We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a load of....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Reviewed 10 July 2014

So got out of the airport and was already hassled for 'english monies' which at 3am did not start my holiday off well...the people here will not leave you alone if they want a tip they will continuously hassle you. Arrived at hotel got dropped off opposite side of the road and had to do the walk of doom..the hotel did not look inviting at all it smelt of stale smoke and egg as soon as we stepped in. No receipt given to us when we changed our money which is a pain as later found out they will only change back 30% into English money so I've probably lost money!! Rusty nail sticking out of wardrobe, pillows on the bed had blood on them!!!! Air con kept leaking all night so our room was flooded we were assured it would be fixed that day never was so went to see Thomas cook rep she got us moved to a different room, was definitely nicer but still not the 4star this hotel rates itself. Bath towels were dirty. Bath impossible to get in and out of if you have even the smallest difficult mobilising. Bathroom flooded everytime you used the shower. Food was bland and repetitive basically lived on bread and cake all week. On day 3 finally worked out how to get some fried eggs for breakfast what a waste of time they were cold. No entertainment, not even allowed to bring your own bottled water in -they do sell it at the bar but very overpriced. Clearly nothing to do at night unless you wanted to risk going out and getting people hassle you for money. Free wifi is basically non existent so slow. I can only assume that staff think they're being funny when they pick up your phone, purse etc and walk off with it then come back saying i only joke. Not funny at all and as two young girls just made us feel completely insecure just to stay at the hotel! Spent the whole week by the pool as absolutely nothing else to do! Wont be coming back to the country let alone the hotel!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ohmy...LaurenCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

STayed for two weeks. Could not use the lovely beach on to the left of the gardens as it was strewn with rubbish. Manager had guys cleaning it with a bulldozer after I complained. The beach to the right was cleaner and steps down to it but there were men fishing along it and mainly locals who then left rubbish all along it! When sunbathing on the sunbeds ( were sticky under the towel if you moved at all and definitely needed a clean. Food was very plain, no herbs or spices. The staff were very good, polite and helpful. The beds are good, the hotel clean but mirrors left dirty everywhere, including for two weeks in our hotel room but clean linen. The hotel is now owned by an Italian company and perhaps they need time to do some work on it. Looking dated now. The 'palace' is a stunning building but was not utilised enough, the only entertainment was two nights belly dancing for one hour. Nothing else on for tourists at all. there were weddings on three days and one started very late and went on to the wee hours, very noisy. Apart from the moans the weather was great and the sea was fabulous. Will not go again though due to beach and food,

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious and corner suites (if you can get one) are larger and sunnier but mainly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just back from a 7 night stay at this hotel and was very impressed. Arrived late Saturday night and was met my the porter who took our bags up to our room whilst me and my boyfriend checked in. Room (#417) was great, huge bed (not two pushed together), big bathroom with seperate toilet and nice balcony with garden and sea view. Food was okay, nothing spectacular but all tasty and edible. We were informed by our Thomas Cook rep that one night during our stay we get a free (set menu) meal at the Caruso Restaurant in Sousse, about a 20 min taxi drive away - do not miss this opportunity! The food was delicious and the service was excellent, made even better by the seafront location and lovely views. The hotel itself does not have a beach but is surrounded by them on both sides. A 10min walk into the centre and the marina is lovely with plenty of restaurants/bars to sit and have a quiet and peaceful drink. Would also recommend the 'Golf Brau' bar/restaurant which served great food and great German beer!
Overall a very enjoyable stay!!

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a normal bed (i.e. not two singles pushed together), we had room 417 which had on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gingerrose1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Niggles first, hotel looks stunning from the outside but is tired and dated although don't let that put you off. They are working on it. Room was a great size and very clean with fresh towels and sheets every day. Majority of staff extremely friendly and helpful, reception were a bit rude on arrival and didn't really interact with customers during the stay so they could work on that. Hotel could be a jewel if they bring it up to scratch, grounds are beautifully kept though. Pool area is fine although only spent one day there. Food pretty good, meat lovely and tender, could do with a selection of fruit as this was disappointing, lovely crepes in the evening though.There is a man who try's to sell you trips and is a bit irritating -be firm and say NO heard bad reports about his trips, apart from him no hassle in hotel. You need to make your own entertainment as there's not much going on inside hotel, lots of places to go and should be buzzing once the season gets into full swing.Port is a bout 10 minute walk to the right as you leave, lovely area with all the usual tacky shops with one or two nice ones thrown in. Albatross catamaran worth doing, a bit cheaper if you book direct. Some lovely restaurants to the right. Taxis a nightmare, honking and tooting, you soon get the hang of it but we preferred to use the land train as it was more fun, 7 dinar return for two, just stick your hand out and they will pick you up, just make sure you get the same colour back. You need to engage with the locals, some are a pain but majority are well educated and friendly. Extremely cheap out there. Sousse beach is lovely, sun beds are about 5 dinar for two, they look after you well if you go to same place every day. Plenty of beach sellers and the food is amazing, lovely fresh fruit. Watersports same price wherever you go. All in all great holiday, would probably try different hotel next time but in fairness great value for money and would probably rate it a 3 star.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AmandaB1122014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The staff are great, very helpful. The hotel is clean, a little bit tired in places but the general ambience is quiet and relaxing.
Food is fine, fresh omelettes and fried eggs available too. Delicious crepes in the evening with lashings of chocolate... No kids under 16 and not a lot to do in the evenings. The marina is a ten minute walk, either along the beach or the street and there is a variety of shops including a supermarket. Closer to the hotel is a little supermarket which is out of the gate and 50 yards on the left next to a restaurant and its handy for bottles of water( cost about 15p equivalent). Drinks in the hotel, 4 dinar (£1.45) for a bottle of beer, 2 dinar (70p) for a coffee. Sunbeds next to the lovely pool are free but 2 dinar for a pad and towel if required.
All in all a chilled time, don't expect Ibiza, a good place to re charge.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Musky1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

On arrival, they knew exactly who I was without even giving them my name (probably as I was travelling on my own). Was taken to my room on the ground floor and have to say was bitterly disappointed. The musty smell from the mouldy chairs was over powering and the room was very dark.
On a positive note, I reported this to reception and was immediately offered an alternative room. They tried to keep me on the ground floor, but I requested a room higher up which they did. 1st Floor room, completely different. Carpeted, fresh, bright and had obviously been refurbished. There were also flowers strewn across the furniture and in the bathroom. Totally different to the room I was in before. I think, travelling alone i'm sure they felt they could put me in an inferior room initially (as is the case with a lot of hotels when it comes to single travellers).
From that moment, nothing could have been better. The staff were lovely, the pool, gardens, restaurant, bars, all great. The Villa Bar is stunning (but very quiet) with beautiful views out to sea.
The fact that this was an adults only hotel was pure bliss.
Whether or not you watch TV when you're away, there was the usual BBC World plus a film and an entertainment channel. Free wifi in reception and the viila bar.
All in all, having been to Tunisia 7 times, this was by far the best hotel i've stayed in and I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room on the ground floor as these haven't been refurbished and are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ELR123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Booked in on 18-22 June for a girls break away .From the moment we arrived at the hotel top notch service staff was all on point rooms was ready for us nice and clean. The beds was so comfortable nice firm beds the minute you put your head down you dift off:)
We only booked b&b and breakfast was good could not complain.
The hotel has two pools one inside with a Jacuzzi. And a large one with pool bar outside.
we did the water sports activities do not miss absolutely funtastic.
The beach area to the hotel could really do with a clean thats my only fault with the hotel . other than that staff at this hotel pls pls keep up the amazing work and thank you for a memorable stay

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LadyWynter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
0.5 mi away
El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel
El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel
#24 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa Port El Kantaoui
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa P...
#12 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
353 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,567 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Kantaoui Center
El Kantaoui Center
#14 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
634 reviews
2.7 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel

Address: 4089 Blv 14 Janvier, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#17 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range: £17 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hana Palace
El Hana Palace Hotel
Hana Palace Port El Kantaoui
El Hana Palace Tunisia
El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel Tunisia/Port El Kantaoui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing