We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sick of people moaning about this hotel!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golf Residence Hotel
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I have just arrived back from a 2 week stay at this hotel and for what you pay, I cant fault it. I stayed at this hotel 4 years ago and found the changes to be all positive. Buffet style breakfast and evening meals caters for all nationalities, dont be alarmed to see salad for breakfast!
Good choice of food, all freshly cooked if somewhat repetitive on some days.
You wont find pork in any form here so if you need a cooked brekkie.... go to a country that eats it!
The rooms are in need of a little TLC but are spotlessly clean and the maids are easger to please.
The outdoor pool area is exceptionally clean and very spacious with plenty of sunbeds.there is a snack bar serving food and drinks.
the beach which is a short walk away (or you can go on the complimentary horse and cart) is very clean and there is a snack bar/ restaurant serving snacks or meals.
There are a variety of watersports on offer at the beach.
All in all, for what this hotel costs you, you cant complain!
If you dont like the food, eat out, its so cheap that you still wont spend as much as going to a higher star rating hotel in the resort.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank myboys44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,037)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

418 - 424 of 1,037 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the beggining and the end of our 12-day trip around Tunisia.

This hotel is well-situated, in the beautifull marina city of Port El Kantaoui, at 15 minutes from Sousse (7 to 10 DT in taxi). You can easily walk down to the marina for shopping or great restaurant or walk up to the Cafe Maure, pastry shop El Koucha or nice Gelato shop Arco Baleno to relax, while smoking the chicha.

Restaurant offer a good buffet-style breakfast and dinner choice everyday. Waiters gives a nice service. Pool area is great, large enough with palms for some shadow when it is hot and great pool service from the waiters.

Wi-Fi access in the hotel can be a little deficient, depending where you are situated. It was working fine in my room but not on the balcony. Other people in our party got the reverse problem... strange! If you are coming from America, make sure your computer can use both WEP and WPA encryption because they have different routers (old and new) all accross Tunisia.

Some cons...

- Make sure you check your room carefully before unpacking your things, some of them are not renovated and you can experience some problems (water, shower, missing tables, TV not working, etc.).

- Ask for a room far from the nightclub, unless you sleep with earplugs.

- They don't start the conditionned air before end of June, saying it is not hot enough for them because it is Spring... but when it is 30 C (85 F), when you come from Canada, it is really hot and hard to sleep at night. So you have no choice but to sleep with the balcony patio door wide open... with the noise from outside.

In the end, for the price paid, this hotel can be a good value, depending if you are easily anoyed by the little cons or not.

Room Tip: Ask a room far form the nightclub!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 999Vince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Stayed here for 10 days up to the 15th may and have to say,like others,we read some of the reviews and had slight worries as to what we were going to find.Well,the profesional moaners who want to do nothing more than whinge over non existing problems need to get a life as we found the hotel,staff,room...all of it worth every penny and had a brilliant stay.our room(262)(so cannot fathom how the review saying room 256 was over near the club as it was a few doors along from us and we never heard a thing from the club)....the room was clean,looked as if it had recently been painted and was very spacious,the bed although a little hard was comfy enough and the maid cleaned every day,the bathroom was good with a bath/shower which worked fine.our room also overlooked the pool and from midday on,it was bathed in the hot sun.The food was plentifull with lots of choices to satisfy anyones taste.The waiters were friendly and quick to respond to any request,we had the same waiter saw to us most nights(Lotfi) and he was charming.
Overall the hotel from the reception to the shop ,bars and pool area was clean,tidy and welcomingThe Animation team were nice and friendly enough and tried hard to entertain but chose to always play the music they liked at a high volume each day at the pool which could be annoying if all you wanted to do was nap whilst sunbathing,but thats probably the only negative i would give.Shopping was fun and although the shop owners could be annoying as said by others on here,if you just say "no thankyou" and keep walking then they do get the message and by haggling ,we came away with excellent bargains.
All in all,apart from again saying that i cannot understand the whingers,and moaners who wrote bad things on here,we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and have said it is somewhere we would return to.

Room Tip: Definately ask for a pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sanyo1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Arrived April 28th, had 2 weeks of good weather, and again the Golf Residence is extremely excellent value for money. The food is good, and plenty of it, my wife and i do not eat rubbish and i can say that anyone who says the food is rubbish is either unhinged or a blatant liar. The rooms are of a good quality, some could do with TLC but if you are not happy ask to move. We did as we wanted a room over the pool, nothing wrong with the room we were giving, just wanted the pool view, moved pretty quick. Beds comfortable, and room always cleaned daily. If you want 5 star, well pay more (alot more) and stop winging, we have stayed at worse 4 star hotels then this. We have already booked up for next year. Hotel 8/10 Value for money 10/10

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank DarkArtsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Do you know, I often wonder what people expect on a value for money holiday, ok the hotel doesn't look like the savoy, but 30 years ago it would have looked elegant. It is a little dated and could do with a refurbish, but the rooms are clean, as is the rest of the hotel, the staff are friendly and food designed for most tastes, in fact there is such a choice it was difficult to decide what to have. One day during our hoilday it was slightly overcast and a slight breeze, too cold to swim in the pool, so we decided to find the advertised indoor one. It was in a huge room supported by large columns with a depiction on the ceiling of the sky. The water was lovely and warm with showers and a sauna, showing what the hotel would have looked in its heyday. The port of El Kantaoui is a friendly and safe place, but be prepared to bargin for purchases. Would go again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the nightclub, although we only heard it one night it wasn't that lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GMan1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

After booking the golf residence, then reading the reviews, myself and my partner were worried.
But we were pleasantly surprised. The reception was very clean. The rooms are in need of of a lick of paint, but the beds are very comfortable and fresh clean bedding and towels daily.
The food is lovely and plenty of choice even for the fussiest of eaters.
Tunisia itself is very dirty with rubble everywhere. But we see beyond that, as the people are lovely. Hassle was a problem from the shop people, but you get used to it.
The waiters in the hotel were lovely, apart from one who took our money and wouldn't give our change, we had to ask him a few times and he reluctantly gave it back.
We loved the animation team and they make your holiday extra special. Overall our stay at the residence golf hotel was lovely and we would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pinkiepie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

I went to Golf residence for a week in March and really enjoyed it!
The staff were pleasant and helpful. The food was good but, the best were the animation team they were great fun. If you are a girl they certainly look after you just don't go falling for one of them, as they are quite charming. Mini Mo was the funniest animation but, Mido, Speedy, Alex were cool too. Matrix was an amazing dancer and kept us captivated on the cabaret nights. I did go to a couple 5 star hotels and they were too boring for my liking.
For fun and younger generation i would recommend this hotel for sure and it won't break the bank. Also the the club platinum is right outside the hotel so not far to travel. :) however rest of the people who want early nights this is not the best (being honest).

Shahana the banana ;)

Room Tip: Back rooms would be more quite in the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shahanabananna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
0.5 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,067 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,567 reviews
2.5 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#6 of 35 in Sousse
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Kantaoui Center
El Kantaoui Center
#14 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
634 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa Port El Kantaoui
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa P...
#12 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
353 reviews
0.0 mi away
Daphne Club Miramar
Daphne Club Miramar
#20 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf Residence Hotel

Address: Touristic Zone, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range: £9 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golf Residence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Golf Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Residence
Golf Residence Hotel Tunisia/Port El Kantaoui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing