We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not go again, definitely not a hotel to go with kids!”
Review of Muz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Muz Hotel
Ranked #147 of 372 Hotels in Alanya
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Would not go again, definitely not a hotel to go with kids!”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Ok...where to start!!

Arrived at the hotel in the afternoon, after struggling down the steps with our 4 suitcases, 5 kids, and 1 pushchair we entered the reception area. After waiting a few minutes for an acknowledgement from the lady behind the desk(!) she began to explain that she didn't think there was any reservations for today or indeed for the next 10 days! After a while sweating about perhaps having nowhere to stay they found us on the computer and we were given our keys along with the rules! We hobbled up the stairs with our luggage to be shown to our rooms. Basic room, view of a roof top, sewerage smell, mouldy shower, but plenty of storage and a maid every day.

My sister with her 15 year old son, 10 year old son and 3 year old daughter was shown to a room with a double and a single bed, no idea where they expected them all to sleep!!

We left our luggage and headed for the pool to cool down. After an hour or so in the pool, a member of staff came over to our (obviously excited as on holiday) children to ask them to keep the noise down!! Ok they were rather loud but they were merely kids having fun on holiday!! Next the baby needed some juice so we asked the bar man for some juice in a small cup for the baby, we were given this and charged 2 euros!! (about £1.75!!) Thankfully none of the others were thirsty!!

After traipsing around Alanya looking for alternative accommodation we decided to stick it out and hope for the best!! Which never happened!

Breakfast was basic bread, jam, boiled egg, & salad. Dinner was a little better, although only 1 choice of a vegetable, meat and pasta/potato for hot food, various other cold things, not really catered for the English. Drinks in the hotel were very expensive (about triple the price of the supermarket) and you were not allowed to bring in food or drinks of any kind into your rooms from outside.

Next we tried the beach, which is shingle stones that get everywhere! Ok for us but not the best for little ones! The sea is lovely and warm with lots of boisterous waves! Was not too impressed after an hour of the kids digging a hole in the sand they were asked by a member of staff to fill it in as a tourist may fall into the hole!!! (Would need to be a very blind tourist as the hole was massive and really could not be missed!) But we were told that they could dig a hole a couple of meters along the sand as long as it wasn't in front of their hotel!!

One night as the restaurant was pretty full and we couldn't see any tables we decided to take our meals out onto the area with tables outside. After carrying our food past 2 waiters we were surprised when 10 minutes later another waiter came out to inform us that we were not allowed to eat outside and must return inside with our half eaten dinner!!

Was not too happy at 10am one morning when I was in the bathroom, kids in bed, I heard banging on the door. I called out "who is it?" no reply! Next thing I hear, the door is being unlocked, I quickly fling the bathroom door shut to protect my modesty!, kids inform me that a guy from the hotel appeared to check the mini bar!!! This happened at around 10am every morning!

We only stayed at this hotel for 4 days and if we had of booked it for longer I would not have been happy. I do not consider myself or my family fussy at all, but I would not stay in this hotel again and would definitely not recommend it for anyone travelling with children. Far too many rules for an enjoyable holiday! Only plus was that it was very cheap, ok perhaps as a base for the older traveler, but not really suitable for anybody else in my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Donoz24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    19
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
20
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We have just returned from the Muz Hotel 6/7/12 we stayed for 10 nights and paid £300 for the hotel for a family of 4 half board. Overall we found it to be a very clean, (rooms cleaned and beds made everyday with clean towels every other day) with a good location. The hotel does not have many english people and the food is not geared towards the british we found the breakfast boring of breads, salad, cheeses, boiled eggs, and fresh fruit, but the evening meal was fine if you are not a fussy eater. The beach is great the water was warm but got very deep quicky, the sand was gritty, the hotel charges for sunbeds and parosols 5 lira for 2 sunbeds and 1 parasol, but the resturant nest door had free sunbeds and we could get frount ones every day up till 10am, and did really nice food for lunch for good prices (grilled chiken with rice chips and salad and a coke for 12 lira). The hotel doesn't have any entetainment but a walk along the promanade took us to all the entertainment we could have wanted, the shops start about a 5 minute walk along it and the city is about a 30 min stroll away (or you can get the number 1 bus outside the hotel for a few lira). The nearest atm is at the supermarket Migros (at the back) about 5 to 10 mins walk from the hotel towards the city. The resturant across the road (looks a bit scruffy) the food was great we went back 3 times. Overall we had a great time in alanya we will definately be going back next year the resort is geared towards the gemans and fins etc but this did not bother us at all and all the turks spoke english that we encountered.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank denise104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

My wife and I have just returned 03/07/12 from 2 weeks at the Muz hotel in Alanya. Good points are it is directly on a nice beach, the restaraunt was overlooking the sea, beautifull views at breakfast and dinner. The hotel room had free airconditioning, a little noisy but well needed.
Thats where the positive points end. We would not go back again. The food was geared towards the East Europeans, very poor for British. Our breakfasts consisted of bread and butter and jam.
OK if you like olives, strange cheeses and salad.
The evening meals consisted of one choice of hot meal, together with rice and a hot veg
( I say hot, luke warm more like it ). Dreadfull choice of food, again tailored towards the East Europeans. Unless you are at meal times when they open, there is no food left, they hardly replenish it unless you stand around by the counter for ages. They obviously didn't want to top thr food up. A positive side to this is that I lost 8 pounds in weight on my return due to not overeating. The staff at the restaraunt are fine to you if you order drinks every night, if not they completely ignore you. Very, very basic hotel, we paid cheap, so should have expected cheap. Be warned its not the best.

Room Tip: 8 front rooms have terrific sea views, some side rooms also good views, some at the back are looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tartu, Estonia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

It was very good hotel. It is near to beach but far away from city life. Especially when you are young and like to go clubbing, but it's very nice promenade where you can walk to the club and city. Food is not so special, but there are many green stuff. Personal is very friendly. I lost my wallet in Alanya. One day personal told me, that police has found it and the "boss" of the hotel drove me to the police station, clear the things there and i got my wallet back. Rooms are not very big, but you can survive. Ask for the view to the sea ;) It is easy hotel, very friendly and clean.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shiila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Rooms are standard and very good for 3 stars hotel (we have seen many worse hotels in this category)!!you have your own privacy, because it is almost the beginning (or end) of the kleopatra beach and you are directly on the beach, so you don't have to go across the street like in many other hotels... food was ok. stuff is little bit boring but who cares about stuff in 1 week :)) near is lunapark, nice promenade to city centre, also supermarket and many shops...

Room Tip: every room has a beautiful view on the sea !!! don't worry! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Dadka_miau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daugavpils, Latvia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Since 2005 going there every year and 2 times in summer season. really very friendly and family oriented hotel. near the sea and not so far from Alanya center. Clean rooms, the biggest part with direct view to the sea. Good breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank inga_kovalonoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2009

Staff not friendly/helpfull at all- apart from Sebastian ("beach boy")
Same food every single day... ( been there 2 weeks :S)
Hardly anyone can speak English
Far from town centre
3 Star Hotel???- thats the owners rating only- I would say 1star max!
No entertainment for the guests, but for the owners family almost every night...

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UnitedKingdomC09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alanya hotels
0.4 mi away
Kleopatra Arsi
Kleopatra Arsi
#229 of 372 in Alanya
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.7 mi away
Azak Beach Hotel
Azak Beach Hotel
#177 of 372 in Alanya
3.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
3.8 mi away
Acar Hotel
Acar Hotel
#126 of 372 in Alanya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Elysee Beach Hotel
Elysee Beach Hotel
#160 of 372 in Alanya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
1.1 mi away
Select Apart Hotel
Select Apart Hotel
#90 of 372 in Alanya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel May Flower
Hotel May Flower
#75 of 372 in Alanya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muz Hotel

Property: Muz Hotel
Address: Kizlarpinari Mah. Dinek Mevkii No: 5, Alanya, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Alanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 372 Hotels in Alanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Muz Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Muz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing