We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking!”
Review of Merhaba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Merhaba Hotel
Ranked #314 of 373 Hotels in Alanya
Reviewed 23 July 2011

The hotel is away from the center 3-4 km, there is no safe passage to the beach. The rooms are small, with folding bed for third person. In our room hygiene was satisfactory. Dining room is small, the food is really bad and insufficient (not enough renewed). Cats walk in dining room during meals! The low-level staff is fair and discreet, the head waiter was extremely arrogant, and generally the staff is not attentive. They grow ducks near hotel rooms!!! For AI guests they don't give water in bottles and don't allow to bring it in rooms! If you didn't finish your meal until limited time they will snatch it from your hands!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Jaca9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
There are newer reviews for Merhaba Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2010

Fantastic little jungle hotel by the beach, friendly staff - they didn't understand much English, but that was fine. The hotel was simple, but had a bar, restaurant and pool, and also lots of nice exotic plants and their own chickens. The beach is literally across the road, and the staff at the restaurant next door got us in touch with a guiding agency. Would especially recommend a little café to the right when you leave the hotel, not the restaurant next door, but the one after that. It was really simple, but the staff was pleasant, kind, thankful and not at all pushy - unlike the staff at the other locals.

Stayed: August 2010
9  Thank MartinePoppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Me and my girlfriend went to Alanya, Turkey on an unspecified trip (meaning that we didn't know which hotel we would be staying at). So our expectations were not high. But Merhaba Hotel still managed to have a standard way below our expectations. There were no possibilites of getting a refrigerator in the rooms, but more shocking, it was not allowed to bring food or water into the hotel rooms. You had to buy all of the food/drinks in the hotel bar. They actually had guards ensuring that we didn't. To have aircondition in the rooms, you had to pay extra for aircondition (10 TL / night). The showers were about 1,50m tall, so I (being 1,88m tall) had to shower in a deep squat position. The staff was not unfriendly, but we had three days in a row without clean towels, and when we asked the staff for clean towels on the second day they could only give us small towels. When the waiters on the restaurants in the area heard that we lived at Merhaba Hotel, they would laugh and shrug their shoulders. "Merhaba Hotel? We call it Mosquito Hotel" they said. The only good thing about Merhaba Hotel is that it's located close to the beach, and only a 15 minute walk into the centre. After one week of staying at Merhaba Hotel, we couldn't take it anymore, so we payed a fee to our travel agency to switch hotel.

To summarize, I would not recommend anyone to go to Merhaba Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank killstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

I booked a 2 week stay about 3 weeks before departure.
The Pick-up driver had to get directions twice to find it :)
A small hotel, in 2 blocks, clean, with freindly staff,
town centre is about1/2 mile away
the beach (shingle and sand) is a short walk (2 blocks). the swimming pool is small, but you can dive into it without bouncing off the other side.
I enjoyed my holiday - BUT
There were no other English speakers (the manager could and some staff tried)
No rep and no one to talk to about return confirmations or excursions
Food - hhmmm - I arrived early season so making some allowances - about 25 different dishes on display at main meals - sounds good? but the dish of tomatoes, carrots, onions, lettuce, cucumber and so on did not all get eaten - I think they were recycled and appeared as the potato salad etc, there were 4 hot(warm) dishes and some time they were nice the spag bol and the spiced chicken went down a treat and the grill for fish or kebab which turned up 2 or 3 times a week made a nice change of pace, sometimes the liver was hard, the kidneys were gristley and the sprouts were over cooked -
I was all inclusive, the drink options were limited but ok -(1 beer, wine and standard shorts and mixers) (I don't go to get drunk any way)
There was a TV in the room - no English channels - euronews in French and they did show some shows dubbed - House, Spooks, Will & Grace
In the bar there was a music system - music from Matt Monroe to the latest rap songs (uncensored) would play (I think I was the only one who understood the swear words)
In summary - cheap, clean, comfortable but don't expect a lot

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Geordie-out-n-about
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank O9995DJ1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yuri02091966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Никакого выбора нет даже при заполненности отеля наполовину. Номера по большей части выходят окнами...
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank onwww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alanya hotels
0.7 mi away
Pera Inn Hotel
Pera Inn Hotel
#221 of 373 in Alanya
71 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kleopatra Carina Hotel
Kleopatra Carina Hotel
#196 of 373 in Alanya
46 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maren Beach
Maren Beach
#206 of 373 in Alanya
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Kleopatra Hermes Beach Hotel
7.6 mi away
Blue Night Hotel
Blue Night Hotel
#29 of 64 in Konakli
124 reviews
1.2 mi away
Primera Hotel & Apart
Primera Hotel & Apart
#265 of 373 in Alanya
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merhaba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merhaba Hotel

Address: Cumhuriyet Mah. Ahmet Tokus Bulvari No:163, Alanya 07400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Alanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #314 of 373 Hotels in Alanya
Price Range: £13 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Merhaba Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Merhaba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing