We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I think they've got it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Certificate of Excellence
WAKEFIELD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I think they've got it”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Just returned from the Kenz they have struggled with the change from 1/2 board to all inclusive but i think they have finally cracked it. Restaurant is now go any time sit anywhere and it has reduced the problems previously found in the dinning room. We were sorry to see the French alacart has gone but the food in the dinning room was good enough.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SUNNYSIDEUP069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    732
    484
    146
    56
    27
See reviews for
299
695
81
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Knottingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My first holiday abroad so I decided to go back to Tunisia. Not been to royal kenz before but it was everything you would expect from a Tunisian hotel. Spotless everywhere, staff very friendly without being overbearing. Food was lovely, restaurant was huge. I had booked a single room and it turned out to be a massive twin room, balcony was small but big enough for a table and two chairs.
The beach was a bit of a walk but well worth it, again the staff were lovely and friendly especially faycal who sold the canal trips etc. as I was on my own he went out of his way to make me feel like I wasn't alone.
I really didn't want to come home and will most definitely go back, Infact I can't wait!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 4Ruth1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We’ve recently returned from a relaxing 10 days holiday at the Royal Kenz 19th/30th June, travelling as a couple.

We were lucky as we didn’t have to queue at security/passport control when we arrived in Tunisia, like so many others did. The coach transfer was roughly 35 minutes and we were the 1st drop off of 3 hotels. On arrival we were pleasantly surprised, as there were a lot of different ages staying at this hotel. We were greeted with a red carpet, music and dancing from the entertainment team. We proceeded into the reception are where we received welcome drinks and a quick and easy check-in. Before going to our room we changed some currency to dinars and enquired about the safety deposit box in our room, which discovered we had to pay 40 dinars for! This is a rip off as all the rooms have them, I’ve never had to pay for a box anywhere I’ve stayed before.

Our room was on the 1st floor at the back of the hotel overlooking the gardens and swimming pool. It was clean and spacious, tea/coffee making facilities, cleaned daily with fresh towels and wasn’t noisy so very happy.

FOOD: The dining room is huge, there is a choice of food for everyone, it’s varied to start with and then can get a bit boring but you just need to use your imagination. The buffet hall could be bigger as there was a lot of queuing for hot food at times, so food gets cold quickly. The salads were also good and I don’t normally eat deserts on holiday but they were good (especially the chocolate mousse and variety of ice cream) We used the snack bar for lunch which has a menu you can order from and waiter service for a change. You can eat once at the Indian and Italian restaurant which were pleasant enough for a change. We had an exceptional meal at Le Mediterranee overlooking the marina (5 dinar in taxi) would definitely recommend as was reasonably priced there are also bars and tourist shops. MEN MUST WEAR LONG TROUSERS FOR DINNER.

DRINKS: The drinks could be better. The Beer is weak and doesn’t taste of much, it’s served in small plastic glasses by the pool or half pints inside/terrace bar with massive beer heads but they will top up for you if asked. The queues for the bar can be very long as they only use a very small portion of the bar and have one or two barman serving, in the evening they have cocktails but we found the majority of them had too much juice in them rather than alcohol. The wine was like vinegar. The Gin or Vodka were best, unfortunately a lot of the mixers/soft drinks we warm and flat. There is an American bar where you can pay for drinks, this might be better but we didn’t try it as what’s the point in All Inclusive!

POOL/BEACH: The biggest problem this hotel has is the lack of sunbeds especially around the two outdoor pools, you have to be up at 6.30/7am every morning to reserve one otherwise by the time you’ve had breakfast there’s nothing left unless it’s a change over day! The pool areas are clean, with well-maintained gardens. It takes 5 minutes to walk to the beach, entrance at the back of the hotel. It was clean but had a lot of seaweed at times, it has fine golden sand and you can walk for miles.

EVENINGS: There was a shortage of chairs in the outside seating area, unfortunately the entertainment on the terrace was poor and lacked atmosphere. The entertainment team had a schedule of their own each night and worked hard.

We decided to tip the staff a few Dinah here and there they all work extremely hard and wages are low. Everything in Tunisia was cheap as it’s a closed currency so change a little money at a time as you can’t take it with you.

On our return we took the reps advice and booked the VIP – DON’T bother as its really not worth the money, they give it the hard sell as they obviously get commission.

We didn’t do any of the trips so can’t comment, there were all age groups staying here but it’s not for young children they’ll be bored, nothing to entertain them.

To sum it up – we enjoyed it, the weather was glorious, met some lovely people. Wouldn’t return as there are so many other places to visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cazzy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

as a 17 year old girl it was a brilliant holiday all the entertainment team got us involved everyday with doing the activities and all you had to say is no and they would leave you alone, food wasn't the best choice but there was something for everyone still. the snack bar for lunch was very nice the food always came out hot and the staff were great at collecting plates when finished. we went town which we were dreading because we heard of all the hassle people get but it wasn't bad only a few people hassle you but the majority are ok.
all the staff were friendly and polite all the time to us and bar staff were always on the ball they never stopped, there wasn't an empty glass on the table for over 2 minutes.
the entertainment during the day and at night was great it wasn't everybody's cup of tea but for me it was fantastic they got people involved and they always knew who we were so they'd go sit with us and everybody else. they weren't all after tips but the waiters in the restaurants do however want tips but you haven't got to tip them.

overall it was a great holiday and id love to go back!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank jessica134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Having just returned from this hotel it seems they are very much in a 'be everything to everyone' mentality. Aaaand like a loser I have detailed below our thoughts.... Hope these help.

Overall experience was generally good and we took all of the hotels faults with a pinch of salt and had a lovely holiday but I think it could do with some very basic improvements..

General - Entertainment is something that needs addressing... If you want to just sit about and read a book or just close your eyes in the sun this is definitely not the pool to do it only for a few hours (before 10am) its bliss but then the entertainment starts and it turns into a 18/20s pool side. The entertainment staff (apart from one or two) are really not interested in the stupid dance they have to perform countless times over the day to the SAME SONG! at the SAME TIME!!! The music was so much better towards the end of our stay but for 4 days it was the same CD on repeat for the whole time they were around. Water polo turned into water wrestling and at times the ball hit many people trying to relax. It was all good fun but that ball comes over at speed and is bloody close to giving someone a very big shock!! The aqua gym was also more about making the girls jump up and down in bikinis than anything else!!!

Rooms- if you want to have a relax in your room after dinner or have a child do not book pool view room as this music is loud and goes on til midnight. The doors offer no sound proofing and unless your down there with a drink you have no chance of escaping the noise as the booked artists are certainly not everyones cup of tea. I think most people sat out there as there is no other external area to sit and have a drink. The rooms have been refurbished and are clean, cleaned every day and there is a nice gent that comes round daily with water etc for a small amount of 'baksheesh' (tips). The bathrooms are OK but not amazing. TV is german, french or arabic (funnily enough) mostly

American bar- not worth the additional charge as this just smells like an old smokers pub and was only ever busy when the World cup was on!! The hotel should open it to everyone as an extra indoor bar as if you don't like the evening entertainment you have no where else really to sit and relax.
Main bar - Stinks like an old social club and you have to cue to get a drink.. Strange they serve one at a time in this way

Moorish cafe - We didn't use this but looked very quiet.

Staff/Service - IN parts this was great but some parts were just strange... Waiters 'shooing' staff away from their tables as to ensure a tip. This just made tables stay dirty longer as the one person working the section was doing all the work whilst other staff members stood by and walked past things that needed clearing. Reception were very good and always went out of their way to help.

Food:
Main Restaurant - Food was average at best... Sometimes it was great but the fact that there was a microwave on offer for people to heat up their food sets alarm bells ringing!!
I think if you have ever visited a hotel with a good quality food offering you will find this selection quite disappointing... If, on the other hand your happy with truly random selections and a very loose take on 'themed nights' I would say you would be happy with a plate piled high with luke warm randomness!!! Why also have a dress code of long trousers when the ladies can wear ANYTHING is beyond me. Surely the purpose of a dress code is to maintain smartness but when men are wearing tracksuit bottoms to pass the code it hardly seems worth having the policy at all!!

The Indian restaurant is quite frankly a laughable attempt and the food is no more indian than Dolly Parton is!! Very poor and not something I would do again given the option. My wife and I had two separate dishes(chicken tikka masala & red hot turkey curry) yet had the same sauce on both and that was more at home in the italian!!! an Aloo gobi side was just buttered new potatoes with shredded raw spinach!!

The Italian is marginally better but still a way off calling itself an 'italian' restaurant. The menu looked great but in reality was just thrown together without any tasting. In fact ALL the menus and descriptions are written it seems without looking at the ingredients or the finished article.
Steak house - Actually Very good - Best we had by far. and was happy to pay for it. But As with the whole place the service here was very strange... As its open for one night they had ran out of certain drinks but there were 3 staff in yet one lad was seemingly doing it all. Its seems that One person taking orders, then leaves the docket on the table for someone else to come and collect that ticket and take to the kitchen.. If that ticket is, say under a menu and no one sees it .... You don't get your food order placed!! This was the practise in all of the 'al a carte' restaurants!!.

Pool snack bar/italian restaurant in the day time - The was OK and we rotated between this and the main restaurant to give us a chance at some hot food. Quality was OK and the service was average but the worst thing was that if you sit outside people will just smoke and not care where they are or who is eating!!

The spa looks amazing and I wish we had seen it sooner...

Pool drinks bar/panini station - food here was OK. Basically a toasted cheese sandwich which was perfectly edible but nothing to rave about

Room Tip: Pool rooms are very loud in the evening avoid if you have children or if you want early nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amylee2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

A good value 'All Inclusive' hotel, but fell short on service and food on offer at the neighbouring hotel RIU Bellevue Park. I suppose you get what you pay for, and I booked The Royal Kenz in order to save on the cost of our holiday. I have to admit it was a mistake. We did request our two rooms be next to each other, but this didn't happen. The entertainment team work hard day and night and were of a standard you would expect in Tunisia. It is a 5 minute walk to the beach, which doesn't sound much, but the Bellevue Park is right on the beach and it does make a difference. The service at all bars was okay, but not the most friendly I've experienced. Overall I would say that The Royal Kenz is worth the money, but we would not return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheCiderfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Just got back from our 7 night stay at the hotel, We researched the hotel & went through all the reviews before booking. It seemed to good to be true so we were expecting a lot from the hotel. Our first day was great, execllent service, really nice, clean rooms, lots of space. The alcohol is awful! We ended up BUYING our drinks from the 'American bar' as the drinks had watered down alcohol with the all inclusive package which was really disappointing as we had to pay for good drinks.... The service was OK a bit slow at times due to too many people to serve at once!! The hotel in the evenings was awful there was nowhere to sit the hotel was overpopulated in my opinion there was no seats outside, no seats inside & there was even people sitting on the floor! The hotel was good but I wouldn't go there again for these reasons.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GemYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
0.8 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#3 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,461 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#7 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,018 reviews
5.0 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
2,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa Port El Kantaoui
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa P...
#12 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
330 reviews
4.3 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Scheherazade
0.8 mi away
Iberostar Diar El Andalous
Iberostar Diar El Andalous
#2 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa

Property: Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Address: Jinene El Kantaoui, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#4 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#4 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#4 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel had an upgrade in 2014, so it's sporting a stylish new look. less than a ten-minute walk from a long ribbon of sand. Plus, a cab into Port EI Kantaoui takes less than five minutes. And if you want to explore a bit further out, the city of Sousse and its ancient medina are only a 15-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Kenz
Royal Kenz Hotel Tunisia
Royal Kenz Port El Kantaoui
Royal Kenz Tunisia
Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa Tunisia/Port El Kantaoui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing