We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Alanya Kalesi (Castle)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$32.97*
and up
Alanya Night Safari
Ranked #2 of 53 things to do in Alanya
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

It was really impressive, we hiked all the way to the top, because along the way there were nice things to see, we went through narrow streets of th village, and the view was spectacular. However, since we tried to avoid daytime heat, we went there about 7 pm and the top castle was closed, but it was our fault I guess.

tips:

if you go to Alanya, you MUST visit this.
don't go there in the evening, if you don't want the same thin that happened to us, haha.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Inra2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,940 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,039
    639
    203
    43
    16
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This was a fun and interesting trip to see the ruins of the castle and learn some of the history. The views are stunning but it was very hot so please take water and sun hats as well as plenty of sun cream.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank 1986Ree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
117 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Did not see it all.”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The castle was well worth a visit but unfortunately our English speaking guide could not speak English very well. From where we were staying We could see the castle from both sides of the mountainous ridge that it is on. The views of the harbour were great so we decided to explore that the next day. There were plenty of photo opportunities but unfortunately I cannot show any as my image size is too big. Make sure you explore it and end your visit with a meal overlooking the water.
There is a little town train that is worth a try.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JLees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful View.”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Beautiful view, well worth visiting if you are in Alanya.
A place to relax in and take some decent photos
(Entry 10TL per person)
If you are not a fan of walking (up a massive hill), you might consider taking a taxi for 10TL

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ula24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kosice, Slovakia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“no history , just view”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

If you want to see something very historical , then you might be disappointed from it . Best thing on the castle is the view from it . you can see seaside (beach) from both sides to distance of 20-30 km and mountains in background.

If you want to enjoy it, use legs and go to castle on your own , there is a sidewalk so you don't have to be an athlete to get there = very beautiful and comfy walk to castle .

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank PeterJunior12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alanya Kalesi (Castle) also viewed

Alanya, Antalya Province
Alanya, Antalya Province
 
Alanya, Antalya Province
Alanya, Antalya Province
 

Been to Alanya Kalesi (Castle)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing