We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“first time soviva, great holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Soviva Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Soviva Resort
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“first time soviva, great holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

it was our first time at soviva, travelled 12-26 july 2014 . on arrival we were greated by porter who took our bags while we filled in hotel form, he then got us bottles of water and took us to our rooms. we have 5002 and 5004 which were connecting rooms on top floor overlooking the gardens at front of hotel. our room was clean and really big a lot bigger than others. our lovely cleaner can every day giving clean bedding ,clean towels and keeping the room spotless, some days our towels were made into different shapes and flowers placed on our beds,she really earned her tips.
beautiful pool with slides and whatever time you went down to the pool the pool guys would always find you beds and get you mattress so need to get up at stupid o clock.
we found afew of the waiter lovely and even bought drink to you by the pool and found you proper beer glasses to drink out of in the evening instead of the usual plastic cups.
food couldn't fault it at all there was so much to chose from so no one would ever go hungry staying there, they had fresh to order pancakes and omelettes at breakfast and pizza to order at lunch along with the big buffet counters. wouldn't reconmend going to dinner at 6,30 as its very busy so leave it a bit later. beach bar was lovely they did own fresh to order food at lunch in great shaded seating area, the beach had its own beds and mattresses. plenty of water sport on the beach, my sons did paragliding for about £11 each and jet skiing for £14 each. if you are buying trips don't buy from the men going round the pool as it a lot cheaper to buy it yourself. he was charging £20 each for quad biking but we went to the quad biking place opposite hotel where they charge £8 each.
animation team were good in the day doing mini golf, water polo, zumba,kids clubs, bowls,darts but the same lovely guys were doing the evening entertainment which was poor all they seem to do is dance so we went out and about a few evenings. formal one bar over road is nice about £1 for a beer. the harbour is really nice plenty for place to eat and shops that are fixed prices and some where you haggle. we did another trip to el dgem which we did ourselves instead of with Thomas cook as you get a lot more time there and getting your own taxi there is cheaper,its well worth at visit.all in all we had a great holiday 2 adults and 17 &18 year old lads

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank shaz130887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SovivaManagemement, Director of Sales at Soviva Resort, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Shaz,
Thank you for visiting The Soviva Resort Hotel and thank you as well for your nice compliments.
Please note that these positive comments are making all Soviva Resort Hotel Staff encouraged prepared and eager to make our guests enjoying their holidays.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    477
    330
    210
    314
See reviews for
796
382
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I have just came back from the soviva resort from the 23rd for a week, and I highly would not recommend it to anyone unless you enjoy, bad quality hospitality and an overall atmosphere.
I went with a another adult and a child, the entertainment is nothing like you would expect, well if your used to going to the likes of Spain, ect. The food, in my opinion is terrible, hardly any choice and usually undercooked, if your used to good food id recommend you eat out like we did, at a bistro down the road 'sunflower' quality food and very cheap.
In addition, the waiters who bring your drinks at lunch and dinner are very unpleasant and rude, my brother fell over due to rain and they left him and laughed, and they have no ice for drinks so by the time your drink comes it's very warm.
The people are very derogatory and to upfront they intend on harassing you if you don't go in their shops and try and haggle with you. Moreover, the hotel is too packed filled with every nationality you can think off, this is why we had to wake up at 5am just to put towels on the loungers. The staff prioritise certain people first, for instance blonde women. In our room it' was very basic nothing to moan about really, however we came in on our second night to find a dead cockroach with ants around it, our room had been fumigated twice, and the smell off the corridors is appalling. On the other hand, the pool was the only part we enjoyed, the pool is large the other is average. However after my experience of Tunisia and attempting to leave on the day we arrived I will never ever return to this country/hotel ever again, I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamielanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SovivaManagemement, Director of Sales at Soviva Resort, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for choosing Soviva Resort Hotel.
Thank you aswell for your comments and remarks.
Would you please note that all Management are taking this review and these remarks on consideration and working on them in order to improve our service.
Hope that you are changing your mind and book again to be a repaeat guest to our hotel
Best regards from sunny TUNISIA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port El Kantaoui hotels

Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I have just arrived back from soviva, my family and i stayed for one week. We stayed in rooms to the side of the hotel they were clean and basic but fine for ours needs working shower, bed and fridge.air con.excellent pool good choice of activities with really lovely animation team who work really hard.food is ok always something to eat. Waiters are great find you a table get your drinks always smiling, they work so hard i had no problem in giving them a tip they deserve it.As mentioned before in reviews there is a shop that sells everything but shop around and as we found out the shops at the airport on your way home are VERY cheap, much cheaper so if you can hang on i would buy there anything from handbags,purses, leather goods wooden items etc. hotel entertainment did get better as the week went on the entertainment team are the nicest bunch of people you could wish to meet. They have just got a new entertainment organiser who is already improving the entertainment and im sure it will get better and better because they work so hard.All in all a very friendly hotel and always trying to make sure you have a good holiday. Moahammed Ali or Dali one of the entertainer team who we chatted to daily was lovely making sure we were enjoying ourselves.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Sunnybunny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SovivaManagemement, Director of Sales at Soviva Resort, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for visiting The Soviva Resort Hotel and thank you as well for your nice compliments.
Please note that these positive comments are making all Soviva Resort Hotel Staff encouraged prepared and eager to make our guests enjoying their holidays.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Soviva with my 6 year old son. After reading some of the reviews AFTER booking, i did get quite nervous and arrived with a view of the hotel in mind. However, the reviews i read couldn't have been more wrong in my opinion.
The staff are very welcoming and helpful, we were escorted to our room by a lovely porter. When people complain so much about the staff expecting tips... Get a grip. These people work hard, they do everything they can to help you and in all honesty, they need the tips. They make up their wage. I for one think they deserve it.
The room was quite basic but spotlessly clean. great view of the pool.
The food was delicious. Even to the fussy tastebuds of my son!
Onto the entertainment team.. Absolutely brilliant. All the kids loved them, they were fab with them and had a variety of fun things to do. My son really missed the one member of the team after we got home! The beach is gorgeous, with paragliding. Own beach bar. The only bad thing is the walk to the beach. The area surrounding the hotel is so run down. But with everything you need in the hotel, there really is no reason to leave. Honestly, i'm a fussy bugger at times but this hotel really is worth you booking. I loved it and I will be returning!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Nikki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SovivaManagemement, Director of Sales at Soviva Resort, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing The Soviva Resort Hotel and for your very sympathetic feedback. We are very glad to read that our service from your arrival till your departure has been pleasant. Looking forward to welcoming you in the near future to make your next visit unforgettable again.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Heres my review of our 2 weeks stay at Soviva and Tunisia in July 2014:

Arrival at Airport - Cases whisked of us by porters as we exited airport (happened so quick didn't get a chance to say no). They took cases a mere 50 yards to coach. They asked for 10 English pounds- airport notices state they should get 3 or 4 dinars(£1 - £1.50). I gave then 10 dinars each and they still wanted english money. First of many cases of trying to rip you off.
Room - Arrived at hotel and room was ready which was great as we wanted make use of the sun right a way. Porters take bags to room (another tip). Room was clean enough but very basic but reasonably clean. Air conditioning very poor which in the heat of Tunisia was not ideal. Maids cleaned rooms everyday and were excellent especially if you tipped them early on.

Restaurant - What can I say about restaurant - Most unorganised place I have seen. One many occasions we had to wait on plates, cups, bread, cutlery. Even when it was there it was not not the cleanest. As for the food, it has to be the most disgusting food I have ever eaten on holiday especially at breakfast time. If you like chicken, turkey or beef done every way possible (but always very dry) then you are ok. We had to eat out half a dozen times to survive. The waiters serve your drinks unfortunately they are very slow and you have finished your meal before you have them. I would suggest tipping them at start of holiday and then every couple of days, What a difference this makes.

Pool - The pool are is fantastic loads of beds, plenty space. The pool is huge and always clean. The slides are good and not really that busy. If you tip the pool attendants they will keep beds for you where you want everyday. Saves you getting up early in the morning.

Bars - Once again very disorganised, they don't listen to you, always getting drinks wrong, always running out of Glasses (or cups). Yes beer in cups. This caused big queues. Most days one person on bar, again queues long and slow. Beer is absolutely disgusting, watered down local rubbish as are spirits.

The hotel allow people to walk around the hotel/pool area hassling you into buying everything from excursions to spa treatment (they are particularly bad and constantly hassle you). They guy selling the fish treatment is particularly pushy and aggressive.

Excursions - Avoid the pirate ship adventure sold by "Capt Jack" at the pool. What an absolute waste of money and once on the boat they try to sell you every thing from overpriced drinks to photos to bandanas etc.
Quad bike excursion sold by guy at pool is very good and well worth the money. Dont pay anymore than £15 to £20 pounds.

Entertainment team - They try very hard but they activities are very poor and they evening entertainment is poor and very unorganised.

Port El Kantaoui resort - Not a bad resort and the marina is lovely but prepared to be hassled into looking at their shops and being pestered constantly to buy stuff. if you dont they dont like it.

Overall, Soviva resort is very poor probably the worst hotel I have stayed in and I will definitely not be returning there ever and I will have to be persuaded to return to Tunisa either.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saundec2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SovivaManagemement, Director of Sales at Soviva Resort, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for choosing Soviva Resort Hotel.
Thank you aswell for your comments and remarks.
Would you please note that all Management are taking this review and these remarks on consideration and working on them in order to improve our service.
Hope that you are changing your mind and book again to be a repaeat guest to our hotel and see the improvement

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We arrived at Soviva on the 9th July and we was staying for 2 weeks so we were departing the 23rd July. We arrived at the hotel at about 10.30 and check-in time wasn't until 2pm but we didn't wait around, our room was ready for us to go to. The room was kind of basic with a bunk bed and 2 beds to make a double bed, it took some getting used to but within 2 days we was settled. We were never really in the room only to get ready, shower and sleep in so it was ok. The rooms were cleaned everyday and they made pretty things out of our pj's on the bed.

Everyone in the hotel spoke really good English which was a good thing and made us feel at home:)

The restaurant had lots of food to offer throughout the day, you could eat in there a maximum of 6 times a day! There was always chips and spaghetti. My brother is 10 and is a really fussy eater and we managed to find him something to eat everyday for breakfast, lunch and dinner which was really good:) The waiters are always on the move, never stop! They are either getting people drinks or cleaning tables ready for other people coming in to eat.

The shop downstairs in the hotel had literally everything from hats, bags, trainers, shoes, souvenirs, clothes, tracksuits and lots more. That was ran by Del Boy and Rodney they were lovely. They always spoke to us and were really friendly too! There was another little shop where you could by suncreams, crisps etc. which was just next to Del Boy & Rodney's shop. Also there was an on site nurse which was really helpful to us as my dad had to take a trip to him within 3 days of our holiday, due to the fact that he suffers from bad prickly heat. The nurse gave him some tablets and cream which cost 20D which is about £7.15 in our money. Every time Del Boy or Rodney saw one of us they always said hello, asked if we were okay which was a really nice thing and we felt right at home.

The pool was the perfect size and it went from shallow to deep which is just what we like:) The slides are amazing and you get an adrenalin rush! But the walk up to the top to go down kills you but it is so worth it. There was always a life guard at the top of the slides which was good, so no accidents happened. But girls just hold onto your bikini bottoms and top and men do your shorts up tight because otherwise you will lose them.

There was professional photographers which came out to the pool to take pictures of people in the pool with their families, partners or children, people going down the slides, taking pictures of the activities which happened in the pool during the day and even taking pictures at night, you just had to ask. One of the photographers was called Zahi and he was so lovely! He kept trying to get pictures of me in our first week but I wasn't having any of it haha! Then he got some:) We spoke to him about taking some family photos and he said Sunday was the best day as he is quite that day so we did Sunday. He is a fantastic photographer he really is! Every time he saw me, he would say my name and we would have a laugh. When it was time to say bye on the Tuesday because we had an early morning flight in the morning it actually hit me that I was going home and wasn't going to see him :( so I had a little cry on him, that set me off for the rest of the night.

Right now onto the animation/entertainment team... We spent the second day of our holiday at the pool because the first day, the day we arrived we was getting to know the place. The animation team were always walking around the pool speaking to people when they wasn't doing the activities but then again before the activities started they would come round to see if you wanted to play or take part which was a really good thing to do! After a few days we as a family got to know them really well and they were, are really good at their job. My brother, who is 10 was always with the animator Simo. He played darts at 11 & 4 everyday. At about 11 aqua aerobics or water gym as they called it took place with Chicco and after that there was a game ran by all the animation/entertainer team in the pool. Before the game started 2 of the animators, Mousktio & Simo would come over to me and give me their bag & top so they didn't get wet, I loved having the responsibility of looking after their things because it meant they trusted me which was a great thing to have :) Then came the group dance which was really catchy and really easy to learn " La bomba" and " pip pip pip". At 4.30 just after darts, Zumba would start! I didn't start doing it until the last couple of days of my holiday but when I did it, it was amazing! The animator that did it was Mousktio, he was so energetic and was so good at his job. Mousktio was the main entertainer and he did it really well! At night the animation/entertainer team did a mini disco every night at 8.30pm for the young children but saying that I joined in haha! Then they did a dance session where we could get up on stage and do it with them which was fantastic to watch and do and then they did the show. One night before we came home Chicco was dressed up as a women and got 2 other men up on stage with him and one of them was my dad, omg it was sooo funny. I about wet myself with laughter! When it came down to saying bye to some of the animation/entertainer team... Mousktio, Simo, Momo and Chicco it really got to me because we had become so close with them and had so many laughs. It was heart breaking and made me cry:'( I hope they do not forget us because we will not forget them!

The animation/entertainer team were truly fantastic and are amazing at there jobs, you would be a fool to let them go!

We met this girl called Leah and her family and they had been to the hotel over 10 times! She was lovely, we was together all the time and did mostly everything together. Even our sunbeds were next to each other! We will defiantly keep in touch with each other and we will probably fly together to come back to the Soviva resort when we can:) SOVIVA MASSIVE!!

Overall, my holiday to the Soviva resort was truly incredible and I would defiantly come back even if it is not with my family, I would defiantly come back there is no doubt about that! I would defiantly recommend this hotel to anyone!

Thank you for having us:)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank JadeWadsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I stayed in Soviva Hotel for a week in July and I wasn't impressed.
The rooms were very basic, small, not really clean, the bathrooms just disgusting. Quite funny, you have to pay a deposit to get a remote control! We had few problems with the room on the arrival, I reported them at the reception and I have to say it was fixed very quickly.
The restaurant and the food quality was very poor, lot's of queues to get the food, dirty and smelly. If you didn't tip the waiters at you would have to wait for ages for drinks. Basically my impression was that the whole staff was just waiting to be tipped.
The all inclusive bar/drinks were also a joke and you had to queue for them again.
There is an ala card restaurant, which is not much better either. Same food as in the main restaurant, just served in a nicer way.
The Wi- Fi is available only at the reception area and it is super slow.
The animation team was very disorganized and just boring so I didn't take part in many activities and didn't enjoy the evening entertainment either.
I liked the pool, nice slides and plenty of space. I also liked the private beach and the bar there, the service there was really nice as well. Another positive thing is the reception, especially one lady there who speaks very good English and is very friendly.
Anyway, I wouldn't stay in the hotel again. I've been to Tunisia before and stayed in much nicer hotels for similar price.

Room Tip: Find a better hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Evi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SovivaManagemement, Director of Sales at Soviva Resort, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Evi,
Thank you so much for choosing Soviva Resort Hotel.
Thank you as well for your comments and remarks.
Would you please note that all Management are taking this review and these remarks on consideration and working on them in order to improve our service.
Hope that you are changing your mind and book again to be a repeat guest to our hotel and see the improvement.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
0.0 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#7 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
3.3 mi away
Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Houria Palace Hotel
Houria Palace Hotel
#26 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
3.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa Port El Kantaoui
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa P...
#11 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abou Sofiane
Hotel Abou Sofiane
#13 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soviva Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soviva Resort

Property: Soviva Resort
Address: El Kantaoui Hammam Sousse | Port El Kantaoui, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Soviva Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 522
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Soviva Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soviva Hotel Port El Kantaoui
Soviva Resort Tunisia/Port El Kantaoui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing