We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port El Kantaoui
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Caruso hotel in June 2013 and enjoyed it so much we decided to return July 13th 2014 for ten nights.
After an excellent flight and transfer by Thomas Cook we arrived at the hotel early.
We were greeted by Hichem at reception who personally showed us to our accommodation, which on this occasion was a suite in the villa. Lovely rooms with a beautiful view. The suite and the villa were cleaned by a group of ladies who constantly seemed to be washing and mopping and polishing!
The swimming pool area was cleaned everyday. Everywhere was hosed down early in the morning and bins emptied.The pool man was called a name that sounds like Reeba. We only had to wave to him each morning and he brought our sun bed mattresses to us. He also provided pool towels as soon as they were available. These were laundered on site every morning and distributed by Reeba as early as possible.
The pool bar was run by a young man called Boo. He was very good at his job and tried to have a bit of fun with everyone. Boo would come round and ask would anyone like something to drink. Also I noticed if he took drinks to anyone near you he asked if you needed anything. For a 22 year old boy he was excellent!
Food in the restaurant was very good. At breakfast there was all different kinds of eggs, fresh fruit salad, pastries, cakes and my favourite, crepes with chocolate sauce. We started the day with eggs done on the hot plate which we really enjoyed. Lunch was available to order from a menu at the poolside restaurant which opened from about 11am and remained open until late afternoon. Dinner we were again spoilt for choice. The fish was especially good. We loved the sea bass and the chefs lasagne too.Two choices of soup each night. Wonderful selection of salad dishes and plenty to choose from for the main course. Lovely crepes with ice cream and fresh cream cakes for dessert. Cannot wait to return.
Our waiter Foude was very efficient, even having our drinks ready for us as soon as we sat down. A big thank you to Mongi (the head waiter I think). He worked so hard from breakfast to the end of dinner.
Entertainment was traditional. Belly dancing and the Fakir. We enjoyed it especially last Monday night 21/7/14, which was hilarious due to audience participation.
The Caruso is a very special hotel. Very little entertainment on a night, no animation team and no noise. This is a little haven of peace and quiet especially for adults.
We love it!
Long may it stay the way it is.

Thank you to Hichem, Mongi, Foude, Reeba, Boo and Kadouja for a wonderful holiday.
We hope to see you next year.

Room Tip: The view from all rooms is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Amethyst-2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed here for one week at the end of June and thought it was great ! The staff cannot do enough for you and nothing is a problem the hotel is clean and well maintained the gardens are lovely and the pool area is great also a big mention for the pool bar waiter called boo he was always laughing and joking and makin sure your drinks are topped up some people moaned about breakfast but we found it ok you could always get something you liked and we were only bed and breakfast so can't comment on food at night time also well placed for the marina it's a five minute walk and it's only a small bus ride into sousse for 2 dinar return so you have the best of both worlds you can relax and chill or go fir hustle and bustle of sousse all in all a great time and would deffo return

Room Tip: We were told to ask for the top floor rooms as they have a sea view so we rang a week before we arri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Geordie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I admit the initial impressions when you get off the bus are not great, but when you enter the front door you are immediately looked after by all their very friendly staff. It is like an oasis, with beautiful gardens and an excellent pool area.
The food is fantastic, with a wide variation of local specialities and international food,so there is plenty of choice for all palates. It is so good we have both out on a few extra pounds!
As it is an adults only hotel, you can enjoy a relaxing holiday, with attentive staff, who go out of their way to help you. Our loo started leaking and I informed the front desk, within 15 minutes there was someone at the door, who had resolved it within an hour. You cannot expect anything better than this.
The longer you stay here, the more it grows on you, and I can definitely recommend it and whilst some people my dispute whether it is a four star hotel, but your certainly get 5 star treatment from the staff, who are always extremely courteous and helpful at all times. From the people at the front desk to the restaurant, pool bar & restaurants and in particular Boo, who always has a smile on his face at the pool bar. His humour & friendliness to all residents was fantastic, and is an exceptional asset to the hotel.
Whilst there was only limited entertainment in the hotel, the Port is only 10 mins down the road. The Golf Brau bart is to be recommended and they have an excellent singer on each evening. There is also the Irish Bar ( which doesn't serve Guinness!!) slightly further away. Yes you do get hassle from the shop keepers but is is certainly no worse that either Turkey or Egypt, and is always good humoured. They are only trying to make a living and you can always haggle them down to get a very good bargain.
Th El Hana Place is one of this places you want to keep as your secret, and it is definitely a place we will return to in the future.

Room Tip: If you are not happy, speak to the reception they will go out of their way to help you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank JohnyBrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

On arrival reception was quick and efficient bags were loaded and taken to our room on second floor.The room was quite big with two small doubles pushed together which was fine they were very comfortable went straight to bed in clean sheets the air conditioning was very effective and we turned it off at times only faults with the very clean room were the TV remote was without batteries and the giant bath was a little difficult for my wife to get in she is only 4'10" we only watched TV while showering and getting ready for dinner.The food was good there was always something to eat not all to our liking but tried almost everything always pancakes and ice cream and fried eggs in the morning
Pool staff were very good sun bed were free if you wanted a pad and towel it was 2 dinar per day Boo at the pool bar was always happy and would bring us our wine or beer when you caught his eye very helpful
The hotel was a little tired and just needs a little updating very quite and clean are thinking of returning next year for a very relaxing time

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gary e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

As the title suggests, this is the third time we have stayed at El Hana Palace - and, on the whole it continues to be mainly positive.
The atmosphere is 100% relaxation - don't go expecting anything exciting! The hotel prides itself in ensuring that there is peace and quiet, something that we appreciate.
This is also couples / adults only - which adds to the ambience.
The staff remembered us despite the fact that there were 8 years between our last visit! Don't know if that is a good thing!! We were well looked after by the restaurant staff - down to the flowers on the table to recognise our last night.
However....
The room we were assigned as part of our package (361) was directly below the air conditioning / generator area and it was noisy! Too noisy! I am a light sleeper and had to use noise-cancelling headphones every night to get to sleep. Uncomfortable and disappointing - I need a good night's sleep! The rooms could do with a refresh and I know that this is underway. I am looking forward to seeing the results in the future.
Having brought the issue of the noise to the attention of the staff -I was assured that we will be looked after in the future and have no doubt that this will be the case.
A perfect hotel for relaxation, guaranteed pool seats and decent food. Am looking forward to my fourth visit...

Room Tip: Floors 3 and 4 - in the 'winged' area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I have just arrived home from 2 weeks at this hotel and I have had a fantastic time and would definitely go back. The staff where great from Jamal and the girls in the spa definitely worth a try, Boo at the pool bar who even comes round during the day to check you are fine and don't need anything, Mohammed in the main restaurant who even carried my coffees for me in the morning, to Hassan at the pool restaurant very helpful, Ali in the reception bar again a very good barman and extremely helpful, Reeva the pool man who set up our Sun beds for us daily, Aisha our lovely cleaning lady and even Dreamy in the shop who went out of her way to bring me medicine from the town on our last night. I think sometimes you get out what you put in. I know the hotel is being renovated but our room 102 was lovely and clean and definitely didn't smell of damp. Clean towels and sheets everyday. Food was fantastic and I must have put on 7lbs at least, they even laid our table with a flower display for our last breakfast. If you have ever travelled to Turkey and been shopping there then this is no worse and I would even say you get less hassle. I wasn't expecting any entertainment so the fact there was some was a pleasant surprise. I had a wonderful time and was sorry to leave. I would definitely go back and would highly recommend this hotel if you want to relax and enjoy the sunshine.

Room Tip: If you don't like your room tell them and they will change it. If your tv doesn't work tell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank SassySarahNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We travelled to Tunisia on the 21st June for 2 weeks and stayed at the Caruso Palace. The hotel was lovely (yes it did need updating here and there but they are in the process of this) On arrival we were welcomed very warmly and shown to our room on the 4th floor (lovely view of the sea). The room was great, very spacious, free air conditioning, clean towels everyday, tv, fridge & a massive bath in the bathroom. The staff were very pleasant, special mention to Ali (bar by reception) and Hassan & Borat (pool bar) - they made our holiday. The receptionists were all very welcoming as were the housekeeping staff & waiters. The pool area was lovely especially the swim up pool bar :) there were plenty of sunbeds. The beach was very close, yes it was bit dirty in places but fine in the sea, just had to watch out for jellyfish! Me and my partner used the massage/ beauty salon which was great! Definitely recommend a visit! The harbor is only a 10 minute walk away and it is beautiful- when you are there i recommend a albatross catamaran boat trip we went and saw lots of dolphins. We also went to water park, quite small but definately value for money at £10 per person. We also went on a camel ride and quad biking trek - only thing is DO NOT buy from man at hotel who is by the pool! He rips people of and you are not insured when you go on his trips.

Room Tip: 4th floor has better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LOLLY1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
0.5 mi away
El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel
El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel
#24 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa Port El Kantaoui
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa P...
#12 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
352 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,567 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Kantaoui Center
El Kantaoui Center
#14 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
634 reviews
2.7 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel

Address: 4089 Blv 14 Janvier, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#17 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range: £17 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Also Known As:
Hotel Hana Palace
El Hana Palace Hotel
Hana Palace Port El Kantaoui
El Hana Palace Tunisia
El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel Tunisia/Port El Kantaoui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing