in the evening. We wandered into the marina some evenings and there seemed to be few bars or entertainment and although you could go into other hotels they charged you for the privilege. Plenty to do during the day and we booked most of our excursions through the guy at the pool (even though we were warned against this). He was very friendly and did us a good deal on the trips and provided transport to and from the places. He even found us after each trip to find out if we had a good time. I def recommend using him instead of the reps as so much cheaper and groups for camel ride and quad bikes were small meaning you got a better experience. Bath is amazing!! The maids were really good. My OH is extremely messy and they picked up his clothes off the floor and folded them for him. During day you can walk along the beach to the marina although the beaches are very dirty, but after chatting to the locals it's not their fault, there is simply no money to clean them all! Our brochure sed there was a private beach although there a patch of sand I wouldn't spend the day there, walk down to the water sports stand and the beaches are much nicer! would definitely recommend this hotel if you want a quiet relaxing holiday and don't get bored easily! If your looking for more evening entertainment, I would choose another hotel!

Room Tip: Choose a higher room and if you want tea and coffee in your room just ask for kettle (small charge t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a week 11th May 2014 half board. I was a little disappointed in the room as requested a high floor but was on the ground floor yet it was quiet so That was a bonus as we did sleep very well. The room is out dated and furniture worn but that did not really bother us. The food was good, fresh and hot and seemed mainly 'English'type of meals. The service was excellent although the receptionists seemed a little grumpy and 'serious' at times. There is an organist that plays every evening popular 50's/60's types of tunes. There is a very large marbled room above the Restaurant that has a TV that shows sports/music...not too sure why this is the set up at this hotel as it seems such a waste to have such an amazing large room with no organist there so people/couples could maybe have some time in there at night, even dance a little. The hotel is in the middle of 2 beaches easily to get to and safe to swim. The area is quiet with a handful of bars and a beautiful port within easy walking distance. The bar in the hotel sells lager/wine/shorts at reasonable prices

Room Tip: Sunbathe near the wall if there is a wind its a real suntrap!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lancslassdurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Just returned from another lovely Holiday at this Hotel,There is one change that people should be aware of.
This hotel no longer accept travelers cheques,not really a problem as you can change them at the De Vinci Hotel some 300yds on your left as you head towards the port.

Would reccomend this Hotel to anyone,but be aware it is very quiet,with little entertainment.
So if you want a relaxing Holiday this is the place for you.

Room Tip: If you do not like the room you have been given,ask at reception if you can change,they are very hel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveStokes_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
0.5 mi away
El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel
El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel
#26 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
217 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa Port El Kantaoui
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa P...
#12 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
343 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#3 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Kantaoui Center
El Kantaoui Center
#14 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
625 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#9 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,031 reviews
2.7 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel

Property: El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel
Address: 4089 Blv 14 Janvier, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hana Palace
El Hana Palace Hotel
Hana Palace Port El Kantaoui
El Hana Palace Tunisia
El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel Tunisia/Port El Kantaoui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing