We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
STEIGENBERGER Kantaoui Bay
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing holiday”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed here June/July 2014 and its difficult to find faults with the hotel. The rooms are excellent, a good size and have everything you need. We were given a double bed - but it was more like a quadruple! Our maid, Sonia, made sure our room was spotless every day and she left little gestures like swans on the bed etc which was a nice touch. The only downsides to our room were a minor ant problem on the balcony and the fact that it faced the front of the hotel. There was a somewhat lively hotel across the road from this one, where thumping music was played every day from noon until past midnight - some nights we couldn't sleep until it went off! Nothing the hotel can do about it but if I were to visit again I would definitely request a pool/sea view (other side of the hotel). The food was amazing at every sitting, and we enjoyed the Asian and Mediterranean restaurants. Service in the bar was spot on - particularly Nourredine. What a fantastic waiter, nothing was too much trouble. We found that most of the higher up staff were quite aloof and didn't seem as happy to help you, particularly the restaurant manager, he was quite rude on a number of occasions. I also noticed that some people seemed to get special treatment at breakfast and dinner - either regular visitors or big tippers! I found we received excellent treatment from the staff who mattered and made a difference (maid, bar staff etc) without having to tip all the time. We only tipped as a thank you, not as a bribe for preferential treatment. A special mention has to go to the animation team - they were absolutely brilliant morning, noon and night. No easy job considering Ramadan had started not long after we arrived. They were very friendly and entertaining, and always had a smile. We didn't have any issues with sunbeds as we were up early for breakfast every morning. We reserved our own between 6 and 7am and always managed to find one. It was very frustrating that the pool guy reserved them for people who didn't appear until lunchtime. Yes it says you're not allowed to reserve sunbeds but I don't mind so much if you get out of bed and do it yourself! The beach was lovely although we only spent a couple of days on there, we just preferred to be by the pool. Night time entertainment was fairly quiet. Most nights there was live music out on the terrace which was nice, or shows in the animation room. It was nice to sit out on an evening and enjoy a few drinks despite the bugs - crickets not cockroaches as someone else has said! I am very squeamish when it comes to bugs but I got used to them! All in all we had a fantastic holiday! Some of the other reviews are quite extreme, it really is a fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 7NLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    957
    466
    176
    55
    30
See reviews for
360
955
25
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We have just returned from a lovely week spent at this complex. We did not feel it warranted a 5* due to two reasons this being the room; although it was lovely and clean and had all what was needed we have stayed in nicer rooms for 5* & the balcony overlooked roofs; the 2nd reason was the lack of evening entertainment. The pool staff did put on some shows and they did their best but it was not great sadly! I feel a bit mean stating that as they were lovely guys and were brilliant during the day doing poolside games etc and were so friendly- they did their best and credit to them for trying :-) It was just a shame as the evenings were just to quiet and their is nothing worth going to outside of the complex. On a positive note; yes there is one !! The staff were all very nice and welcoming, the food was lush with loads of different choices and always freshly cooked, we opted for the late sitting which was fine considering all of the people they cater for- cannot fault the food. As mentioned in previous reviews the room had a cool bar which you could request to be filled daily with water and soft drinks. There was plenty of room around the pool area with loads of sunbeds and parasols. The hotel has a private beach with water activities, free sunbeds & parasols. You get the 'looky looky' men selling food and items on the beach but they do not hassle you; it is available if you want to buy goods. The sea was clear and very warm (lovely) but beware the jelly fish, we did not see any..but..my sister got a nasty shock when she got stung! I did not go back in after that which was a shame! The pool was also warm, no shock when you dive in :-) All in all a super holiday if all you want to do is eat and chill out. Yes we would go back again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We have just returned from a stay at riu imperial marhaba we stayed from 25th june to the 9th july .we found the hotel was lovely and clean and rooms were good size and very cleam we had a lovely maid called hameue she was excellent she always did lovely things with the towels an covers it was a pleasure to go back to the room after a day around the pool we had two waiters in the restaurant omar and shala they were too excellent and couldnt do enough for us and the waiters in the bar were assistant bar manager ridha and waiters maher and samia were excellent as well . It was also nice to see the director mehrez saadi always walking around the hotel talking to customers to make sure everything was ok that was day and night excellent I would highly recommend this hotel we loved it and will be going back best room 371 had everything we asked for sea and pool veiw

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The hotel is very clean and rooms (suite) spacious but very basic. Staff are very accommodating but some male staff are a little too 'friendly' with female guests.
Would not rate this hotel 5* due to the 'help yourself' beer and wine taps at poolside and disgusting plastic beakers. No small bottles of water available .



The food is ok but disappointing when the Asian restaurant was again self service and the food was the same as offered in the main restaurant.
Great location on beach, a pleasant walk (about 40 minutes to the harbour) bars very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 234Lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from my stay at this Lovely hotel. (25th June- 9th July).

We arrived at the Hotel and we were welcomed by the staff with very warm smiles and drinks. We checked in and luggage was brought to our rooms by the porter. Was a lovely way to start the holiday.

Hotel: is located right next to the beach with lovely views from our room (385). Entrance area/lobby is very nice with fountains leading you into the entrance and inside glass elevators and more water features. There is a small shop which sells souvenirs, food, drinks and other bits and bobs (no batering). There are 2 main bars and 2 self service bars (1 located by the pool and 1 by the lunch time restaurant). There are 2 main restaurants. 1 located inside the hotel wich was used for breakfast and tea time meals. Breakfast you could sit anywhere but at tea time you were allocated a seat (you have to speak to the head waiter on your arrival to let them know what sitting you want for tea) Also trousers must be worn by men for the evening meal. The other located by the beach used for lunch time. There also 3 other restaurants. Mediterranean which is located same as the lunch time and a Asian which is located inside and a tunisian next door.

Pool/sunbeds: the pool is probably a little bit to small for the capacity of the hotel. The first week we had no trouble getting sunbeds near the pool reseving them about 8.30/9 then going to breakfast. In the 2nd week we missed out 2 or 3 times but was pleanty on the beach so just went there instead.

Room: Our room was very spacious, clean and tidy. Seperate toilet and bathroom. With a balcony looking out over the pool and the beach (to the left). Had a mini fridge which had a bottle of fanta, lemonade and a bottle of water on arrival. If needing refilling you had to ask at reception before 12.00 or ask at the bar for a bottle of water. Rooms were cleaned daily with new towells if left on bathroom floor.

Staff: all the staff I couldnt fault all seemed friendly and happy. And seemed they would do anything for you.

Food: Always lots to choose from. And always tasty. We went to the Asian restaurant and the Mediterranean both were gorgeous.

Location. I must admit when arriving you go down a street which looks unfinished and a bit dirty and your not expecting a 5* hotel to be there. We ventured out a fair bit a long the main road there a few shops some are ok (ali baba shopping centre and hawaii shopping centre are priced fairly and no need to barter [15 min walk]) but there are a few others which you need to barter and we only went in once to a few of them. On our last night we ventured to ghe shops and were hassled a bit by locals. Offering drugs and my friend to come down an alley but we just ignored and said no thankyou. That was the only night which this happening and it was when the football was on so could of been linked. The actual port is located about 45 mins walk which we only done once to perfectly honest there wasnt a whole lot there. A few locals trying to sell.

Summary: I have given this hotel 5* mainly for the staff and service I recieved. Do I think the hotel was 5*? Probably not there was something I couldnt quite put my finger on and still cant it is probably a 4*+. But at the end of the day its your holiday and you make it. I really enjoyed my stay and my whole experience of Tunisia. I would definitely go back to the hotel and to Tunisia and reccomend it also :).

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Arrived 01.00 due to French air traffic control closing air space, drink on arrival wrist band and up to our room, very nice room overlooking the pool with sea view, a little dated but still very nice.
Breakfast was very informal, you can sit anywhere but evenings you sit at your allotted table, food was absolutely fantastic, better than Sharm and lots of it.
Off to the pool, errrrrrm not today not a sun lounger to be had so we went to the beach. Still lots of sunbeds to be had, dipped my toe in the rather murky sea water with bits of grass cuttings and paper bobbing around my feet, jesus it was cold, in saying that quite a few did brave the cold water.
Lunch and drinks were only a few yards off the beach which was handy, lots of flies about so you had to eat fairly quickly, be careful around drink dispensers lots of wasps helping themselves you had to be quick, all very tasty despite the wildlife.
Evening meal, we chose first sitting, excellent food and service couldn't fault it, long trousers were expected and casual smart for the ladies, good job i brought a pair.
Now if you want a sunbed by the pool you really do need to go down very early to reserve them, like 06.00 or earlier, just not enough to go round.
Oh one other thing, if you like a cuppa early in the morning pack a little kettle nothing in the room only water and a couple of soft drinks, you can get extra water sent daily or pick one up from the lobby bar they also gave me a large bottle of diet coke which went very nicely with my vodka on the balcony, lol.
A great week with great weather, would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dirtykurty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel but not 5 *.. Room was average but nothing special. The staff were lovely and couldn't be any more helpful or friendly. Always offering drinks and getting them for you..
The main downside to this hotel is the POOL had we known the size of the pool we wouldn't of come here. You have to get up at least at 6am to reserve a sunbed otherwise by 7 they are all gone !!! The beach is ok but got stung by jellyfish twice in the space of 5 mins and was very painful..
Food is definitely the best I have had out of all the all inclusive hotels I have been too and the wine and spirits are good too..
This isn't a family hotel if you have young children it's for adults and older children as there isn't much too do..
It's very confusing when you first get here as you have no idea where to eat etc.. You have a specific seating time every evening in the buffet and have to sit at the same table... The staff are all lovely though and couldn't fault them..
Have had a nice relaxing holiday but wouldn't come back here due to the pool size for this huge hotel and the fact we had to get up at 6 am every morning just to lay by the pool.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Freya1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
1.3 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#7 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa
#3 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa Port El Kantaoui
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa P...
#11 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Mouradi Palm Marina
El Mouradi Palm Marina
#15 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
5.2 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#4 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to STEIGENBERGER Kantaoui Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about STEIGENBERGER Kantaoui Bay

Property: STEIGENBERGER Kantaoui Bay
Address: port el kantaoui, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia (Formerly Riu Imperial Marhaba)
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#1 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#1 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — STEIGENBERGER Kantaoui Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Partially renovated in winter 2007/8 * 3 km from Port El Kantaoui * Located on the beach * Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach * 5-story building * 14 km from the center of Sousse * 200 m from various shops * 23 km from Monastir airport * 200 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Amex ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your STEIGENBERGER Kantaoui Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Marhaba
STEIGENBERGER Kantaoui Bay Tunisia/Port El Kantaoui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing