We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Port El Kraptaoui” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Houria Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Houria Palace Hotel
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Port El Kraptaoui”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

This place is shabby without being terrible. The positives points were that it cost very little for the week. That is about it. For the negatives...

Nothing worked properly. One lift was broken the whole week. The other would be fine for an hour and then be out for the next 5. This wasn't such a problem for me, but I felt very sorry for the elderly guests - which was nearly everyone. They slowly crept their way up the stairs, hugging the banister for support.

The rooms were ok, but we had to be moved once as the shower was broken. We also complained that there was no aircon but were told that it isn't turned on until June. I mean wtf.

The bar staff were interested largely in chatting up guests. At first it was funny, but by the fourth time one of them had followed my friend to the toilets to wink at her had become tiresome. Another barmen tried to get her to go clubbing with him as the hotel disco was "rubbish" and "full of gayboys" which is eye-rollingly lame. To be fair, other than that the staff were pretty sharp.

In terms of the pools, one was next to a noisy road, while the other was made noisy by the hotel pumping in terrible music, and LOUDLY. I just do not believe that any of the calm retires in their 60s want to relax around a pool listening to a rapper go on about how horny she is and shouting words like bootylicious.

The food was nice if a little samey, and with questionable variety of meat. Twice it said something was Turkey but it wasn't. I thought lamb, someone else said it was probably dog. I'm not sure if they were joking or not.

Port el kantoui in general was a disappointment. The daytime was all false teeth and walking sticks, but after dark it was cheap girls with painted eyebrows, doddering into what must have been the worst, tackiest nightclubs south of Kavos. Imagine something fun, cool, friendly. Then imagine the polar opposite. This was it.

Obviously the place is cheap cheap cheap, and you can't expect perfection for that price, but all the hotels in the area are pretty cheap and I bet they aren't all so run down. So I wouldn't come back, to the hotel or the resort.

Oh yes, the one thing I will say in the hotel's favour was the other guests. They were so lovely, all of them that we spoke to. Most were Flemish Belgians and they were friendly and chatty and deserve to stay in a half decent hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrobinsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    111
    89
    86
    130
See reviews for
113
164
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dorset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

I booked this hotel as a last minute holiday for some sunshine and rest but nearly cancelled due to its reviews. I'm glad I didn't and would go back again.

When I arrived I thought the coach had dropped me at the wrong hotel as it didn't bear any resemblance to the majority of the reviews I had read on trip advisor. The hotel is somewhat dated, however, glass and chrome doesn't appeal to everyone.

The rooms are comfortable, cleaned to a high standard and the sheets/towels are changed daily. The reception/common areas were swept and washed before 8 in the morning.

The food is a bit samey but it has all the usual on the buffet ie salads, cold meats, cheeses, salads cereals, cakes and pastries etc for breakfast. Lunch and Dinner catered for all tastes and there would be something there for everyone.

There are 3 pools, 1 indoor with a plunge pool and 2 outdoor pools with plenty of sunbeds available and a pool attendant on hand at each pool to supply mattresses. There is also waiter service at both pools and a help yourself area for all inclusive guests for tea/coffee, cold drinks and pastries with pancakes being freshly cooked in the afternoons.

The beach is about 5 minutes walk away and Ali, the beach attendant and his colleague were working very hard to keep the beach clean and provide sunbeds/mattresses etc. The beach sellers do not hassle you and keep their distance.

If you are looking for night life there are 2 night clubs nearby which can be noisy and if you are a light sleeper would recommend a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the pool area.

All in all, this hotel is great value for money and in my opinion has been given very unfair reviews.

The majority of clientele were French and German so it does help if you at least have a smattering of one or both languages.

Finally, I would like to contradict the comments made regarding the reception staff in a previous review. In my opinion they were polite, helpful, efficient and kind, regardless of colour or creed, as were all other members of staff at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lindabarbican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

If you are from Britain, expect a very frosty reception and lack of hospitality from the staff. This is even worse if you are not Caucasian as we found out very quickly. The facilities are dated and the food is rubbish. Be prepared for French people to hog the power outlets for 5-6 hours at a time.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tabbaranx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port El Kantaoui hotels

London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Had a great holiday at this hotel, but the cleanliness of our room was absolutely terrible.
We had to complain after 6 days because our bedding had not been changed, we were there for
2 weeks. Eventually it was sorted, but waiters in resraurant were lovely, food bit samey but
always something to eat. Sometimes you had to warm it in the microwave. Bar staff good, some
very lazy. Entertainment rubbish, but if you meet nice peop[le you make your own entertainment.
One thing was had to pay for water even on all inclusive, find this extreme. Would not go to this
hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

This was our 8th stay in this hotel in 5 years. Staff are friendly and service is excellent.
Rooms are basic but cleaned daily with fresh sheets and towels. Its possible to get a fridge in your room for a small fee.
We always go B&B as we like to go out and about, so can not comment on food.
It was a quiet time of year to go so limit entertainment.
Excellent value for money if you just need a clean room, clean pool, sun lounger and want to be close to port/fountain. 5 minute taxi straight into Sousse.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanniRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

We stayed in this lovely hotel for 6 days on a half board basis. It was very clean everywhere the room was of a good standard and we were more than happy with it. The hotel is very close to kantoui centre and a short taxi ride to sousse town centre.
The food was very nice, very European taste wise. There was ample choice. The staff were friendly.
The only downside was that the lifts kept breaking down and did not work at all for the last 3 days.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twickenham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

Second time in Tunis this year. I arrived very early morning Monday 18th to a nice welcome by the receptionist and shown to my room which was well furnished and clean.

Unfortunately I was quite ill for the rest of the week so confined to my room 95% of the time.
When changing money he next day no receipt received from the surley male receptionist...an oversight perhaps? I asked was there an English channel he replied no. Fortunately Kamesh a general worker came to the rescue and tuned the television to get Fox movies which saved my sanity.

Food wise, can't really comment as no appetite but on about four occasions I asked for room service
ie milk and fruit as was unable to make it to the restaurant , there wasn't a problem until one evening I spoke to Mehmir I believe who was abrupt , told me room service wasn't provided , ring another number and who was very off putting. I think a customer service course might be in order.

One late afternoon, to have a break from my room sat in in the bar area where the piano is pushed up against the wall,I tried to read but I would say half the lighting doesn't work.Weirdly disco music started around 6.30 with laser lights flashing.... this is for a clientle of 90% over seventy , yes Germans but I knew that anyway from previous reports so didn't phase me. No idea what happens afterwards.

Yes lift broke numerous times, use the workers lift in the kitchen

Cannot comment on activities as not able to partake. The Tunisian people I have found very kind and helpful, pity I came upon the exception

One late afternoon

Room Tip: The above is a not a true reflection as sleep was bad but that was due to circumstances, location we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teresaTwickenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
1.6 mi away
El Kantaoui Center
El Kantaoui Center
#14 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
3.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
1.3 mi away
Residence Kantaoui
Residence Kantaoui
#22 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel
El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel
#25 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
3.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Orient Palace Hotel
Orient Palace Hotel
#22 of 35 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#5 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
0.0 mi away
Daphne Club Miramar
Daphne Club Miramar
#21 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Houria Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Houria Palace Hotel

Property: Houria Palace Hotel
Address: Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Houria Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Houria Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houria Palace Port El Kantaoui
Houria Palace Tunisia
Houria Palace Hotel Tunisia/Port El Kantaoui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing