We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing apartments!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Dunes Golf and Spa Resort
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed in apartment A11, a 3 bed apartment which was huge and furnished to a very high standard. It was at the front of the complex overlooking the fields with 2 balconies and had access via a lift. The apartment was well stocked in the kitchen area, huge lounge, dining area and all 3 bedrooms were spacious. There was a bathroom with bath/overhead shower, toilet and also an additional toilet. The complex itself is very clean and well maintained, the pool/garden areas were immaculate and as very few apartments were occupied it felt very private. The kids had the pool to themselves as we relaxed in the garden.
The facilities aren't finished yet but everything you need is available from the many local shops/bakeries around the complex or a 10 minute walk takes you to the Miami centre which stocks a good range of products so didn't affect our stay.
The apartment is quite far out from the main marina area which was one of our reasons for booking. As we are a conservative muslim family, we didn't want to be among the hustle bustle of nightclubs or late night hotel entertainment. We never tried walking as we had young kids with us but louages(shared taxis) are easily available from outside the complex, a cheap,convenient way to travel which took around 5/10 minutes. Perhaps those seeking nightlife may find the distance an issue as transport seemed to become less readily available later on in the evening, not non existent tho!
The beach near the dunes isn't worth going to, very dirty, we used the beach area near the marina, outside the maisons de la mer, however Hayley the onsite contact did say most of the hotels wouldn't mind you using their private beach area and even gave us a contact for the Marhaba Palace. We were happy with the quiet area of beach we had found so never tried to use anybody elses facilities.
Security was 24/7 and onsite staff were excellent, especially Hayley who also helped us organise a private excursion at a very reasonable price.
We had a great time at the dunes and wouldn't hesitate to return!

Room Tip: A11 perfect for bigger families with young kids.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SMalek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellplaced11, Director of Sales at The Dunes Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thanks for your very kind comments about your recent stay with us at The Dunes.

We appreciate your advice about the location, the apartment you stayed in and the amenities both on resort and locally and we know this will help future guests choose the Dunes or not for the next holiday.

We are pleased that Hayley was able to recommend excursions for you and local beaches as we want to be able to offer as many options that will enhance your holiday experience. Customer service is paramount to our success and we know the personal attention that Hayley gives our guests a great holiday.

Thanks again for your comments and we would be delighted to welcome you back into A11 in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
There are newer reviews for The Dunes Golf and Spa Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend chose this apartment as it was within our budget and looked amazing online. When we got there we realized we were a bit out of the centre. 5-10 minutes in car, wouldn't recommend walking. You can walk to the local shop but that's as far as I would go. I would recommend hailing a yellow van, which is like a communal taxi, they cost about 40p per person. The pool was fantastic, very clean and not full of noisy children. There is even a small bubble pool. The pool was definately a highlight, could have done with a pool bar, but I understand they are going to make one in the future. We just had drinks on our balcony looking out on to the pool. Our room was small but adequate. Our bed was a pull down couch, which we just kept as a bed all week. Great kitchen facilities and bathroom. Good tv. The apartment wasn't as clean as it could have been, a bit dusty! The mattress was brand new though. Great security system, 24/7 door men, we felt very secure. Air con worked brilliantly. All round brilliant apartment, poor location, we felt like we were out of the way, but transport was not a problem.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Joeblogss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellplaced11, Director of Sales at The Dunes Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Dunes and we appreciate your comments.

We are pleased that overall you had a great stay and that you enjoyed the pool and garden areas. If you book direct through the Dunes PEK website or through well placed apartments you will be given contact details of Hayley who is the onsite rep and any issues such as cleaning will be rectified immediately. Its important to us that you are totally satisfied and cleanliness is something we pride ourselves on. I wish we had the opportunity to put that right for you on arrival however it doesn't seemed to have spoiled your stay too much.

With regard to our location, most of our guests like the fact they are in a haven of peace and tranquility but with the lights and action of the marina just a short drive away. We appreciate some people prefer to stay right in the noise and bustle of PEK though.

Thanks again for your comments though which I am sure will help others decide whether the Dunes is right for their next holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We staid here in mid Oct, it was quiet & clean - peaceful & relaxing
The facilitates are in progress, however - we found everything we needed and more locally or in Kantaoui.
Will 100% return next year when i'm sure it will be even better

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MradL727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellplaced11, Director of Sales at The Dunes Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thanks for this review of your recent stay and weare delighted to hear that you found the resort quiet and clean as at Well Placed Apartments we pride ourselves on offering resorts that guests can enjoy.

The facilities are progressing now and whilst they are lacking at the moment as you rightly point out there is plenty locally in terms of shops, bakery, restaurants and cafes for you to enjoy.

We look forward to welcoming you back again next year then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at dunes in oct for a week fab weather stayed in F28/29 wheelchair access for husband
Although this complex. Still as a few things left to finish ie
Indoor spa and pool
Coffee shop bank and supermarket
Beach bar and private section
All the above are being worked on except the beach area at present so hope it's finished very soon it does
not infringe on the luxury complex totally finished so the prices compensate for the unfinished final product which in
Our opinion is amazing
This was our second stay and have just booked 10nights for us and family 5 people staying in F28 and F26 both wheelchair access and wet room large 1 beds with two balconys accommodating 4 people
We booked flights with Thomas cook costings £115 return so hurry up and grab your bargains

The dunes is about 40 min stroll into PEK with shops all the way on the strip into marina straight road n left at the golf course very easy
Taxi available bout 7 dinar Also you can flag down a bus fir 1dinar straight into where you want safe and easy
Food shop
I go to local supermarket largest store carefore Great variety there tesco version busy and fun fresh vegs etc extremely cheap ad are the cakes cheese and meats I spent sround £40 per week just adding bread fresh when needed from local stores using bus they do have diet coke
Booze
They do sell in Tunisia stores not all but not on a Friday
My advise is get from
The airport to last as our brands if u can get them
Are silly prices Smirnoff whiskey
No Tia Maria how ever they do have there alternatives beer is cheap ok and plentiful
Honestly the dunes stay can be very luxurious self catering extremely cheap don't miss out
There are quite a few English staying people but sll nationalities chat and join in.
We love the place

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Queenieandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellplaced11, Director of Sales at The Dunes Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and we are pleased that you returned again to The Dunes.

We are pleased that everything was to your satisfaction again and that you had a great time.

There are few facilities that need finishing off and these will be done shortly we understand but we are pleased that it did not impact on your enjoyment at all.

Hope to welcome you back again soon

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Dunes (from early October 2013) and although the apartment and complex is very nice all the facilities were not available. Only the apartment and pool were available to use. No café, banking facilities, poolside drinks or spa. The outside pool shower only worked 1 day and the Jacuzzi part of the pool also didn't work. The Dunes staff were not very attentive and we found ourselves hunting the very quiet complex to find anyone,
Hayley the English representative was helpful and apologetic and did her best to make the stay comfortable. She said the facilities were supposed to be available but they were working on "Tunisian Time" which appeared to mean no hurry.
The private beach was laughable as it was a disgrace! dirty nappies on route and rubbish and no sunbeds or facilities. The location of the Dunes is also out of the town, with a few little grocer shops but nothing to do or see in that area. |We travelled 10 mins by taxi to and from town every evening. The apartment was clean and of high standard as was the surroundings but lacked the location and basic facilities. I wouldn't go back

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snazzle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellplaced11, Director of Sales at The Dunes Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Dunes we appreciate the feedback.

I am pleased to hear that everything was very good in terms of the accommodation we provided and the cleanliness and facilities in the apartment as we pride ourselves on offering a quality and value for money product.

With regards to your comments about the facilities not be open yet, we understand your frustrations about this and we are working hard to get the facilities ready. Whilst they are not operational though we don't advertise them as being open so all guests are aware of this before they travel. All our marketing and advertising has been changed since June of this year to state that no facilities are open and I am sorry if you did not pick up on this before you went.

As you mentioned though it is very quick and easy to get a bus or taxi to the shops and there is some very good restaurants just 10 minutes stroll away. With the few grocers, fish mongers and bakery all around the Dunes the lack of facilities is compensated for.

I apologize about the beach as this is not a private beach and we have again taken this off all our marketing as it doesn't look like the beach will be privatized. The Dunes is 300m from the beach and the roads leading down to it are public so rubbish may well build up down them and we have no control over this.

As for the location we are quite clear on our adverts that we are 3km from the marina area and with all our Google maps the location is shown as being this. Its then up to our guests to decide whether this is too far away from the town or not. In fact most of guests like the fact that we are bit out as its give a nice peaceful resort to return to away from the noise of the marina.

Thanks for your comments about Hayley and these will be passed on as customer service is extremely important to us and what ultimately will set us apart from our competition. We are not a hotel though and offer self catering apartments and therefore the rest of the security and maintenance people on resort are not there to look after guests and I am sorry if you had problems finding them to fix the shower etc. We will address this issue now you have highlighted it to us.

Thanks again for your comments as its important to hear how we are doing.I am sorry you will not be returning to the Dunes as we believe the quality of the apartments, gardens and pool make up for the lack of facilities currently available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

We are disabled owners of a luxury compact 1 bed apartment right overlooking the pool on ground levels with living kitchen sofa bed area French doors to balcony
Wet room bathroom
Bedroom large bed with another French door balcony

This complex is of fab standard very luxurious amazed just how nice it is with the indoor spa shops on site and private beach area still to come very soon making even better

It is ramped and adaptable as we purchased for my husbands disabled needs wheelchair bound he managed great

Staff
English standard cleaning (Hayley and Mark)
Have been fantastic a Great friendly couple speaking English nothing too much trouble very helpful and knowledge is great
You can arrange lots of services fir your enjoyable stay numbers are in your room pack booklet
They will meet and greet for the English agent rental teams advertised now villa marketing services just search Dunes Golf and SPa resort PEK for deals
there are security entrance manned constantly very safe and secure even though we have never endured any problems ever

Pool area is so nice with comfortable sun loungers charged at 2.5 dinars a day or less if booked for more days 1.5 dinars then less than a quid for luxury not bad at all

Supermarkets in Hammann sousse are cheap to buy all foods etc vegetables bread and meats are far Cheaper than England we cooked fab meals and relaxed we also ate out at Great cheap Tunisian restaurants total value for money all I can say is self catering can be very very cheap in deed quality not quantity

We are only 40 mins slow walk into port el kantaoui marina with shops to browse in all the way from The Dunes very enjoyable and Great bargains and friendly no hassle bars cafes and places to eat all the way

GOLF
Located under 5min drive away 2 courses with restaurant and bars shops etc very nice indeed had to check it out even though I don't play great courses lovely sea views

Taxi and buses
Are extremely cheap and helpful you can visit lots of places for a 1dinar bus ride or comfort in taxi for upto 10dinars

I know we are English owners but I must say that The Dunes is a great complex to stay in we are totally in love with it even so we are back in October flights can vary but we paid £377 total return for both from manchester to enfhida and with our room
Sleeping 4 this could be a very cheap holiday for a Family with luxury as the room as a set price to rent

Try it you will not be disappointed

Great job Mr and Mrs LADous

Andrea Keith foster

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Queenieandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I spent a week in this resort. I appreciated the very well kept common facilities and areas, friendly and helpful staff and above all a perfect new and clean apartment. Everything you may need is provided, the furniture is new and very well conceived, the overall atmosphere is so enjoyable.
The location is also good, jus few steps away from Kantaoui. Shops and basic services are available within walking distance.

Room Tip: Studios only for couples.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarioRunway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellplaced1, Director of Sales at The Dunes Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Dunes and we appreciate your kind comments.

I am sure your comments will help future travellers make their mind up about the Dunes and whether its the right resort for them to stay in.

The apartments are very well kept and in good new condition and the grounds and pool areas are immaculate and we take pride in these.

Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future hopefully.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port El Kantaoui hotels
0.9 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,524 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Mouradi Palm Marina
El Mouradi Palm Marina
#5 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,385 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
#13 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
El Mouradi Palace
El Mouradi Palace
#16 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,020 reviews
1.3 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,040 reviews
0.2 mi away
Soviva Resort
Soviva Resort
#27 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunes Golf and Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunes Golf and Spa Resort

Address: Circuit Touristique Mesk Ellil, Route de Hergla, Tantana Akouda | Gold Coast, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range: £32 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dunes Golf and Spa Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dunes Resort is a mix of studios, 1, 2 & 3 bedroom self catering apartments in a gated complex surrounding a large swimming pool and children's pool.The apartments are all individually furnished and decorated and benefit from pool or partial sea views. Fully equipped for self catering they feature kitchenettes, towels and linen and air conditioning.The main focus of the resort is the large central swimming pool and the lush gardens in the middle and future planned facilities include spa, indoor pool, restaurant and bar.Situated just 3km from the marina at Port El Kantaoui and 1km from a strip of restaurants, bars and shops the location is great. The beach is just 300m from the Dunes doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Dunes Golf and Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dunes Golf And Spa Resort Tunisia/Port El Kantaoui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing