We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay”
Review of Residence Anfora

Residence Anfora
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residence Anfora
Ranked #67 of 129 Speciality Lodging in Alanya
Reviewed 9 May 2013

My husband and I spent our honeymoon here and, all in all, we had a wonderful, chilled holiday. The hotel was just what we expected, given the money we paid and the hotel's 3 stars class. What was very important for us was that the beach was close and that we stayed away from the urban zone of the city. We could chill and then take a walk to the downtown whenever we wanted. The staff were great, very friendly. The food was more or less what we have in Serbia, too :). The room was big, cleaned on daily basis. The only thing we needed to ask for were clean towels, but it wasn't a problem.

The bar was open 24/7, they even offer a few alcohol beverages for free, alongside coffee, tea, juice, etc. On, and the pool is awesome!

When we arrived at the hotel, it was 3am, they gave us a cold meal and our room keys, so I am not sure why they didn't do it for everyone else (as written here in some comments).

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Smey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2011

We arrived at this hotel at 3am after the transfer from hell. There was no food or drink made available to us and when we were shown our ground floor garden view (what garden) I was ready to go home. It was awful!
I asked to be moved and was told I have your passport I will call the police...
We were moved the following morning to a better room but it was above the reception area and was very noisy. Along with the white curtains that the street lights shone through and people returning to the hotel at 3 in the morning with no thought of other people we got very little sleep.
All our drinks were served in plastic beakers and the waiting staff were rude. They wouldn't even make eye contact with you and pretended not to understand.
The pool was adequate but very cold.
There was no tourist information for the English but plenty for the Russians and Germans. No English flag outside! I could go on and on about this place but all I really want to say is don't go there.. I am rating everything as terrible because my holiday was completely ruined.. even the journey back was awful

Room Tip: choose a room somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarionMcgarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We were 5 people who stayed in this hotel from 11 - 22 Oct 2011, 2 of us had one apartment and 3 of us shared another apartment, the one apartment had hot water only a few days and other apartment hardly had any hot water at all for the full 11 days! I can understand we didn't pay a lot for this hotel but we are not fussy people and one of the few things that is needed is hot water and when you spoke to the reception about it they did nothing about it. The staff were very unfriendly and you were to scared to ask them anything also we were told we were not allowed to take our drinks from the bar to the bedroom, yet there was not enough tables for the guests outside, specially when it was raining. Apart form that, we didn't have towels for a few days cause they decided to take them and not replace them.

Otherwise the food was ok and the apartments was a good size.

I wont stay there again that is for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank René A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Please don't book this place. It's a disgrace. it is not for british people. Just back this morning and glad to be home. As said on previous reviews the food is disgusting. Over a 9 day period i had breakfast once, lunch 3 times and attempted dinner 3 times. the rest of the time i ate out. the food is really bad. All inclusive at the bar was Troy (flat) lager, Bazooka vodka and a local raki. You could get cheap nasty white or red wine but that's your lot. Wine apart all drinks are served in small plastic cups that have seriously sharp rims and need the bin.
To say i hated this hotel would be an understatement. No entertainment at all. The barman (that's a laugh) tries to play youtube videos of songs which keep buffering so then plays the same song 3 and 4 times.....really crap service. i know it was cheap but even the basics were very bad. They wouldn't even clean a table, they sat on facebook most of the time.
As said the pool was clean but shaded mid-afternoon. I could go on and on and on but, do yourself a favour, book somewhere else. this hotel is at the very bottom of the market. There are plenty more to choose from.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ayrshirestevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

On arrival (28/09/11) at midnight, we were greeted by no food or drink. Having taken a walk by the pool area, I found some water, juices and cups, so we took our fill of that. The apartment was quite spacious with very outdated furniture. The pool/pool area is cleaned daily but is shaded by 3pm. There are plenty of sun loungers but no mattresses to go on them. Room are cleaned daily if you put the sign on the door, but not done very well and towels will not be changed within 3 days, unless you are really lucky. The hotel is pro Dutch, with some staff showing a difference to you if you was not Dutch. You are a foreigner is Turkey, but I didn't expect to feel like a foreigner in the hotel. As for the food, don't bother going all inclusive, it was dreadful. What you had for lunch, if not eaten, they used the left overs and put them is sauce. The salads looked nice, until you tasted them,a lot were laced with chili. The hot meals were either turkey, chicken or some sort of processed meat, with a rice, potato, pasta and veg choices, most again lace with chili. I did complain to reception, but no change and a Dutch man had a go at the chef, again no change. We ended up eating just breakfast, water melon/grapes for dinner, and going out for evening meals. One of two holidays that I have actually lost weight. This proved expensive with 5 of us, hence why we could not do any trips. I know the hotel was cheap, I didn't expect the Ritz, but neither did I expect the food to be so bad and to for us to have the runs on a regular basis. Between us, we used about 6 packets of anti-runs tablets. Having got to know some local people, one of them told us that the hotel was in the process of being sold to Russians for students and teachers to stay, this could be the reason why the hotel management didn't care about the complaints and did nothing about it. There was one female management, who would sunbathe most of the day, bark orders and in the evening, if non Turkish music was played would get it turned down, if Turkish music was played would get it turned up. There is a beach which is about a 3 minute walk from the hotel, not part of the all inclusive (never had that before) and you had to pay for loungers. The sea was rocky close to the shore and very slippery.On the plus side, the weather was mainly great and we met some nice people in the restaurants we ended up eating out. We also met some nice staff in the hotel, Hussain, Evan, Mustafa the masseur and two guys who take photos, Mahmood and Caius. In an nutshell if the hotel is not sold on to Russians and remains the same, it needs new management. Would I go there again,,,no never. I have been to many all inclusive holidays, the food here is the worst ever.

Room Tip: Don't bother booking this hotel, but if you do and have an apartment, sleep at the back, less no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bedfordian-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

As a British family of 2 adults with 3 teenagers arriving back today (12th October 2011) from a 2 week stay at this place i feel i need to warn a few people ( as others have here) in case they make the same mistake as us and book here on the so called good reviews.
Here goes! We arrived at this hotel at 12.15am after a long 2hr transfer. We checked in with no problem and was told we could get a drink at the bar ( this was after i informed the guy behind reception we were all thirsty). There seemed to be no one else around and so we had to find our own way to the bar, and in the dark. The bar turned out to be closed and also in the dark.....hmm! As we turned to go back to reception a little aged Turkish gent ( i think he was security) told us there was a shop about 300 meters outside the hotel where we could go and buy water...hmm! A nice welcome after spending the best part of a day at airports and travelling....Not!

Next day at breakfast we had a choice of 3 minute or 5 minute boiled eggs, both were hard. There was cubed potatoes laying in oil with herbs and spices sprinkled over them and also some kind of egg dish which was sliced and tasted bland. Sometimes there were processed sausages which were usually shriveled and yuk! There was processed meats also but again not very nice. You could also choose from various Turkish cheeses and some salad items. Sometimes there was also watermelon and oranges that were quartered. The bread was the
only saving grace at breakfast and i eventually gave up on hope that there would be something different for brekky the next day and there never was, all bar 2 days out of the 2 weeks when a chef cooked plain omelettes, these were a very nice change to the usual crud that was on offer. Lunch consisted of a choice of Turkey casserole, Processed Burgers, courgettes, aubergines, salads, potatoes in oil. Salads were on offer with a fair selection to choose from. Soup was also on offer and there was a few desserts to.

Most dishes had chilli or cayenne pepper on them and turned out to be far to hot for us all.
Dinner consisted of the same vegetables in hot spicy sauces and always had recycled meats from lunchtime, this was usually the cheap looking processed burgers from lunchtime ( that no one ate then i might add! ). Meat was also recycled and put into salads ( no waste at this hotel..oh no! )

Three days of trying eat this rubbish was enough and we finally realised we could only survive starvation if we ate outside the hotel, however by this time we all had bad tummy's and diarrhea, which lasted the remainder of the 2 weeks, ( we went through 5 packets of immodium! ). Of all the people (dutch, german included) that we spoke to they also told us that they had cases of diarrhea and bad tummy's.

We had a room on the fifth floor ( lift broke down three times in 2 weeks by the way) but only three of us could fit into the small lift and so the other 2 had to wait. The rooms were quite big and spacious and the kitchen had a sink and large fridge. We found it noisy every night and with people coming back from different venues at 3am and then sitting around the pool area chatting and laughing only compounded the problem. The maids would only change the room towels every third day and the rooms were never cleaned properly with and floors never seemed to be cleaned. Same bedding would be put back on, albeit the covers displayed in a butterfly pattern ( not quite the same with visible stains on tho).

The pool area only gets sunshine at various stages of the day and then you are in the shade. The most popular areas ( that gets the sunshine most hours) were always reserved via towel or lilo around 6.30am.
The alcohol measures were small and weak ( i usually got a thimble full of vodka in my coke),however i noticed that if any of the Turkish barman were chatting and friendly to the women they usually got larger measures. The beer is very weak and yes i also suffered with painful bloated guts but could not decide if it was the food or drinks.....didnt care much by then really as just wanted to get home.

Entertainment was twice a week and was quite good and consisted of a circus act on a Monday and Turkish night on a Wednesday where a proper Turkish chicken kebab on a pole was cooked.....this was delicious! If only it was every night!

Music was played around the pool bar area as and when the Turkish barman wanted to play it but usually consisted of their favorite Turkish music rather than what the customers would have wanted to hear. Most of the young barman were polite and receptive to chat, however the big Turkish oaf behind the pool bar never acknowledged my thank you's when ordering a drink or even when i helped him collect cups. There were also other staff that could not be bothered to say hi or morning either....ho hum!


We usually book our holidays on good reviews and have usually enjoyed them thoroughly, however, i cannot understand how people have put good reviews on this hotel and for that reason i blame these reviews entirely for this disaster. We knew for the price not to expect to much but then we did not expect to spend most of our time on the toilet also!

To conclude,
Good points: The sun is hot and you will get a nice tan and there are some local restaurants serving nice proper food, that's about it.
[---]

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeho62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

me and my partner stayed there for 2 weeks in September 2011 and it really let us down!
we didn't pay much for the holiday so we weren't expecting luxury but from the minute we arrived we were messed around.
we arrived at the hotel after a 2.30 hour transfer, at around 2:00am and we checked in but the KID behind reception wasn't expecting us. he asked me if my name was "PLACEHOLDER". I Told him that "placeholder" isn't a name, I looked at the file on the desk and found my name myself.
we were then taken to our room, we unpacked and got in bed. 10 mins later the KID from reception was knocking on the door. he told us he had given us the wrong room and we needed to move as some other people were checking into this room. so we obliged, and were taken to another room on the 6th floor. the balcony overlooked the next door hotels roof with loads of machinery making loads of noise. There was no way we could have slept in there, then i opened the bathroom door! it stunk the whole room out, the water in the toilet was dark brown and there was bits floating in there. i tried to flush it but it wouldnt work! we could not be expected to stay in this room so we went back to reception and he was shocked we didnt like the room! he told us to come back at 8am bearing in mind it is now 3.30am! so we did, only to be told the manager wasnt in till 9am!
so we went for so called breakfast, which consisted of sausages and bacon in gravy that i wouldn't feed to my dog, and salad!
at 9am the manager gave us another room which was small but at least clean.
as the pool only gets 2 hours of sunlight everyday we decided to go to the beach instead which is not far from the hotel. we asked at reception how much it was for sunbeds and she said 9liras. so we went to the beach to be told it was 12liras. we said they said 9liras at reception and he said that you need a ticket from reception! so we went back to the hotel to get a ticket and settled down on the beach, which is quite a nice beach to be fair. the bar isnt included in the all inclusive though.
lunch food isn't too bad, plenty of pasta and rice, so if your easy going enough then you'll be OK!
Alanya in itself isn't too bad, and i think if we weren't staying in this hotel it wouldn't have been as bad, just prepare yourself to be harassed by every restaurant on the coast.
overall the more time we spent away from the hotel the better, so if you've already booked this hotel either cancel it and find somewhere else (there are a LOT of hotels in Alanya) or take a lot of spending money!!

hope this is helpful xx

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank camionne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alanya hotels
15.8 mi away
Rubi Platinum Spa Resort & Suites
8.4 mi away
Utopia World Hotel
Utopia World Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kargicak
695 reviews
14.9 mi away
Gold Island
Gold Island
#173 of 374 in Alanya
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hildegard Hotel
Hildegard Hotel
#125 of 374 in Alanya
37 reviews
14.5 mi away
White City Resort Hotel
White City Resort Hotel
#10 of 374 in Alanya
796 reviews
13.1 mi away
Long Beach Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Anfora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Anfora

Address: Cumhuriyet Mah. Kemali Soydan Cad. No 1, Alanya, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Alanya
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 129 Speciality Lodging in Alanya
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Anfora 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Residence Anfora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Anfora Hotel Alanya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing