We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Characterless and in a Touristy Area”
Review of Hotel Dar Ismail

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Dar Ismail
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Tabarka
Reviewed 20 February 2010

Our travel agent put us here because she seemed to think we would be better off in a tourist trap. I don't know what the alternatives are but this is really not my kind of place. It's a sprawling, impersonal hotel in a really tacky, touristy area. I suppose that in the summer people come on a package and spend a lot of time on the beach in front of the hotel. We were in Tunisia for work and to see the historical sites and so Tabarka was an unwelcome detour. Worse we were there in January so the hotel was empty and the lights had been switched off in much of the building so it felt cold and cavernous. Plus the email was not working.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank newyorkanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2009

When the service was good it was great. But that was rare. Why does the staff feel like propositioning every woman in the place is OK? The food was inconsistent, but the rooms were consistently smelly. Many years of smoking has permeated the very structure. And the rat poop in the room... well you get my take on it. Don't go!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jellyfsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2008

The hotel is okay but it is not a 5 stars hotel as it is classified . maybe more a 4 stars

The rooms are big but the beds are not really confortable. The bathrooms are nice with a marble floor.

The food is ok; a lot of choise in the Buffet area, i will recommend to take the meals early as the buffet choice are not automatically renew by the staff.

The pool is nice but small. Also the entertainment during the night is bad because it's done in Italian, if you don't speak it, you will get bored.

During the summer the hotel is full so you can't appreciated all the services.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canadair2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2008

After spending a month in Tunisia and staying in 4 different hotels, Dar Ismael is our favorite. It is located on the outskirts of Tabarka, a short distance from all the attractions.
We were almost treated as royalty. This was perhaps because there were less than 20 guests in the hotel.
After making our reservation (93 dinars or approximately $85 US dollars - including breakfast and dinner) we were given a complimentary drink and then directed to a beautiful room and extremely clean. We were given a room facing the sea and overlooking the pool. The beds were very comfortable.
At dinner we were offered three choices for the main course and I must say that the food and the service were excellent. The next morning for breakfast we had enough food for 4 people and were were even asked if we would like something else.
It was really worth the long drive from Sousse. We chose the long route (Kairouan, Makthar, Le Kef, Jendouba, and Ain Draham) because of the scenery. Excellent decision.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lefty_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank NASNOUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Nanou M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Fadila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tabarka
0.5 mi away
Mehari Tabarka
Mehari Tabarka
#3 of 9 in Tabarka
554 reviews
1 mi away
La Cigale Tabarka
La Cigale Tabarka
#2 of 9 in Tabarka
168 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Itropika Beach
Hotel Itropika Beach
#4 of 9 in Tabarka
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Les Mimosas
Les Mimosas
#8 of 9 in Tabarka
79 reviews
16.6 mi away
El Mouradi Hammam Bourguiba
El Mouradi Hammam Bourguiba
#1 of 4 in Ain Draham
95 reviews
13.6 mi away
Royal Rihana Hotel
Royal Rihana Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jendouba
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dar Ismail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dar Ismail

Address: Zone Touristique, Tabarka 8110, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Jendouba Governorate > Tabarka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Tabarka
Price Range: £29 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dar Ismail 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Dar Ismail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Ismail Hotel
Dar Ismail Tabarka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing