We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't listen to reviews below”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't listen to reviews below”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Just came back from a week at Caruso Palace and decided to take a look at what others think. Firstly, the two reviews below are way off the mark on most aspects, lies in fact (how can a fried egg which is cooked in front of your eyes be cold? - and the Port El Kantoui main area is not 45 minutes away, walking at a slow pace it was 10 minutes away!)

Yes, tipping is a big part of the culture, and yes you do get subjected to some hassle. A lot of countries are like that. Also there wasn't much entertainment but a little bit of prior research will prepare you for that.

The food wasn't inedible or whatever nonsense the person before said. In fact, this is one of the only holidays where I haven't experienced some kind of traveller's illness. Dinner had a great selection of different meals both local and international which were nearly all cooked to perfection. There was always somebody making pancakes - delicious - and I never saw a dirty table cloth. Lunch from the pool area was amazing value for money, always tasty and friendly service.

Rooms were all lovely and clean, and never had any problems with that. Air conditioning worked a treat (free as well). Baths were luxurious and, again, the person before must live in a strange world of super showers because we never had any problems there either.

All in all a really good, relaxing holiday - defo value for money. Pool was super with its bar, the beaches weren't kept 100% nicely but they aren't the hotel's so you cannot really complain - the sea was lovely and warm with no jellyfish.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Harry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    134
    53
    28
    21
See reviews for
31
204
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Well I don't know where to start as there has been so many problems! As soon as we got off the plane and walking to the bus was being constantly hassled from this man for money. On arriving to the hotel we got dropped off on the other side of the dual carriage way and walked across with our bags. We changed over our money and wasn't given a receipt so we could change it back. Our first room was on the ground floor and what a dump it was! It was filthy, my bed sheets were stained and dirty. The wardrobe was missing it's handles so had nails poking out. When we first walked in there was a massive puddle on the floor from the air condition unit. The man from reception who showed us to our room said it would get fixed in the morning. After a 2 days nothing so got moved from the room. The toilet and bath are separate from each other. If anyone has any mot ability problems there is a big and deep bath to get in and out of. I have problems with my back and have found it difficult. The shower that's above the bath has been fixed in the wall in the worst place possible so while showering you just flood the whole bathroom. I thought maybe it was just the room we were in but when moved the exact same issues! Also the toilet barely flushed. The food here is absolutely awful, wouldn't feed my dog the food they eat. Found it difficult to find something we could eat. Breakfast was probably the worst. When we went for our meal the table cloths were dirty. They just turned them over from the previous day so you could still see the marks. You'd expect they could clean and remove them to put fresh clean ones down. But from the state of the hotel and their lack of cleanliness it shouldn't have come as much of a surprise to us. There is no form of entertainment in the evenings so isn't anything to do. Tv in the room doesn't work. No music by the pool. The area is awful we are in. We were told things were a 5 min walk away from us. Well try 45mins! There was a cockroach in the toilet we found! Everything about the hotel is dirty and the staff are just downright rude and made us feel uncomfortable. I don't know whether it's my sense of humour or not but the staff taking my belongings and hiding them is not appropriate and has just made us feel uncomfortable. Wouldn't ever come back!! I'd advise the same for other

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Emmabrown121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port El Kantaoui hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

So got out of the airport and was already hassled for 'english monies' which at 3am did not start my holiday off well...the people here will not leave you alone if they want a tip they will continuously hassle you. Arrived at hotel got dropped off opposite side of the road and had to do the walk of doom..the hotel did not look inviting at all it smelt of stale smoke and egg as soon as we stepped in. No receipt given to us when we changed our money which is a pain as later found out they will only change back 30% into English money so I've probably lost money!! Rusty nail sticking out of wardrobe, pillows on the bed had blood on them!!!! Air con kept leaking all night so our room was flooded we were assured it would be fixed that day never was so went to see Thomas cook rep she got us moved to a different room, was definitely nicer but still not the 4star this hotel rates itself. Bath towels were dirty. Bath impossible to get in and out of if you have even the smallest difficult mobilising. Bathroom flooded everytime you used the shower. Food was bland and repetitive basically lived on bread and cake all week. On day 3 finally worked out how to get some fried eggs for breakfast what a waste of time they were cold. No entertainment, not even allowed to bring your own bottled water in -they do sell it at the bar but very overpriced. Clearly nothing to do at night unless you wanted to risk going out and getting people hassle you for money. Free wifi is basically non existent so slow. I can only assume that staff think they're being funny when they pick up your phone, purse etc and walk off with it then come back saying i only joke. Not funny at all and as two young girls just made us feel completely insecure just to stay at the hotel! Spent the whole week by the pool as absolutely nothing else to do! Wont be coming back to the country let alone the hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ohmy...LaurenCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

STayed for two weeks. Could not use the lovely beach on to the left of the gardens as it was strewn with rubbish. Manager had guys cleaning it with a bulldozer after I complained. The beach to the right was cleaner and steps down to it but there were men fishing along it and mainly locals who then left rubbish all along it! When sunbathing on the sunbeds ( were sticky under the towel if you moved at all and definitely needed a clean. Food was very plain, no herbs or spices. The staff were very good, polite and helpful. The beds are good, the hotel clean but mirrors left dirty everywhere, including for two weeks in our hotel room but clean linen. The hotel is now owned by an Italian company and perhaps they need time to do some work on it. Looking dated now. The 'palace' is a stunning building but was not utilised enough, the only entertainment was two nights belly dancing for one hour. Nothing else on for tourists at all. there were weddings on three days and one started very late and went on to the wee hours, very noisy. Apart from the moans the weather was great and the sea was fabulous. Will not go again though due to beach and food,

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious and corner suites (if you can get one) are larger and sunnier but mainly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just back from a 7 night stay at this hotel and was very impressed. Arrived late Saturday night and was met my the porter who took our bags up to our room whilst me and my boyfriend checked in. Room (#417) was great, huge bed (not two pushed together), big bathroom with seperate toilet and nice balcony with garden and sea view. Food was okay, nothing spectacular but all tasty and edible. We were informed by our Thomas Cook rep that one night during our stay we get a free (set menu) meal at the Caruso Restaurant in Sousse, about a 20 min taxi drive away - do not miss this opportunity! The food was delicious and the service was excellent, made even better by the seafront location and lovely views. The hotel itself does not have a beach but is surrounded by them on both sides. A 10min walk into the centre and the marina is lovely with plenty of restaurants/bars to sit and have a quiet and peaceful drink. Would also recommend the 'Golf Brau' bar/restaurant which served great food and great German beer!
Overall a very enjoyable stay!!

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a normal bed (i.e. not two singles pushed together), we had room 417 which had on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gingerrose1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Niggles first, hotel looks stunning from the outside but is tired and dated although don't let that put you off. They are working on it. Room was a great size and very clean with fresh towels and sheets every day. Majority of staff extremely friendly and helpful, reception were a bit rude on arrival and didn't really interact with customers during the stay so they could work on that. Hotel could be a jewel if they bring it up to scratch, grounds are beautifully kept though. Pool area is fine although only spent one day there. Food pretty good, meat lovely and tender, could do with a selection of fruit as this was disappointing, lovely crepes in the evening though.There is a man who try's to sell you trips and is a bit irritating -be firm and say NO heard bad reports about his trips, apart from him no hassle in hotel. You need to make your own entertainment as there's not much going on inside hotel, lots of places to go and should be buzzing once the season gets into full swing.Port is a bout 10 minute walk to the right as you leave, lovely area with all the usual tacky shops with one or two nice ones thrown in. Albatross catamaran worth doing, a bit cheaper if you book direct. Some lovely restaurants to the right. Taxis a nightmare, honking and tooting, you soon get the hang of it but we preferred to use the land train as it was more fun, 7 dinar return for two, just stick your hand out and they will pick you up, just make sure you get the same colour back. You need to engage with the locals, some are a pain but majority are well educated and friendly. Extremely cheap out there. Sousse beach is lovely, sun beds are about 5 dinar for two, they look after you well if you go to same place every day. Plenty of beach sellers and the food is amazing, lovely fresh fruit. Watersports same price wherever you go. All in all great holiday, would probably try different hotel next time but in fairness great value for money and would probably rate it a 3 star.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmandaB1122014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The staff are great, very helpful. The hotel is clean, a little bit tired in places but the general ambience is quiet and relaxing.
Food is fine, fresh omelettes and fried eggs available too. Delicious crepes in the evening with lashings of chocolate... No kids under 16 and not a lot to do in the evenings. The marina is a ten minute walk, either along the beach or the street and there is a variety of shops including a supermarket. Closer to the hotel is a little supermarket which is out of the gate and 50 yards on the left next to a restaurant and its handy for bottles of water( cost about 15p equivalent). Drinks in the hotel, 4 dinar (£1.45) for a bottle of beer, 2 dinar (70p) for a coffee. Sunbeds next to the lovely pool are free but 2 dinar for a pad and towel if required.
All in all a chilled time, don't expect Ibiza, a good place to re charge.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Musky1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
0.5 mi away
El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel
El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel
#25 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
3.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa Port El Kantaoui
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa P...
#11 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Kantaoui Center
El Kantaoui Center
#14 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
3.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
3.0 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
2.0 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#5 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel

Property: El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel
Address: 4089 Blv 14 Janvier, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hana Palace
El Hana Palace Hotel
Hana Palace Port El Kantaoui
El Hana Palace Tunisia
El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel Tunisia/Port El Kantaoui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing