We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Niggles first, hotel looks stunning from the outside but is tired and dated although don't let that put you off. They are working on it. Room was a great size and very clean with fresh towels and sheets every day. Majority of staff extremely friendly and helpful, reception were a bit rude on arrival and didn't really interact with customers during the stay so they could work on that. Hotel could be a jewel if they bring it up to scratch, grounds are beautifully kept though. Pool area is fine although only spent one day there. Food pretty good, meat lovely and tender, could do with a selection of fruit as this was disappointing, lovely crepes in the evening though.There is a man who try's to sell you trips and is a bit irritating -be firm and say NO heard bad reports about his trips, apart from him no hassle in hotel. You need to make your own entertainment as there's not much going on inside hotel, lots of places to go and should be buzzing once the season gets into full swing.Port is a bout 10 minute walk to the right as you leave, lovely area with all the usual tacky shops with one or two nice ones thrown in. Albatross catamaran worth doing, a bit cheaper if you book direct. Some lovely restaurants to the right. Taxis a nightmare, honking and tooting, you soon get the hang of it but we preferred to use the land train as it was more fun, 7 dinar return for two, just stick your hand out and they will pick you up, just make sure you get the same colour back. You need to engage with the locals, some are a pain but majority are well educated and friendly. Extremely cheap out there. Sousse beach is lovely, sun beds are about 5 dinar for two, they look after you well if you go to same place every day. Plenty of beach sellers and the food is amazing, lovely fresh fruit. Watersports same price wherever you go. All in all great holiday, would probably try different hotel next time but in fairness great value for money and would probably rate it a 3 star.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AmandaB1122014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
There are newer reviews for El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

The staff are great, very helpful. The hotel is clean, a little bit tired in places but the general ambience is quiet and relaxing.
Food is fine, fresh omelettes and fried eggs available too. Delicious crepes in the evening with lashings of chocolate... No kids under 16 and not a lot to do in the evenings. The marina is a ten minute walk, either along the beach or the street and there is a variety of shops including a supermarket. Closer to the hotel is a little supermarket which is out of the gate and 50 yards on the left next to a restaurant and its handy for bottles of water( cost about 15p equivalent). Drinks in the hotel, 4 dinar (£1.45) for a bottle of beer, 2 dinar (70p) for a coffee. Sunbeds next to the lovely pool are free but 2 dinar for a pad and towel if required.
All in all a chilled time, don't expect Ibiza, a good place to re charge.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Musky1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

On arrival, they knew exactly who I was without even giving them my name (probably as I was travelling on my own). Was taken to my room on the ground floor and have to say was bitterly disappointed. The musty smell from the mouldy chairs was over powering and the room was very dark.
On a positive note, I reported this to reception and was immediately offered an alternative room. They tried to keep me on the ground floor, but I requested a room higher up which they did. 1st Floor room, completely different. Carpeted, fresh, bright and had obviously been refurbished. There were also flowers strewn across the furniture and in the bathroom. Totally different to the room I was in before. I think, travelling alone i'm sure they felt they could put me in an inferior room initially (as is the case with a lot of hotels when it comes to single travellers).
From that moment, nothing could have been better. The staff were lovely, the pool, gardens, restaurant, bars, all great. The Villa Bar is stunning (but very quiet) with beautiful views out to sea.
The fact that this was an adults only hotel was pure bliss.
Whether or not you watch TV when you're away, there was the usual BBC World plus a film and an entertainment channel. Free wifi in reception and the viila bar.
All in all, having been to Tunisia 7 times, this was by far the best hotel i've stayed in and I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room on the ground floor as these haven't been refurbished and are...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ELR123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Booked in on 18-22 June for a girls break away .From the moment we arrived at the hotel top notch service staff was all on point rooms was ready for us nice and clean. The beds was so comfortable nice firm beds the minute you put your head down you dift off:)
We only booked b&b and breakfast was good could not complain.
The hotel has two pools one inside with a Jacuzzi. And a large one with pool bar outside.
we did the water sports activities do not miss absolutely funtastic.
The beach area to the hotel could really do with a clean thats my only fault with the hotel . other than that staff at this hotel pls pls keep up the amazing work and thank you for a memorable stay

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LadyWynter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Had 2 Wonderful days at the El hana palace the bed was to die for and the bath oh my god lol . The stuff from the Minute we walked in the hotel was lovely could not do Enough for us the food was not bad wish it had been got a week would I go back oh yes no kids no Loud music Just peace and quiet thank you to all

Room Tip: From what I could see any room you would be happy with
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Just arrived home after 2 weeks at his lovely hotel. When we first arrived were a bit dubious when we saw he state of the lift and carpets. However although the hotel needs some renovation we can't fault the room we had it was spotlessly clean, bedding changed every day and clean towels etc.
Food was a bit repetitive however was very nice and could always find something to eat, they do nice omelettes for breakfast.
Pool was lovely although a bit cold at first and the pool man is excellent as are all the staff, found them all to be very pleasant and friendly.
If you can see past the few renovation jobs needed then you will enjoy this hotel, recommend it highly.

Room Tip: We had room overlooking gardens and it was lovely & peaceful and had the sun nearly all day Room...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EssexGirlLizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

we stayed here 11 days half board this may its only been carusos for 1 year but thay are improveing it bit at a time the puplic areas are fantastic the food is good something for everyone and hot even hot plates we had a room upgrade good size but a little tired but fresh bed sheets and towels every day and all the staff friendly and eager to help whats more a good price

Room Tip: dont know other rooms we355 all the hotel is very quiet mornings and evenings
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
0.5 mi away
El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel
El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel
#24 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
218 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa Port El Kantaoui
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa P...
#12 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
347 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Kantaoui Center
El Kantaoui Center
#14 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,527 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,042 reviews
2.7 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel

Address: 4089 Blv 14 Janvier, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#17 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Hotel Class:4 star — El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hana Palace
El Hana Palace Hotel
Hana Palace Port El Kantaoui
El Hana Palace Tunisia
El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel Tunisia/Port El Kantaoui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing