We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldnt recommend!”
Review of Bellevue Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bellevue Park
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We went for a week and i'm glad that was all it was!

Hotel is beautiful and rooms are lovely and big and that is all that was good with the hotel!

Bad points-
not much choice for food, two dishes of fish one time and turkey in prunes i dont eat fish so went for the turkey all i was just chewing on fat when eating it! i ended up eating chip butties for a week/

the food was cold, there was a microwave to heat your food up which i think is completely wrong!

we was asked to fill in a questionnaire and we put that we wasn't enjoying our holiday we were told by the members of staff in the restuarant that we couldn't put that, we needed to put it was good and they screwed our questionnaire up!

the size of the drinks were apalling! i would give a child a bigger cup!
the coke wasn't real brands, there was some self service drinks that were real coke and fanta etc but they were always flat.
the staff were rude apart from some of the bar staff.
i had to wait for about 10 minutes when i went up to the bar once, other people were coming up after me and being served before me obviously because they must have tipped them!

there was a power cut in the hotel one evening so we was running late, our dinner time was 8.30-10 so this one night when the power cut happened we went in about 9.40 they had put all the food away and wasnt serving anymore. so we were having to go into the town and pay for some food, went to reception to change some money up and the man was so rude and told us we had to wait till 11 for the money to be changed up. i told him we wasnt waiting and i wanted my money changed up now, i told him the situation about the resturant and he didn't care! He finally did change my money up.

the entertainment was rubbish. there were 4 entertainers who you could just telling didn't want to be there, they never spoke to us or said hello when they walked passed, never put any effort in when they were doing the shows or dancing. most nights we ended up either in bed or we went into the town and had more entertainment watching the fountain!

we went on the medina ramble with thomas cook which i wouldnt recommend unless you want to be taken in price fixed shops with loads of rubbish in or rug shops! i was expecting it to be a proper market were you barter but you didnt see much of that on the trip.

we asked for a seaview and looked out onto what looked like a building site! you had to look to the right and far down to see the sea but you couldn't see the beach!

when we first got there we thought they must have been working on something as all we heard was drilling but it happened 24/7 and in the night all we could hear were dogs barking!

i do recommend tunisia as it is a lovely country and in port el kantoui there was lots to do. it was so cheap. you have the fun park, zoo, aqua palace, shops, the harbour, the fountain. my advice would be to go self catering or b&b and go out and eat as it was so cheap. we had a massive chicken and ham pizza, burger and chips, pint of coke, grenadine and lemonade and a huge chocolate sundae in one of the cafe and paid 29 dina which was about £14! you pay that for one course in england!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,796)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,160 - 1,166 of 1,796 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2010

Just arrived back from this hotel today and I can say that I would not recommend this hotel.
On arrival had to wait 3 hours for our room which once allocated was in the basement.
On booking our holiday we asked for a twin bed room as we were taking our 13 year old son, but when we finally got into the room there was only one double bed and the suite made up. As we paid full adult price for our son we asked for a bed which they agreed to do but left outside our room until the second day.
In the room there were many problems: faulty plug socket, shower broken, the phone was dead, toilet seat not fitted correctly & television broken. They only repaired the plug socket & shower.
The food was terrible not much to choose.
The pool and beach was nice.
They need to work on the entertainment.
Location ok, you can get a taxi to the harbour for 5 dinars.
Some of the staff was nice.
There were other guests not happy with this hotel, I'm sure they will be adding their reviews.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plajayjay70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We have just returned from a great 2 week family holiday in the Club Bellevue Park, Port El Kantaoui. When we arrived we were greeted by the reception staff who brought us drinks and made us feel extremely welcome and explained all about the facilities at the hotel. The bedrooms were extremely comfortable and our maid Fiahaz was lovely. The pool and facilities around the hotel were excellent too my only criticism would be that the pool side soft drinks were not too good, the gas on the fizzy drinks was consistantly not working which was a shame. The pool attendants were fantastic and most entertaining, once you have established a base they generally brought the cushions out ready for you on a morning, they will put a towel to reserve a bed but to be honest we never needed them to do that. The restaurant was excellent too, lots of vegetable dishes and mixture of fish and meats each evening, had two sittings 6.30 - 8 and 8.30 - 10. You can change the time you eat and are very accomodating. The pool bar and snack bar was also of a very high quality. This was available 12 - 3 (you could also eat in the main restaurant at lunch time but we never needed to as the food was great at the snack bar) It was then crepe time from 3pm which the kids loved.
The animation team worked extremely hard and were all really nice, the evening entertainment was interesting, not too good, maybe more outside acts rather than the over worked animation team providing the entertainment would have been better.
We went on a trip to ride camels which was booked through the guys who are based at the hotel, the camel man (as we called him) was lovely, very cheeky chappy but funny. The camel trip was fantastic although was concerned at the horses which pulled the carriage as they were very thin. But the guys who ran the trip were great, lovely with the kids.
Went para gliding from the beach, we watched for a week to see how safe it was and out of the 2 para gliding groups the one to the left of the entrance to the beach was by far the best one, family run and each landing to perfection, would recommend this !! There is also a photographer who catches every moment of it. We paid 70 dinar for 2 tandem rides (should have been 80 dinars) and the photographer put all of the photos for both trips on one CD for 20 dinar, we have got 150 pictures on the disc. best time to go to get loads of pictures is mid morning.
I would recommend the hotel to others, although if you like a wander on an evening this is probably a bit far out as it is approx 40 mins walk to the port. I wouldn't have wanted to walk there as there were a number of very dark areas with little in the way of safe path ways and drivers in tunisia are horrendous !!
All in all this was a fabulous holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Croslands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Thank you Riu for another great holiday. (Stayed at Aracas in Tenerife last year). The hotel was clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. Had a lovely room with a sea view. Did email the hotel beforehand to confirm that had sea view and that two children were next door. We booked direct with hotel. Most Tour package people we met had rear view rooms. My two teenagers had the best holiday 'ever'. The animation team have a teenage rep who organisers lots of activities for them through out the day. Hardly saw them as they went to lunch wth their new friends for lunch. They did get alot of unwanted attention from the waiters, who would ask for their Facebook, MSN etc. I even heard a waiter arranging to meet a very young person later that evening. My gilrls ignored the pestering but it was the only damper on the holiday. First time going all inclusive. Quite enjoyed it. Great to help yourself to cooling drinks at anytime during the hot day. I enjoyed the tea but a few people were using teabags brought from home. The food was fine. We only ate at the pool bar for lunch but were told that the inside restaurant had more choice but the pool bar was fine for us. The staff are very, very friendly and I think they are after a tip at the end of holiday. We tipped our maid, waiter and pool boy as they worked so hard. I think if you tip the pool boy on arrival then they will save a bed for you every day. I got up early to choose mine. There are always alot of beds but of course the best ones go early. It was great choosing to decide whether to swim in sea or pool. Easy access to beach and lots of sunbeds there. We chose this hotel because it was on the beach and had access to beach sunbeds but we never used them. There were a few ants in the room and around the grass area but never a problem. I would also suggest taking a hairdryer as the room dryer has the power of a handfan. We did venture out to the shops on the mainroad. Everything is very cheap (10 postcards for 50p) Some shops have fixed prices and other shops you are expected to haggle. We visited the Port which was very busy and we did have to haggle with the taxi driver. You cannot go wrong with a Riu hotel and I am sure we wil visit another Riu next year. With the Dinar just change money at the hotel, very easy but do not change too much at a time as cannot take money out of country

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliAnders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

I went on an 11 day holiday to Riu Bellevue starting on Aug 4th. I was previously warned of the probable delay at monistir airport but didn’t expect the 2 hr queue to actually get into the country. I understand it is the summer holidays but when desks went unmanned and the general rudeness of the staff really put me off! As there was also a wait of at least an hour until all the coach was full before actually travelling to the Bellevue , I was getting a little fed up. But don’t let this put you off! The hotel is situated at the far north of port el kantaoui and took about 40 minutes from the airport after drop offs.
RECEPTION
The reception area was clean airy and welcoming. They sorted a room to be near to my parents that did take some time, but the staff were very helpful throughout. The porter looked after our luggage and took it to our room. The décor consisted of marble flooring, cane furniture with generous cushions with swaths of fabric cascading from the ceiling. The centre piece was a magnificent chandelier.
ROOM
We were in room 1233 and is an adequate size to fit 2 adults and my 10 yr old daughter on a single bed. There is plenty of room to fit 3 suitcases with wardrobe to empty them if you wish. There is a separate bathroom and toilet, free fridge and safe. There is also a tv which only showed the english channels euronews, bbc world news and an ‘action’ channel (bones, top gear) – if you were lucky. We were on level 2 of 3 and as we didn’t look over the pool , it was quiet in the evening. There was also very efficient air conditioning – too much so as we had to turn it down! You receive a bottle of water on arrival and request more at reception when needed. We did have a problem with ants so make sure you wash any cups you use, and don’t drop crumbs. We did receive a spray from the maid after a few days which worked well.
MEALS
Breakfast meals consisted of fry up – bacon, occasionally but this was very fatty, sausages, fried and scrambled eggs, tomatoes, fried bread, pancakes, waffles, and massive baked beans! The usual hams, cheeses, bread, jams etc – plenty to suit everyone. A pot of coffee was brought to your table as soon as you sat down, but you could go and get yourself a tea if required. Fruit juice (squash) is served from a dispenser. The restaurant did need higher air conditioning in the morning as I found it a little un bearable at times. This main restaurant was also open for lunch, serving similar meals to the evening. There is hot meat, fish, veg and salads, fruit, pasta. There was beer , wine, soft drinks and water on tap.
The evening meals were fantastic. There were 2 sittings of 6.30 and 8.30. of which you choose on your first night but just turning up. The staff were on hand to meet and greet us and there was a set waiter for every few tables who was very efficient at clearing up. The meals were cooked behind a stations which we could witness.. There were all sorts of meats – rabbit, chicken,pork, beef steaks, rice, pasta, veg, salads. Paella and cous-cous cooked on special stations. There were also special Tunisian nights – fab food.
STAFF
Exceptional!..... they simply couldn’t do enough for us. The reception staff were on hand to sort out any problems and change money (Tunisian dinar is a closed currency which you have to buy out there. It is roughly £1 – 2 dinar. The rate is fixed by the government and doesn’t differ but beware that you have to exchange you dinar back to your own currency before you get the airport, as not only will you get stung heavily there, but it is also illegal to take dinar out of Tunisia!)
The bar manager – Mohammed was fantastic at remembering your drinks order and made polite conversation continuously. The pool staff were available at 5 in the morning to lay your towels out, and even dig through the holiday makers at 1pm to find beds for you – all with a smile on their faces. The beach bar staff – Ben Ali Salem, and the other older man were lovely and constantly fetched us drinks (all for a few dinar) the pancake boys were very good with children and made them Mickey mouse shaped pancakes – look out for Dhabi Yasmin. The restaurant staff were rotated every week , we had a very helpful man Marc Sabour, who looked after us at breakfast time, and in the evening Sofiene Daly was the main man with Hayder Balti – look out for them!! Hayder latched onto us after a few days and made ‘napkin ladies’ to entertain my 10 yr old daughter.
ACTIVITIES AND TRIPS
The animation team also worked tirelessly throughout the day providing games in and out of the pool. There was also a kids club if necessary, as well as gym, spa, indoor pool. There are a number of water sports available on the beach a few metres away, such as parasailing (20 dinar - £10 pp), jet ski, banana boat, and others. The hotel has its own section of beach with sun beds and parasols included. There is a photographer on the beach who takes photos of you and sells them on a cd disk, which you can check first, and costs 20 dinar. The sea is generally calm with white sand. There is fair amount of seaweed a little way in the water, and unfortunately jelly fish. This only became a problem after a week where we were all stung at least once by 3-4cm jellyfish.
We went on a half day trip to the roman coliseum in El Jem (through Thomson’s). the cost was approx £25 pp, and I would highly recommend!.
I would recommend getting up to witness the sunrise at around 5.30am. it is simply stunning. The hotel has a professional photographer and will come down to take photos of this with you in. A visit to the port is a necessity too. There is various shops within the hotel, and a few hundred metres away. I recommend a shop called ‘souvenir – Ali Baba’ that sells wood products, tiles and ‘designer bags and clothing’.
The hotel also had a nightly entertainment programme if you wish.
Overall this hotel thoroughly deserves its 4 star rating and i will be visiting again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

just returned from weeks stay.Hotel very impressive on entry and welcome from staff is top class.Cleanliness throughout is also beyond doubt so we were pleased with this.
The main issues we feel the hotel falls down on are the almost rugby scrums that occur at breakfast and evening times..sometimes you wonder whether it is the new year sales doors just opening..The food while adequate doesnt have much variety about it so it must be hard for those who are there for two weeks.! Alcoholic drinks being served too are really weak ..a say vodka and coke drink tastes like ordinary coke..the portions of spirits being served are pitiful.Your only hope is to keep tipping the barmen for larger portions !! the lager is adequate but weak and we wouldnt pay money for the wine on offer.The lawn area is a good place to relax for people who just want to chill out and put some distance between themselves and the younger children.Staff are very helpful throughout though.Think that the animation team do a good job in the daytime but shouldnt be allowed to do the evening entertainment.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bigmickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

ARRIVAL:
the reception staff were brilliant. we were travelling as 2 families in a party of 7 and when we arrived the room set up was not what we expected - 3 rooms on different floors. the guy on reception was exceptionally helpful and changed the set up to have 2 adjoining rooms and the third room just down the corridor. he resolved this with no fuss and was very efficient. however, the bed set up in these rooms was incorrect, again this was resolved within minutes by the porter and the service team.

ROOMS:
the rooms were very good, but the beds were very firm. the cleanliness of the room was excellent throughout the whole holiday and our maid, Aida, kept everything clean and resolved minor issues, like ants immediately.

FOOD:
there is a constant supply of food throughout the day, literally walking from one meal to the next. there were 3 meals a day with a snack of amazing pancakes from 3 to 5 by the pool. even if you are a fussy eater you can always find something to eat. there are two evening meal sittings which is a good idea as the atmosphere is more relaxed. we were unsure about having two sittings, sometimes there was a queue but it was nothing major and there was never a shortage of food.

ENTERTAINMENT:
the day time activities were really good, everything from aqua gym, football, crazy games (which were so entertaining to watch) and other sports. the same group of entertainers organised the evening entertainment most night, with "professional" shows about twice a week from the fakir and drag queens. the entertainment standard was better than most other Tunisian hotels that we have encountered. the show starts at 9:45 so even if you are on the late dinner sitting you can still go.

STAFF:
within the first day we knew who the hotel manager, the bar manager and the restaurant manager was, they were constantly available and on view, overseeing the staff in order to maintain a high standard. we did have an issue with the air conditioning in one of our rooms, which was resolved while we were out of the room very promptly, the manager personally came over to our table at dinner to ensure the problem had been resolved to our satisfaction.

TRIPS:
we didn't go on any of the trips as we were enjoying a lazy holiday. there was no hard sales, as long as you politely but firmly say to the sales men you are not interested on the first encounter they will not pressure you into buying a trip. they will not take offence and they continued to talk to us every day even though we did not purchase an excursion from them.

BAR STAFF:
after day one the bar staff could remember your usual drinks. the indoor bar in reception was manned by one guy however, there was no queues as he was so fast and so good at remembering orders. the cocktails on offer before dinner were also better and had more variety than any other hotel we have stayed at in Tunisia. the bar manager never failed to put a smile on our faces when he was walking round saying HAPPY, HAPPY, HAPPY!

SUNBEDS:
first day we showed up at the pool at 11:00, the pool guy found us 7 sun beds with no problem at all. there is never a fear of not getting a sun bed. regardless of the time we arrived at the pool, all 7 of us got a sun bed together every day.

ANIMATION TEAM:
Fred, who we called action man, came round to some of the tables in the evening to show amazing close up magic. it was so good and we were all amazed at his skill. all the animators made a point of coming round to talk to people and were all talented with singing, dancing and gymnastics, especially Timmy.

LOCATION:
there are a few shops just outside of the hotel on the main road, they are fixed price shops but you can get deals. there is no pressure in these shops at all and walking round browsing is not intimidating or pressured in any way. the guys in the shop are very friendly and as soon as you walk in you are offered high 5's from everyone. the area is not exactly buzzing but you feel comfortable wandering round outside the hotel, there are also a few coffee shops and restaurants too, not that we needed them.

OVERALL:
we would definitely go back to this hotel again, we cannot find any fault at all. nothing at all to complain about, we were fed well, rested well and entertained well. we cant wait to return :)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travellingteggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
1.4 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,075 reviews
1 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,591 reviews
5 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa
#3 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,582 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Marhaba Beach
Hotel Marhaba Beach
#4 of 36 in Sousse
2,325 reviews
4.3 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#6 of 36 in Sousse
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellevue Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue Park

Address: Bp 344, Port El Kantaoui 04089, Tunisia (Formerly ClubHotel Riu Bellevue Park)
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#5 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#6 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#6 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range: £31 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bellevue Park 4*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* 3 Km from Port El Kantaoui* Located on the beach* Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach* 4-storey building surrounded by a 24,000 garden* 14 km from the center of Sousse* 200 m from various shops* 23 km from Monastir airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Bellevue Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Bellevue Park Hotel
Bellevue Park Tunisia/Port El Kantaoui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing