We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“some people just never happy”
Review of Soviva Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Soviva Resort
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
shrew
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“some people just never happy”
Reviewed 21 January 2010

why would you trust someone who you never must including me!! i mean in my opinion this is an amazing hotel!!!!!

I believe people just like to moan about something and they are not happy unless they are moaning.

If you want 5star with amazing faclities and un imaginable service then the soviva is not for you. If you want a nice hotel that will be a base to have YOUR OWN holiday it is wow!!!!

It is funny that one person thinks the hotel is crap yet someone else who went that isnt a snob loved it.

ALSO THINK OF IT THIS WAY!!! THE HOTEL HAS AT LEAST 5000 GUESTS A YEAR, ONLY 20 PEOPLE COMPLAIN THAT AINT BAD

WELL DONE SOVIVA

SNOBS DONT SPOIL IT FOR THE REST OF US!! STOP BEING CHEAP AND SPEND MORE MONEY IF YOU WANT 5 STAR

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank steve_steveShrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    477
    330
    210
    315
See reviews for
798
382
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
southampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

we went to soviva with a party of 9 including teenagers. We were abit worried after reading the reviews on here but as soon as we arrived we knew it was going to be a holiday to remember. Our suitcases were taken to our room for us. The food was abit the same but it was always nice and hot. the pancakes and the omlettes great. the waiters had our drinks ready when we were on the way to the bar and the ent team were always encouraging us to join in with the many activities they were doing that day. The maids came everyday with clean bedding and towels and we had no reports of theft from our 4 rooms.
The team at soviva were amazing and made are holiday one to remember. A brillant 2 weeks for our family.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hall88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2009

Soviva Resort, Port El Kantaoui is a large hotel which I would classify as high end 3 star.

Positives:

1. Clean
2. friendly English speaking staff / reception
3. we stayed in adjoining large 3 bed rooms ideal for our large family
4. rooms were clean, excellent decor, clean towels and bedsheets every day and excellent cleaners
5. Staff and management should have top marks for their effort and hard work
6. superb entertainment : kids and adults were engaged and amused by the entertainment team 10/10 for their hardwork and dedication, much thanks to : Ben (Big Boss, Mimi, Lulu, Sam and Musa etc for a very memorable entertainment for kids and adults
7. Indoor heated swimming pool (fair sized) and large super sized (but cold) outside swimming pool with slides.
8. Lovely gardens, tennis court, Volley ball court, crazy golf, kids club , massage , saunas , showers etc
9. Discos, bars etc ( I don't drink so only saw them from outside)
10. Breakfast , lunch, dinner had great choice and catered for all sorts of people from vegetarians to meat eaters, huge selection of food
11. meditaranean beach only a few minutes walk
12. money exchange 24hrs a day ( no cash point though- nearest in 4 star hotel a few minutes away)
13. On board Thomas cook reps and local touts available to arrange trips
14. fair distance from main road so very quite
15. 24 hour reception
16. Plenty of car park space
17. small (very small) kids play area - 2 swings and slide
18. Perfect heater/ air conditioning unit and a small fridge and tv

Negatives:

1. Had to pay fro drinks for dinner ( 2.5 dinars - £1.25 for coke , water bottle etc)
2. Vents in bathrooms were off
3. Shower water cycled warm/cold slightly which was annoying. After informing the hotel reception a service engineer turned up who couldn't or didn't want to understand what the problem was. Eventually on the the 6th day the problem magically disappeared in both rooms.
4. Ants- they did turn up in small numbers but due to our fault. We were on the ground floor and left the balcony doors open and also the kids left sugar/ sweet crumbs around.
5, I overheard someone complain of cockroaches. Every breakfast and evening I looked very hard and didn't spot a single one to complain of.
6. Only tourist information was from Thomas Cook whose excursion prices are high. The hotel and / or tourism ministry to should make available tourist information.
7. Shops in basement were expensive like twice as much as the Souse Medina
8. No cash point in such a large hotel

Overall this was a great hotel and better than some 4 star hotels. Would definitely go again with the kids.

Thanks SOVIVA !!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank javed00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kragujevac, Serbia
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 22 December 2009

Soviva Resort is the worst hotel in whole Tunisia!!!!!!!! Everything is so bad!!!!! We have ants in room!!!!! Only one part of hotel is good,everything else is so bad that I have speacless!!!!! Don't go there!!!!!!Tunisia is beautiful ,and you can find a lot of nice hotels in Port,just don't go in Soviva...if don't belive me ,just read what another people say ,about this hotel!!!! Everything is so true!!!!! Good luck!!!!!

Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MarijanaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port El Kantaoui hotels

notts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2009

i went to the soviva resort hotel late october for two weeks A/L!! the flights where both early which was a bonus and thomas cook were very helpfull at all times. When we arrived at the soviva the staff were very friendly and happy to make sure you had everything you needed. the rooms were big and clean and we had clean towels every day and our beds were always made. :D
the food was fine and there was different things for everyone to chose from. the pancakes were yummy :P there was different meats local dishs and fresh veg and pototoes, chips and kids meals. the puddings where lush.
the ents team where bloody fantastic and we loved to come down every night to watch them make pratts of them selfs haha and the holiday makers. the bar staff couldn't do more if they tried, same for the waiters... our holiday was fun, enjoyable and packed with things to do. pools out and indoors, darts, crazy golf, mini games, belly dancing,the big slides and loads more. brill for families couples and friends. i had a spa treatment when i was there its was out of this world. defo worth it. the local cafes and shops where good and the harbbor was stunning!! HUBBLEY BUBBLEY!!!
we did the african dream and desert two day trip. we saw salt lakes atlas moutines, rode on camels, and lots more. :)
big shout to all the soviva team we love you mussab, sam, amed, mido, kango and loads more. you made our hol brill and we will never forget it!! :D we made lots of new friends with the holiday makers they were all very friendly. we had drinks together and mingled.. we to the clubs on site. good fun.
i'd defo go back. if you was there last week in oct first week in nov you no what im talkin g about.
FRANKIE G IS CRAPA!!!!! PEEP PEEP PEEP PEEP PEEP. LOL!!!! :D

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suttsNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2009

Me and my boyfriend went to soviva resort in june, i did enjoy it very much!! There was some things i wasnt happy about, On my balcony there was a wasps nest, it was small though but the rest of my room was good!! And the food wasnt all that good, most of it was the same thing everyday! I did like how the beach was only a couple of minutes away!! I would say there wasnt much to do at night, i wasnt really interested in the entertainment!! The people working there were amasing, me and my boyfriend loved one of the bar staff at night called Iman!! :D We also loved the doughnuts that the guy was selling for diner!! I dont think i would come back though even though i did enjoy it!! Hope this does help!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyMcIntyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2009

Just got back from 2 weeks at this hotel. Had a blast. The Animation team are a laugh, there shows on a night are not the best but when you start work at 8am and don't finish until at least midnight, by 9pm you are going to be tired! lol
The food was good but don't expect the same food as you get at home but it is fine. Remember you are in Africa not SPAIN! The staff can't do enough to help and the rooms are ok, they have a fridge, tv with movie channel and CNN and safety deposit boxes. We went half board and found some nice places to eat at lunch and on an evening within walking distance. This hotel is a good 30 minutes walk along the beach to the main part of Port El Kantaoui, it is at the quiet end with only a few shops and cafes but NO BARS.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone but I would suggest that you go all inclusive if you plan to drink much. It costs around 8 DINARS for a vodka and coke (this is about £4 and this is only there local stuff, it can cost alot more if you want Smirnoff or Absoult). It was costing us around £7 a round for 2 drinks.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjf369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
0.5 mi away
Houria Palace Hotel
Houria Palace Hotel
#26 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
488 reviews
2.0 mi away
El Kantaoui Center
El Kantaoui Center
#14 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
618 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#7 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#3 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,461 reviews
4.2 mi away
Orient Palace Hotel
Orient Palace Hotel
#18 of 35 in Sousse
885 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Dunes Golf and Spa Resort
The Dunes Golf and Spa Resort
#1 of 4 in Port El Kantaoui
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soviva Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soviva Resort

Property: Soviva Resort
Address: El Kantaoui Hammam Sousse | Port El Kantaoui, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#17 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Soviva Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 522
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Soviva Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soviva Hotel Port El Kantaoui
Soviva Resort Tunisia/Port El Kantaoui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing