We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
STEIGENBERGER Kantaoui Bay
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This was our second visit to this hotel and once again we're not disappointed we stayed 18 June to 2nd July. The hotel is spotlessly clean and our room was fantastic. We had booked a sea view and had a lovely view of the pool and the sea. The food is varied and if people cannot find something they like they must be extremely fussy eaters. The bar staff and restaurant staff are fantastic nothing is too much bother for them without tipping. We never had any problems getting sun beds by the pool and did not have to be up early to do so. There were also always sunbeds available on the beach. There are hawkers on the beach but they will only approach if you ask them to. Our airconditioning was not working when we arrived but this was fixed quickly after reporting it to reception. Some reviewers have mentioned a problem with cockroaches, these are in fact crickets and are no real problem.
The animation team work very hard to try and get guests to join in with the activities, and are always around for a chat.
I would like to return to this hotel and am hoping to return next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank f00die3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    969
    469
    179
    55
    31
See reviews for
370
960
25
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gourock
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My wife and I had 14 nights in this hotel in July 2014. We regularly use Riu hotels for our holiday since we know that they are generally of a good standard. The first little niggle we had was that the toilet in our room did not flush properly. We reported it on our first day and we suspect that someone attended to it when we were out but the problem continued throughout the holiday. With the benefit of hindsight perhaps I should have been more insistent or demanded another room. The second little niggle was that the waiter who served our table at the evening meal reached across the table between us to clear away dirty dishes rather than walk round the table to lift them. There were also one of occasion where our table was set with dirty cutlery and another time with a dirty napkin. These were promptly replaced when we pointed it out. The quality and variety of the food were very good. We tried the Asian restaurant and the beachside restaurant. The Asian restaurant was very good but the beachside restaurant was a little disappointing - the beef was tough and there were ants crawling on the table!

The bar service was excellent and the waiters and waitress remembered what we liked and sometimes a simple thumbs up on arrival was enough for our drinks to be brought to our table.

The grounds are well maintained and clean and the reception staff are very helpful.


The hotel offers other facilities which we didn't use so no comment is offered.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DM2303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I traveled here with my family on June/July 2014 for 10 days.
I've set this review out in sections so reading will be easier instead of everything being in one big text block.

The Transfer:

The transfer from the airport to the hotel was okay, but it did take approximately 20 minutes for the coach to actually start driving. The spokesman, Ben, was happy to talk to us and explain everything about Tunisia, and he told us not to drink the tap water, and only to use it to shower and for brushing our teeth etc.

Check-In:

It was 1:15am so we were all pretty tired. We got welcomed by the welcome drink. Unfortunately, there was only one guy to do all of the checking in. My family were lucky enough to get checked in first, so we were given our keys and wristbands for all-inclusive. (They come in many colours, but the ones we got were Red for under 18's and Silver for adults.)

The Hotel:

No faults. The hotel itself was amazing. Everywhere was clean, and had an inviting feel to it.

Rooms:

I shared a room with my sister, and my parents had their own room. They were opposite each other so we weren't all spread around the hotel. Our rooms were on the first floor. My room had a sea view, but also overlooked some roofs and another hotel, which was a little awkward when we went on the balcony. The room was clean, I have no bad faults to say about it. Our cleaner, Fathifa (I may have spelt her name wrong, sorry.) was very nice and left my sister and I little sweets after she'd cleaned, which was a lovely bonus.

The Thomson Stuff:

(We flew with Thomson via Manchester) The hotel's Thomson representative is called Craig. He is lovely. Always happy to assist you with whatever you need. He is happy and funny, which was a nice thing to have when you are an English family of four, and have no idea about Tunisia!

The day after we checked in, there was a meeting (held by Craig) and it basically explained the hotel and exertions that they provide. (i.e El Djem, the Colosseum.) It was a nice start to the holiday.

Restaurants and Food:

There is one main restaurant in the hotel, along with the lunch section near the beach (which is a Mediterranean restaurant at night) and an Asian & Tunisian restaurants near the indoor pool and henna/hair salon. (You have to make reservations for the specialty restaurants; we as a family went to all three.) There is two dining times; 6:30pm and 8:30pm, we went to the later one as it was easier for us. The food was lovely, a wide selection of choice, and the specialty restaurants provided good food too. The waiters at breakfast, lunch and dinner are nice and happy to assist you.

The Bar:

The Bar was very nice. It has a smoking and non-smoking seating area, but they are on different sides of the room. There is a wide selection of drinks, and the bartenders are nice and happy.

Animation/Entertainment:

Throughout the day, the animation team provided games and activities from Water Polo to Darts. In the evening, they put on a show, which was nice to watch, but to be honest, they didn't really know what they were doing, and the mistakes were obvious. (Not 5*, in my personal opinion.) There was also live music on selected nights.

Day Trips/Exertions:

My family went on the day trip to El Djem, The Zoo and a boat outing. (The boat wasn't provided by Thomson.)

El Djem: It was alright, it took around 2 hours, the spokesman did talk a lot to inform us and tell us the history of the Colosseum, but he kept repeating himself, but that was okay. The whole trip was cultural and I do recommend that you do it. (1 dinar for cameras but phone cameras are free.)

The Zoo: Loved it. The whole thing was a lovely experience, it took around 3 hours, which was a good time to go through the whole zoo. You can see a sea-lion show, which you can get a photo with it! You can feed giraffes and elephants, you can hold a baby goat, you can go into the tortoise enclosure (1 dinar per person) and, you can take lots of photos of the animals.

The Boat: This service was provided by a company who the hotel has let sell these trips on the premises. The whole thing is two hours long (it takes around 1 hour to actually get to the stop.) They provided water and Fanta, then some fruit. That was it. With the selection of music and the smell of petrol, it wasn't a nice experience.


Pool:

The outdoor pool was nice, the baby/infant pool was cloudy, could be cleaned.. The indoor pool was lovely, very big and wasn't filled with loads of people. There was a gym facility located beside it.

Games Room:

This has table tennis, air hockey, pinball and pool. Good fun.


In conclusion, the hotel was lovely, and it definitely lived up to it's 5* standard. Some areas could be improved but overall, the holiday was lovely and we as a family enjoyed it. :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

L from North London.

Arrived at midnight and was disappointed to see only the night porter to greet us. We were given our room keys and told to sort all other things in the morning. No food, no bar, just directions to our room. Room we'll appointed, air condition was a god send, water was provided and a couple of soft drinks. If you arrive on a very late flight, bring some food. Hotel looks good, a lot of space for all, it was not until it rained one evening and everyone came in that you realise how many are in the hotel. Breakfast was varied, more of a continental and Arabic flavour, the only thing I could handle was eggs, gave up after one sitting. Could have done with some beef sausages, but that is me. Lunch was again varied, typical all inclusive food, meat was always tough, don't know how some of our senior citizens managed, dinner the same but all good from the main dinning room. The Asian and Med dinning room quiet and enjoyable. Drinks very poor, all local brands with a lot of mixer to chase it up. You had to pay for imported brands, which was not that special. Bring your own if you like a drink while relaxing in the room before dinner. Evening entertainment poor, remain outside in the cool evening air and enjoy, seating for all. Not much to see outside of the hotel unless you would like to buy local goods. Staff were very helpful and a welcomed tip will help even more. All in all, will come back, enjoyed the week. Maybe a little to much sun.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed here June/July 2014 and its difficult to find faults with the hotel. The rooms are excellent, a good size and have everything you need. We were given a double bed - but it was more like a quadruple! Our maid, Sonia, made sure our room was spotless every day and she left little gestures like swans on the bed etc which was a nice touch. The only downsides to our room were a minor ant problem on the balcony and the fact that it faced the front of the hotel. There was a somewhat lively hotel across the road from this one, where thumping music was played every day from noon until past midnight - some nights we couldn't sleep until it went off! Nothing the hotel can do about it but if I were to visit again I would definitely request a pool/sea view (other side of the hotel). The food was amazing at every sitting, and we enjoyed the Asian and Mediterranean restaurants. Service in the bar was spot on - particularly Nourredine. What a fantastic waiter, nothing was too much trouble. We found that most of the higher up staff were quite aloof and didn't seem as happy to help you, particularly the restaurant manager, he was quite rude on a number of occasions. I also noticed that some people seemed to get special treatment at breakfast and dinner - either regular visitors or big tippers! I found we received excellent treatment from the staff who mattered and made a difference (maid, bar staff etc) without having to tip all the time. We only tipped as a thank you, not as a bribe for preferential treatment. A special mention has to go to the animation team - they were absolutely brilliant morning, noon and night. No easy job considering Ramadan had started not long after we arrived. They were very friendly and entertaining, and always had a smile. We didn't have any issues with sunbeds as we were up early for breakfast every morning. We reserved our own between 6 and 7am and always managed to find one. It was very frustrating that the pool guy reserved them for people who didn't appear until lunchtime. Yes it says you're not allowed to reserve sunbeds but I don't mind so much if you get out of bed and do it yourself! The beach was lovely although we only spent a couple of days on there, we just preferred to be by the pool. Night time entertainment was fairly quiet. Most nights there was live music out on the terrace which was nice, or shows in the animation room. It was nice to sit out on an evening and enjoy a few drinks despite the bugs - crickets not cockroaches as someone else has said! I am very squeamish when it comes to bugs but I got used to them! All in all we had a fantastic holiday! Some of the other reviews are quite extreme, it really is a fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 7NLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We have just returned from a lovely week spent at this complex. We did not feel it warranted a 5* due to two reasons this being the room; although it was lovely and clean and had all what was needed we have stayed in nicer rooms for 5* & the balcony overlooked roofs; the 2nd reason was the lack of evening entertainment. The pool staff did put on some shows and they did their best but it was not great sadly! I feel a bit mean stating that as they were lovely guys and were brilliant during the day doing poolside games etc and were so friendly- they did their best and credit to them for trying :-) It was just a shame as the evenings were just to quiet and their is nothing worth going to outside of the complex. On a positive note; yes there is one !! The staff were all very nice and welcoming, the food was lush with loads of different choices and always freshly cooked, we opted for the late sitting which was fine considering all of the people they cater for- cannot fault the food. As mentioned in previous reviews the room had a cool bar which you could request to be filled daily with water and soft drinks. There was plenty of room around the pool area with loads of sunbeds and parasols. The hotel has a private beach with water activities, free sunbeds & parasols. You get the 'looky looky' men selling food and items on the beach but they do not hassle you; it is available if you want to buy goods. The sea was clear and very warm (lovely) but beware the jelly fish, we did not see any..but..my sister got a nasty shock when she got stung! I did not go back in after that which was a shame! The pool was also warm, no shock when you dive in :-) All in all a super holiday if all you want to do is eat and chill out. Yes we would go back again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We have just returned from a stay at riu imperial marhaba we stayed from 25th june to the 9th july .we found the hotel was lovely and clean and rooms were good size and very cleam we had a lovely maid called hameue she was excellent she always did lovely things with the towels an covers it was a pleasure to go back to the room after a day around the pool we had two waiters in the restaurant omar and shala they were too excellent and couldnt do enough for us and the waiters in the bar were assistant bar manager ridha and waiters maher and samia were excellent as well . It was also nice to see the director mehrez saadi always walking around the hotel talking to customers to make sure everything was ok that was day and night excellent I would highly recommend this hotel we loved it and will be going back best room 371 had everything we asked for sea and pool veiw

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
4.9 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
0.9 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#3 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,485 reviews
1.3 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#7 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El Mouradi Palm Marina
El Mouradi Palm Marina
#8 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,462 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Mouradi Palace
El Mouradi Palace
#16 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to STEIGENBERGER Kantaoui Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about STEIGENBERGER Kantaoui Bay

Property: STEIGENBERGER Kantaoui Bay
Address: port el kantaoui, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia (Formerly Riu Imperial Marhaba)
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#1 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#1 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#1 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — STEIGENBERGER Kantaoui Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Partially renovated in winter 2007/8 * 3 km from Port El Kantaoui * Located on the beach * Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach * 5-story building * 14 km from the center of Sousse * 200 m from various shops * 23 km from Monastir airport * 200 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Amex ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your STEIGENBERGER Kantaoui Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Marhaba
STEIGENBERGER Kantaoui Bay Tunisia/Port El Kantaoui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing