We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Great hotel for a nice relaxing holiday. Perfect for lazing about by the pool for a week. Staff all friendly. Especially if you give them a little tip. You do have to get up early to bag a sunbed, which is a bit annoying ! We walked into the port which seemed to take a while due to the heat and having to walk in the sand.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank lorry62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

656 - 662 of 1,553 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

I stayed on a Thomson AI holiday. Short transfer, arrived about 11pm. We went to our room 1017 and found we were directly above the pool entertainment area, with loud music until 11.30 every night. took 4 days to get moved, to a much better room, with no noise. We had some ants in our room, not many, but other guests said they had to have room fumigated.
Pool area is large, with plenty of options for seating. Many refer to reserved loungers, this is forbidden, but no one enforces this. Just removed reserved towels and used the loungers. Upset some but tough luck. Very noisy by pool, with entertainment team, not a relaxing pool area. Creepy guy in white suit ( looks like a young Col Gadafi) keeps creeping around trying to sell you Spa services.
Food, glorious food. First the Indian is dreadful, or was on the night we went. Ended up in the buffet it was so poor. I have eaten better street food than this in a 4 star hotel. Italian was good, nice fish. Buffet food was varied and they had enough choice for everyone to have something. It was a shame they did not have more Tunisian options, I would have liked this. There is a microwave, the food temperature could be very varied. Waiters helpful, and no you don't have to tip to get service, though 2 or 3 dinar at the end of your meal, passed into their hand if they have been good is welcome. Do not leave on table as other waiters will pick it up.
Drinks. Did not have a problem getting drinks. Large bottles of water available without issue from bars. Beer is acceptable, and you can get more than one glass at a time. Wine at dinner is OK, drinkable. Wine in Al a Carte is chargeable. Soft drinks and cocktails are fine. Plenty of bars by pool and on beach.
Ice cream available from snack bar, and in buffet at meal times.
Tennis courts, raquets and balls free from reception. Nice grounds well maintained by gardeners. Security good. Shops outside on main road for cheap local pottery and clothing etc.
Bed rooms nice, beds comfy, loads of hot water. Had no issue with maid service, fresh towels daily, and room cleaned daily. We tipped maid 3 dinar daily when we saw her, very happy with this, i think it is appreciated. No security problems. Room safe, if it is open put in own code and it is free to use, dont pay.
Thomson did hard sell on tours, extra baggage for return flight etc.
Would i go back, possibly out of season when prices are lower, not in peak though. Nice hotel, rooms , and public areas. Food OK, though could do better. I would say this is not what 4 star or Platinum should be, maybe 3.5 star.

Room Tip: Stay away from pool area, get a room facing inwards, and away from highway. If not suitable ask to m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank welshtraveller214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

This review is from 2006, which might not be of any use at all as it could have changed considerably between then and now.

Outstanding, A*, A+++++
The very few 'issues' we did have were clears up straight away (lightbulb and sitting with others at dinner). Not sure what more people expect? It's all down to your attitude, like anywhere in the world. Be respectful to them and they'll respect you.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harriet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Excellent hotel with lively pool scene and entertainment team which our teenagers loved. The food was the best I have ever tasted; a wide choice and freshly cooked. The themes of the restaurant changed daily which added to the experience.
The pools were clean and relaxing. Unfortunately you had to get up at 0600 to reserve a sunbed which was a shame.
Overall, the hotel was great, with a grand lobby area and the al fresco dining and terrace area was fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Not long back from a two week stay at the Royal Kenz and had a brill time with my teenage son. We booked an upgraded room with Garden view and it was worth every penny ( 1002). We had a large private patio area with two sun-loungers on it along with table and chairs . The room was spotless and larger than i expected Food was varied and always to a high standard , drinks OK and the entertainment at night was very good for us. The hotel is close to Port el Kantoui harbor and we took a taxi or walked on a number of occasions. All in all a really good hotel and a great location..lots of beach activities , Paragliding, jet-ski etc to keep us busy...would defiantly recommend.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a garden view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank AndyC330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We went to this hotel at the end of July for 2 weeks. We went for a relaxing stay and we had a great time. The hotel was clean and tidy with helpful and friendly staff. The food was beautiful, with lots to choose from and it was all being made fresh by the chefs in front of you. They had different themes on an evening which ensured you didn't get bored of the food.

The beach was lovely, although a small walk away. Plenty of sunbeds at any time of day and the beach bar was nice. Beware of the jellyfish though. There are no warning signs and myself and 9 other people were knowingly stung whilst swimming in the sea.

The pools were good and big enough. The indoor salt water pool was lovely to swim in and relatively quiet. The spa was lovely, although very pushy to book in treatments at the start of the holiday.

The entertainment team were fab. Something different on each night of the week and although it was not to everyone's taste, we enjoyed watching it each night. The entertainment staff themselves were very kind and friendly. In particular, Teito who we played beach volleyball with every day and Lorenzo who taught Zumba and sometimes aqua aerobics. Both work very hard to ensure the guests have a pleasant stay, along with the other members of the team.

Although we mainly stayed in the hotel, we did venture out to the marina one day, the supermarket another and a trip out to El Djem another day. We did not get hassled as much as we thought we would and it did not put us off going out again.

We tipped a waiter once in the evening and from then on, he remembered us and gave us impeccable service. Worth doing!

The only complaint would be the queues at Enfidha airport...ridiculous!

A great hotel and we would recommend anyone to try it out.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We have just had a lovely holiday at the royal kenz. The food was excellent. Lots of varieties, at every meal. The staff were very friendly. I had a nice daily chat with a lovely lady who cooked the omelettes in the morning.
The only bad point was the lack of sun beds. Had to be up early to get one, not good when your on holiday. It was very noisy at the pool very loud music playing by the entertainment team. We sat a but away from the pool to avoid this, but then had a walk to cool down in the pool or get a drink.
Very clean hotel entertainment at night was very poor.
Overall a nice holiday.

Room Tip: Pool view noisy, any other room would be a bit of a walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Irene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
4.8 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
0.8 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,551 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Mouradi Palm Marina
El Mouradi Palm Marina
#5 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,432 reviews
4.1 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#6 of 35 in Sousse
1,658 reviews
0.8 mi away
IBEROSTAR Diar El Andalous
IBEROSTAR Diar El Andalous
#2 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa

Address: Jinene El Kantaoui, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#3 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#3 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#4 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range: £55 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel had an upgrade in 2014, so it's sporting a stylish new look. less than a ten-minute walk from a long ribbon of sand. Plus, a cab into Port EI Kantaoui takes less than five minutes. And if you want to explore a bit further out, the city of Sousse and its ancient medina are only a 15-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Kenz
Royal Kenz Hotel Tunisia
Royal Kenz Port El Kantaoui
Royal Kenz Tunisia
Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa Tunisia/Port El Kantaoui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing