We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not fully opened”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Dunes Golf and Spa Resort
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Dunes (from early October 2013) and although the apartment and complex is very nice all the facilities were not available. Only the apartment and pool were available to use. No café, banking facilities, poolside drinks or spa. The outside pool shower only worked 1 day and the Jacuzzi part of the pool also didn't work. The Dunes staff were not very attentive and we found ourselves hunting the very quiet complex to find anyone,
Hayley the English representative was helpful and apologetic and did her best to make the stay comfortable. She said the facilities were supposed to be available but they were working on "Tunisian Time" which appeared to mean no hurry.
The private beach was laughable as it was a disgrace! dirty nappies on route and rubbish and no sunbeds or facilities. The location of the Dunes is also out of the town, with a few little grocer shops but nothing to do or see in that area. |We travelled 10 mins by taxi to and from town every evening. The apartment was clean and of high standard as was the surroundings but lacked the location and basic facilities. I wouldn't go back

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snazzle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellplaced11, Director of Sales at The Dunes Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Dunes we appreciate the feedback.

I am pleased to hear that everything was very good in terms of the accommodation we provided and the cleanliness and facilities in the apartment as we pride ourselves on offering a quality and value for money product.

With regards to your comments about the facilities not be open yet, we understand your frustrations about this and we are working hard to get the facilities ready. Whilst they are not operational though we don't advertise them as being open so all guests are aware of this before they travel. All our marketing and advertising has been changed since June of this year to state that no facilities are open and I am sorry if you did not pick up on this before you went.

As you mentioned though it is very quick and easy to get a bus or taxi to the shops and there is some very good restaurants just 10 minutes stroll away. With the few grocers, fish mongers and bakery all around the Dunes the lack of facilities is compensated for.

I apologize about the beach as this is not a private beach and we have again taken this off all our marketing as it doesn't look like the beach will be privatized. The Dunes is 300m from the beach and the roads leading down to it are public so rubbish may well build up down them and we have no control over this.

As for the location we are quite clear on our adverts that we are 3km from the marina area and with all our Google maps the location is shown as being this. Its then up to our guests to decide whether this is too far away from the town or not. In fact most of guests like the fact that we are bit out as its give a nice peaceful resort to return to away from the noise of the marina.

Thanks for your comments about Hayley and these will be passed on as customer service is extremely important to us and what ultimately will set us apart from our competition. We are not a hotel though and offer self catering apartments and therefore the rest of the security and maintenance people on resort are not there to look after guests and I am sorry if you had problems finding them to fix the shower etc. We will address this issue now you have highlighted it to us.

Thanks again for your comments as its important to hear how we are doing.I am sorry you will not be returning to the Dunes as we believe the quality of the apartments, gardens and pool make up for the lack of facilities currently available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

We are disabled owners of a luxury compact 1 bed apartment right overlooking the pool on ground levels with living kitchen sofa bed area French doors to balcony
Wet room bathroom
Bedroom large bed with another French door balcony

This complex is of fab standard very luxurious amazed just how nice it is with the indoor spa shops on site and private beach area still to come very soon making even better

It is ramped and adaptable as we purchased for my husbands disabled needs wheelchair bound he managed great

Staff
English standard cleaning (Hayley and Mark)
Have been fantastic a Great friendly couple speaking English nothing too much trouble very helpful and knowledge is great
You can arrange lots of services fir your enjoyable stay numbers are in your room pack booklet
They will meet and greet for the English agent rental teams advertised now villa marketing services just search Dunes Golf and SPa resort PEK for deals
there are security entrance manned constantly very safe and secure even though we have never endured any problems ever

Pool area is so nice with comfortable sun loungers charged at 2.5 dinars a day or less if booked for more days 1.5 dinars then less than a quid for luxury not bad at all

Supermarkets in Hammann sousse are cheap to buy all foods etc vegetables bread and meats are far Cheaper than England we cooked fab meals and relaxed we also ate out at Great cheap Tunisian restaurants total value for money all I can say is self catering can be very very cheap in deed quality not quantity

We are only 40 mins slow walk into port el kantaoui marina with shops to browse in all the way from The Dunes very enjoyable and Great bargains and friendly no hassle bars cafes and places to eat all the way

GOLF
Located under 5min drive away 2 courses with restaurant and bars shops etc very nice indeed had to check it out even though I don't play great courses lovely sea views

Taxi and buses
Are extremely cheap and helpful you can visit lots of places for a 1dinar bus ride or comfort in taxi for upto 10dinars

I know we are English owners but I must say that The Dunes is a great complex to stay in we are totally in love with it even so we are back in October flights can vary but we paid £377 total return for both from manchester to enfhida and with our room
Sleeping 4 this could be a very cheap holiday for a Family with luxury as the room as a set price to rent

Try it you will not be disappointed

Great job Mr and Mrs LADous

Andrea Keith foster

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Queenieandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I spent a week in this resort. I appreciated the very well kept common facilities and areas, friendly and helpful staff and above all a perfect new and clean apartment. Everything you may need is provided, the furniture is new and very well conceived, the overall atmosphere is so enjoyable.
The location is also good, jus few steps away from Kantaoui. Shops and basic services are available within walking distance.

Room Tip: Studios only for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarioRunway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellplaced1, Director of Sales at The Dunes Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Dunes and we appreciate your kind comments.

I am sure your comments will help future travellers make their mind up about the Dunes and whether its the right resort for them to stay in.

The apartments are very well kept and in good new condition and the grounds and pool areas are immaculate and we take pride in these.

Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future hopefully.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Arriving late at night A2B transfers proved a smooth transfer at a bargain price of £9 each one way (1hr45m from Tunis airport). The quietness and piped music made a welcome arrival to our 1 bed apt. As the reviewers all say this place is well maintained, secure and spotless. We loved the pool and aircon apt. They are well kitted out and we are glad we went one bed as opposed to studio as they are small. Bring a pillowcase if your fussy for cotton, and arrange for a wash of towels if your saying long.
The sunbeds for the pool are hired at 2.5 dinars per day, better rates for longer use. Use the Louages (shared taxi) 1dinar to PEK, we used them everywhere, to Sousse with a few changes required one evening then straight to Sousse Train station one other morning. With transport being so cheap the location of the Dunes is perfect, we walked the beach to the harbour of PEK, also the road to town too many times.
We also made use of The Soviva bar in the evenings and spent a few days at their beach The Talamanca Beach Bar which you can hire a bed and eat and drink (wine too in Ramadan!!).
When this place is fully operational ie the other facilities etc it may not be just as quiet, we do however look forward to returning to enjoy these facilities and hope that the private beach area is cleaned up and has beds available..........will save the walking some days.............
Try the newly opened Le Captain restaurant, beats those other tourist restaurants by miles!!
Best of luck to all at the Dunes!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martine999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellplaced1, Director of Sales at The Dunes Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write this review we really appreciate it.

Thanks also for your very positive comments about the resort as we are working hard to make it a great place to stay as its good know that our guests are enjoying it.

Thanks also for the recommendations as this will certainly help our future guests get the most out of their stay in PEK and real traveller advice like this is most welcome. The Soviva will be happy you mentioned using their bar and across the street from them their is the Miami Lounge which is also good for drinks.

As you say transport is cheap and easy to get from the Dunes as we are 3.5km from the marina so i'm pleased you mentioned this and how easy it is to get around. We are working on the facilities and hopefully when you return the beach will be ready for you.

Thanks again for sharing your experiences and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Dunes soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We just came back to Norway after two great weeks at The Dunes/La Douce. We stayed one week in a private apt and one week in a rented apt. The apartments are well equipped and has all the facilities you need for a nice stay in a s/c accommodation. In the apt we rented there was a Philips Senseo coffee machine, which was great - but you need to go to a large supermarket to find the capsules. A/c is a must during the summer, and luckily this worked perfectly.
Hayley provides great service and is approachable by phone and on site. She is always willing to help, and can also help you book tours such as camel riding, trip to the Sahara, to the zoo etc
The pool area is spacious and very nice and clean with sunbeds and pools for both small and big children. The security is 24/7 which makes us feel very safe at the complex. All the staff is very friendly.
The Dunes is situated outside the heart at Kantauoi, between the Palm Marina and Chott Meriem area. Make sure you remember this when you are going home by taxi, as not all the taxi drivers are familiar with The Dunes complex. There are local supermarkets and a local pizza-place and butcher nearby where you can get pizza, chicken and grocerie that you need. Port el Kantaoui centre and harbour is only a 10 minutes trip by taxi or the local "louage". The "louage" is a nice way to travel whether you are going to the supermarket, the "Miami shoppingcenter", "Hawaii shoppingcenter" or Kantaoui centre and cost less than a dinar per person.
Keep in mind that Tunisia is a muslim country, and therefor check the calendar before you go there. We were there during the holy month of Ramadam, and this month some of the shops and restaurants are closed during the day and you can not buy alcohol in the shop. It is also nice to show your respect to the Tunisians and don't drink or eat in public during the daytime in Ramadam.

The Dunes/La Douce is a perfect place for a relaxed vacation in a self-catering accomodation, but be aware of the fact that not all of the facilities are finished. The spa, restaurant and private beach is not yet finished this year (2013), but hopefully by next summer it will :)
We will definately be back :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilde843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellplaced1, Director of Sales at The Dunes Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of the Dunes Resort we appreciate it.

We are delighted that you had a great holiday with us and thanks for your comments about Hayley and the staff in general as we work hard to provide good customer service as its nice to hear that we are achieving that.

I am sure your advice about Ramadan etc will be very useful for future guests as it is polite to respect the Tunisian way of life during this period.

There is plenty of options for shopping around the Dunes and for buying supplies and more extensive shopping can be found in the marina area and even into Sousse. We are working on completing the facilities as we know this will enhance the product that we offer and I am pleased that your holiday was not affected by them not being ready in 2013.

Thanks again for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We had a wonderful experience at The Dunes.
The kids enjoyed it loads in the pool and around.
Felt it lacked the ability to eat right near the daytime, but expect that it will eventually.
The town is not far away and there is yummy food and lovely atmosphere.

We were here with 2 young children, and will certainly return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marius T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellplaced1, Director of Sales at The Dunes Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Thanks for taking the time to submit this review on your recent stay with us we appreciate it.

We are pleased that your children were happy with the pool area as its a lovely large pool and great for swimming for them.

I understand your comments about having somewhere to eat onsite during the day and we are working on the facilities to provide this, its unfortunate that these are not ready for 2013. As you say though the town is not far away and there is a great choice of restaurants and cafes to suit all tastes.

We look forward to you returning then shortly and thanks again for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The apartment was spotlessly clean and equipped with all you needed to meet self catering needs. The on site manager was approachable, friendly and professional. We had small issue with tv (loose wire connection) but it was dealt with as soon as reported. Hayley was always on site and willing to help you get the most out if your stay at the Dunes.
It is a self catering relaxed complex with a large clean swimming pool and other facilities to soon follow on completion of building works.
I have stayed in two previous hotels and one other s/c accommodation in PEK Tunisia and this by far meets all the requirements I need for my stay.
The welcome pack was a perfect compliment to a late arrival and location is a walkable distance to the strip of bars and shops. The security is top notch. I have already booked my next trip;) I can not wait. All i can say is those that find fault would find fault at the ritz!! This is above expecting for s/c and I rate it 5star *****
Miss G Goodrum

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GraceG1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellplaced1, Director of Sales at The Dunes Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Thanks for taking the time to submit this review and more importantly for your positive feedback on your stay with us at The Dunes Resort.

We are delighted that you feel that the service and quality of product was of such a high standard as we are working hard to ensure all our guests have a great experience.

We appreciate that everyone has a choice when looking for accommodation in Port El Kantaoui and we know comments such as yours will help future guests make up their minds as to where they stay. We are proud of our large pool and of the customer service that Hayley and the security staff provide so thanks for backing this up.

Once all the planned facilities are complete, the Dunes will be further enhanced.

Thanks again for this review we really appreciate all guest feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again to The Dunes in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port El Kantaoui hotels
0.9 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,571 reviews
1.3 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,069 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
#13 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
El Kantaoui Center
El Kantaoui Center
#14 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
635 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Mouradi Palace
El Mouradi Palace
#17 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,029 reviews
0.9 mi away
Iberostar Diar El Andalous
Iberostar Diar El Andalous
#2 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunes Golf and Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunes Golf and Spa Resort

Address: Circuit Touristique Mesk Ellil, Route de Hergla, Tantana Akouda | Gold Coast, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range: £34 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dunes Golf and Spa Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dunes Resort is a mix of studios, 1, 2 & 3 bedroom self catering apartments in a gated complex surrounding a large swimming pool and children's pool.The apartments are all individually furnished and decorated and benefit from pool or partial sea views. Fully equipped for self catering they feature kitchenettes, towels and linen and air conditioning.The main focus of the resort is the large central swimming pool and the lush gardens in the middle and future planned facilities include spa, indoor pool, restaurant and bar.Situated just 3km from the marina at Port El Kantaoui and 1km from a strip of restaurants, bars and shops the location is great. The beach is just 300m from the Dunes doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Dunes Golf and Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dunes Golf And Spa Resort Tunisia/Port El Kantaoui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing