We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super hotel - exceptional staff”
Review of Bellevue Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bellevue Park
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
england
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“super hotel - exceptional staff”
Reviewed 23 August 2010

I went on an 11 day holiday to Riu Bellevue starting on Aug 4th. I was previously warned of the probable delay at monistir airport but didn’t expect the 2 hr queue to actually get into the country. I understand it is the summer holidays but when desks went unmanned and the general rudeness of the staff really put me off! As there was also a wait of at least an hour until all the coach was full before actually travelling to the Bellevue , I was getting a little fed up. But don’t let this put you off! The hotel is situated at the far north of port el kantaoui and took about 40 minutes from the airport after drop offs.
RECEPTION
The reception area was clean airy and welcoming. They sorted a room to be near to my parents that did take some time, but the staff were very helpful throughout. The porter looked after our luggage and took it to our room. The décor consisted of marble flooring, cane furniture with generous cushions with swaths of fabric cascading from the ceiling. The centre piece was a magnificent chandelier.
ROOM
We were in room 1233 and is an adequate size to fit 2 adults and my 10 yr old daughter on a single bed. There is plenty of room to fit 3 suitcases with wardrobe to empty them if you wish. There is a separate bathroom and toilet, free fridge and safe. There is also a tv which only showed the english channels euronews, bbc world news and an ‘action’ channel (bones, top gear) – if you were lucky. We were on level 2 of 3 and as we didn’t look over the pool , it was quiet in the evening. There was also very efficient air conditioning – too much so as we had to turn it down! You receive a bottle of water on arrival and request more at reception when needed. We did have a problem with ants so make sure you wash any cups you use, and don’t drop crumbs. We did receive a spray from the maid after a few days which worked well.
MEALS
Breakfast meals consisted of fry up – bacon, occasionally but this was very fatty, sausages, fried and scrambled eggs, tomatoes, fried bread, pancakes, waffles, and massive baked beans! The usual hams, cheeses, bread, jams etc – plenty to suit everyone. A pot of coffee was brought to your table as soon as you sat down, but you could go and get yourself a tea if required. Fruit juice (squash) is served from a dispenser. The restaurant did need higher air conditioning in the morning as I found it a little un bearable at times. This main restaurant was also open for lunch, serving similar meals to the evening. There is hot meat, fish, veg and salads, fruit, pasta. There was beer , wine, soft drinks and water on tap.
The evening meals were fantastic. There were 2 sittings of 6.30 and 8.30. of which you choose on your first night but just turning up. The staff were on hand to meet and greet us and there was a set waiter for every few tables who was very efficient at clearing up. The meals were cooked behind a stations which we could witness.. There were all sorts of meats – rabbit, chicken,pork, beef steaks, rice, pasta, veg, salads. Paella and cous-cous cooked on special stations. There were also special Tunisian nights – fab food.
STAFF
Exceptional!..... they simply couldn’t do enough for us. The reception staff were on hand to sort out any problems and change money (Tunisian dinar is a closed currency which you have to buy out there. It is roughly £1 – 2 dinar. The rate is fixed by the government and doesn’t differ but beware that you have to exchange you dinar back to your own currency before you get the airport, as not only will you get stung heavily there, but it is also illegal to take dinar out of Tunisia!)
The bar manager – Mohammed was fantastic at remembering your drinks order and made polite conversation continuously. The pool staff were available at 5 in the morning to lay your towels out, and even dig through the holiday makers at 1pm to find beds for you – all with a smile on their faces. The beach bar staff – Ben Ali Salem, and the other older man were lovely and constantly fetched us drinks (all for a few dinar) the pancake boys were very good with children and made them Mickey mouse shaped pancakes – look out for Dhabi Yasmin. The restaurant staff were rotated every week , we had a very helpful man Marc Sabour, who looked after us at breakfast time, and in the evening Sofiene Daly was the main man with Hayder Balti – look out for them!! Hayder latched onto us after a few days and made ‘napkin ladies’ to entertain my 10 yr old daughter.
ACTIVITIES AND TRIPS
The animation team also worked tirelessly throughout the day providing games in and out of the pool. There was also a kids club if necessary, as well as gym, spa, indoor pool. There are a number of water sports available on the beach a few metres away, such as parasailing (20 dinar - £10 pp), jet ski, banana boat, and others. The hotel has its own section of beach with sun beds and parasols included. There is a photographer on the beach who takes photos of you and sells them on a cd disk, which you can check first, and costs 20 dinar. The sea is generally calm with white sand. There is fair amount of seaweed a little way in the water, and unfortunately jelly fish. This only became a problem after a week where we were all stung at least once by 3-4cm jellyfish.
We went on a half day trip to the roman coliseum in El Jem (through Thomson’s). the cost was approx £25 pp, and I would highly recommend!.
I would recommend getting up to witness the sunrise at around 5.30am. it is simply stunning. The hotel has a professional photographer and will come down to take photos of this with you in. A visit to the port is a necessity too. There is various shops within the hotel, and a few hundred metres away. I recommend a shop called ‘souvenir – Ali Baba’ that sells wood products, tiles and ‘designer bags and clothing’.
The hotel also had a nightly entertainment programme if you wish.
Overall this hotel thoroughly deserves its 4 star rating and i will be visiting again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    857
    590
    214
    56
    31
See reviews for
539
819
42
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

just returned from weeks stay.Hotel very impressive on entry and welcome from staff is top class.Cleanliness throughout is also beyond doubt so we were pleased with this.
The main issues we feel the hotel falls down on are the almost rugby scrums that occur at breakfast and evening times..sometimes you wonder whether it is the new year sales doors just opening..The food while adequate doesnt have much variety about it so it must be hard for those who are there for two weeks.! Alcoholic drinks being served too are really weak ..a say vodka and coke drink tastes like ordinary coke..the portions of spirits being served are pitiful.Your only hope is to keep tipping the barmen for larger portions !! the lager is adequate but weak and we wouldnt pay money for the wine on offer.The lawn area is a good place to relax for people who just want to chill out and put some distance between themselves and the younger children.Staff are very helpful throughout though.Think that the animation team do a good job in the daytime but shouldnt be allowed to do the evening entertainment.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigmickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

ARRIVAL:
the reception staff were brilliant. we were travelling as 2 families in a party of 7 and when we arrived the room set up was not what we expected - 3 rooms on different floors. the guy on reception was exceptionally helpful and changed the set up to have 2 adjoining rooms and the third room just down the corridor. he resolved this with no fuss and was very efficient. however, the bed set up in these rooms was incorrect, again this was resolved within minutes by the porter and the service team.

ROOMS:
the rooms were very good, but the beds were very firm. the cleanliness of the room was excellent throughout the whole holiday and our maid, Aida, kept everything clean and resolved minor issues, like ants immediately.

FOOD:
there is a constant supply of food throughout the day, literally walking from one meal to the next. there were 3 meals a day with a snack of amazing pancakes from 3 to 5 by the pool. even if you are a fussy eater you can always find something to eat. there are two evening meal sittings which is a good idea as the atmosphere is more relaxed. we were unsure about having two sittings, sometimes there was a queue but it was nothing major and there was never a shortage of food.

ENTERTAINMENT:
the day time activities were really good, everything from aqua gym, football, crazy games (which were so entertaining to watch) and other sports. the same group of entertainers organised the evening entertainment most night, with "professional" shows about twice a week from the fakir and drag queens. the entertainment standard was better than most other Tunisian hotels that we have encountered. the show starts at 9:45 so even if you are on the late dinner sitting you can still go.

STAFF:
within the first day we knew who the hotel manager, the bar manager and the restaurant manager was, they were constantly available and on view, overseeing the staff in order to maintain a high standard. we did have an issue with the air conditioning in one of our rooms, which was resolved while we were out of the room very promptly, the manager personally came over to our table at dinner to ensure the problem had been resolved to our satisfaction.

TRIPS:
we didn't go on any of the trips as we were enjoying a lazy holiday. there was no hard sales, as long as you politely but firmly say to the sales men you are not interested on the first encounter they will not pressure you into buying a trip. they will not take offence and they continued to talk to us every day even though we did not purchase an excursion from them.

BAR STAFF:
after day one the bar staff could remember your usual drinks. the indoor bar in reception was manned by one guy however, there was no queues as he was so fast and so good at remembering orders. the cocktails on offer before dinner were also better and had more variety than any other hotel we have stayed at in Tunisia. the bar manager never failed to put a smile on our faces when he was walking round saying HAPPY, HAPPY, HAPPY!

SUNBEDS:
first day we showed up at the pool at 11:00, the pool guy found us 7 sun beds with no problem at all. there is never a fear of not getting a sun bed. regardless of the time we arrived at the pool, all 7 of us got a sun bed together every day.

ANIMATION TEAM:
Fred, who we called action man, came round to some of the tables in the evening to show amazing close up magic. it was so good and we were all amazed at his skill. all the animators made a point of coming round to talk to people and were all talented with singing, dancing and gymnastics, especially Timmy.

LOCATION:
there are a few shops just outside of the hotel on the main road, they are fixed price shops but you can get deals. there is no pressure in these shops at all and walking round browsing is not intimidating or pressured in any way. the guys in the shop are very friendly and as soon as you walk in you are offered high 5's from everyone. the area is not exactly buzzing but you feel comfortable wandering round outside the hotel, there are also a few coffee shops and restaurants too, not that we needed them.

OVERALL:
we would definitely go back to this hotel again, we cannot find any fault at all. nothing at all to complain about, we were fed well, rested well and entertained well. we cant wait to return :)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travellingteggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

My partner & i arrived on the 27th July just before lunch time,we were welcomely greeted by the hotel reception manager Flavir(think thats how you spell his name)we were given a welcome drink & asked to fill out some forms,we were told our room wasn't ready& would be approx 3/4hr but 10mins later we were informed the room was ready.The porter took our cases to the room which was nice & very clean,the outlook wasnt great some building work was going on(not to bad)the only thing was a cockerel crowing at 4am,we was asked that evening if everything was ok including our room my partner said about the building work & was asked if we would like to move 'we said if it was possible but not to worry if it wasn't,later that night we found out the man we had been speaking to was actually the hotel manager Pablo(what a pleasant & friendly man) we moved room the nxt day.
I can not find any fault with this hotel it is kept very clean throughout& all the staff right from the gardeners to the hotel manager are friendly & helpful nothing is to much trouble for them,i have to mention a few names; Pablo(hotel manager),Milo(deputy manager),Manuel(Bar manager),the two pool attendants especially the older one for keeping us all entertained,Mohammed(bar attendant inside hotel)what a fantastic barman he remembers everyones drinks,and especially to our waiter & his apprentice(can't remember there names)but they both waited on tables near number 9(that was ours),infact all the staff are excellent & a credit to the hotel.
The saying seems to be at the hotel 'HAPPY EVERYBODY HAPPY HAPPY HAPPY HAPPY !
WILL WE BE RETURNING TO THIS HOTEL?OH DEFINATELY YES!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nsarahkatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Asaph, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Just come back from Belle Vue Park, lovely hotel, wonderful staff, room smelt of damp and did report it several time but nothing happened, Hotel could do with some updating, as we have stayed in a Riu hotel in Morroco and the Belle vue park is not as good. Entertainment at night was poor but during the day lots to do, enjoyed the aqua gym every morning. Trip out for two days to Sahara was very good but too longer time spent on the coach in the heat and we were taken to the most dirtist hovel for a coffee break on the way otherwise good value for money. Beach and sea could do with some rubbish pickers, water very warm and safe. Food was excellent and if you did not like any of the choices, the staff would go out of their way to get you something you liked. Everyone friendly and helpful

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhosaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Obeid
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

In 1996 the hotel won a major international award - as testified to by the certificates hanging on many walls. I don't think any money has been spent on it since. Carpets are threadbare, the lifts in our wing didn't work for six of the ten days we stayed there although people worked on them every day and the food was ordinary at best. The reception staff - on arrival - were abrupt to just short of the point of rudeness and at all times we had the feeling that the hotel and staff were seeking to separate us from our money.

The feeling extended to the activities we did outside the hotel. The Pirate ship trip was a rip off - one hour spent waiting on board for the ship to leave, an hour and a quarter of staff trying to sell us things as we sailed up and down the coast, then third rate entertainment. The only 'piratic' theme was the occasional costume among the sailors and the 'pirate' headrags they tried to sell us. The two hour Camel Caravan ride? Four camels, a horse and a donkey for over twenty people, a Coca Cola drinking camel and some cheap rags sold to us as necessary accoutrements.

On the good side, the trip to El Jem was worthwhile but then I'm a sucker for Roman ruins anyway. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful in the main. There were some good activities available on the beach although that became expensive very quickly.

I've lived and worked in Africa for over eight years and am familiar with and sympathetic to their need to make money. All in all though I got the feeling in this hotel that the only aim they had was to separate me from as much money as possible for as little cost to themselves as possible. It was just too obvious. This even extended to the rules at the airport to the effect that you could not take Tunisian money out of the country - it all had to be spent there.

I would not go back to this hotel or this country by choice.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erich1ElObeid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

I went to the hotel by all the nice reviews of tripadvisor but was not exactly what I was expecting of a RIU. First I will like to start saying that if you wanna go just DON´T CHOOSE a lateral room and pray to not be at the 3rd floor, or you can´t sleep at night by the noise of conditioning air (that sims it´s in your room at max level) and the elevator almost don´t work in a week we spend there (we go in stears 4 floors (3,2,1,0,-1)).
It has animation but was not good, because in this kind of countries is just make by men, so the shows at night as well. The location of the hotel is very good to go out and at a few metters you are in bars, restaurants, shops... The beach have warm water and clean sand. For us the best was a gym open all the day and an inside pool free. At evening we normally went to the lobby bar and drink something or playing in his fantastic piano (sorry to leave baby spoil it). ONE IMPORTANT THING: THE FOOD. In this country exists some limitations about the food but in general I can honestly say that was no variety If you don´t like something you don´t have much choises, and 2 to 4 days was always the same food. My final recommendation is that if you want to go out, make tours to desert, city... go, BUT NOT MORE THAN 1 WEEK, For a good vacation in family, best see other hotels.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RRaLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
1.4 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#7 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,018 reviews
1.0 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#3 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
2,100 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Mouradi Palm Marina
El Mouradi Palm Marina
#11 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,248 reviews
4.3 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#5 of 35 in Sousse
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellevue Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue Park

Property: Bellevue Park
Address: BP 344, Port El Kantaoui 04089, Tunisia (Formerly ClubHotel Riu Bellevue Park)
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#5 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#5 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#5 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bellevue Park 4*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* 3 Km from Port El Kantaoui* Located on the beach* Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach* 4-storey building surrounded by a 24,000 garden* 14 km from the center of Sousse* 200 m from various shops* 23 km from Monastir airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Bellevue Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Bellevue Park Hotel
Bellevue Park Tunisia/Port El Kantaoui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing