We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another fantastic stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
STEIGENBERGER Kantaoui Bay
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
durham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Another fantastic stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Just had our second stay at the hotel RIU Imperial Marhaba [ 06/04 – 13/04/2014] having stayed there the same week last year. I gave the hotel an excellent review on this site. My wife and I were so pleased with the stay last year so decided to go back for our second visit to Tunisia with high expectations. Nobody from the travel agent [ Hays ] the tour company [ Thomson] and the staff at the hotel let us down. It was another fantastic relaxing week.
Having stayed there last year I made Hays travel aware, who in turn made Thomson aware, as a result of which we were provided a room with a sea view free of charge. The Thomson representative was also aware, when I spoke to her out of courtesy, to say that we would not be at the welcome meeting due to it being our second visit. She provided us with enough information as we required regarding how to contact herself or Thomsons if there were any problems.
The staff at the hotel were mainly the same as our last visit which in itself tells a story how friendly the hotel is. They are all pleasant and can’t do enough to ensure your stay is made as pleasurable as possible.
After the review I submitted last year and the excellent reviews I have read submitted by other visitors to the hotel, I am just going to leave a couple of points to assist those people intending to visit the resort, RIU Imperial Marahaba:
The port is only a short taxi ride from the hotel and they are readilly available outside the hotel . Agree a price. 5 Dinar to the port [ @ £2.00 ] 10 Dinar [@£4.00] to the nearest city which is Sousse. Sousse is a lot more commercialised and busy. Although we did not visit it on this occasion it is worth a walk around. Only suggestion is the ladies wear suitable clothing, as the last time we visited, the locals men took pleasure at looking at the ladies.
The port is a really pleasant area, with shops, bars, boat excursions and restaurants. From the hotel it is about a 45 minute walk. You can either walk out the bottom gate at the hotel, turn right and walk along the beach to the port. Or you can walk out of reception, turn right then first left and then left again at the main road. Walk along the main road until you reach a roundabout with a large golf ball in the middle of it. Turn left and continue on that road and that will bring you to the port entrance. En route there is an Irish bar.
Be prepared for people to stop you and state they are a member of staff at your hotel on their day off. Basically what they are doing is looking at all inclusive bands on travellers wrists and it is a ploy to get you into a friends shop. All the shopkeepers are fine and a polite “ no thank you “ normally does the trick. They are only trying to make a living.
On your flight you will be asked to fill in a greed immigration card which you hand in on arriving at the immigration desk at the airport. Expect things to be slow moving in this area and hang onto the part of the green card that they give you back as you require this for the return journey.
The rooms at the RIU were spacious and cleaned every day.
The food and the variety available were excellent.
Bars etc close at midnight but if you haven’t had enough by then !!!!!.
Enjoyed our second stay as much as the first and will definitely return in the near future.
Hays travel, Thomson Holidays, Hotel staff and the locals made it a great week.
Hope this review helps those intending to travel Enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank gss_raper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    946
    464
    175
    55
    30
See reviews for
357
950
24
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

First time in a riu ,when not asked how your room is.enterainment is pants.the rest is ok but not up to my standard ,have to keep telling staff what you you require,if you gave a tip and made yourself known with a tip you got what was required. No I would not return to this hotel,shower is not what you want in this type of hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank driffter4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Hotel very clean and staff very helpful. Beach beautiful although you do get hassled with locals selling stuff. Evening entertainment, average at best. Food excellent and it's worth a visit to the Tunsian A La Carte Restaurant. Rooms are good, although a little tired.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lyndsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Just returned from 1wk at this good all inclusive beachfront hotel. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. The buffet breakfasts, lunches and dinners were varied and tasty. The set menu of The Tunisian Restaurant was excellent (1 visit per week). Staff friendly and professional (small tips are appreciated, but not hassled for). This was a first time all inclusive trip for us and certainly would use again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

This hotel is a nice quiet place to stay, in comparison to the next-door Riu sister hotel.
We found the daytime activities good, but the evening 'entertainment' ranged from poor to terrible. The animation staff try their best, so 100% for effort. However, 0% for dancing in time!
There is the opportunity to sample their Tunisian themed restaurant once per week, we found most of the food OK - however the main dish of Lamb was on the bone and we struggled to get any meat off! I thought it would be slow cooked, but apparently not!
Then, two days later, they had a Tunisia themed night in the main restaurant with the same main dish! However, it was nice to have proper table service for one night.
Not mentioned elsewhere is the on-site shop. Most of these prices are comparable to those outside, so check here first.
Also not mentioned (that I can find) was the towel card that you receive. Give this to the towel guy at the pool and return the towel to get your card back at the end. We did this and he couldn't find our card, but no-one was bothered!
We had a total of 2 days of rain, which is not supposed to happen at this time of year and surprised even the locals.
We visited the hotel next door which had a livelier events programme, so if that's what you want, book the Riu next door. If you want a quiet time, book here.
The rest of our trip was spoilt by stupidly early going-home pick-up times, disorganised coach back to the airport and a disorganised trip to El Djem/El Jem. The mosaic museum and the guide were a joke. Yes, the mosaics were interesting, but the guy merely pointed out what was on the mosiac! Probably a lot cheaper to book a decent taxi and do it with a small group, booking a local guide at the Colosseum.

El Jem trip: one family of five were thrown off because the tour company (arranged through Thomson) had not booked their tickets. They told the hotel and Thomson, booked a Taxi (keeping the receipt) and did the El Jem trip on their own. They got their money back for the trip and also for the Taxi.
Personally, we had a good time apart from this, creating our own entertainment (we were a mixed group of 8 'geordie' lads, lasses and granddad out to have a good time) and we livened things up a touch!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StevieBurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

first I would like to thank every member of staff we came in contact with by name .....relax only kidding why do reviewers do this do they honestly think that the staff after a 14 hour shift go back to their inadequate accommodation and spend their leisure time reading what a visitor for 2 weeks thinks of them? or are eternally grateful for the comments? they do a job and hopefully you will give them a tip they are not your new best friends.

Now the hotel which is what a review should be about it is very well equipped and maintained the rooms and public areas are superb the beach as good as any Caribbean I have visited, the food and drinks are great. However the Tunisian speciality restaurant is terrible no menu to choose from you get what you are given in our case a meze and a lamb Tagine and fruit the meze was ok the tagine awful the lamb as little as there was of it was over cooked dry and unpalatable what if one of the party was a veggie? the service was non existent going through the embarrassing fiasco of tasting the wine for approval even though it was the same wine served throughout the hotel bars and main restaurant.
Over all get this hotel at the right price and you will not be disappointed would I go back yes but stay away from the Tunisian special restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

A very enjoyable stay. Our all inclusive deal proved to be good value for money - the buffet had a wide and varied menu each night managing to please everyone in our group of six. Our rooms were upgraded without any fuss. All the staff were very eager to ensure we were happy and genuinely meant it - that's quite unusual in my experience. The sporting facilities were a little limited but was no issue for us as the hotel was only 2/3rds full at Easter so even though there was only one tennis court we managed together to play every day. The outdoor pool was unheated and was too cold to swim in for any time (end of April) although there was an indoor pool that was very nice. The beach was wonderful and right by the pool, all sun beds, tennis, drinks and food were included with so it was really a case of putting your wallet in the safe and forgetting about it - other than if you want to go quad biking, camel riding or negotiating with the locals in the Sousse market. It was 1/2 hr walk down the beach to Port El Kantaoui where there were a a few shops selling good knock-off watches, t-shirts, sunglasses and bags - they always start with at least 3 times the actual price - so be ready to walk away a few times and don't fall for their spiel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KeepItWheal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
1.3 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#7 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#3 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa Port El Kantaoui
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa P...
#11 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Mouradi Palm Marina
El Mouradi Palm Marina
#15 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
5.2 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to STEIGENBERGER Kantaoui Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about STEIGENBERGER Kantaoui Bay

Property: STEIGENBERGER Kantaoui Bay
Address: port el kantaoui, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia (Formerly Riu Imperial Marhaba)
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#1 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#1 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#1 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#3 Best Value Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — STEIGENBERGER Kantaoui Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Partially renovated in winter 2007/8 * 3 km from Port El Kantaoui * Located on the beach * Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach * 5-story building * 14 km from the center of Sousse * 200 m from various shops * 23 km from Monastir airport * 200 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Amex ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your STEIGENBERGER Kantaoui Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Marhaba
STEIGENBERGER Kantaoui Bay Tunisia/Port El Kantaoui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing