We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting experience,but a lot of misunderstandings!”
Review of Aqua Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aqua Plaza
Ranked #210 of 372 Hotels in Alanya
Iasi, Iasi, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Interesting experience,but a lot of misunderstandings!”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We went last week to this hotel,our first visit to Turkey!It was a last minute offer,so we paid 600 euros,2 adults per 7 days all inclusive regime.
My first impression was that this is an old and small hotel,the room was pretty small,but clean.
I liked the fact that the personnel was friendly,althought they didn't speak English very well(they speak German,Russian and Polski languages)!
The food was good,a lot of vegetables,musaca,barbaques,soupes,sweets and fruits.
They changed the menu every day and the food was fresh and tasty.I have to mention that we are not picky eaters and our dishes in Romania resambles with the Turkish cousine.But I think even a picky eater could find something to eat.
Cleaning service was great:they changed the sheets and towels every day.
The hotel has a superb garden where you can sit and relax after dinner.
The drinks were ok,but I hated the fact that the coffee was from a machine,instant coffee,not their traditional turkish coffee!
When we received the all inclusive programme,it was written that you can have a turkish bath&sauna for free.In fact,the sauna is free,you have to pay for the turkish bath.I asked about this thing and they said it was a misunderstanding.
We bought a trip to Alanya from our tour guide,a turkish woman named Ebru,but I think she is a gross feeder.She sold us a trip that we didn't have in our trip journal received from Tui agency.We were 4 Romanians in a bus full of polish people.The guide from the bus didn't bother to offer us many informations,but I asked some questions and he responded in one word.We paid 44 euro per person to listen to Polish language.
Ebru told us that we are going to see a golden jewellery factory ,but in fact they took us to a jewellery shop,where we were expected to buy expensive items.
We were told that after this factory visit we will take a boat and take a mediteranean bath.When I asked about the swimming they said that this is a misunderstanding.
By the way,Ebru was speaking fluently our language,so this was not a language misunderstanding,it was just lying.
Aqua Plaza had a great animation team,we played volleyball,had a bingo night,a live singing band,etc.
We even made a turkish friend,the guy from the spa center(he offers hammam programme)!He speaks English very well,he is very friendly and he gave us a lot of informations about his country and traditions.
If you want to visit Alanya or the surroundings,take a boat trip or any other trip choose a local travel agency,you get a good discount there.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Andreea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    70
    24
    10
    20
See reviews for
77
57
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

The hotel has a lovely garden and the weather was nice. That was the positives.
The staff was moody and we never felt welcome.
We are a family of 6 and at the restaurant they wanted us to split up instead of putting two small tables together. We were on a family holiday so it seems a little odd to split up!
It was very hard to get eyecontact when we tried to make an order it was like they tried to avoid the guests.
One of the waiters didn´t even understand the english word water. We tried in german and english but it wasn´t until we pointed down in the pool he caught it!
When food from the buffet got up, they didn´t want to fill up even though there where plenty of time left. It was like they didn´t want to understand.
The pools were dirty. Lots of kids got earinfections. And the music was really loud! We had a speaker next to our sunbeds, and it was in really bad condition. We couldn´t have a conversation because of the loud scratchy sounds. My husband now has tinnitus! We asked if they could turn down the volume, but they just got really annoyed and called me an i****!
The apartment had mold on the walls and we were told from other familys that some of them had to sleep on the balcony because of astma, until they had another room after several days.
The entertainment was really embarrassing although they really did a lot of good stuff for the kids. Our kids had a great holiday.
There was a lot of other things, but I think I made my point.
We would never pay to put ourselves through that again. Really unplesant people!
And we have travelled a lot in Turkey because I´m half turk. But I dont think I will ever go there again.

Room Tip: Speak turkish or get a turkish friend to call them and ask for a good room. Then you will be sure to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank IzmirCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alanya hotels

crawley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

my partner and i were both looking for a cheap getaway and the hotel was good value and a great beachside location .we had a great few first days at the hotel , the food was below standards however, everyday the food was reused and all mixed together, the bread was nice though if you want to live on that for a week:), if coming with children be aware there is no lifeguards even where the slides are. english wasnt an option even ordering 1 coke was difficult for most of them to understand! the entertainment team were just annoying, coming sitting next to you and not saying anything worth while as they couldnt speak 1 language to a good standard. i didnt have a clue what they were saying most of the time apart from trying to sell a disco tour which didnt happen all the week we were there ! they could ask if you speak russian.. when you reply with yes they couldnt actually speak any russian :p their german was alright (thebarstaff and waiters) but one of the entertainment men couldnt speak anything.. no idea how he got a job :p THE WORST PARK OF THE HOTEL CAME ON THE LAST DAY FORTUNATELY, WE MADE MANY FRIENDS AND SOME OF THEM SHARED THE SAME EXPERIENCES AS US. SOME MASCARA WAS ON ONE OF THE TOWELS AND WE WERE TOLD WE HAD TO PAY 15 EUROS AS IT WOULDNT COME OUT... THE TOWELS FIRSTLY WERENT WORTH 15 EUROS.. AND THEY HADNT TRIED... AS A GIRL THERES ALWAYS MAKE UP ON MY TOWELS AND IT COMES OUT EVERY TIME SO FOR THEM TO LIE AND SAY THEY HAD BEEN WASHED AND THEN THAT I HAD TO PAY WAS APPAULING!!! WERE THEY GETTING CHILDEN TO HAND WASH THE TOWELS OR WHAT?!!?! WE CAME BACKTHE NEXT DAY TO TRY AND SORT IT OUT AND IT WAS IN THE SAME PLASTIC BAG AND CLERLY HADNT BEEN WASHED ! IN THE END WE REPEATED OURSELVES SEVERAL TIMES THAT WE WOULDNT PAY AND THEY JUST ACCEPTED. SOME OF OUR FRIENDS HAD BEEN TOLD TO PAY OVER 50 EUROS FOR THEIR TOWELS.. BASICALLY IF YOUR GIRLFRIEND, WIFE, DAUGHTER WEARS MAKE UP I WOULDNT GO TO THIS HOTEL UNLESS YOU WANT THE HASSEL OF TELLING THEM YOU WONT PAY FOR THEM!this was a minor problem compared to the issue on our last day !
we were taken into a room after being told our rep was there waiting for us due to an issue with the disko and 2 of the workers not being there (they were outside smoking and drinking.. good muslim men eyy) it was under an hour before our bus would leave for the airport. they lied so we would actually enter a room with them. then sat us down(luckily we went with 2 of our friends as i dont know what else would have happened without them there) a manager sat there and asked us to pay the money when we asked to see some sort of receipt he took a piece of paper and wrote down 150euros,.. asl i could do was laugh at him!.i said lets go as we dont have to be here and have to get our bus.. he yelled in my face and told us he wont let us go unless we pay and make sure we cant get onto our plane home .. surely this was a joke ! he yelling continued and he called about 6 turkish men into the room to bascially stop us from leaving ...we were held out of our own will for around half an hour faced with threatening and abusive behaviour ( i wont go into details ) but for your own safety i wouldnt visit this hotel for your own satefy and your family..how do you know they wont do this to you with your children present? being terrified by it all i said i would pay and get my insurance details, as soon as i mentioned insurance he was petrified that someone would come and check his hotel, and said its no problem and we can go, leak in the ceiling in the reception which they smartly put a table and carpet in the way :p and various accidents that occurs due to an unsafe hotel.. my suitcase has been opened and moved so we frantically had to search if they had put anything into it ! luckily there was nothing and they just wanted a laptop or something that was safely stored in a friends room :)
after everything that happened it still shocks me that they think they can get away with this.. hopefully they read this and start to get their own legal advice as they will be needing it very shortly:)

Room Tip: chose a room in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jasmine k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

we have read the feedback of some guests and disagree strongly, the transfer time was 1 to 2 hours but this was disclosed before even booking the holiday so people complaining about that should have read the full holiday description before booking. english was not the main language spoken by the hotel workers however they tried their best and spoke very well and understandable english, i went with my father and my friend in march and even though it rained we had a great time, the entertainment put on was great and even though it was a little far from other activities a minibus into alanya town was offered which we went on and had a thoroughly enjoyable time, the rooms were very good with a lcd flatscreen tv, air conditioning and the cocktails made at the bar were gorgeous :) by far one of the best holidays ive been on i even prefered this to dubai. all the staff were friendly and helpful and the cleaning service was great! would jump at the chance of going back :)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Cara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

i am not sure where to start...

1) the transfer to the hotel was delayed and we did not get to the hotel until 11pm (it was a 2hr drive from the airport)
2) NOBODY spokes english!!! would not recommended english speakers to go there.
3) NO food was served when we arrived other then cold soup and cold spaggetti
4) They messed our booking on the 1st day and instead of giving us 2 rooms, palmed us of with one, when refused throws us at the end of the hotel in a villa.
5) The villa was disgusting, never been aired, moldy, smelly, no hot water, no television, no telephone, no clean towels, no hand soap to wash your hands, no light outside when coming from the hotel to the villa (those villas were no habitabable)
6) The entertainment was....im not sure what to call it.... the staff were rude to guests, covering eachother in toilet roll and playing musical chairs was there way of entertainment for guest
7) The food was the same thing over again and again, the plates and cutlery were always dirty
8) No where to go from the hotel, on the main road, woody area and the bazaar was a good 10-15mins walk which you could not go with elderly people.
9) disgusting subways with no lightings
10) to go to Alanya was 1.5hrs drive (the main shopping centre) cost us £50 by taxi
11) Photographers harassing you and taking pictures without your consent and then refusing to show you when ask.
12) waiters caused trouble, police had to been involoved
13) Staff members all frisking guest
14) Management does not help to reslove problems, but make you sign a paper so you wont leave bad reviews when u go back home
15) Not suitable for young children or elderly people
16) The beaches are conered off so you have to stay in your bit of the hotel
17) The lobby-went for a quite drink, but had drunk turish women singing and distrubing the peace, we had to leave.
18) Yes it is ALL INC. but a waste of money, the quality of food and drinks they give u
19) coming back home, our transfer was 40mins late, we just made it for our check out
20) MY WORST NIGHTMARE THIS HOLIDAY WAS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! NEVER EVER COMING BACK TO THIS DUMP AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
21) This hotel is worth a 1* not a 4* as described

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ukrose4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

i have just returned from alanya (karaburun) Aqua plaza hotel .this was the worst trip i have ever had .
1-from airport 2 hrs to get there.
2-they barely speak english ,even the manager !
3-if you keep quiet the will throw you in to the dirtiest room possible.
3-staff very impolite .they dont even say hello, hi, or... but if you speak turkish they come to your table and give you very good service .
4-animatore not funny at-all for comedy show they throw slippers to each other and hip somebody's head.
5-very borring ,and location is like in the middle of nowhere .
6-FOOOD all week vegetable ,cold ,no tast, raw meat.
7-turkish bath 25+ but u can get it from agency for 10 or 11 euro.
8-Wake up call .very funny they forgot to call each time i asked .
9-all-inclusive only for veggi and beer water .anything else they ask for money first day i asked for cocktail thay wanted to charge me 7.50 euro .tequila shot 9 euro.
10-in one week we just saw 2 kind of fruit (apple and orange).
11 -i give this hotel 2 stars nomore and i think this is too much.

there is many serious things to say and the most impotrant thing is spending money for this hotel it is like throw your money away .

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank mayatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

I have just returned from the Club aqua Plaza- Alanya.
This hotel has pros and cons, I would probably rate 2.5 stars.

We arrived at this hotel about 9am, dinner was just finishing and we were ushered into the dining room, not shown a seat, no waiting staff spoke english, me + my boyfriend sat down and 3 courses of God knows what were put infront of us! we were not informed what it was, or asked if we wer vegetarian/allergies etc. It was quite disapointing after we had spent a long day of travelling and were starving.

Rooms- The room is basic, all white, shower is poor- either burning hot or cold, shower curtain which sticks to you when you shower and no matter how many bath mats you put on the floor it still gets absolutely soaked. Small balcony, overall the room was clean which was good, but a holiday inn has more character.

Food- Breakfast is ok- lots of bread/croissants but they go quickly. Ashame no hot breakfast,
Overall the lunch and dinner buffet were quite poor, no explanation of what food is and being allergic to fish I have to be careful and was forever trying to ask staff what dishes were. You have to queue outside for meat/chips which can often be 7-8 people long and one hour into service is all gone. Also not enough tables/chairs on many occassions for all the guests,
Recommend lunch time pool service- pizza/pitta bread etc.

Drinks- Wine/beer- I asked for a cocktail and each night got something slightly different- no menu of drinks etc.

Location- beach location is lovely- although pebbles and definitely need flipflops or some shoes. The hotel is about 15min walk from a bazaar with local bits/bobs, however the walk there is not pleasant!! along a main road, subways with lots of steps so not ideal for wheelchairs/pushchairs. Road and path has loads of potholes, glass etc. Overall the hotel did feel a bit isolated.

If you are unlucky enough to experience rain like we did, there is not much to do, snooker/table hockey etc you all have to pay for so we did feel a bit 'trapped' in the hotel.

I did enjoy my stay in turkey, however this is probably down to the company i was with and the joy of all inclusive alcohol! I have stayed in much, much nicer all inclusive resorts for the same money. I wouldn't not recommend this hotel because it does have benefits and overall hygeine/cleanliness was good, however I think people need to be more aware and informed of where they are going!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kate9889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alanya hotels
0.0 mi away
Numa Konaktepe Hotel
Numa Konaktepe Hotel
#9 of 63 in Konakli
189 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Sonata
Villa Sonata
#159 of 372 in Alanya
60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Antique Roman Palace
Antique Roman Palace
#26 of 372 in Alanya
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mirador Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Titan Garden Hotel
Titan Garden Hotel
#10 of 63 in Konakli
229 reviews
0.0 mi away
Asrin Beach Hotel
Asrin Beach Hotel
#241 of 372 in Alanya
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Plaza

Property: Aqua Plaza
Address: Alara River Tourism Center, Alanya, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Alanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Alanya
#124 Luxury Hotel in Alanya
#125 On the Beach Hotel in Alanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqua Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to provide you a great service with our restored rooms, renewed concept and a wonderful garden. We will be honored to host you, our precious guests, in the summer season of 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays and Cancelon so you can book your Aqua Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Plaza Hotel Alanya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing