We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“happy to stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Reviewed 9 March 2013

just a note its now called Hotel Caruso. The lounge and reception rooms are lovely as can be seen by other peoples pics. yes some areas are dated and could do with some mantanance. overall a nice hotel. The room was very clean and tidy, plenty of hot water for bath or shower. We even had a small fridge to keep our drinks etc cool.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

This hotel has been recently degraded from 5 to 4 stars, it should be degraded further..
Here's what to expect;
1. You have to pay an extra 90€ to access the disco..and it is not worth it, full of drunk locals, security guys are aren't nice at all..
2. Maintenance is very bad, one lift is down since I arrived, and is still..the second one get down from time to time..so you will be forced to use the stairs a couple of times, if not all the time..
3. Wifi coverage is limited to ground floor..you have to go down to connect if you don't have 3G
3. Heated swimming pool is also down since months.
4. Food is very basic, not a 4 star anyway..
5. Don't expect to have hot water all the time, sometimes in the middle of the shower :(
6. The gardens outside are full of garbage, not a beatiful scene to see, when there are bottles everywhere..
7. They don't have magnetic cards for the rooms, so they still use old keys with a mass , old refrigerators, old TV sets, few TV channels, we had only one TV5..
Resume: choose this "hotel" only if you are desperate!
p.s. Check photos I'm posting!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ézéquiel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Just returned from there I had a lovely stay can't fault it at all the rooms were cleaned everyday,breakfast Was basic but I like that and the staff were friendly and always said hello, would go back again

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank alexfey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

this hotel should be closed down. it is damp dirty and run down. nothing works, and when you report it nothing is done. only 1 lift was working so we had to walk along unlit corridors for miles to get to the room. food very basic and repetative. 4 stars!! who are they kidding! no air conditioning. tv didnt work. fridge broken.

Room Tip: go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulapie1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

I've just come back from my vaccantion in Tunisia, Port El Kantaoui. The resort is very nice, and the only good thing I can say about this hotel is it's great location. Has a lot of exits and all of them take you directly to the beach and to the yacht harbour. In rest, the hotel outside looks nice, is opposite to an amusement park. But inside all is very, very old. We found out that it hadn't been renovated since 1974, so is explicable. When you enter you feel a smell of old things. The hotel has 6 floors, and we had the room at the 4th floor, and at arriving the elevator wasn't working...The rooms are big, but the furniture, the minibars(which are empty of course) are very, very old. In rest, the room and the bath were clean, there was hot water permanently and we had a big balcony with sea view. The restaurant is a really disaster. The waiters are not very kind unless you permanently give them at least 1 dinar/day as tip. The ALL INCLUSIVE buffet is very, very poor, with a few types of food and if you don't arrive at the beginning of the meal hour you must be very lucky to find something to eat, because they don't bring extra food when the existing one is finished. Also, the ALL INCLUSIVE includes only breakfast, lunch and dinner, no snacks. The beverages included are only local ones, not very good. The pool is nice, but if you want to take something to dring from the pool bar you have to pay extra. They don't even give you bottled water, is extra, 3.5 DT.
In my oppinion this hotel is not a very good choice...take a second mind before booking a holiday there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank any-nadine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

The best thing that they could do with this hotel would be to close it.It says it all when the reception displays an award from the 1990s.Or was it the 80s. This hotel was once a Palace, this cannot be denied. But this is no longer the case. The hotel smells of damp, not surprising as the ceiling is falling down in the entrance hall. Holes from which water continuously leaks which forms large slippery surfaces just as you walk through the main doorway. This is easily identified by the red carpet leading the unsuspecting guest up to it and covered by an old cloth. H&S not a chance, Hotel corridors poorly lit, if lit at all. Hot water if you were lucky. Food, disgusting. Tried it a couple of times then gave up and went to local eateriesf. All in all very dissapointed. Feel cheated by the tour company.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carola4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

My wife and I have visited Tunisia 9 times and found that this hotel was ideally located right next to the Port El Kantoui Marina with a few steps from the rear doors to the restaurants and shops of the lovely marina and night life.

Equally, a few steps from the rear doors took us down steps to the pool with plenty of available sun beds and a 5 minute walk onto the clan and sandy beach which lacked sun beds unless you are prepered to get up at 6am to beat the russians and use the old towel reservation ploy. However each afternoon there is always a free bed right on the water's edge.

The beach side retaurant serves excellent food but the pool bar lacks selection and drinks.

All bars (except All Inclusive) serve bottled beer - however see the young waiter (always eager to please and justify his tip) will feth a cool glass of drahght from the A I Bar.

The rooms were average, large and we finally got a sea/pool view from the balcony which got the sunrise and was a suntrap untl about 12 mid-day - we refused two other rooms and settled for a 6th floor room with a double bed - perfect (once they repaired the shower head).

The minus points. The food, very basic and repetative but tasty and hot. Desserts and breakfasts were the worse I have had in Tunisia - only cooked meal for brekie was ommeletes and no toaster!!! Very disappojting but we lost weight!!!!

Entertainment - no animation team - the hotel lost it's 5 star rateing as they did away with the A. T - leaving two Mike and Prince who did their best. No pool entertainment except aqua erobics (of sorts). We did have 2 outside acts - a fakir (which we had seen before) two female / male X/dressing act which was funny but mimied and quite honestly i have seen a lot better in the canaries - there was a folklore night but we had another evening sitting at the marina watching the world go by and feeding the cats.

IMPORTANT: - In 2006 I left a welsh red dragon flag on a priate ship - it was still there last weeek. This time I took a bigger one and it was placed on the aft mast of the biggest pirate ship - if you see it please take a picture so I know if it needs replacing and I get to return (I have promised the crew a bottle of JD for flying the welsh flag (I haven't told them it will be minatures).

I can't think of anything else, except if your going and want to know more - email be at dafudd@gmail.com - I have pics of the last 6 years from P El K to the Sahara.

Take Tunisia as you find it, no frills, some tummy bugs if your not careful but kind and genuine people who look after ferel cats (f you like cats your OK with moi!! or should that me miow)

Enjoy the photos

PS - we didn't do the fairground rides viewed from the hotel - too old!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

PS- this hotel has a good disco and nightclub - we heard it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

On another plus factor - this time we steered away from the usual "T" and "T.C." agents and went with lowcostholidays.com - cheaper, no hassle and no real problems who arranged everything from the hotel, flights and transfers and got us back as well using Thomson fights with 20kg + 5kg bagage - we will defiinately use them again - but not the Hannibal.............. sad

Room Tip: Use the spar for a fantastic Hamman Scrub, mud soak and massage - well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dafudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port El Kantaoui hotels
0.3 mi away
El Kantaoui Center
El Kantaoui Center
#14 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
635 reviews
1.3 mi away
Houria Palace Hotel
Houria Palace Hotel
#25 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
525 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa Port El Kantaoui
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa P...
#11 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
354 reviews
0 mi away
Daphne Club Miramar
Daphne Club Miramar
#29 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
91 reviews
1.4 mi away
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
#13 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel

Address: Zone Touristique, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#19 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range: £12 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hannibal Palace
Hannibal Palace Port El Kantaoui
Hannibal Palace Hotel
Hannibal Hotel Tunisia
El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel Tunisia/Port El Kantaoui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing